Austin, TX 
Austin Ridge Bible Church Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ   (Taken 5/2010)
Course map overview sign

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 So frustrating but worth it

1    11/8/2010   11/11/2010
Review By: Aupps
Played: 32  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A greatly challenging course. You have to bring your A game to this course or you might go home crying.
Beautiful scenery. Has one of the best views on a course in central Texas.
Good use of water and elevation.
It's close to my parents house (a personal pro)
Cons: Have to have pin point accuracy on many of the holes. Their fairways are only a few feet wide.
Lots of chances to lose discs.
There is a nice bridge on #3 but there could be a few move of them on water crossings.
Someone needs to go through the course with a machete and clear out a lot of the underbrush.
Other Thoughts: I would not bring a new player here, it would only frustrate them, and might turn them off on the sport all together.
The course may still be under construction as there are big piles of wood chips all over the course.
Would be a great tournament course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Only if you have water

1    6/15/2010   6/21/2010
Review By: ajcase
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very pretty course! You probably wont lose a disc because you arent trying to drive this course. Its very challenging and I like challenging courses, shooting at a straight basket isn't very enjoyable.
Cons: It is very challenging. I'm not even kidding.Do not play if you are inexperienced which is why I wont be going back soon.
Other Thoughts: It isn't really listed yet on the internet besides DGreview so it wont be very packed.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 pretty but hard

1    6/15/2010   6/15/2010
Review By: chaser
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is definitely in a beautiful setting in the hill country, and the hike that is the course is worth playing it.

I found it to be very easy to follow with signs/maps at every hole that were very detailed.

Every shot is used and if you use a variety of discs you'll use them all.

Its a very tactical course, and can be frustrating. I almost walked off after struggling to bogey and double the first three holes. I was glad I didn't as the next three or four were much 'easier' (quotations as nothing is easy on this course) and i snagged two birds in a row. I realized at this point that it is not a course for throwing 300- 400 ft drives or even attempting them. It is definitely a lay-up type course where you want to make short accurate shots and hope to par the hard holes by making absolutely no mistakes and bird the couple easier ones. For players like me that don't play with a full bag I recommend making good use of your mid range and approach discs, even off the tees.

All in all it was a fun course, i played 1-13 in about 45 minutes on my first time which is not bad, and is worth the setting.
Cons: The main drawback is the trees should be cut back by about 35%. I have never hit so many trees in my life and my best drives through the trees were just luck. It makes it frustrating to play for anyone not at a super high level of play or with ninja like accuracy. As someone else stated NEVER bring a beginner out here, they will hate it and never play again. Most of the trees are cedar, which are basically invasive weeds that should be removed anyways. Removal of a few trees would turn this course to a 5 easily.

I thought there wasnt enough variety of holes. Lots of shot variety but everything was super tight and either very long or very short. I like to see more holes in the 300-375 ft range and everything here was either 500 ft. or 200 ft. I also need at least a few holes that are open and i can let it rip on.

Other than those things its great and I'm gonna play it again and whenever I'm in Austin.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful & Brutal

2-4    2/18/2010   4/11/2010
Review By: DrDipsomania
Played: 52  Reviewed: 12
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well designed. Huge shot variety. Massive elevation change. Beautiful scenery. Super tight lines on about half of the holes, which makes for some great flight path viewing (if you can make the shot). Well marked with beautifully detailed signs. Easy to navigate. Great way to get some exercise along with your disc golfing (it's a hike). Awesome thing that the church and local golfers did to make this course possible and maintain it.
Cons: There's hard, and then there's over the top. The latter applies to this course, which goes too far in its difficulty. Unless you are the type of player who never makes an errant shot, this course will annoy you more than you will enjoy it. Save for 3-4 holes, one bad shot (especially a bad tee shot) sets you up for at least a bogey without any chance of having a recovery shot (unless it's a miraculous one) to save par. The trees are brutal and plentiful. The mulch tee boxes don't make for the best footing. The amateur tee boxes are simply a shorter distance to the pin; conversely, the pro boxes are just longer, not necessarily more difficult or technical.
Other Thoughts: It's not that I don't appreciate the design, but the same things that this course wants to have going for it work against it, especially for mediocre or casual players. I can't imagine how awful it would be to come out here with someone who has a short temper. The difficulty of this course detracts from the enjoyment of it.

***As of this time, only holes 1-13 are open due to construction on the back fifth of the course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 First outing this weekend

1    3/5/2010   3/9/2010
Review By: Chris
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Absolute variety of shots. from low and technical, big throws, water shots and a truly epic elevation change coming down off B. They definetly deserve the 'this course has it all' sticker on their signs. I reccommend going with at least one friend for moral support. By the time you climb the hill to the top of A you'll need that backup.
Cons: 14-18 closed for parking lot construction
Other Thoughts: After a few years of the Austin DG scene walking the trails and fairways this will be in competetion for the title of 'best in the ATX'

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course Ever

1    1/18/2010   1/19/2010
Review By: JerryChesterson
Played: 180  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 22.2 Years
6 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is one of, if not the best course I've ever played. This course has it all, great shot selection, beautiful and difficult holes, sweet ace runs, elevation, breath taking vistas, and water, lots of water. The finishing stretch of 3 holes is one of the best and most fun I've played.
Cons: Although the tee pads are great right now, I fear in time without installing concrete pads they might get rough. That said, as they are now, they work great and I'm sure they'll put them in at some point.
Other Thoughts: Play this course, best course is Texas.

6 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    1/13/2010   1/13/2010
Review By: vikkterr
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.4 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A diversity of shots. This course has uphill, downhill, narrow and open shots. I used just about every type of shot here, foreheand, backhand, name it. Also just a beautiful course with marked tee boxes except for #12.
Cons: The amateur tee boxes are not all clearly marked and the baskets are not clearly marked with numbers, it makes for the first trip out to be a little confusing. The first tee is a little hard to find.
Other Thoughts: I really, really liked this course. The shots were very challenging and the views were amazing. I liked that the level of difficulty seemed to build up, because nothing starts off a game worse than having a near impossible first hole and being in a funk from the get go.

I would suggest you come out here with no more than 10 discs. Granted with the diversity of shots you will likely use every disc in your bag - however this course can be a little rough on the knees and ankles so my recommendation would be to go light. There isn't a lot of cacti and a lot of the underbrush is cleared out because of the rocky terrain and all the wood chips spread about. Also if you got hiking shoes that would work best because there's a lot of rocky terrain and steep inclines/declines.

If you have the time I would also recommend you play the extra "A" and "B" holes. The view from the "B" tee is well worth the extra effort. Once you get up there don't be afraid to let it rip.

The #12 tee box does not have a sign, just a big wooden post where the tee box sign should be. I wrote a 12 on that post with the sharpie I hope to someday use to mark an ace (someday dangit!). I hope that will come in handy till a sign goes up.

Overall this is a beautiful course on church property so I would like reiterate the other posts here and say to all who come here to be respectful, pick up your trash, and treat it as if you were a guest on someone else's property, because that's exactly what you are. This course already had quite a few people on a drizzly Wednesday afternoon so I expect the crowds to only get bigger as the word spreads on this great park.

I gave this park a 4 out of 5 only because not all the tee boxes are clearly marked and the baskets are not numbered, however this course is still pretty new so I expect that to change with time and for this park to only get better.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.


5+    9/10/2011   1/11/2010
Review By: nutkick
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 9/11/2011
1 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: Best course in the area, like the other world class courses around here but with a huge hill presence
not often crowded, the difficulty prob keeps some ppl away.
mastering, if possible, this course will take your game up a notch or two, or ten.
Cons: if not in good shape or ready to commit the better part of the day it can mess you up
not many trash cans, even on holes close to street, so many stumps of cut trees 3-4" above ground hurt when you step on or trip over, cut them to the ground please!
Other Thoughts: when are the worlds gonna come to austin?
being in good shape makes a huge difference on this course.

1 of 17 people found this review helpful.


2-4    12/25/2009   12/25/2009
Review By: mc lazer
Played: 28  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/31/2009
12 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: It's like a supercharged combo of Circle C and Manor. Alot of elevation and some sick tunnels. Chances are if you have it in your bag you'll use it but, don't carry to much or you'll be exhausted. The hike is well worth it for the bonus holes and the reward is at the top when you get there. The view is the best of any course in Austin which feels like you could throw a mile away. It's a diamond in the rough still in it's infancy but, don't think of it as a baby cause it packs a punch like Mike Tyson. There's a nice mix of holes that require big drives and others that just need the finesse. A good recovery shot is a must have as well as controlled accurate drives and upshots.
Cons: Watch out for one another you could loose an arm or leg crossing a fairway or even in the box from a shot coming downhill. Need a few bridges and a path with a sign pointing the way to Hole 1.
Other Thoughts: Remeber this is a private course with free access on church property. Be over respectful and concious of your language, "my biggest problem". Having a course on this real estate is not something to take for granted and unlikely we'll have another this close to town anytime soon if ever.

12 of 16 people found this review helpful.

  Multiple Personality Review

2-4    12/18/2009   12/21/2009
Review By: Smatta
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 21.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/22/2009
14 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This without a doubt is one of the nicest, most beautiful courses I have ever played. It is right on par with Houck designed courses (this is also a con). The course design uses multiple landing areas on several holes, a design technique that can certainly enhance the game. The course makes great use of terrain, elevation changes, trees, and water. It really is a nice course!
Cons: Here's where the Multiple Personality Disorder comes into play. Though I believe in Houk's Mulitple Landing Area designs, there are several holes that just plain interrupt the flow if the game. The problem is that even from those landing areas the "fairway" is nonexistant. I understand trees are part of the challenge of DG but you shouldn't have to get lucky to do well. There are several holes that luck is more important than skill. If memory serves me correctly, baskets 2, 4, 7, 10, and 13 and a couple others fall in this category.
An other con is this course is not inviting to new players. In its current design, a new player would never return to the course or worse, possibly never return to the game after playing here. As mentioned before, other cons are getting lost without a map and the condition of the tee pads.
Other Thoughts: I am giving this course a 3 because a five means that there is absolutely nothing that can be done to the course. Taking the stumpy (dirt is not bad) conditon of the tee pads, the overall layout, and the course not being inviting to new players, I can only rate it a three.

Please remember to pack out whatever you pack in. I picked up several cans and trash left behind by golfers. This is beautiful course, let's keep it that way!

14 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.