Austin, TX 
Austin Ridge Bible Church Share
Uploaded By: judson Hole #B (Taken 12/2009)
3 / 270ft.   3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole 'B' Tee



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

1    2/8/2015   2/12/2015
Review By: McChains
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: WAY BETTER THAN CIRCLE C
This course is amazing. Great elevation changes with a great mix of long and shorts and up and down shots. This course will challenge every phase of your game. Recent work has been put into this course and is in amazing condition
Cons: Not for beginners but thats what I love about this course
Other Thoughts: This course should be rated better than it is

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Review

5+    1/17/2015   1/21/2015
Review By: Pa3Money
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has great holes. It is very challenging with technical shots. It has great variety with its long and short tees. It is a very scenic layout, and it is fairly easy to find you way around. It isn't that busy so you will not get backed up on it. It is one of the best courses in Austin. I think that it is one of the most underrated courses in Austin
Cons: -No restrooms
-No water facilities
Other Thoughts: This course should be up there with some of the best courses in Austin. Lets get it there!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Challenge Accepted - This Course Will Provide You With It

5+    11/15/2014   12/29/2014
Review By: TejasKajun
Played: 41  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 15.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - tight tunnels
- challenging lines
- changing elevation
- accuracy/consistency is rewarded
- beautiful layout and serene setting
- Hole 11A/11B provides great rewards with scenic views
Cons: - limited restroom facilities at location
- no water outlets on site
- people leave their trash (Pack In/Pack Out)
- better signage to direct from holes 11B towards hole 13+ across the road (follow the paths downhill)
- Basket 11B markings (tall pole no longer visible near basket)
- do not play this course alone unless you have played it before (you can get lost or it simply takes a long time to find your discs in the rough)
Other Thoughts: This is one of the original and challenging John Houck designs, so if you are expecting a "casual" round, you should honestly look elsewhere.
The "Backyard" as it is known is a GREAT course for almost all levels of players; only because I think beginners should avoid these challenges unless they are paying a penance for previous disc golf transgressions.

**Most people put "Cons" noting the long course, the difficulty level, the rocky ground, etc. To me that is not a "Con" it is a "Pro" so that you will know what to expect. After you play here, you will learn what level of disc golf you enjoy most and what you need to improve on or sustain in your DG game.**

The course is challenging with tight fairways, significant elevation changes, rocky walks, uneven ground, and water/OB/rough locations that can sometimes be unforgivable.

Al holes offer there own unique challenges to individual throwers.
Hole 11A/11B are always a challenge since you are throwing up/down a sharp angle.
Hole 17/18 have challenging OB's with the water

Disc golf is not always about the casual round and if you want to strengthen your game while enjoying the serenity of the Austin outdoors, come here and give it a try.

Notes: Bring lots of water and energy snacks because the course is long. RESPECT the area and the course since the church graciously allows players on their property (this is PRIVATE land). Lastly, have fun since this is a true gem of a course that allows you some great disc golf opportunities and fun.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Austin Ridge

2-4    3/11/2014   3/11/2014
Review By: lowrie4
Played: 25  Reviewed: 14
This review was updated on 3/14/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of shot variation. Good amount of right to left, and left to right shots. Most holes have rather tight fairways which is in most circumstances a plus. I really enjoyed the overall play of the course and the hole variety. The structure of the course itself is great. The par is also fair on nearly every hole and risk/reward comes into play constantly when deciding what shots to throw.
Cons: Flow and navigation. Some of the tees for the next hole can be tough to find if you haven't played here before. Took me a lot longer to play the course the first time simply because I would spend a few minutes after most holes looking for the next tee box. If a few more signs were added around the course that would be great. Also, I'm really not a fan of holes 11A, 11B and 12. The elevation on these holes is really extreme with tons of trees, which is a recipe for losing discs.
Other Thoughts: This course is not a beginners course! Much more difficult than other nearby courses such as Zilker. This course asks for many difficult shots and requires solid all around disc golf game in order to post a good round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/10/2013   11/13/2013
Review By: chemmy1010
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good degree of elevation change and moderately to heavily wooded depending on the hole.
Pro and amateur tees.
Mostly well maintained, only missing a few hole maps.
Cons: Missing a few tee markers/hole maps, but all baskets currently in place.
Other Thoughts: Review based on experience of other Austin courses, don't know how those compare to other areas of the country.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Work in Progress

5+    9/13/2013   10/18/2013
Review By: 4thechains@gmail.com
Played: 45  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is very difficult and challenging course, which is a plus for me. There is a great demand for technical shots off the tee, and a wide variety of shots are available. This course is exciting in two main ways, the high difficulty, and the test of physical ability. Playing this course will remind you of a hike through mountainous terrain.
Cons: I have played here many times, and I still require the use of a map. I suggest you definitely print a map to take with you.
The course is unfinished at this time. There are several holes without concrete tees, although I believe they are being worked on at this time. The course would benefit from some specific pruning, and some serious clean up on the fairways. The elevation changes are exciting, however a poorly designed downhill shot puts players putting on a previous hole at serious risk. Not only are those players in danger while putting, they must cross a dangerous fairway to get to the next hole. Players on the tee box are unable to see players putting, and would only be able to view crossing players when they are in the dead center of the fairway. (I cannot remember the # of the hole that it is dangerous to putt on, nor can I recall the number of the downhill shot that puts them in jeopardy) will update this as soon as I revisit.
Other Thoughts: This course has great potential, and I look forward to updating my review when I play the finished product. This is truly an advanced level course, and will test your merit no matter what level of player you are.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Delightfully Difficult

1    9/16/2012   10/18/2012
Review By: finesse1
Played: 28  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 15 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -very challenging course, my personal opinion that it is the hardest in the austin area, just a tad harder than manor
-concrete boxes, multiple tees
-variety of length, shot types, and elevation
-very low traffic
-great wooded country atmosphere
Cons: -extremely rough terrain, rocky and hilly, suffered a high ankle spraign on hole 2 first time there, watch your follow through on jump putts, legs will feel it after the round
-some unfair holes with some serious luck factor=only thing keeping it from a 4.5
-downhill extra hole, easy to send a disc bye bye with even a slightly errant shot, i talk to alot of people that skip this hole
Other Thoughts: pretty much all has been said, a very challenging course, both in terms of shots and terrain, would definately recommend it for advanced to open players, just wont be as much fun for the casual player

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Be ready

1    7/29/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: atxDG
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Challenging for sure, scenic, good tee boxes, new maps, pro and am boxes, never anyone there.
Cons: Its unforgiving Texas terrain, still pretty heavy wooded in some areas, not many trash cans or seats
Other Thoughts: Pretty cool, you will need a nap after.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing course

5+    5/25/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: Banditozzy
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2012
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Newly added concrete boxes. The pro boxes on this course offer an extremely challenging and diverse round of golf. Despite playing this course 30 plus times I am still humbled by the technical difficulties and beauty of it every time I play. Not a good course for a begining player unless you want to play the red tees. Lots of trees and hills. Be sure to play the bonus holes. Ongoing construction has seen the course make up change over the last year. Especially in the back nine. If there is one course in Austin you have a chance to play make it this one. There are trash cans and benchs throughout the course.
Cons: The red tees are far to easy. I understand that the effort was to make the course friendly for the whole family, but the difference is worlds apart from the pros. There is not alot of communication about the construction projects. You might show up to play and the course will be closed.
Other Thoughts: Built on the Austin Bible Ridge church grounds. I would like to show appriciation to them for commisioning such an amazing course and opening it to the public. Please be mindful that is on church property and be respectful. Truely one of the best courses in Texas. Play with a local or get a map.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Different and challenging

1    6/7/2012   6/7/2012
Review By: nathantrafford
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really really technically challenging course. Having a big bomb drive will help, BUT only if you are super accurate with it. You will be shooting through very narrow tunnels, and if there's a chance for you to bomb it high and outside of the treeline, you'd better make sure it's a perfect throw otherwise you will be climbing a tree somewhere.

The course itself is very beautiful with nice views and a lot of variety.

Not too many people play this course, so it's usually nice and quiet.

Also if you work downtown and want to get a game in after work, the road is really pretty quiet and you can get out there in 10 minutes or so. Way faster than waiting on mopac or lamar for 45 mins to get to zilker. Cross the river at Redbud, left on westlake, then a right on bee caves. Easy.

Cons: It IS difficult. I know i have that in both my pros and cons list. It's a positive if you're good and really want to work on your accuracy and approach game. It's a negative if you're with somebody that isn't at that level yet.

DO NOT BRING YOUR BUDDY OUT WHO IS TRYING TO LEARN. They will get frustrated. You will get frustrated. Everyone around will get frustrated.

Tee boxes aren't bad but would be much nicer if they were concrete.

Layout/Navigation is very confusing if you've only played it a couple times. The signs pointing you to the next tee box are misleading.

BE SURE TO TAKE A PICTURE OF THE MAP AT THE ENTRANCE. It's a lifesaver.

Other Thoughts: There's a lot of overgrown areas, even on fairways. Don't wear flip flops. Heck, don't even wear your chacos and hipster jorts. Wear some good shoes (you will be climbing some steep cliffs and walking ALOT) and either long socks or long pants. I haven't encountered any poison ivy, but there is definitely stickers and bramble that will tear your ankles apart.

Don't get frustrated. It's a tough course. Just keep playing smart. Don't try to power your way to pars and birdies if you're not super accurate with drives. Play to your strengths and be methodical and you will enjoy your course.

Keep in mind you're on a church property that is kind enough to offer this course and keep it maintained. Don't bring a cooler of beer out here (you don't want to be carrying it up cliffs anyway), and try not to scream out the curse words when you inevitably double-bogey on a seemingly easy hole. Share the love and keep it clean.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.