Austin, TX 
Austin Ridge Bible Church Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #1 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 202ft.   3 / 272ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Personal Favorite

5+    11/2/2010   11/15/2010
Review By: Ryme
Played: 25  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/22/2011
2 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: - Great layout
- variety of shots
- beautiful environment
- multiple tees
- bonus holes!!!!
Cons: - challenging
- very hilly
- disc golf meets mountain climbing
Other Thoughts: personal favorite
- bonus holes are hard to get to but well worth it

2 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 pretty but hard

1    6/15/2010   6/15/2010
Review By: chaser
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is definitely in a beautiful setting in the hill country, and the hike that is the course is worth playing it.

I found it to be very easy to follow with signs/maps at every hole that were very detailed.

Every shot is used and if you use a variety of discs you'll use them all.

Its a very tactical course, and can be frustrating. I almost walked off after struggling to bogey and double the first three holes. I was glad I didn't as the next three or four were much 'easier' (quotations as nothing is easy on this course) and i snagged two birds in a row. I realized at this point that it is not a course for throwing 300- 400 ft drives or even attempting them. It is definitely a lay-up type course where you want to make short accurate shots and hope to par the hard holes by making absolutely no mistakes and bird the couple easier ones. For players like me that don't play with a full bag I recommend making good use of your mid range and approach discs, even off the tees.

All in all it was a fun course, i played 1-13 in about 45 minutes on my first time which is not bad, and is worth the setting.
Cons: The main drawback is the trees should be cut back by about 35%. I have never hit so many trees in my life and my best drives through the trees were just luck. It makes it frustrating to play for anyone not at a super high level of play or with ninja like accuracy. As someone else stated NEVER bring a beginner out here, they will hate it and never play again. Most of the trees are cedar, which are basically invasive weeds that should be removed anyways. Removal of a few trees would turn this course to a 5 easily.

I thought there wasnt enough variety of holes. Lots of shot variety but everything was super tight and either very long or very short. I like to see more holes in the 300-375 ft range and everything here was either 500 ft. or 200 ft. I also need at least a few holes that are open and i can let it rip on.

Other than those things its great and I'm gonna play it again and whenever I'm in Austin.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful & Brutal

2-4    2/18/2010   4/11/2010
Review By: DrDipsomania
Played: 52  Reviewed: 12
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well designed. Huge shot variety. Massive elevation change. Beautiful scenery. Super tight lines on about half of the holes, which makes for some great flight path viewing (if you can make the shot). Well marked with beautifully detailed signs. Easy to navigate. Great way to get some exercise along with your disc golfing (it's a hike). Awesome thing that the church and local golfers did to make this course possible and maintain it.
Cons: There's hard, and then there's over the top. The latter applies to this course, which goes too far in its difficulty. Unless you are the type of player who never makes an errant shot, this course will annoy you more than you will enjoy it. Save for 3-4 holes, one bad shot (especially a bad tee shot) sets you up for at least a bogey without any chance of having a recovery shot (unless it's a miraculous one) to save par. The trees are brutal and plentiful. The mulch tee boxes don't make for the best footing. The amateur tee boxes are simply a shorter distance to the pin; conversely, the pro boxes are just longer, not necessarily more difficult or technical.
Other Thoughts: It's not that I don't appreciate the design, but the same things that this course wants to have going for it work against it, especially for mediocre or casual players. I can't imagine how awful it would be to come out here with someone who has a short temper. The difficulty of this course detracts from the enjoyment of it.

***As of this time, only holes 1-13 are open due to construction on the back fifth of the course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    12/18/2009   12/18/2009
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/14/2010
18 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The most memorable features of "The Ridge" are the extra two holes. After hole #11 you have to make a choice at the Y in the trail. You can take the trail that goes left to hole #12 or you can take the trail that goes right to Hole A which is the first of two "challenge holes". Hole A is the steepest elevation rise shot in Texas! It's only 261' but it takes two great shots to get to the basket. Hole B is the steepest elevation drop shot in Texas! It's like the hill top shot at Twin Parks but twice as high and twice a steep. It's 270' but a putter will get there with ease.

#6 was my favorite hole. It's a right turning elevation drop shot over a canyon.

Hole #7 is unusual in that it's only 135' but good luck hitting the 4' wide gap.

Hole #12 is another fun elevation drop. You can really air it out over the trees. Just make sure to use a brightly colored disc because the fairway is hard to hit.

Every basket on this course was put in a beautiful location. You could make a disc golf calendar with pictures of the pin positions out there. #3 is the prettiest. It's down by a creek with a bridge and a large rock feature behind it.

The views from the hill tops are amazing.

The fun factor is super high on about half of the course but then gets super low when the cedar lined fairways become too punishing.

There were a few benches placed throughout and you'll need them after climbing some of the hills out there.
Cons: I tried to wing it without a map the first time. Don't do this! I wandered around for thirty minutes before miraculously finding hole #1 because there are no signs of any kind helping first timers. To find hole #1 just park at the concrete dam, walk to the far end of the dam where the second gate is, turn left and find the mulch trail through the woods to hole #1. The mulch trail crosses another mulch trail which is the #3 to #4 transition.

The baskets are not marked and are very hard to find the first time you play because the designer put many of them in hidden locations. I imagine most first timers will have to re-tee on hole #1 like I did after throwing toward the #3 basket that you can see through the woods.

The signs show red and blue tees for most holes but most of the red tees seem to be non-existent except for a few holes that have a log and a flag for the red tee.

Only the blue tees have signs.

A couple of the transitions between holes are long walks and hard to find the next tee especially after hole #12. You have to cross the road at the SLOW CHILDREN AT PLAY sign to play the final six holes.

A few of the holes are just too long for their technical requirement. That combined with the hide and go seek nature of the pin placement makes for a long round and even a longer first timer round because you have to go on an expedition to find the basket. At times you may wonder if maybe the basket is missing. Most newer players will be ready to call it quits after hole #4 but hang in there, it gets better, at least for a few holes and then it gets super difficult again and then gets better again for three of the last four holes.

Be careful around the #8 basket, the transition to the #9 tee, and the #9 tee box because this area is the general landing zone for most of the discs thrown off the #12 tee. I've heard they may be relocating the #12 tee pad.

The tee boxes are just pityful. The blue tees are framed with cedar logs but the ground is very un-level, rocky and just awkward to throw from on many of the holes. Trying to throw with pinpoint accuracy off such bad tees makes for a frustrating round. You'll feel like you need to attend the church on the hill after all the cussing you'll do out there.

A few of the fairways are flood prone and you'll find your well thrown shot laying in a puddle of stagnant water.

The water crossings on #2 and #18 are hard to cross but there is a nice bridge on #4.

Bring some bandaids. The narrow cedar lined fairways will cut you to pieces. Even the most accurate of discer will find themself up under a sprawling cedar at some point.
Other Thoughts: The "challenge holes" make this course a must play but only the most advanced of disc golfer will want to play here regularly.

This amazing piece of property is a free gift to the community from the members of the church. I predict that as soon as the conservative congregation finds out that the majority of the people using the property are a mix of beer drinking and pot smoking hippies and rednecks that tend to litter, graffitti, and vandalize property that has been gifted to them, this course will be removed.

18 of 22 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.