Austin, TX 
Austin Ridge Bible Church Share
Uploaded By: judson Hole #3 (Taken 12/2009)
4 / 318ft.   4 / 528ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Approach



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Austin Ridge

2-4    3/11/2014   3/11/2014
Review By: lowrie4
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10
Pros: Lots of shot variation. Good amount of right to left, and left to right shots. Most holes have rather tight fairways which is in most circumstances a plus. I really enjoyed the overall play of the course and the hole variability. The structure of the course itself is great.
Cons: Flow and navigation. Some of the tees for the next hole can be tough to find if you haven't played here before. Took me a lot longer to play the course the first time simply because I would spend a few minutes after every few holes looking for the next tee box. If a few more signs were added around the course that would be great.
Other Thoughts: This course is not a beginners course! Much more difficult than other nearby courses, granted, because there are other nearby courses for beginners this is neither a pro or a con. Final thought would be that the actual disc golf on this course is amazing! This course asks for many difficult shots and requires solid all around disc golf game in order to post a good round. However, the navigation can be tricky the first time through, so make sure you give yourself ample time and pay attention to the signs for which direction the next tee is.

Amazing course

5+    5/25/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: Banditozzy
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2012
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Newly added concrete boxes. The pro boxes on this course offer an extremely challenging and diverse round of golf. Despite playing this course 30 plus times I am still humbled by the technical difficulties and beauty of it every time I play. Not a good course for a begining player unless you want to play the red tees. Lots of trees and hills. Be sure to play the bonus holes. Ongoing construction has seen the course make up change over the last year. Especially in the back nine. If there is one course in Austin you have a chance to play make it this one. There are trash cans and benchs throughout the course.
Cons: The red tees are far to easy. I understand that the effort was to make the course friendly for the whole family, but the difference is worlds apart from the pros. There is not alot of communication about the construction projects. You might show up to play and the course will be closed.
Other Thoughts: Built on the Austin Bible Ridge church grounds. I would like to show appriciation to them for commisioning such an amazing course and opening it to the public. Please be mindful that is on church property and be respectful. Truely one of the best courses in Texas. Play with a local or get a map.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 HELL YA!!!!

1    3/22/2012   3/27/2012
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: WOW!!! This course is truly awesome! You can tell after about 2 holes that this is a Houck course if you've played his courses before. This course has every single shot and you will use every single one that you have. You will have to throw far, throw accurate, and bang those putts, or your score will skyrocket in a hurry….and then some. The course map upfront is a help for newcomers and I highly recommend if this is your first time out here, take a pic of it or get a map cause you will play to a wrong basket and/or need it for navigation issues. Great discatchers are a great sight and help see where you need to go. The signs are awesome and help find the hole for the most part as well. This is truly for the hardcore golfer and you will want to have to play that way or you will hate it. You have to be able to place a shot many times just to get another. Elevation is super cool, especially on B, in which the view is one of the best for sure. The elevation and natural obstacles are great on the greens as well always making a good putt crucial! I like the mulch tees for the most part but they are also a negative as some are very rough. The logged fairways are pretty cool and remind me of a private course up here.
Cons: Navigation can be a hassle here but not too bad as long as you have a little patience and don't mind walking to find some baskets, although I did throw to a wrong basket on one hole costing me 2 strokes. The terrain can be brutal on knees and ankles if you don't pay attention, as my partner rolled his ankle pretty good. As stated before, mulch tees, they are great where they are taken care of, but there are many areas that there are rocks or stumps and sometimes both making for bad footing at times. The fairways of 12 and I think 8/9 cross and there are issues there Im sure when the course is packed. Poor drainage on 13 and 18 make for a muddy transition in those fairways. Still a little rough but Im sure that will be taken care of with people playing this gem.
Other Thoughts: This course is one of the best Ive played and moved in the top 5 of mine after just one play! Worth a stop anytime in the area.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

One of the top 3 in Austin area, easily

5+    1/28/2012   1/31/2012
Review By: pablo.diablo
Played: 51  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2012
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: [UPDATE: November 2012]
All Teepads are installed except for #7. Instant Rating increase of 1/2 star. The best tees in Austin behind Roy G.

The long tees are incredible, they made these customized trapezoids and you can really tell the angles were chosen to allow for both righty/lefty or backhand/sidearm run-ups.

The short tees are not quite as nice being very short and rectangular, but you don't really need huge run-up room on them anyway. I find them highly suitable for their intended purpose.

They have also added and improved steps to walk up the steep hill on #2, it's looking great! They have nice bridges right where you need them.

. . . . . . .

My favorite courses have plenty of technical woods holes and elevation, and this place will not disappoint in those regards. Beautiful technical woods holes with plenty of elevation and creek running throughout.

Lots of true Par 4's, maybe even half the holes? This is a great thing.

There are so many unique holes that you simply will not find elsewhere in this area. There was also water threatening a lot of holes, making them even more scenic and challenging.

The only places in Texas that I have played so far that have a similar mix of length, difficulty, technicality, beauty/scenery, water, and elevation are Lake Nacogdoches and Selah Ranch.
Cons: Debris is still being cleared from the fairways. There are all kinds of improved routes now, though.

#1 can trick you into throwing at the #3 basket if you don't know the layout.

#10 is a BEAST from the long tee, I'm not sure it's actually fair in it's current condition. The left route needs to be groomed badly. The right route is also very tight and leaves you with a crazy difficult 2nd shot. Only people that can throw a huge anny flex over the treetops have an advantage here.

#12 needs a true fairway up the middle. I would guess only 5-10% of all drives end up with something resembling a putt. I have never had a putt opportunity after my drive on ~20 attempts. Most of them end up in the woods or way off the "fairway" at best.

#13 has a major drainage issue with standing water, but as of October 2012 they are cutting a ditch for it (AWESOME)! This same hole needs some additional fairway "grooming". I'm sure they have it in the works.

Alternate holes A & B should not be played for minis/tourneys. You can play outstanding true golf on every other hole, but either of these 2 can kill your game. You can't see either basket from the tee. The B-hole could really use a super tall flag or something on top of the basket. I think they remove a certain amount of fairness from a normal round, and am glad they are "alternates".

Lack of benches, so bring a stool. Not cart-friendly due to extreme hilly terrain.

Only other con is that it needs to be played more to be really broken in and that only comes with time. In < 5 years, I truly believe this will be the best course in Austin, and one of the best in TX.
Other Thoughts: This course is very physical and difficult, which are two things that casual disc golfers are not used to, and the main reasons for most of the lower rated reviews.

Once the debris gets removed and the last few teepads and fairways finished, this will be the best course in the Austin area in my opinion. Far more unique than Roy G., and better elevation/beauty/water than Circle C.

If you are going for the first time, you should probably play doubles, it is a fantastic dubs course.

Listen to the other reviewers: Bring more water and less discs! Eliminate any redundancies in your bag before the round, your back will thank you.

If you are carrying more than a dozen discs out here you need to rethink your bag. Your score WILL suffer later in the round from fatigue.

You can play one round here and feel like you played two rounds somewhere else. It can take 3+ hours if you play with a group and have to search for the occasional lost disc. But now with all the short tees, you can play in < 2 hours if you want to speed hike it.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 First time out

1    8/21/2011   8/21/2011
Review By: SirSycoSexE72
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very well managed course and baskets are well marked for the most part.
Cons: Lots of climbing and requires good shoes for safe footing.
Other Thoughts: No complaints for the most part. The course is a nice course but not for the feint of heart. Enjoyed the brisk workout with the occasional break to find a misplaced disc. Look forward to playing this course more regularly.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

1    7/9/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: Dcloud90
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short to Really Long Holes

Short holes dont worry about overshooting cause lots of Trees to stop you

Long Ranged Holes are mostly open and easy to park at the pin.
Cons: Really Hilly and Really Long,
Get ready for a Hike.

Watch for Water hazards, very dangerous and NASTY looking water.

Bull Needle beware, you are not gonna leave this course without getting caught by these things.
Other Thoughts: Bring LOTS of Water!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 You will be challenged

2-4    12/15/2010   12/15/2010
Review By: Guru10
Played: 39  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course. The leaves are turning, the isolated feeling of being in the woods, hilly terrain, it's all here.

Great signs. I would expect nothing less from HouckDesign.

Elevation changes. Seems like the basket is never on the same plane from the one you throw from, the basket is everywhere. Uphill, downhill, both steep and gradual, are present. The changes place a premium on placement.

*Greatest example? Bonus holes. "A" feels like it is literally straight up. "B" is a compliment to that, and the most picturesque, a throw "off the top of the world" it seems.

All shots are tested and all shots can be used. Backhand, forehand, thumber, roller, if it's in your bag of tricks, you can use it. Left, right and straight, are all here as this course favors all-handedness.

Intermediate to pro will find fun in such a challenging and tough course.
Cons: Beginners should go somewhere else, honestly. You will not have fun, you will lose a disc and you will hate this sport if you come out to this course. This course will punish, relentlessly, stray shots, bad releases, bad form, etc. Intermediate to Pro only for the obvious reason; it's TOUGH!

Tee boxes need a face lift. They are in prime spots, no complaint about placement, but the condition they are in is mediocre at best. Uneven and loose gravel and dirt from natural tees are just a nuisance. Something consistent from tee to tee, like rubber mats or, if a lot of work was put in, concrete, would make this a championship wooded course.
Other Thoughts: I'll say it again: this is a HARD course. This course puts a premium on consistent shot placement, the ability to play elevation changes, and the confidence to hit very specific lines and elevated putts. All in all, I found this course to be one of the most challenging in the south Austin area and have minimal to complain about.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Austin's Finest

5+    11/12/2010   11/15/2010
Review By: Overhanding4distance
Played: 41  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/17/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -DISCatcher Pro's
-mulched tee boxes; Pro and Am
-Picturesque Hill Country scenery
-Creative holes that challenge most players
-Bonus Holes; Water Holes, Extreme Elevation
-Great signage, trails, benches, maps by hole #1
Cons: -This course is extremely challenging, and amateur or new players that easily get discouraged may not enjoy it.
-Heavily wooded, w/ stumps on ground. Wear shoes with good grip.
Other Thoughts: I feel fortunate to have such a great course in my city. Austin Ridge Bible is definitely one of the best courses in Texas.
Throwing from the "Top of the World," on bonus hole B is absolutely jaw dropping!
What makes this course so special is the combination of the hill country scenery and elevation make for a great hike. You ascend and descend your way through a disc golf mountain.
**Update**
After playing more disc golf courses in Texas over 2010, I felt obligated to change my wording of "one of the best courses in Central Texas," to simply one of the best in the state. Enjoy.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 First outing this weekend

1    3/5/2010   3/9/2010
Review By: Chris
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Absolute variety of shots. from low and technical, big throws, water shots and a truly epic elevation change coming down off B. They definetly deserve the 'this course has it all' sticker on their signs. I reccommend going with at least one friend for moral support. By the time you climb the hill to the top of A you'll need that backup.
Cons: 14-18 closed for parking lot construction
Other Thoughts: After a few years of the Austin DG scene walking the trails and fairways this will be in competetion for the title of 'best in the ATX'

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course Ever

1    1/18/2010   1/19/2010
Review By: JerryChesterson
Played: 150  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 19.9 Years
6 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is one of, if not the best course I've ever played. This course has it all, great shot selection, beautiful and difficult holes, sweet ace runs, elevation, breath taking vistas, and water, lots of water. The finishing stretch of 3 holes is one of the best and most fun I've played.
Cons: Although the tee pads are great right now, I fear in time without installing concrete pads they might get rough. That said, as they are now, they work great and I'm sure they'll put them in at some point.
Other Thoughts: Play this course, best course is Texas.

6 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.