Windsor, CO 
Oxbow DGC Share
Uploaded By: zenbot Hole #4 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / --   3 / 303ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Thanks 3 Rivers Disc Golf Club

2-4    4/2/2014   4/3/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 331  Reviewed: 329  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice, large concrete tees
-Decent baskets (2 different kinds were used here, not familiar with either one. One older and one newer, both caught well enough)
-Decent variety of hole length, nothing too long or too short. Most of the shorter holes had significant obstacles. No holes were boring or throwaway holes.
-Great use of otherwise useless flood plain land next to the river.
-A surprising amount of trees for Colorado courses, excluding mountain courses of course. Most holes had a few well placed trees around the basket and some had alleys that you had to throw down.
-A few little bumps of elevation in the flood plain to make things interesting. Hole 2's tee, hole 3's fairway and hole 12's pin all incorporated this well.
-Hole 12 was an awesome risk/reward shot. It was short and tempted you to go for the ace but also very close to the river. I hit the basket and still almost got wet.
-Great tee signs telling you all you need to know.
-Bag hangers on the tee signs on every hole
-Multiple pin positions on most (if not every) hole
-Great local club (3 Rivers Disc Golf Club) that takes care of this course. No trash on the course at all.
-The course flows fairly well once you get going.
-If you do hit your line through the woods, there are ace opportunities here.
Cons: -It is in a flood plain. I assume that this course flooded last fall when the heavy rains hit the mountains. There were some remnants of flooding including lots of sand in places.
-Early on the course seemed to favor my throwing type (RHFH) and it may have maintained a slight bias to this style throughout the course. It wasn't too bad of a bias and I certainly didn't mind.
-If you print the map, this course will be easy to follow, if not, even with the signs, it can be kind of hard to know which basket to throw at right away as you can see a few of them.
Other Thoughts: -12 is the perfect amount of holes for this land. It's better than 9 and 18 would have been way too cramped. Good judgement.
-I had a lot of fun here. I would definitely stop by this course again if I had the time. I would say that it was my favorite course out of the 6 that I played in the Greeley (and slightly North) area.
-This course is playable by beginners and won't bore better players too much. There aren't many true bomber holes but not too wooded either.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/7/2013   4/10/2013
Review By: Motley85
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.3 Years
Pros: Great course for beginners on the first few holes. However, more technical holes going down the stretch. Great use of space by designer. Taking breaks to watch how others play is fun with plenty of places to sit in the woods. Overall, this is a fun little 12 hole course.
Cons: Lots of dirt fairways making disc slick and dirty. (bring a towel). Close to river so bring bug spray. play can be slow at times.
Other Thoughts: I started off really well but fell apart on hole #9 in the trees. Course should be extended into the park next to the soccer field. You can easily place 6 more baskets there. Similar to course in LaPorte, which also is a great course.

Sweet Treasure of A Course

2-4    1/5/2013   1/9/2013
Review By: b_rosso
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has great technical shots and has +9 holes to continue play. The baskets seem relatively new. This is a good course for a seasoned or AM player. There wasn't too many people around when I was playing so I can assume you shouldn't have much of a wait . The challenge here is super fun. I come out of my way to play this course on the weekends because its that much fun.
Cons: Water on a couple holes. There are a few baskets that are missing a few chains ( #1 i can remember) so make sure you make that putt. A map the first time would be key to finding your way around.
Other Thoughts: It would be cool to see this course grow into a few more holes across the walking path. I will continue to come play this nice little gem.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great for technical shots

5+    10/20/2012   10/21/2012
Review By: bcos4life
Played: 19  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/16/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is great for good technical shots that will test your ability to curve a disc around an obstruction. Very few of the holes are a straight shot.

Hole 12 is a really fun one. It is only about 158 ft. with very little wiggle room on either side. Played with a guy that aced it only a few months after starting the sport.
Cons: Very short course on average. While the holes are fun, it's a rare joy to be able to grip and rip on this course.

The tee boxes are mostly dirt, and are warn pretty bad. Along with bad tee care, the baskets have a broken chain here and there and shrink the target considerably.

They waste a ton of space on this course. A ton of land around the course is asking to be used, yet the course is smashed into an area that has very little room to co-exist. I was hit with a disc on my last round.
Other Thoughts: Overall, it is a great course. And a really good one for a beginner. It is tucked away, and isn't a part of a big park. It would be nice if the basket locations could stay in a location longer than two days. They seem to move quite often, but only for a day or two. Also, they always seem either all long, or all short. Very it up a little.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ode To The Denver Broncos!

1    7/19/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 673  Reviewed: 606  Exp: 36.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have to assume that these baskets painted orange and blue are a tribute to some football team in these parts called the Denver Broncos. Thats actually a very cool idea and I could see it catching on in other football crazy parts of the country. How about burnt orange baskets in Austin, Texas? Or carolina Blue baskets on some course near Chapel Hill, Carolona?
I love the fact that this course has the hole information on 8" x 8" posts with the small maps and hole information under thick plexiglass. It's virtually vandal proof and that's a great idea as this course is isolated and would be an easy target for the midnight maurauding teens. After parking and walking across the bridge right past the # 12 basket, you find the start to the course. Most of the pads are natural except for one rubber mat. The holes are mostly in the 300' range.
I agree with those reviewers before me that stated that # 12 is the signature hole on his course. It's a 156' thread the needle throw to finish with. Hit your line and you might be rewarded with an ACE or gimee birdie but hit a branch and a bogey could await you.
Cons: The course isn't exactly pretty. There's plenty of woody debris around, downed logs, branches, etc. The fairways do run close together so I could see safety being an issue. The teepads were rough in places. I hope that someone is able to eventually replace the natural ones with either rubber mats or concrete.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course a lot. It has a nice natural flow. I think the 12 hole layout works well here. A good 12 hole course is always better than a poorly designed 18 or a too short 18. I'd come back and play here. Even on these Bronco baskets!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Nice piece of property makes for a fun round

1    5/21/2012   5/21/2012
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2012
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pleasant rustic setting along the river. Seems to be less crowded than the other Ft. Collins courses. Good balance between power and technical requirements. Good variety of shot shapes. This is a white level course which isn't too demanding for beginning players and still provides good practice for expert players. The fun factor is high.

Navigation is fairly intuitive. The schule is minimal and the chances of losing a disc are slight.

Some of the highlights include:

Hole 3 is a really nice 260 ft par 3. It provides a choice of a straight tunnel shot over OB all the way to the basket or a big, wide hyzer which, if thrown well, will leave about a 40 ft putt for the deuce.

Hole 8 is a demanding, uphill 365 ft LRL "S". A deuce on this hole is well earned.

Hole 12 is a short, but very testy 156 footer into a tight tunnel. The basket is perched on a crest and the river hugs the hole tightly on the right.
Cons: Several of the holes crowd each other dangerously. Even some of the tee signs warn players that they may be throwing into another hole. This could have been avoided completely as there is plenty of space with which to provide adequate safety buffers.

Only 12 holes at present, although there is room for more.

Tee pads are natural.

No bathroom or drinking water on the course.

Each hole has two basket locations, but the signage does not indicate which position is current, leaving players to guess on the distances.

Directional "next tee" signs could be used in a couple places.
Other Thoughts: Don't be a dirty discer; leave the course cleaner than the way you found it.

To read about my review philosophy check out the other info section on my profile.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great area for a course!

2-4    10/1/2011   10/1/2011
Review By: ryyedogg
Played: 37  Reviewed: 30
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have been wanting to play this course for a while but didn't get around to it until now. The layout flows well and hole distances mostly range between 200-350 ft. Tee signs were very nice with a hole description and layout. The course plays through a dryer, "natural" type area by the Poudre river and fortunately there aren't any random pedestrians to look out for so it is a great place to have a course. I like the variety of shots like hyzers, anhyzers, and a few tight, tunnel shots that you need to play well here. I also like how certain areas are marked as OB to make things more challenging. Although it is mainly open, there are enough trees to keep shots difficult and create problems for most players. A few different pin placements on each hole is a nice feature. The designer(whom I know) did a great job with the land, utilizing every obstacle around.
Cons: It gets pretty hot here on nice days and there isn't much shade on many holes. The dirt tee pads were a bit bumpy and uneven, making drives for me a little tricky. One hole had rubber for a tee pad which would be nice to have on all holes. This course is close to the river, so mosquitos will be a problem in the summer and fall.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course for it's location and variety of shots. I would recommend this place for players of all skill levels.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 No Interruptions Here

2-4    3/25/2011   5/27/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an awesome (smaller) 12 hole park that can help you improve various shot types. The park is off the beaten path, and is exclusively for disc golfers. This course is in a large field, but the fairly abundant trees make for a wide variety of shots. My favorite hole at this course is a short technical hole requiring you to throw a hyzer through a 12 foot wide pathway amongst a very tight stand of trees. Most holes at this course are fairly short, but certainly driver worthy. The tee boxes are not the best, but I am a fan of dirt... it does the job. The baskets are easy to see, and a round goes reasonably quick (30-45 minutes).
Cons: There are a few non-technical holes which are simple straight (longer) shots. A few holes also cross paths, so if another group was to play near you I could certainly see a need for communication between groups. Having said that, this course seems to be much more "locals only", attracting very few visitors. I played 3 rounds my first time, and saw one group of people.
Other Thoughts: When I arrived at this course I did not think it was going to be very fun. While it is fairly easy, it is certainly a very fun course worthy of multiple rounds. The fact that it is rarely visited makes it all the better.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/2/2010   10/2/2010
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 116  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -This part of the park is pretty much disc golf only so you shouldn't have to worry about non dgers crossing your path
-Multiple pin placements per hole
-Good mix of shots (Some wide open, some tunnel shots, some straight shots, some doglegs. Overall, this course will force you to use a variety of shots
-The blue and orange baskets are very visible and easy to see
-Nice course signs (Very informative- they tell you hole legnth, map with pin positions, and any other info such as mandos or particular out of bounds on the current hole)
-Trashcans throughout the course
Cons: -Teepads are natural and have already begun to get ruts in them
-A few of the fairways and tees and baskets are really close to each other and could lead to some safety issue
-If it is your first time playing bring a map or you will run into some navigational issues (Many holes have several baskets you could shoot at, etc.)
Other Thoughts: This course is a blast to play. It is a lot different than other course in the area. The best holes are the ones that have the tunnel shots. If you are anywhere in the area make sure you stop by this one as it is a a very enjoyable course. With a little more work (such as teepads that aren't natural) this course will be awesome)

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 THE OX!!

5+    9/27/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: Dreeley
Played: 19  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Great variety of shots used
-Awesome natural area
-Great use of the land/imagination
-Hardly any traffic
-Easy to navigate
Cons: -only 12 holes.
-relatively short
-No really long shots
Other Thoughts: For the space that was used, this course is awesome. Excellent tee placements with multiple pin spots for every hole.
Wonderful signs with maps on every hole marker.
Fun to play over and over again.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.