Austin, TX 
Austin Ridge Bible Church Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ   (Taken 5/2010)
Course map overview sign



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 You will be challenged

2-4    12/15/2010   12/15/2010
Review By: Guru10
Played: 39  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course. The leaves are turning, the isolated feeling of being in the woods, hilly terrain, it's all here.

Great signs. I would expect nothing less from HouckDesign.

Elevation changes. Seems like the basket is never on the same plane from the one you throw from, the basket is everywhere. Uphill, downhill, both steep and gradual, are present. The changes place a premium on placement.

*Greatest example? Bonus holes. "A" feels like it is literally straight up. "B" is a compliment to that, and the most picturesque, a throw "off the top of the world" it seems.

All shots are tested and all shots can be used. Backhand, forehand, thumber, roller, if it's in your bag of tricks, you can use it. Left, right and straight, are all here as this course favors all-handedness.

Intermediate to pro will find fun in such a challenging and tough course.
Cons: Beginners should go somewhere else, honestly. You will not have fun, you will lose a disc and you will hate this sport if you come out to this course. This course will punish, relentlessly, stray shots, bad releases, bad form, etc. Intermediate to Pro only for the obvious reason; it's TOUGH!

Tee boxes need a face lift. They are in prime spots, no complaint about placement, but the condition they are in is mediocre at best. Uneven and loose gravel and dirt from natural tees are just a nuisance. Something consistent from tee to tee, like rubber mats or, if a lot of work was put in, concrete, would make this a championship wooded course.
Other Thoughts: I'll say it again: this is a HARD course. This course puts a premium on consistent shot placement, the ability to play elevation changes, and the confidence to hit very specific lines and elevated putts. All in all, I found this course to be one of the most challenging in the south Austin area and have minimal to complain about.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Close, But Not Quite

1    12/7/2010   12/13/2010
Review By: Clue
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 20.4 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of shots, very challenging, interesting terrain and incredible views.
Cons: Too rough, bad tee pads, unfinished, lacks fun shots.
Other Thoughts: I'm a huge fan of Houck designs, but I'm torn on this one. There are some really good holes, and it follows the same concept as many courses I like, but there's a big problem with this one. It's not really risk/reward so much as execute or die. Hitting lines is a must on this course, but not only are these some of the toughest lines to hit, but you're handicapped by trying to keep your balance on really rough tee pads.

This course is far from a lost cause. It needs some work, mainly on the tee pads and getting mulch piles out of many fairways. If/when it gets cleaned up a little the design is probably a 4-4.5.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Austin's Finest

5+    11/12/2010   11/15/2010
Review By: Overhanding4distance
Played: 41  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/17/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -DISCatcher Pro's
-mulched tee boxes; Pro and Am
-Picturesque Hill Country scenery
-Creative holes that challenge most players
-Bonus Holes; Water Holes, Extreme Elevation
-Great signage, trails, benches, maps by hole #1
Cons: -This course is extremely challenging, and amateur or new players that easily get discouraged may not enjoy it.
-Heavily wooded, w/ stumps on ground. Wear shoes with good grip.
Other Thoughts: I feel fortunate to have such a great course in my city. Austin Ridge Bible is definitely one of the best courses in Texas.
Throwing from the "Top of the World," on bonus hole B is absolutely jaw dropping!
What makes this course so special is the combination of the hill country scenery and elevation make for a great hike. You ascend and descend your way through a disc golf mountain.
**Update**
After playing more disc golf courses in Texas over 2010, I felt obligated to change my wording of "one of the best courses in Central Texas," to simply one of the best in the state. Enjoy.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Personal Favorite

5+    11/2/2010   11/15/2010
Review By: Ryme
Played: 25  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/22/2011
2 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: - Great layout
- variety of shots
- beautiful environment
- multiple tees
- bonus holes!!!!
Cons: - challenging
- very hilly
- disc golf meets mountain climbing
Other Thoughts: personal favorite
- bonus holes are hard to get to but well worth it

2 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 So frustrating but worth it

1    11/8/2010   11/11/2010
Review By: Aupps
Played: 32  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A greatly challenging course. You have to bring your A game to this course or you might go home crying.
Beautiful scenery. Has one of the best views on a course in central Texas.
Good use of water and elevation.
It's close to my parents house (a personal pro)
Cons: Have to have pin point accuracy on many of the holes. Their fairways are only a few feet wide.
Lots of chances to lose discs.
There is a nice bridge on #3 but there could be a few move of them on water crossings.
Someone needs to go through the course with a machete and clear out a lot of the underbrush.
Other Thoughts: I would not bring a new player here, it would only frustrate them, and might turn them off on the sport all together.
The course may still be under construction as there are big piles of wood chips all over the course.
Would be a great tournament course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Only if you have water

1    6/15/2010   6/21/2010
Review By: ajcase
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very pretty course! You probably wont lose a disc because you arent trying to drive this course. Its very challenging and I like challenging courses, shooting at a straight basket isn't very enjoyable.
Cons: It is very challenging. I'm not even kidding.Do not play if you are inexperienced which is why I wont be going back soon.
Other Thoughts: It isn't really listed yet on the internet besides DGreview so it wont be very packed.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 pretty but hard

1    6/15/2010   6/15/2010
Review By: chaser
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is definitely in a beautiful setting in the hill country, and the hike that is the course is worth playing it.

I found it to be very easy to follow with signs/maps at every hole that were very detailed.

Every shot is used and if you use a variety of discs you'll use them all.

Its a very tactical course, and can be frustrating. I almost walked off after struggling to bogey and double the first three holes. I was glad I didn't as the next three or four were much 'easier' (quotations as nothing is easy on this course) and i snagged two birds in a row. I realized at this point that it is not a course for throwing 300- 400 ft drives or even attempting them. It is definitely a lay-up type course where you want to make short accurate shots and hope to par the hard holes by making absolutely no mistakes and bird the couple easier ones. For players like me that don't play with a full bag I recommend making good use of your mid range and approach discs, even off the tees.

All in all it was a fun course, i played 1-13 in about 45 minutes on my first time which is not bad, and is worth the setting.
Cons: The main drawback is the trees should be cut back by about 35%. I have never hit so many trees in my life and my best drives through the trees were just luck. It makes it frustrating to play for anyone not at a super high level of play or with ninja like accuracy. As someone else stated NEVER bring a beginner out here, they will hate it and never play again. Most of the trees are cedar, which are basically invasive weeds that should be removed anyways. Removal of a few trees would turn this course to a 5 easily.

I thought there wasnt enough variety of holes. Lots of shot variety but everything was super tight and either very long or very short. I like to see more holes in the 300-375 ft range and everything here was either 500 ft. or 200 ft. I also need at least a few holes that are open and i can let it rip on.

Other than those things its great and I'm gonna play it again and whenever I'm in Austin.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful & Brutal

2-4    2/18/2010   4/11/2010
Review By: DrDipsomania
Played: 52  Reviewed: 12
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well designed. Huge shot variety. Massive elevation change. Beautiful scenery. Super tight lines on about half of the holes, which makes for some great flight path viewing (if you can make the shot). Well marked with beautifully detailed signs. Easy to navigate. Great way to get some exercise along with your disc golfing (it's a hike). Awesome thing that the church and local golfers did to make this course possible and maintain it.
Cons: There's hard, and then there's over the top. The latter applies to this course, which goes too far in its difficulty. Unless you are the type of player who never makes an errant shot, this course will annoy you more than you will enjoy it. Save for 3-4 holes, one bad shot (especially a bad tee shot) sets you up for at least a bogey without any chance of having a recovery shot (unless it's a miraculous one) to save par. The trees are brutal and plentiful. The mulch tee boxes don't make for the best footing. The amateur tee boxes are simply a shorter distance to the pin; conversely, the pro boxes are just longer, not necessarily more difficult or technical.
Other Thoughts: It's not that I don't appreciate the design, but the same things that this course wants to have going for it work against it, especially for mediocre or casual players. I can't imagine how awful it would be to come out here with someone who has a short temper. The difficulty of this course detracts from the enjoyment of it.

***As of this time, only holes 1-13 are open due to construction on the back fifth of the course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 First outing this weekend

1    3/5/2010   3/9/2010
Review By: Chris
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Absolute variety of shots. from low and technical, big throws, water shots and a truly epic elevation change coming down off B. They definetly deserve the 'this course has it all' sticker on their signs. I reccommend going with at least one friend for moral support. By the time you climb the hill to the top of A you'll need that backup.
Cons: 14-18 closed for parking lot construction
Other Thoughts: After a few years of the Austin DG scene walking the trails and fairways this will be in competetion for the title of 'best in the ATX'

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course Ever

1    1/18/2010   1/19/2010
Review By: JerryChesterson
Played: 150  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 20 Years
6 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is one of, if not the best course I've ever played. This course has it all, great shot selection, beautiful and difficult holes, sweet ace runs, elevation, breath taking vistas, and water, lots of water. The finishing stretch of 3 holes is one of the best and most fun I've played.
Cons: Although the tee pads are great right now, I fear in time without installing concrete pads they might get rough. That said, as they are now, they work great and I'm sure they'll put them in at some point.
Other Thoughts: Play this course, best course is Texas.

6 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.