Windsor, CO
Oxbow DGC Share
Uploaded By: zenbot Hole #3 (Taken 10/2010)
-- / --   3 / 270ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Go Broncos!

1    7/1/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Talk about a great secluded course in the back of Eastman Park. Unless you were specifically looking for this place, you would probably never guess a course actually existed in Windsor. I was the only person on the course the entire time, so for those of you who like to be alone with nature - this is definitely your place. Also, what person couldn't love the Orange and Blue colored pins? I hope this is a homage to my beloved Denver Broncos, but they look cool.

There are multiple tee positions so print the map, because initial navigation of the course is difficult for first timers. Tee #1 hammered on numbered marker is missing off the large post, and the basket isn't numbered either. In fact, without a map you wouldn't know you were in the right place until #3. After #3, the vigilant person shouldn't have much problem finding their way and most holes still have their marker. The Poudre River is beautiful, but really doesn't come into play unless you have an errant shot on #9.

There are a few memorable holes here and some of the best east of I-25. #6 and #10 are great tunnel holes that can be an easy birdie with the right line, but can turn to bogey real fast if you go right of left. #12 is a fantastic finishing hole - short, tight with an undulating slope up to the basket. You have the creek on the right and lots of trees surrounding this great pin location. Best finishing hole in the area.

BEST HOLE/S: #12
Cons: The orange and blue paint job is the best part of these otherwise mediocre Kingpin baskets that play similar to the shallow InStep baskets with no indication of the hole number. #3; #11; and #12 are older Mach III's with the circle indicator on top. Also, given the seclusion I mention earlier - the course is very rugged and rough, and need a few more years of trampling to be in good disc golf shape. The main boxes are rough gravel, so players beware.

Holes #8 and #9 are blind shots that fade left with #9 pin within 30' of the river. They are great holes, but the grass can be very high, and I almost lost my disc after landing it within 20' of the pin - that's not good.

The high grass is also a magnet for mosquitoes, so bring lots of repellent. You could also say that only having 12 holes is a con, but I'd rather have 12 good holes that challenge me, than 18 short crappy holes. Finally, there is no parking near the course but on the side of the dead end road, but shouldn't be a problem since it's probably never crowded.

WORST HOLE/S: #4; #5
Other Thoughts: Besides Edora Park, Oxbow DGC is the best disc golf course in the northern Colorado Front Range. Once you get over the rough patches of terrain and poor markings, this is truly one of the best 12-hole courses I have played. It, like many other courses in its class has issues, but it has a great deal of potential to be a fantastic course.

I wish they would integrate more land across the bridge after #12 to make this an 18-hole course, but as it stands even experienced players will have a good time. If you live in the Front Range north of Denver, you owe it to yourself to hit this course at least once. I would group it with Epple Park and the University of N.Colorado Campus only a few miles away to make a great day.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The best course you don't know about

5+    5/31/2010   6/29/2010
Review By: jdw80550
Played: 49  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an out of the way spot that is zoned only for disc golf. That's right nobody playing or biking or taking dogs for a walk, just disc. This course is set in an all natural setting filled with lots of trees and bordered by a the Poudre River. Variety of shots needs and a variety of hole lengths make this course a must play. The sheer beauty of this area is what really makes it a draw, from bald eagles to pelicans to deer and even snakes (harmless) this course is for the outdoor lover in us all.
Cons: Spring and early summer hard to play with the river flooding many of the holes. Some of the holes also back up on one another and cause congestion. 12 holes makes this a hard course to decide if you're only going to play 1 round or 2. Not all tee pads filled with concrete yet.
Other Thoughts: This is a must try course for the Northern Colorado area, a real woods feel without having to go to the woods.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A little bit of everything

1    0/0/0000   6/3/2010
Review By: Leroy
Played: 117  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice mixture of holes. Most of the shots involve some sort of obstacle that requires more than just throwing as straight as possible. This course has a very nice variety of trees considering it's out on the plains of Colorado. A few doglegs to test your skills and a good use of trees on most of the holes. The holes that are short require tight accuracy down narrow fairways through the trees. It's sort of out in the country so the atmosphere is relaxing.
Cons: No real elevation changes, and a couple of the holes were about 6 inches under water when I played in early June. I don't know if this was because of recent storms or a high water table but I decided to skip them instead of have soggy shoes.
Other Thoughts: A really nice balanced mix of holes. A couple are open and straight, a few are short and technical and the rest are a mix of challenges. Well designed and fun to play. You'll want to print up a map if it's your first visit because the only onsite map was at hole one. No real parking lot but it's located down a lazy country lane so it seems to balance out. If this course had concrete tee pads it would be one of the best on the Northern Colorado front range.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/20/2010   4/21/2010
Review By: GDisc
Played: 55  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As I pondered this course, I thought back to a review I had read that said it had No Baskets and I didn't want to waste a beautiful 4-20 on a course with no baskets, even though I'd never been here before. But then, I read a newer review and the baskets had been put in so, of course, I had to check it out. Very refreshing 12 Hole course in the midst of a lot of great Northern Colorado courses. I had no idea what to expect when arriving and over all I was very impressed. The course fully utilizes the land that it is on and makes for some interesting shots with Baskets placed in very well-thought locations..Trees are a big obstacle here, even though it is not that wooded. Great mix of Dog Legs, Tight Gaps and Deep(Around a tree) shots. Hole 12 is the Shiznitt!
Cons: Too many people on course..Granted it was 4-20, and alot of guys were out, it was a bit disappointing going to this course for the very 1st time and at 5:00 it was packed. In fact a Buddy got hit with Disc...Would be much better if not so crowded. The problem, which is also an upside of sorts, is that all the fairways and baskets play close to each other so, while busy, you really have to have your eyes open for incoming Discs!
Other Thoughts: Thinking back on the 2 Rounds played, here at Oxbow, it has become clear to me that this course has the best mix of Front Range and Mountain type shots mixed in one, that I've yet played in the Fort Collins area. The three holes(10,12 and 1 other one) that play tight gaps through the trees remind me of a mountain course, while other holes seem more like a Front Range Course. I would recommend stopping by if you are in the area!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 New Course in NoCo

1    4/9/2010   4/10/2010
Review By: Dirty Frolf
Played: 39  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.9 Years
Pros: Scenic. Good distribution of shots required. I like the little wood pathways that were built for a couple of the holes as well. Will be even better when the grass grows higher and someone (if they in fact do this) cuts the fairways with a tractor.
Cons: A couple of the wooded holes seem to be a bit too closed in. Could just need some spring cleaning/weed wacking but it felt like you just had to fire your drive and hope it made it through the trees vs. actually having a lane or gap to shoot for/approach the hole (holes 6,10, and 12 i believe).
Only 12 holes, but it would be tough to fit any more in there.
Other Thoughts: Overall definitely worth playing especially since Edora these days is just one big traffic jam. I plan on making this my morning round on my way home from work.

  Great use of space

1    3/15/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: lind5251
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of space and trees. Overall flow of course is great and many ace chances as well as holes that require u to hit a gap.
Cons: Still not yet complete but all baskets are in and tee pads are set. Marking for where next hole is will improve with adding of tee signs in the future so bring a map if its your first round.
Other Thoughts: Seeing as I live less then 15 minutes from the course i plan on making it a regular in my schedule. Really enjoyed the disc golf shots that are needed to play this course. Great for all skill levels and for both backhand and forehand shots. Even threw a few thumbers in there too.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Need a Nooner

5+    3/14/2010   3/14/2010
Review By: tahoeanj
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very Fast round, Great location, good combination of long shots and technical shots. Fun course, with great baskets(despite the Bronco Colors),
Cons: Still a bit a hand work and minor details to be done before it is truly open and ready but the potential is there, Natural restrooms on course only, parking could be a bit tricky
Other Thoughts: watch out for the bull snakes in the summer

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Jcnichols2

1    2/1/2010   2/1/2010
Review By: jcnichols2
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is located on a great piece of land and will be "disk golf" use only so you don't have to worry about throwing into other park users not paying attention. Not much elevation change but trees provide guards on most holes. Variety of challenges from short with tight holes through trees (ie. holes 6 and 12) to longer more open terain as in #2. Also a few holes that favor left hand throwers, annie, or forehand shots to add something different. Overall layout is good with many tough alternate basket postions possible. It will definately be on the list of good places to play that are within easy driving distance from Loveland/FC.
Cons: The only cons I see at this time are that it will have to get warmer to cement in the basket sleeves and hopefully tee-boxes. It is a natural area and can be muddy in spots. It was kind of difficult to find the right order for the tee-boxes (which are marked if you look closely) but should get a lot better after baskets are placed.
Other Thoughts: 3 of us played the course with no baskets and just the posts to indicate where the baskets will be placed. It's going to be a great course and I can't wait until they get it completed.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 In Progress!

2-4    11/22/2009   12/26/2009
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course uses the limited space that it is on very well. You will need to be creative to do well on this course at times and will ask you to throw many different types of shots. Good variation in distances throughout the round. Shorter holes seem to be amazingly challenging with the longer holes being more open. There are many people who are currently working hard to make this course what it is and it would seem that these people are going to be around for a while, which should only make this course that much more amazing. Obviously there is not much traffic yet and there should not be much traffic in this area besides disc golfers.
Cons: Well, since I played this course with a bunch of temp baskets out during a fundraiser for the course, I can't really say much about there not being baskets yet but that is the main con about this course right now. The terrain is extremely flat for Colorado. There are no current ameneties beyond what is in the park, but the park does have really nice ameneties. Tee pads and the ground in general are extremely muddy, especially with rain or snow. No signs up yet. There was one spot where the flow of holes seemed to be a bit off but there was a good deal of talk about switching the order of a couple of holes when baskets and signs are put in. There are only 12 holes.
Other Thoughts: For being a course that is still in the process of being installed this course is amazing. The designers of the course obviously knew what they were doing and found what is probably the best piece of land that they could find in Windsor for a course and have done a magnificent job of making the land work for them. Becasue I played this course in a fund raiser for this course I am sure that my experience of this course was better than just going out to play a round here right now before course instalation really begins. I doubt that even with the best of everything that my rating for this course will change. While there are many cons in basic areas right now the design of the course is really impressive and deserves the credit of the rating that I have given it. Plus the other big upside for this course is the number of locals who have already put so much into this course and the local clubs that are helping these individuals make this something great. There are definately a few signature holes on this course, mostly those that have some very narrow shots. I also really enjoyed the creativity that one could have on this course. The problem still being that it takes one round for the better players to figure out this course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great new course!!

5+    11/22/2009   11/27/2009
Review By: CBass
Played: 76  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/1/2013
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of different shot selections, making full use of the natural surroundings. Hole six is treacherous with a shot across an open area into a tight opening in the woods. Hole 2 is the longest, wide open, and has OB all the way down on the right side. A disc golf only park for the most part, you will find some people walking dogs. Lots of trees and you must navigate them correctly to score well. Several trash cans on site for your convenience.
Cons: No facilities except for the main park nearby(which are quite nice and within walking distance). Very muddy after snow melts. Somewhat short and mildly congested. Russian Olive trees can be a real pain.
Other Thoughts: Great new course for the Northern Front Range. Bring an updated map.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.