Windsor, CO
Oxbow DGC Share
Uploaded By: zenbot Hole #1 (Taken 10/2010)
-- / --   3 / 359ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Thanks 3 Rivers Disc Golf Club

2-4    4/2/2014   4/3/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 296  Reviewed: 295  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice, large concrete tees
-Decent baskets (2 different kinds were used here, not familiar with either one. One older and one newer, both caught well enough)
-Decent variety of hole length, nothing too long or too short. Most of the shorter holes had significant obstacles. No holes were boring or throwaway holes.
-Great use of otherwise useless flood plain land next to the river.
-A surprising amount of trees for Colorado courses, excluding mountain courses of course. Most holes had a few well placed trees around the basket and some had alleys that you had to throw down.
-A few little bumps of elevation in the flood plain to make things interesting. Hole 2's tee, hole 3's fairway and hole 12's pin all incorporated this well.
-Hole 12 was an awesome risk/reward shot. It was short and tempted you to go for the ace but also very close to the river. I hit the basket and still almost got wet.
-Great tee signs telling you all you need to know.
-Bag hangers on the tee signs on every hole
-Multiple pin positions on most (if not every) hole
-Great local club (3 Rivers Disc Golf Club) that takes care of this course. No trash on the course at all.
-The course flows fairly well once you get going.
-If you do hit your line through the woods, there are ace opportunities here.
Cons: -It is in a flood plain. I assume that this course flooded last fall when the heavy rains hit the mountains. There were some remnants of flooding including lots of sand in places.
-Early on the course seemed to favor my throwing type (RHFH) and it may have maintained a slight bias to this style throughout the course. It wasn't too bad of a bias and I certainly didn't mind.
-If you print the map, this course will be easy to follow, if not, even with the signs, it can be kind of hard to know which basket to throw at right away as you can see a few of them.
Other Thoughts: -12 is the perfect amount of holes for this land. It's better than 9 and 18 would have been way too cramped. Good judgement.
-I had a lot of fun here. I would definitely stop by this course again if I had the time. I would say that it was my favorite course out of the 6 that I played in the Greeley (and slightly North) area.
-This course is playable by beginners and won't bore better players too much. There aren't many true bomber holes but not too wooded either.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ode To The Denver Broncos!

1    7/19/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have to assume that these baskets painted orange and blue are a tribute to some football team in these parts called the Denver Broncos. Thats actually a very cool idea and I could see it catching on in other football crazy parts of the country. How about burnt orange baskets in Austin, Texas? Or carolina Blue baskets on some course near Chapel Hill, Carolona?
I love the fact that this course has the hole information on 8" x 8" posts with the small maps and hole information under thick plexiglass. It's virtually vandal proof and that's a great idea as this course is isolated and would be an easy target for the midnight maurauding teens. After parking and walking across the bridge right past the # 12 basket, you find the start to the course. Most of the pads are natural except for one rubber mat. The holes are mostly in the 300' range.
I agree with those reviewers before me that stated that # 12 is the signature hole on his course. It's a 156' thread the needle throw to finish with. Hit your line and you might be rewarded with an ACE or gimee birdie but hit a branch and a bogey could await you.
Cons: The course isn't exactly pretty. There's plenty of woody debris around, downed logs, branches, etc. The fairways do run close together so I could see safety being an issue. The teepads were rough in places. I hope that someone is able to eventually replace the natural ones with either rubber mats or concrete.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course a lot. It has a nice natural flow. I think the 12 hole layout works well here. A good 12 hole course is always better than a poorly designed 18 or a too short 18. I'd come back and play here. Even on these Bronco baskets!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great area for a course!

2-4    10/1/2011   10/1/2011
Review By: ryyedogg
Played: 37  Reviewed: 30
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have been wanting to play this course for a while but didn't get around to it until now. The layout flows well and hole distances mostly range between 200-350 ft. Tee signs were very nice with a hole description and layout. The course plays through a dryer, "natural" type area by the Poudre river and fortunately there aren't any random pedestrians to look out for so it is a great place to have a course. I like the variety of shots like hyzers, anhyzers, and a few tight, tunnel shots that you need to play well here. I also like how certain areas are marked as OB to make things more challenging. Although it is mainly open, there are enough trees to keep shots difficult and create problems for most players. A few different pin placements on each hole is a nice feature. The designer(whom I know) did a great job with the land, utilizing every obstacle around.
Cons: It gets pretty hot here on nice days and there isn't much shade on many holes. The dirt tee pads were a bit bumpy and uneven, making drives for me a little tricky. One hole had rubber for a tee pad which would be nice to have on all holes. This course is close to the river, so mosquitos will be a problem in the summer and fall.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course for it's location and variety of shots. I would recommend this place for players of all skill levels.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 No Interruptions Here

2-4    3/25/2011   5/27/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an awesome (smaller) 12 hole park that can help you improve various shot types. The park is off the beaten path, and is exclusively for disc golfers. This course is in a large field, but the fairly abundant trees make for a wide variety of shots. My favorite hole at this course is a short technical hole requiring you to throw a hyzer through a 12 foot wide pathway amongst a very tight stand of trees. Most holes at this course are fairly short, but certainly driver worthy. The tee boxes are not the best, but I am a fan of dirt... it does the job. The baskets are easy to see, and a round goes reasonably quick (30-45 minutes).
Cons: There are a few non-technical holes which are simple straight (longer) shots. A few holes also cross paths, so if another group was to play near you I could certainly see a need for communication between groups. Having said that, this course seems to be much more "locals only", attracting very few visitors. I played 3 rounds my first time, and saw one group of people.
Other Thoughts: When I arrived at this course I did not think it was going to be very fun. While it is fairly easy, it is certainly a very fun course worthy of multiple rounds. The fact that it is rarely visited makes it all the better.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Go Broncos!

1    7/1/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Talk about a great secluded course in the back of Eastman Park. Unless you were specifically looking for this place, you would probably never guess a course actually existed in Windsor. I was the only person on the course the entire time, so for those of you who like to be alone with nature - this is definitely your place. Also, what person couldn't love the Orange and Blue colored pins? I hope this is a homage to my beloved Denver Broncos, but they look cool.

There are multiple tee positions so print the map, because initial navigation of the course is difficult for first timers. Tee #1 hammered on numbered marker is missing off the large post, and the basket isn't numbered either. In fact, without a map you wouldn't know you were in the right place until #3. After #3, the vigilant person shouldn't have much problem finding their way and most holes still have their marker. The Poudre River is beautiful, but really doesn't come into play unless you have an errant shot on #9.

There are a few memorable holes here and some of the best east of I-25. #6 and #10 are great tunnel holes that can be an easy birdie with the right line, but can turn to bogey real fast if you go right of left. #12 is a fantastic finishing hole - short, tight with an undulating slope up to the basket. You have the creek on the right and lots of trees surrounding this great pin location. Best finishing hole in the area.

BEST HOLE/S: #12
Cons: The orange and blue paint job is the best part of these otherwise mediocre Kingpin baskets that play similar to the shallow InStep baskets with no indication of the hole number. #3; #11; and #12 are older Mach III's with the circle indicator on top. Also, given the seclusion I mention earlier - the course is very rugged and rough, and need a few more years of trampling to be in good disc golf shape. The main boxes are rough gravel, so players beware.

Holes #8 and #9 are blind shots that fade left with #9 pin within 30' of the river. They are great holes, but the grass can be very high, and I almost lost my disc after landing it within 20' of the pin - that's not good.

The high grass is also a magnet for mosquitoes, so bring lots of repellent. You could also say that only having 12 holes is a con, but I'd rather have 12 good holes that challenge me, than 18 short crappy holes. Finally, there is no parking near the course but on the side of the dead end road, but shouldn't be a problem since it's probably never crowded.

WORST HOLE/S: #4; #5
Other Thoughts: Besides Edora Park, Oxbow DGC is the best disc golf course in the northern Colorado Front Range. Once you get over the rough patches of terrain and poor markings, this is truly one of the best 12-hole courses I have played. It, like many other courses in its class has issues, but it has a great deal of potential to be a fantastic course.

I wish they would integrate more land across the bridge after #12 to make this an 18-hole course, but as it stands even experienced players will have a good time. If you live in the Front Range north of Denver, you owe it to yourself to hit this course at least once. I would group it with Epple Park and the University of N.Colorado Campus only a few miles away to make a great day.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/20/2010   4/21/2010
Review By: GDisc
Played: 55  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As I pondered this course, I thought back to a review I had read that said it had No Baskets and I didn't want to waste a beautiful 4-20 on a course with no baskets, even though I'd never been here before. But then, I read a newer review and the baskets had been put in so, of course, I had to check it out. Very refreshing 12 Hole course in the midst of a lot of great Northern Colorado courses. I had no idea what to expect when arriving and over all I was very impressed. The course fully utilizes the land that it is on and makes for some interesting shots with Baskets placed in very well-thought locations..Trees are a big obstacle here, even though it is not that wooded. Great mix of Dog Legs, Tight Gaps and Deep(Around a tree) shots. Hole 12 is the Shiznitt!
Cons: Too many people on course..Granted it was 4-20, and alot of guys were out, it was a bit disappointing going to this course for the very 1st time and at 5:00 it was packed. In fact a Buddy got hit with Disc...Would be much better if not so crowded. The problem, which is also an upside of sorts, is that all the fairways and baskets play close to each other so, while busy, you really have to have your eyes open for incoming Discs!
Other Thoughts: Thinking back on the 2 Rounds played, here at Oxbow, it has become clear to me that this course has the best mix of Front Range and Mountain type shots mixed in one, that I've yet played in the Fort Collins area. The three holes(10,12 and 1 other one) that play tight gaps through the trees remind me of a mountain course, while other holes seem more like a Front Range Course. I would recommend stopping by if you are in the area!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 New Course in NoCo

1    4/9/2010   4/10/2010
Review By: Dirty Frolf
Played: 39  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.9 Years
Pros: Scenic. Good distribution of shots required. I like the little wood pathways that were built for a couple of the holes as well. Will be even better when the grass grows higher and someone (if they in fact do this) cuts the fairways with a tractor.
Cons: A couple of the wooded holes seem to be a bit too closed in. Could just need some spring cleaning/weed wacking but it felt like you just had to fire your drive and hope it made it through the trees vs. actually having a lane or gap to shoot for/approach the hole (holes 6,10, and 12 i believe).
Only 12 holes, but it would be tough to fit any more in there.
Other Thoughts: Overall definitely worth playing especially since Edora these days is just one big traffic jam. I plan on making this my morning round on my way home from work.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.