Ironton, MN 
Morningside Park Share
Uploaded By: bpchamp27 Hole #5 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 230ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great for Birdie Bash/Ace Race events

1    3/1/2014   3/1/2014
Review By: TrustYourRubber
Played: 11  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/4/2014
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Beginner-friendly
-Nice inviting setting with little detractors
-Little course traffic, things move smoothly around here
-Shorter holes make an ideal course for Birdie Bash/Ace Race type events
-Nice topographical changes (course isn't flat)
-Lots of trees
Cons: -Not a challenge for better players
-Only 9 holes (no alternate tees)
Other Thoughts: Overall quality course. Nice setting for a barbecue and a round of disc golf. Course is well-suited for Birdie Bash/Ace Race -type events, because the holes are fairly short.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun Beginner Course

1    7/30/2013   7/30/2013
Review By: mjsather2000
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very clean and well groomed course.
All baskets are in good condition.
Sign posts are very visible and easy to read and find.
Cons: Most of the holes are very short and don't have too many different ways of playing them.
Other Thoughts: I have only only played this course once, but I feel like I would get bored of it fairly quickly.

I gave it 3 stars instead of 2 because of now nicely everything looked and how well it was maintained.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/28/2011   7/8/2011
Review By: gvan
Played: 110  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well kempt course.
Nothing else going on to interfere with golfing.
Nice baskets

This is a small plot of land. It's possible that better course design could have made a more interesting course, but they did a fair job with what is available.
Cons: Most holes are around 200'
2 interesting drives in 9 holes
Other Thoughts: Lots of kids biking in the area. They said no kids play the course. Too bad as it seems designed for them.

Lum Park is nearby, which is a better course. I'd play this one only if you are already at Lum park and want to add another course to your courses played list.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Cubby course

1    9/20/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: Guurn
Played: 81  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 28.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a 9 hole course in a lightly treed and groomed square of land in Ironton Mn. It is clearly targetted for beginners and in that it succeeds very well. For anyone that has some experience and control all holes are ace runs except maybe hole 8, which is a bit longer (302) and designed very well. All other holes are around 220'. It would be hard to lose a disc. Most holes use a couple of trees as obstacles to throw into or around. Hole 8 has a swamp on the left but it would take a very errant throw to end up in it.

This park features basic signage and nice baskets. Everything related to those was in good condition. The park was well mowed.
Cons: The lack of teepads and light use actually made me wonder where the intended teeing area was on many holes. No garbage cans or benches. Not factoring that in for the score for the course, just mentioning it.

I couldn't find the parking area so I just parked on the side of a road and started at the nearest tee which happened to be 9. Maybe they should color tee sign one orange or something so it would be obvious where to park.

Other Thoughts: There is a strange area of concrete, like a building with no basement burned down, in the middle of the course. I kept thinking as I drove around that it was the parking area, it isn't.


This is a beginner course done pretty well. For me it probably isn't going to be a destination or even a place I will hit as I drive through. It will get some people playing though and for that I gave it a reasonable (2.0).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Lusk of all Parks

5+    4/25/2010   4/25/2010
Review By: jjonesy23
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to follow course layout, and good for beginners. Difficult to lose discs and has nice locals especially the Lusk family in which the park is named after.
Cons: Too easy for advanced players, I played with just a putter and shot a -5. Needs concrete tee pads and people shouldn't let there dogs go to the bathroom on the course!
Other Thoughts: I'd rather play there than Lum Park anyday!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 2nd Time Around

2-4    11/28/2009   11/28/2009
Review By: jskatt21
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very tight fairways with trees and elevation changes making a fairly short course more challenging. Baskets are brand new! Decent flow, making it easy enough to play it twice.
Cons: There are only grass tee-pads with nothing outlining them. Lots of back and forth going from tee to tee. No marked parking. No trash containers.
Other Thoughts: I really think that this has potential to be a nice little course. I visit family in Aitkin and I would much rather go here and play twice than go to Brainerd. Better tee pads, better parking, and garbage containers would make a huge improvment.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.