Austin, TX 
Austin Ridge Bible Church Share
Uploaded By: judson Hole #3 (Taken 12/2009)
4 / 318ft.   4 / 528ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Austin Ridge

2-4    3/11/2014   3/11/2014
Review By: lowrie4
Played: 17  Reviewed: 11
Pros: Lots of shot variation. Good amount of right to left, and left to right shots. Most holes have rather tight fairways which is in most circumstances a plus. I really enjoyed the overall play of the course and the hole variability. The structure of the course itself is great.
Cons: Flow and navigation. Some of the tees for the next hole can be tough to find if you haven't played here before. Took me a lot longer to play the course the first time simply because I would spend a few minutes after every few holes looking for the next tee box. If a few more signs were added around the course that would be great.
Other Thoughts: This course is not a beginners course! Much more difficult than other nearby courses, granted, because there are other nearby courses for beginners this is neither a pro or a con. Final thought would be that the actual disc golf on this course is amazing! This course asks for many difficult shots and requires solid all around disc golf game in order to post a good round. However, the navigation can be tricky the first time through, so make sure you give yourself ample time and pay attention to the signs for which direction the next tee is.

 

2-4    11/10/2013   11/13/2013
Review By: chemmy1010
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good degree of elevation change and moderately to heavily wooded depending on the hole.
Pro and amateur tees.
Mostly well maintained, only missing a few hole maps.
Cons: Missing a few tee markers/hole maps, but all baskets currently in place.
Other Thoughts: Review based on experience of other Austin courses, don't know how those compare to other areas of the country.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Work in Progress

5+    9/13/2013   10/18/2013
Review By: 4thechains@gmail.com
Played: 45  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is very difficult and challenging course, which is a plus for me. There is a great demand for technical shots off the tee, and a wide variety of shots are available. This course is exciting in two main ways, the high difficulty, and the test of physical ability. Playing this course will remind you of a hike through mountainous terrain.
Cons: I have played here many times, and I still require the use of a map. I suggest you definitely print a map to take with you.
The course is unfinished at this time. There are several holes without concrete tees, although I believe they are being worked on at this time. The course would benefit from some specific pruning, and some serious clean up on the fairways. The elevation changes are exciting, however a poorly designed downhill shot puts players putting on a previous hole at serious risk. Not only are those players in danger while putting, they must cross a dangerous fairway to get to the next hole. Players on the tee box are unable to see players putting, and would only be able to view crossing players when they are in the dead center of the fairway. (I cannot remember the # of the hole that it is dangerous to putt on, nor can I recall the number of the downhill shot that puts them in jeopardy) will update this as soon as I revisit.
Other Thoughts: This course has great potential, and I look forward to updating my review when I play the finished product. This is truly an advanced level course, and will test your merit no matter what level of player you are.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Delightfully Difficult

1    9/16/2012   10/18/2012
Review By: finesse1
Played: 28  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -very challenging course, my personal opinion that it is the hardest in the austin area, just a tad harder than manor
-concrete boxes, multiple tees
-variety of length, shot types, and elevation
-very low traffic
-great wooded country atmosphere
Cons: -extremely rough terrain, rocky and hilly, suffered a high ankle spraign on hole 2 first time there, watch your follow through on jump putts, legs will feel it after the round
-some unfair holes with some serious luck factor=only thing keeping it from a 4.5
-downhill extra hole, easy to send a disc bye bye with even a slightly errant shot, i talk to alot of people that skip this hole
Other Thoughts: pretty much all has been said, a very challenging course, both in terms of shots and terrain, would definately recommend it for advanced to open players, just wont be as much fun for the casual player

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Be ready

1    7/29/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: atxDG
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Challenging for sure, scenic, good tee boxes, new maps, pro and am boxes, never anyone there.
Cons: Its unforgiving Texas terrain, still pretty heavy wooded in some areas, not many trash cans or seats
Other Thoughts: Pretty cool, you will need a nap after.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing course

5+    5/25/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: Banditozzy
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2012
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Newly added concrete boxes. The pro boxes on this course offer an extremely challenging and diverse round of golf. Despite playing this course 30 plus times I am still humbled by the technical difficulties and beauty of it every time I play. Not a good course for a begining player unless you want to play the red tees. Lots of trees and hills. Be sure to play the bonus holes. Ongoing construction has seen the course make up change over the last year. Especially in the back nine. If there is one course in Austin you have a chance to play make it this one. There are trash cans and benchs throughout the course.
Cons: The red tees are far to easy. I understand that the effort was to make the course friendly for the whole family, but the difference is worlds apart from the pros. There is not alot of communication about the construction projects. You might show up to play and the course will be closed.
Other Thoughts: Built on the Austin Bible Ridge church grounds. I would like to show appriciation to them for commisioning such an amazing course and opening it to the public. Please be mindful that is on church property and be respectful. Truely one of the best courses in Texas. Play with a local or get a map.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Different and challenging

1    6/7/2012   6/7/2012
Review By: nathantrafford
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really really technically challenging course. Having a big bomb drive will help, BUT only if you are super accurate with it. You will be shooting through very narrow tunnels, and if there's a chance for you to bomb it high and outside of the treeline, you'd better make sure it's a perfect throw otherwise you will be climbing a tree somewhere.

The course itself is very beautiful with nice views and a lot of variety.

Not too many people play this course, so it's usually nice and quiet.

Also if you work downtown and want to get a game in after work, the road is really pretty quiet and you can get out there in 10 minutes or so. Way faster than waiting on mopac or lamar for 45 mins to get to zilker. Cross the river at Redbud, left on westlake, then a right on bee caves. Easy.

Cons: It IS difficult. I know i have that in both my pros and cons list. It's a positive if you're good and really want to work on your accuracy and approach game. It's a negative if you're with somebody that isn't at that level yet.

DO NOT BRING YOUR BUDDY OUT WHO IS TRYING TO LEARN. They will get frustrated. You will get frustrated. Everyone around will get frustrated.

Tee boxes aren't bad but would be much nicer if they were concrete.

Layout/Navigation is very confusing if you've only played it a couple times. The signs pointing you to the next tee box are misleading.

BE SURE TO TAKE A PICTURE OF THE MAP AT THE ENTRANCE. It's a lifesaver.

Other Thoughts: There's a lot of overgrown areas, even on fairways. Don't wear flip flops. Heck, don't even wear your chacos and hipster jorts. Wear some good shoes (you will be climbing some steep cliffs and walking ALOT) and either long socks or long pants. I haven't encountered any poison ivy, but there is definitely stickers and bramble that will tear your ankles apart.

Don't get frustrated. It's a tough course. Just keep playing smart. Don't try to power your way to pars and birdies if you're not super accurate with drives. Play to your strengths and be methodical and you will enjoy your course.

Keep in mind you're on a church property that is kind enough to offer this course and keep it maintained. Don't bring a cooler of beer out here (you don't want to be carrying it up cliffs anyway), and try not to scream out the curse words when you inevitably double-bogey on a seemingly easy hole. Share the love and keep it clean.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 There's gold in them hills!

1    5/27/2012   5/27/2012
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Update: The course now has huge cement tees and continues to get better over time.

First: this is a beautiful, unique disc golf course. Please be mindful of the fact that it is on a church property and behave appropriately.

ABR provides a unique, extreme disc golf challenge. I'd say the skill level is gold, rather than blue and even par is a very, very good score.

The course is a short drive out of Austin proper, but takes you to a whole other world. The hill country is gorgeous with amazing vistas on the way out. The course itself is on a fantastic wonderland of ups and downs, cool trees, creeks, and offers a good amount of shade.

While the challenge is extreme, it is fair and rewards methodical, calm play. Players who get frustrated and lose their cool will be punished. Players who take their lumps when they come and plot on will take home the bragging rights.

Their are plenty of obstacles and the rough is appropriately punishing, but it's not so thick as to make finding discs overly difficult or punishing on the body.

There is great variety in the challenge. Power and technical requirements are well balanced. There are quite a few greens with drop-off's near the baskets. There are several holes which are candidates for the best in disc golf short list.

Playing this course is a great physical workout. Play here twice a week and you'll be in shape quickly.

Some of the hole highlights include:

Hole 2 is a good example of a very short par 4 with good challenge. The tee shot must be thrown very precisely uphill to set up a short, technical second shot. Standing on the tee pad many will think "this is an easy 3, 4 worst case", but don't take this one for ganted.

Hole 3 is a shortish par 4 at only 530 ft, downhill, but is extremely demanding. The tee shot is tight and then there's enough of a dogleg left to make for a challenging angle to the very picturesque "island" basket, with creeks short and long.

Hole 4 is another quality, shortish par 4 that plays tougher than it looks on paper. The tee shot must navigate a gap and favor the left side of the fairway to set up a tight, uphill, sweeping left to right mid-range second shot to a basket with a drop-off behind.

Hole 6 is a very unique, diabolical short par 3. There is a very tight route directly at the basket. There is also the option to go over the top, preferably with a high, lefty spike hyzer. This is a rare hole shape, but it's a nice gift for lefty's to balance the tons of righty spike hyzer holes in disc golf.

Holes 8, 10, and 13 are additional solid par 4's, somewhat similar to hole 4, but each unique in look and feel.

Hole 9 is a very good medium-long, straight par 3. The hole plays along a high ridge, exposed to tricky winds. There is a tight, low direct route or the option of throwing much higher over the trees, but very much exposed to the winds.

Hole 14 has probably the most fun tee shot on the course. The look is gorgeous and merits taking a minute just to stand and take it in. It offers the opportunity to bomb a downhill, sweeping hyzer to a wide fairway to set up a chance at one of the easier par 4 birdies on the course.

Hole 16 is a magnificent hole. It's a very short, downhill par 4 with eagle potential, but lots of trouble. The decision has to be made on the tee whether to throw a 300 ft mid-range shot to set up a 3 or bust a driver in hopes of a 2. The fairway is very tight and a driver that deflects could make 5 or 6 possible.

Hole 18 has a nice look and provides a very solid challenge to finish the round. Discs can be thrown either left to right or right to left to the uphill basket with water lurking on the left. The wind must be gauged accurately and the shot must be thrown with sufficient power and accuracy to obtain a favorable result.






Cons: I'm a huge fan of ABR and look forward to facing its challenge many more times in the future, but it is not perfect.

ABR is not beginner friendly. The difficult golf and extreme hiking could make for a very frustrating experience for golfers below the intermediate level. There are "red" tees, but most are unmarked and can be difficult to locate.

While it is improving all the time, the course is still green and will take a few years to break in. Some of the fairways are overgrown, making it difficult to strategize without doing a lot of walking up to peek. Some of the growth is encumbering otherwise well designed routes. It is evident that work is continuing with new mulch being added and efforts to control the standing water in a couple of the fairways.

The course does not loop back to the parking area after 9 holes, even though it could. There are several places which could use "next tee" signs. I echo the previous poster who recommended taking a picture of the course map with your phone.

There are a few safety crowding issues. A short drive on hole 1 can hyzer right into hole 3's basket. Holes 6 and 7 crowd each other. Hole 8's basket is very close to hole 9's fairway. The path from hole 9 to 10 crosses hole 12's fairway. A drive on hole 16 that flips over can go screaming into hole 18's tee.

Hole 7 is a 135 footer past a couple small, plinko trees. This type of skill gets tested throughout the course and doesn't really merit being its own hole.

Letter holes. There's no reason. 18 holes are plenty of challenge on this course. Hole A is now my new #1 WTF hole in the world. A 260 ft par 4 straight up a billy-goat rock hill, really?

Hole 12 is a 400 footer down a steep grade with no fairway. Shots must be thrown over the top of the trees, exposed to swirling wind. Yes, the hole can be parked as is, but cutting a couple trees down the middle would make an actual fairway.

Hole 17 is awkwardly jammed between holes 16 and 18.
Other Thoughts: I would rank ABR 4th in the Austin area behind Circle C, East Metro Park, and Roy G., and ahead of Met Center. (although I've yet to play WilCo). ABR will likely become a 4.5 course soon, as work continues.

Don't be a dirty discer; leave the course cleaner than the way you found it.


6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 HELL YA!!!!

1    3/22/2012   3/27/2012
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: WOW!!! This course is truly awesome! You can tell after about 2 holes that this is a Houck course if you've played his courses before. This course has every single shot and you will use every single one that you have. You will have to throw far, throw accurate, and bang those putts, or your score will skyrocket in a hurry….and then some. The course map upfront is a help for newcomers and I highly recommend if this is your first time out here, take a pic of it or get a map cause you will play to a wrong basket and/or need it for navigation issues. Great discatchers are a great sight and help see where you need to go. The signs are awesome and help find the hole for the most part as well. This is truly for the hardcore golfer and you will want to have to play that way or you will hate it. You have to be able to place a shot many times just to get another. Elevation is super cool, especially on B, in which the view is one of the best for sure. The elevation and natural obstacles are great on the greens as well always making a good putt crucial! I like the mulch tees for the most part but they are also a negative as some are very rough. The logged fairways are pretty cool and remind me of a private course up here.
Cons: Navigation can be a hassle here but not too bad as long as you have a little patience and don't mind walking to find some baskets, although I did throw to a wrong basket on one hole costing me 2 strokes. The terrain can be brutal on knees and ankles if you don't pay attention, as my partner rolled his ankle pretty good. As stated before, mulch tees, they are great where they are taken care of, but there are many areas that there are rocks or stumps and sometimes both making for bad footing at times. The fairways of 12 and I think 8/9 cross and there are issues there Im sure when the course is packed. Poor drainage on 13 and 18 make for a muddy transition in those fairways. Still a little rough but Im sure that will be taken care of with people playing this gem.
Other Thoughts: This course is one of the best Ive played and moved in the top 5 of mine after just one play! Worth a stop anytime in the area.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Pros and Die Hards Only

1    3/22/2012   3/22/2012
Review By: hefalump
Played: 23  Reviewed: 19
9 Helpful / 18 Not
Pros: You can work with what land a place gives you and John Houck did his very best with this course. Trouble is, John Houck is a pro and most of us disc golfers aren't. I found this course very difficult and impossible to par any hole. It also doesn't hurt to be part mountain goat due to the heavy terrain. Holes 1 through 3 play in a circle around the creek and 2's pro tee plays off a high cliff face. When I played the first hole, I found I had tossed into number 3's basket. Then I found that baskets 1 and 3 aren't numbered. The course just gets worse from there. Hole 4 was probably the best of the next 5 holes I played and please don't get me started on holes A and B. I lost a disc in the brush coming down the hill on B hole. and when I saw the ascent on hole 12' that's where I stopped and went back to the car.
Cons: Too hilly, too difficult, and too long. (It took me 3 hours to play 12 holes). Good course for the pros, but I think the intermediates will have a tough time with this one as well.
Other Thoughts: I have been silent on reviewing most of these Austin courses because of all the unhelpful votes I have been getting on some other courses. If you like your course rugged, tough and almost impossible, then this is your course. As for me, I like Circle C Ranch, Seawright, and Metro. I will stick with them, thank you!

9 of 27 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.