Disc Golf Store

Course Extinct
Whitesburg, GA
Flyboy Aviation Share
Uploaded By: craigd Hole #9 (Taken 8/2010)
4 / 530ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee: "Goat Rope"; 530' downhill to gap in trees opening to the lake, then downhill to basket.



Reviews: 98
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next >
 Southern Hospitality

1    4/13/2010   5/9/2010
Review By: Avery Jenkins
Played: 551  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 29 Years
42 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The FlyBoy Aviation (Private Course) offers a great mix of Open and Wooded par 3's, 4's and 5's throughout an amazing, friendly Airport community that really appreciates having a nearby Disc Golf Course on the property. The course also has some huge water shots and the landscape is relatively flat with some rolling hills around the Lake Holes.

The course has some of the best Disc Golf holes in the game with some great shots over water and I will be the first to say, that the Par 5 - 730 ft - Hole #3 is the Best "Hole #3" in the sport. It is an incredible shot down a manicured fairway with a hillside on the right and rough to the left. A skilled 350 - 380 foot shot is required to set up the next 350 foot shot across the water to the basket that sits on slight hillside on a lake-side peninsula. A truly remarkable hole.

Another favorite hole of mine is the Par 5 - 950 ft - Hole #15 in which the first shot plays along the lake to the right. It requires a mammoth throw 500+ off the tee in order to set up another huge shot across this ridgeline dam to the pin that sits on steep hillside. Two great shots are needed to Eagle, I have played this hole twice and still have yet to score an Eagle 3.

The "Longest Hole in the Universe" Par 7 - 1600 ft - Hole #18 is definitely the longest hole in Disc Golf and it proves it as it takes several huge shots down the 90 foot wide Runway to even get a view of the basket. It is a solid Eagle 5 with some excellent drives, it also makes for an amazing hole to finish off the middle 9 before taking a break at the Club House.

Overall, this is a great course with amazing potential that seems to get increasingly better throughout the years as more and more players "break-in" this layout. I love the fact that this course stands by its name as you get to watch the Discs "Fly" on many of the large, open holes and really getting the chance to air-out some fairway shots. I would highly recommend to anyone to play the FlyBoy Course if given the chance.
Cons: Rubber Teepads - I would recommend that the course have cement teepads and know that it would make the course more enjoyable to play. But it is understandable at this time to allow for reconfiguring and redesigning as the course is in constant change for the better.

Location - The course is located something like 45-50 minutes from a larger community of Atlanta Disc Golfers which makes for some travel to get in a round. But the location far from the city allows for minimal distractions and the ability to expand the course within certain parameters without having to consult a City BOD in order to make changes to the course.

Baskets - This course has lots of single-chained baskets and I strongly prefer double-chained baskets for less chance of discs spitting through the back or splashing out.

Too Many Holes - I think that the course might flow better if the course had only 18 holes as opposed to the current 27 hole layout. There are a few "Filler" holes that the course could do without and a single 18 could really focus on the best holes that this course has to offer.
Other Thoughts: The course is centered around a beautiful Bed and Breakfast/Bachelor Pad Airplane Hanger that is nicer than many of the homes that I have visited throughout the years. Its incredible and has 50+ large remote-controlled airplanes hanging from the rafters of the complex. The Hanger has all the amenities including 2 Stunt Propeller Planes, Satellite TV, Kitchen, Living Room, 4 Bedrooms, Flat Screen Movie Projector with a Stereo System throughout the hanger, and not to mention all the boomerangs that you can throw.

Thanks Kelly for all of your Hard Work and the Southern Hospitality that you & your family provides to all that visit your FlyBoy Course.

42 of 44 people found this review helpful.

 Phenomenal and fun

1    4/10/2010   4/20/2010
Review By: angelofmischief
Played: 27  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Every angle and every view and behind every turn a new adventure awaits. Beautiful and vast this course is sure to last.
Cons: No cons really, this course is long and hard, but I still have to say, "I LOVE IT".
Other Thoughts: Thank you Kelly!

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 AAAmazing

1    4/10/2010   4/10/2010
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 63  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 5.1 Years
17 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Every kind of terrain that you could find in the South East. Long downhills, gentle uphills, sharp up and downs, wooded, open, lakes, creeks, swamps...you name it!
Plays through an amazing neighborhood full of really cool people.
Really well thought layout that plays really cleanly and smoothly.
A great variety of natural and man-made obstacles to shoot around and in between.
Hospitality that can only be seen to be believed.
Cons: I live 70 miles away.
I guess you can say the teepads are a con but lets be realistic. The neighbors have allowed a course to play near their yards and all over their quiet little community and even on their runway...do we really have any right to complain about anything??
Other Thoughts: You do not play a round here, you EXPERIENCE a round. It is an amazing destination that can only truly be seen to be believed. Looking at pictures and maps will not even begin to show you the scope of this place. It is EPIC to the 3rd. power. If God had a disc golf course his might have concrete pads but I bet he would copy Flyboy on several holes.
You need to play this course if you consider yourself a fan of the sport. It will beat you like a naughty school girl but you will leave smiling every time.

17 of 19 people found this review helpful.

  First Class!

1    3/19/2010   4/1/2010
Review By: Scoot
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I can't say enough good things about my experience playing at Flyboy Aviation. The course is a very well designed, championship level course. Each hole on the course feels very appropriately placed in relation to the terrain. There is a good mix of open and wooded holes, plenty of water hazards, lots of risk and reward. While the course has it's share of long holes, an intermediate player with an average arm can still play competitively. Just be sure to bring all the shots in your bag, you'll need them.

The course is incredible, and the round was a lot of fun, but even better was the hospitality. Kelly and Brad escorted us around the course and really made us feel at home. They served us lunch and invited us into the hangar for a tour. This place will be an active Bed and Breakfast soon, an awesome disc golf destination for your next vacation.

An incredible course with impeccable southern hospitality!
Cons: Not much to say here. There was one hole where the target was buried in the ground up to the rim of the basket. While some find this fun and refreshing, I thought it was a little "goofy golf". All of the other pins on the course were placed so appropriately, this one felt out of place.

Concrete tee pads would be nice, but the rubber pads we threw from were not bad.

Other Thoughts: By the end of the round I was praying for a sherpa. This course is long and will really take it out of you. The hangar / bed and breakfast is really incredible. This will be an awesome place to take disc golf vacations. I had a great time and can't wait for another opportunity to play.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/6/2010   3/6/2010
Review By: TylerD
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Flyboy Aviation has it all. Uphill, downhill, hyzer shots, anhyzer shots, flex shots, rollers, par 4's, par 5's, a par 7, shots over water that will test your nerves, scenic holes, wooded holes, open holes, half open half wooded holes, hot dogs, cokes, water, dogs that can carry discs without leaving bite marks, hospitality that cannot be matched, you name it, this place has it.

Nothing on this course feels forced, the design is spectacular. It is long and very challenging, which makes it extremely rewarding when you manage the course correctly.

Flyboy has some truly memorable holes. If you have a bad time out there, there is something wrong with you.
Cons: The only reason I didn't give it a 5 is because it doesn't have concrete pads. However, the rubber pads that are being used now work just fine. Consider my rating a 4.99999999999
Other Thoughts: Absolutely phenomenal
Do
Not
Miss

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Best course I have ever played!

2-4    2/23/2010   2/13/2010
Review By: BobbyC13
Played: 27  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/23/2010
7 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Now that I have been playing for over a year, have been here twice now, played my first PDGA event and am looking to put my own course in one day, this needs a re-do for my review....

Flyboy Aviation is in the top 5 courses in GA for sure. It plays very long, demands the ut-most focus and concentration, demands good shots and empowers you to bring your A+ game or lose discs here. Hole 1 is a great downhill shot.....hole 2 is an awesome drive with your second shot accross a big lake to a guarded basket.....hole 3 is a longer hole playing uphill with the lake on the left..EXCITED YET???? This course has all the shots and all the awesome holes you could ever imagine. 27 holes of DG awesome!!!

The course owner, Kelly, is a great guy and an advocate for change in disc golf and making things better. Not only does he let you on his private course on his land and in his house, he takes care of you while you are there and wants your feedback on the course!!
Cons: I do not think there are any cons. It is a private course in a neighborhood, so things like concrete pads, signs, and the normal things making courses championship caliber need not apply here. Okay so the baskets can be viewed as a con, but that is being worked on!
Other Thoughts: This is by far the best and most fun course I have ever played. I have now played about 20 courses in 4 different states including Pier Park in Oregon!

PHIL ARTHUR was quoted saying "Flyboy is in my top 5"

If you are lucky enough to play here, you wil remember it for your ENTIRE LIFE!

If you are fortunate enough to be given the oppurtunity to play Flyboy, go do it, be respectful and keep in mind you are playing disc golf in a wealthy neighborhood!!!

7 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  Immediate Top-Fiver!

1    11/18/2009   1/11/2010
Review By: Liz Carr
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
27 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Flyboy Aviation and Disc Golf Course entered my top-five course list immediately upon completion! Challenging, charming and most of all fun, Flyboy is not the place where you can get away with half-committed shots and lazy hyzers. This course demands accuracy, as well as distance. Players will have to bring a full arsenal of shots to produce their best score.

It's a private course that intertwines itself around neighboring homes and airplane hangars, weaving around and over three separate lakes and even playing on a grass airplane runway! There is lots of out of bounds to find, but all of the OB seems well thought out and only adds to the fun of the experience.

This course would suit advanced players that are ready to bring plenty of arm endurance through FlyBoy's many long fairways. More than a dozen of the 27 holes are over 400 feet, with about a half dozen over 700 feet! The fairways on most of the long holes are pretty open and lend to a variety of distance shots for both righties, lefties, forehanders and backhanders.

The best part about FlyBoy is her variety. There are elevation changes, water hazards, tunnel shots, long shots, short shots and plenty of risk/reward shots to keep the player constantly thinking and evolving their strategies.

"No Guts, No Glory" or hole #2 has a little bit of everything! Stepping up to the tee, the player can see a little glimmer of a basket perched on a grassy green peninsula 730 feet away. The fun part about this hole, other than it's beauty, is it's ability to test a golfers commitment by having to cross 250 feet of water near the end of the hole to get a good putt. Nearly 450 feet to the water's edge, the player must decide to go for the green or lay up for an easier approach on their second or third shot. Assuming everyone makes it across the water, there is still a tricky, sloping green near the water's edge that needs navigating. And that's only hole two!

Moving through the middle part of the course, a golfer can expect to use both anhyzers and hyzers both backhand and forehand going from wooded accuracy testers to open bomber shots. Deuce opportunities present themselves every so often, but not with half-committed shots, because there is always plenty of trouble to find. Eat up the shorter holes because you'll more than likely have to dip into the birdie bank upon completion of the par 7, 1600 foot, "Longest Hole in the Universe!"

Back at the car after the first 18 holes, it's nice to relax for a bit, maybe grab a bite to eat, before venturing out to the last nine holes. The back nine doesn't let up on the distance and accuracy!
Cons: FlyBoy would be better if it could be a public course, but it weaves in and out of neighboring homes and property and needs to be treated with the utmost respect if we want to see this course move into the future.

Every course would benefit from cement tee pads. FlyBoy uses rubber pads, but that doesn't seem to impede drives, just makes it feel a little temporary. The course seems to be evolving as it grows, so the rubber pads are good for the course at her present state.

The biggest con: This course isn't in my backyard. If it were any closer, I'd find myself playing it all the time!
Other Thoughts: Flyboy Aviation and Disc Golf Course is a spectacular adventure from beginning to end. The course really tests all of ones capabilities. The land is well utilized and could probably hold many more holes, but these 27 are challenging and well thought out. It's the type of venue that could facilitate a tournament with ease. This course is very charming and the player can really feel all the hard work and efforts put into the making of this course.

27 of 28 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing destination course

5+    4/9/2010   11/30/2009
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 91  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 15.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/19/2010
21 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fly Boy DGC is a unique, fantastic course & destination that's a definite must play if you are passing through Georgia travelling on I-20 between Atlanta & Birmingham

*Great design incorporates varied flight paths, ample risk reward shots, good variety of lengths, water/OB -- best part is that the design is constantly being tweaked & improved upon
*Variety of pars -- legit 4's & 5's as well as 3's, & a par 7 (longest hole in the universe) -- lots of tough but fair multi shot holes.
*High challenge factor -- shooting par is a good score & you will likely throw a disc into the water
*Destination factor = private course, @ a private air field, amazing host, manicured fairways, amazing sleeping quarters in a hangar/bunkhouse -- i'd compare the awesomeness of the setting to the Grange in VA, the WV courses @ Paw Paw or Maple Hill DGC
*27 great holes -- 18 & 27 are both awesome finishing holes
Cons: *Temporary feel -- DB5 baskets, mats, no signage, etc. -- it's a private course on public/private land, so it doesn't have some of the "frills" that most perm courses have -- no big deal though, you will not notice
*Way out there -- about 50 minutes from downtown Atlanta, about 25-30 minutes from I-20.
Other Thoughts: I'm updating to a 5 because it keeps getting better; Kelly has made a few tweaks & his course is now one of the best DG destinations anywhere. The hangar renovation is amazing and spending the night added to the atmosphere ... I hear it will be a B&B soon. This is an outstanding course in an amazing setting. Truly a MUST PLAY and one of the best courses in Georgia, easily the best DG destination in the state. Kelly, the owner, is a great host & tour guide ... remember that it's a private course so respect it and don't leave trash around, etc.

The course is not designed for beginners and is meant to be challenging. If you are a rec level player be prepared for a *fun* challenge.

Water (lake) in play on 6 holes, often windy too. I saw a guy lose 4 discs on the front 9. Take a couple of extra discs as you will likely throw one in the water.

21 of 24 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.