Austin, TX 
Austin Ridge Bible Church Share
Uploaded By: judson Hole #4 (Taken 12/2009)
4 / 468ft.   4 / 510ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Work in Progress

5+    9/13/2013   10/18/2013
Review By: 4thechains@gmail.com
Played: 45  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is very difficult and challenging course, which is a plus for me. There is a great demand for technical shots off the tee, and a wide variety of shots are available. This course is exciting in two main ways, the high difficulty, and the test of physical ability. Playing this course will remind you of a hike through mountainous terrain.
Cons: I have played here many times, and I still require the use of a map. I suggest you definitely print a map to take with you.
The course is unfinished at this time. There are several holes without concrete tees, although I believe they are being worked on at this time. The course would benefit from some specific pruning, and some serious clean up on the fairways. The elevation changes are exciting, however a poorly designed downhill shot puts players putting on a previous hole at serious risk. Not only are those players in danger while putting, they must cross a dangerous fairway to get to the next hole. Players on the tee box are unable to see players putting, and would only be able to view crossing players when they are in the dead center of the fairway. (I cannot remember the # of the hole that it is dangerous to putt on, nor can I recall the number of the downhill shot that puts them in jeopardy) will update this as soon as I revisit.
Other Thoughts: This course has great potential, and I look forward to updating my review when I play the finished product. This is truly an advanced level course, and will test your merit no matter what level of player you are.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Be ready

1    7/29/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: atxDG
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Challenging for sure, scenic, good tee boxes, new maps, pro and am boxes, never anyone there.
Cons: Its unforgiving Texas terrain, still pretty heavy wooded in some areas, not many trash cans or seats
Other Thoughts: Pretty cool, you will need a nap after.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 ...still a work in progress?

5+    3/6/2011   3/8/2011
Review By: skurf
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 12 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is truly a one-of-a-kind course, and has a ton of potential. There are many unique and memorable holes like Bonus Hole B that starts on the top of a tall hill and has a great hill-country view. Hole 6 is a very cool, short birdie hole that throws out over a ravine with a small creek at the bottom that adds a little risk.

Pretty much every hole requires a very precise shot, and a lot of them require power and precision if you even want to par it out.

It has good pin location as can be seen in most Houck courses, and by good, I mean challenging. For instance, Hole 15, which is pretty much a birdie filler hole is made slightly more risky with its pin location on the side of a small bluff. The pin on 2 may be the most difficult to reach as it is guarded by trees in front and to the right, but you can't really go left either because there is also a group of trees that block the fairway on the left side...oh, and this is after you throw uphill across a ravine through a fairly tight fairway.
Cons: I was going to hold off on reviewing this course until they finished it up, but well over a year after opening, I'm still waiting for them to finish it. It's hard to knock it for this since it is a private free-to-play course on very unique hilly terrain, but it's impossible to ignore. The same mulch piles have been in certain fairways for over a year still remain un-spread (holes 11 and 13 come to mind), although the overall height of them has been worn down by the weather.

This course seems to have almost regressed in the past half-year instead of progressing to a more finished state. The last time I was out there, Holes 1, 3, and 18 were missing (and possibly 2- I didn't check since it is blind and out of the way of the rest of the course). Hole 3 is one of the best holes on the entire course with a picturesque pin location in front of a rock formation and across the creek. It's a shame this pin has been removed and I have no idea why. Hole 18 has never been put back in even though the parking lot was finished last year.

The teepads have only slightly been improved since it first opened. They are still very rough, but at least they have cut some of the tree stumps down that used to protrude in the boxes; "some" being the keyword there.

There are now tons of downed cedars strewn throughout the edges of fairways on multiple holes. It looks like they were cut down and just left there, making disc retrieving an extremely strenuous endeavor if you go off the fairway, which is not too difficult on this course considering how tight most of the fairways are.

Hole 12 shoots over the path between holes 9 and 10. Considering hole 12 is a big downhill shot it is quite dangerous for people walking this path or even for people that are finishing up at hole 9. I have seen more shots come spiking down at hole 9's basket than I have at Hole 12's basket, but luckily no cracked skulls to speak of.

The first half of hole 13's fairway is ALWAYS muddy due to what looks like an underground spring that surfaces in the middle of it.

Supposedly, there are short tees out here for most of the holes. I've seen maybe 1 or 2 of them, but I'd hardly consider them tee boxes-- more like 3 cedar logs placed on the ground in an open rectangle. I don't think anyone actually plays from them and I'm not sure if many of them even exist.
Other Thoughts: This is not a beginner's course by any means. A lot of the holes are difficult par 4's around 500' that wind through thick cedars and require precise shots into small landing areas if you want any type of look at a clear 2nd shot. This can be challenging for advanced players, frustrating for intermediate players, and downright impossible for beginners since many of the landing areas require a ~300' shot. Simply put, this is the most challenging course I've ever played.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/30/2010   1/1/2011
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.7 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
A beautiful setting is a fantastic start to this heavily wooded course on church property. The Houck signs are fantabulous as always. Great new Discatcher Pro baskets. This course is a nice mix of tight fairways and long accurate shots. There are some shorter cutesy holes in there as well. The elevation shots here are great and a welcome change to simplistic approach shots common to a lot of courses. The "A" and "B" bonus holes are nothing close to average and exemplify the elevation changes in play here. Multiple tee boxes attempt to provide easier teeing spots for those less glutton for punishment.
Cons:
The wood chip bedded tee boxes provide some rough footing depending on how dispersed or dense they are. Blind baskets are abundant here and can be frustrating for first timers. Another reviewer put it accurately when he called this course not so much risk/reward as execute or die. A personal preference is that I'd like a couple long, more open holes that really let you rip a disc.
Other Thoughts:
Several of the holes were closed for construction when I played the course, but I still feel like I got the gist of the course. Threes on my card were few and far between when I played here and this course kicked my butt the first time out. It's not for the faint of heart. You will get a decent endurance test on this course with all the up and down hikes.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Close, But Not Quite

1    12/7/2010   12/13/2010
Review By: Clue
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 20.4 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of shots, very challenging, interesting terrain and incredible views.
Cons: Too rough, bad tee pads, unfinished, lacks fun shots.
Other Thoughts: I'm a huge fan of Houck designs, but I'm torn on this one. There are some really good holes, and it follows the same concept as many courses I like, but there's a big problem with this one. It's not really risk/reward so much as execute or die. Hitting lines is a must on this course, but not only are these some of the toughest lines to hit, but you're handicapped by trying to keep your balance on really rough tee pads.

This course is far from a lost cause. It needs some work, mainly on the tee pads and getting mulch piles out of many fairways. If/when it gets cleaned up a little the design is probably a 4-4.5.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Multiple Personality Review

2-4    12/18/2009   12/21/2009
Review By: Smatta
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 19.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/22/2009
14 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This without a doubt is one of the nicest, most beautiful courses I have ever played. It is right on par with Houck designed courses (this is also a con). The course design uses multiple landing areas on several holes, a design technique that can certainly enhance the game. The course makes great use of terrain, elevation changes, trees, and water. It really is a nice course!
Cons: Here's where the Multiple Personality Disorder comes into play. Though I believe in Houk's Mulitple Landing Area designs, there are several holes that just plain interrupt the flow if the game. The problem is that even from those landing areas the "fairway" is nonexistant. I understand trees are part of the challenge of DG but you shouldn't have to get lucky to do well. There are several holes that luck is more important than skill. If memory serves me correctly, baskets 2, 4, 7, 10, and 13 and a couple others fall in this category.
An other con is this course is not inviting to new players. In its current design, a new player would never return to the course or worse, possibly never return to the game after playing here. As mentioned before, other cons are getting lost without a map and the condition of the tee pads.
Other Thoughts: I am giving this course a 3 because a five means that there is absolutely nothing that can be done to the course. Taking the stumpy (dirt is not bad) conditon of the tee pads, the overall layout, and the course not being inviting to new players, I can only rate it a three.

Please remember to pack out whatever you pack in. I picked up several cans and trash left behind by golfers. This is beautiful course, let's keep it that way!

14 of 17 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.