Hanover, PA 
Codorus State Park - Blue Course Share
Uploaded By: jblough Hole #7 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 176ft.   3 / 272ft.   3 / 288ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Update

1    12/28/2013   12/30/2013
Review By: TimZ
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful green grass fairways. Visiting from the west coast, this was a real treat. Cool layout, nicely labeled, variety of shots. left, right, up, down.
Cons: Smooth rubber mats can slip if wet and be counter productive.
Other Thoughts: I wanted to add that there are now color tee signs at each "Am" teepad.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Blue Course was a Blast

1    11/26/2013   11/27/2013
Review By: Fishfood
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/29/2013
Pros: Made a trip out to Gettysburg area, decided to get there early so I could play my first round at Codorus Blue Course. Conditions weren't the best, 32 degrees, flurries, freezing rain and then just rain.
Easy to find the beginning of the Blue and "X" courses, well marked signs point you right to the parking lot. Parked next to the big signage board with a course map box...stocked with course maps! Big help for me as a complete stranger to the park. If you are standing at the sign board, the Blue Course starts at the lake side end of the parking lot.
Once there you will find rubber tee pads with three different tees, Pro, Am and Rec. I chose to play from the Am's and threw two putters for the entire 27 holes...JK Aviar and a ProR Ryno. There are hole layout signs at every hole with distances. When you get to the basket, there will be a wooden arrow pointing you to the next tee (took me a short while to figure out what they were for..duh).
Good mix of open and tree lined holes, mixed with changes in elevation, dog legs, off camber and well placed baskets. There aren't any holes I would concider tight. All have relatively straight forward lanes to keep you moving forward to keep the play quick. Holes avg 300 ft with some 400ft and some 200ft. I found this course to be a lot of fun, especially while sticking to putters and/or midranges. Didn't get a chance to play the Red Course or "X" 9 hole course....next time I will definitely play them.
Cons: I had to watch my footing on some of the rubber tee pads due to tree roots making the tee pads very uneven/wavy....minor con but something to watch for, especially if the conditions were moist like it was when I played...rubber pads were slippery in the wet.
Other Thoughts: With all the other activities possible at this park, it's a definite destination outing, not just for disc golf. Will be camping, kayaking and fishing the next time I'm here.

Good, Solid Technical course

1    10/7/2012   10/7/2012
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 61  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 3.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 27 featured holes that are moderately to heavily wooded wth only a couple of real "open" holes. Bathrooms are on site.Two or three permanent tee pads exist at each hole for pro, am and rec players. Baskets are numbered and in decent shape. Pretty good layout with a couple of inspired holes (hole 5 in particular is a cool throw) and good variety. Distances are reasonable. Elevation is nicely implemented into the course. Navigation not particularly tough. Fairways are well-groomed. This course is mostly set apart from other park activities.
Cons: As with the red course, the blue course needs higher quality signage with distance and preferred flight path shown. Original (i.e. shallow) discatcher baskets can spit out putts. Several tee pads are slick at times and others are showing their wear and need work. More "next tee" navigational arrows would be helpful.
Other Thoughts: The "Blue" course combines 18 holes with 9 additional "XC" holes for a 27 hole total. Many people like this course better than the Red course for its technicality and reasonable distances. It has a decidedly more "disc golf feel" to it than the red course for its seclusion from other areas of the park. Wind not quite the factor it is here as it is across the park on the Red course and water not a factor at all. Overall, a nice playing experience.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 fun

1    4/20/2011   4/24/2011
Review By: aDedhed
Played: 31  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: very beautiful open course. it was long and technical at the same time. i really enjoyed this course
Cons: middle of a state park makes it real hard to drink beer
Other Thoughts: beautiful surrounding area. i will definatly make a trip back

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Blue Ribbon for the Blue Course!

1    6/10/2010   6/11/2010
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a fun place to play disc golf! I thoroughly enjoyed myself here, as I especially enjoyed the fact that the immense challenge of navigating the tightly wooded holes is balanced with some nice risk/reward ace runs! #12 comes to mind as a great ace race hole.

This place is definitely very pretty -- especially for such a wooded and technical course. I love how the trees just pop up out of the lush greens on the fairways. Underbrush is virtually nonexistent on many holes. The trees aren't foreboding hardwoods like on other wooded courses; they're just big and scraggly enough to attract your disk and send it in a different direction!

- Finding the course isn't tough at all (it's right off PA-216) and the navigation of the course layout is very intuitive.

- Clearly a dedicated and resourceful disc golf community maintains the course. It's evident from the teepads, signage, disc kiosk, and upkeep of all other elements on the course. Locals are very friendly and happy to see people visiting from so far away (~3 hours in my case). Parking is also ample for both courses.

- Nice mix of pro, amateur, and rec tees that would satisfy people from Climo to a family new to the game.

- The design of the course requires a lot of thought and execution on the holes. Doglegs, uphill shots with tree obstacles, blind downhill drives, and tightly wooded fairways are just some of the things you can expect here. Make sure to bring all of your trick shots with you!

- #5 and 6 are the best holes IMO on the course. The former is a long blind drive downhill with a nice vista of the lake -- nothing too fancy but a great chance to air out your disc on a predominantly wooded course. The latter is an uphill drive with tons of tiny trees peppered throughout the fairway. A fantastic hole for rollers!

- Feels more like a disc golf course than a state park. That is, the course is so serene and natural that the picnic benches, walkways, and other objects do not detract from a nice round.
Cons: The place can get very crowded. I played late in the morning on a weekday and there will teams, duos, and people navigating the course -- to the point where you experience gridlock.

- The course is almost too wooded. Especially on the back nine, it seems like the holes begin to repeat themselves a little bit. I wish some of the red course holes were in the blue one and vise versa. This place would easily be a 4.5 or 5 with a water hazard and a couple open-air bomb shots.

- Some holes play dangerously close to the road. I almost hyzered my first drive onto the road -- an errant throw that was mostly my fault, but the risk of hitting a car is always there.

- The extra 9 holes (CC or XX or whatever they are)
can be difficult to find at first, although it's worth it one you do find them!



Other Thoughts: Excluding Tyler, of course, this is the best PA state park course I've played to date. I've been waiting to play here quite some time now, and it was definitely worth the long drive. Make a day out of it like I did and bring a lunch to enjoy between courses! Make sure to check out the other amenities and recreation opportunist at Codorus while you're here!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good Variety

1    5/4/2010   5/4/2010
Review By: Zaminski
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome mix of various holes and elevation. My favorite course at Codorus. First few holes are fun to try and birdie. Good mix of dog legs and plenty of trees on the fairly open fairways to really challenge your ability to shape a line. The CC holes on this course are also my favorite of this course. I am still pretty new to the game, and they force me to learn to finese my throws instead of just wing it and hope I don't hit a tree.
Cons: No clear markings to next hole, first few times I missed a few holes. Once you know the course it isnt bad, the arrows on the pins are often turned in the wrong direction so you can not rely on them. Usually there is a clear pathway that lead to the next hole, but def. near a map or a local guide if its your first time playing.
Other Thoughts: With 54 holes plus a 9 hole mini course it is worth a long drive to play the day or even two. Some holes will give you headaches, but once you start getting lower scores and beating those holes you can't beat the feeling. Hole 6 comes to mind, After playing here almost a year I finally made my first 5 on this par 3.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My most frequented course these days

5+    7/23/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: GroundHog
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.9 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Shady alternative to the Red course on sunny days. Well-maintained. Convenient for Carroll County, Marylanders. New pads are top-notch for footing! Arrows under baskets are helpful.
Cons: Can get puddly in some spots after heavy rain periods.
Other Thoughts: Thanks Stump! discgolfscene.com
Favorite hole: 5.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Codorus Blue

5+    6/6/2009   6/15/2009
Review By: IAMGT
Played: 22  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2009
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is a very pretty course located at Codorus State Park. This course offers a good deal of challenge to all levels of disc golfers. #5 on this course is my favorite hole as it is a pretty downhill drive into a valley that is near the lake. There is always excellent signage, and the course is fairly easy to navigate.This course will give you a chance to throw all different varieties of shots and discs. There is a supplemental extra 9 holes right after number 13 that one can play. This course is much more technical than the red course as it is located more in the woods and doesn't have very many straight forward shots.
Cons: -Hole 6 is extremely difficult to par. I think it should be a par 4
-A couple of holes on the back 9 had some trees down blocking shots from the tee box
-There are never scorecards, so make sure that you print one out from this website if you want to have one with you.

Other Thoughts: Codorus is a beautiful park that you should play. It is worth it to drive to this course if you haven't played it already. I like to try and get here early in the morning as there are usually not very many people on the course. The best way to take advantage of all the holes is to get a campsite at their really nice facilities, come out early and play 18, 36, or even all 54 as there are an extra 9 holes on the blue and red course. You will not be disappointed.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The one to play

2-4    3/1/2009   4/5/2009
Review By: Godard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Three tees on every hole, including short rec tees perfect for beginners. The "X" course is a real gem, carved out of the woods for a fresh and modern challenge (Play them between holes 12 and 13 because they're hard to get to otherwise). Nice mix of woods, open shots, elevation, and some gorgeous views. The park is excellently maintained and groomed.
Cons: Baskets showing some wear. Rec teepads are too small, and on some of the X-holes, there are no pads at all. Layout gets confusing and messy around hole 15, with some backtracking.
Other Thoughts: Really can't wait to play this course as part of the North-South tournament, which I saw on disc golf TV.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Variations on a Theme

1    2/27/2009   3/4/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.2 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A wonderful course that will challenge your long finesse game and never allows you to relax. All holes have 3 tee pads. It is very well marked so it is hard to get lost. Helpful arrows hanging from every basket leading you to next tee. Not any overgrown shule or picker hell to ruin your experience. Most of the holes feature moderate woods, moderate elevation and moderate distance. IMO Holes 5 and 6 are the best holes with 5 being a fun crush down an open hill and 6 a more precise drive back up a big hill. The back CC9 are pro worthy holes with more elevation and overall much more interesting than the first 18. The course has no bad holes. If you can play here you can play anywhere. 27 blue here and 27 red are nearby.
Cons: Much of the course feels like Groundhog Day. Deja Vu feeling all day long. Like this hole is just like the last 20 I played. Imagine semi-wooded, semi-hilly, semi-long, and after too many in a row you will be semi-interested. Mentally grueling to keep your focus due to the lack of variety. Don't get me wrong there is shot-making needed on every hole but it maybe needs a few open holes, maybe a few could get down through the woods to the lake, I don't know? Just needs something different sprinkled in. Many of those similiar holes play close to one another as well. Bring Water.
Other Thoughts: Seems that with the exceptional 1,5,6 and back CC9 that maybe this course could be made into a more refined and amazing 18 rather than the other bland 15 holes. This is proof that sometimes less can be more. There is a flow problem when you finish the original 18 you have to back and find the CC9 which begin in the area where 12 ends and 17 begins. Seems some renumbering could have been done. I think if the course just condensed and refined and fixed the flow problems it could be one of the best in the state. It is worth traveling to due to the chance to play 54 holes and like I said earlier if you can shot make here...you can play anywhere.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.