Hanover, PA 
Codorus State Park - Blue Course Share
Uploaded By: jblough Hole #7 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 176ft.   3 / 272ft.   3 / 288ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
I Preferred Blue!

1    7/17/2013   8/23/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 666  Reviewed: 606  Exp: 36.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Codorus State Park is the large PA state park on the shores of beautiful Lake Marburg. With three courses here, disc golfers could camp, golf and spend time in the lake. What a ideal vacation spot! The lovely rolling terrain, sometimes open, sometimes wooded with awesome views of the lake and marina make for for great terrain for the courses.

Of the three, I was most impressed with the Blue Course. It's the most wooded, technical of three and features rubber tee pads called the Pro, the AM and the Green tees. The Pro tees are the most competitive. Am's are a solid recreational level and the Green's are mostly Pitch and Putt. Though it's technical, there were no holes where you felt like you were just throwing and hoping. Each holes had a line. You just had to throw with some accuracy at times.

I found the navigation on the Blue course to be a breeze. Each basket had a next arrow sign pointing the way to the next tee box. The Blue course is mostly shady which was great on this 100 degree afternoon.

I didn't think any holes stood out as being signature just a whole series of enjoyable throws with enough challenge to entertain me.
Cons: I agree the extra holes can be a little hard to locate.
jblough brings up an excellent point about it's too bad you couldn't bring a couple of the open holes from the Red course over here to the Blue (Just for variety sake).

There probably isn't the challenge here for advanced/Pro players.
Other Thoughts: I could play a lot of rounds on this side of the park without growing bored. Trying out each of the three tee pads gives you so many options. I'd love to return and play Codorus Blue sometime in the future. Maybe camp and enjoy the lake. Many people were on this day.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Plan a day (or weekend) here!

1    10/24/2011   11/13/2011
Review By: J-vish
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of holes! 3 tee boxes per hole. Pleasant surroundings. Definitely a MUST play if you're nearby.
Cons: Course not well marked. No course maps, nor hole details at the tee box. At least it's a nice park and I didn't mind wandering around (or back-tracking) looking for the next hole.
Other Thoughts: Red course is wide open - good for beginners.
Blue course is a bit tighter.
Best way to play 18 here is start on the back 9 of the blue course then hit the X holes...these are by far the best 9!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Mecca

5+    7/24/2011   7/25/2011
Review By: The otto
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: First off, Codorus is really two separate 18 hole courses and another two separate 9 hole courses. They are designed such that you can play 27 hole loops, but the 9 hole courses are much more challenging than their 18 hole counterparts. Most, if not all, holes have 3 tees: Rec, Am and Pro. Some tees are asphalt, but most have been converted to flypad. This course requires a variety of shots, some power, and good control. Most of the Cons listed in reviews are unfounded. Almost every basket has an arrow pointing you to the next tee that hangs from under the basket.
Cons: Any teepad in the shade is likely to be slippery. Course needs more love from the park - debris removal, repainting of baskets, and shuffling of pin positions - there are alternates!
Other Thoughts: Easily worth the hour drive from Baltimore escape the routine of druid/rock/ptap. Shooting 54 from the long tees is a challenge!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Scrumchulescent

1    5/22/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: Mr Mojo Risin
Played: 18  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tons of variety overall. Elevation, narrow fairways, open fairways, plenty of trees. I loved all the vegetation but wasn't overpowering to the point where I lost any discs if I strayed off the fairway. Really enjoyed the elevation changes and the baskets were nice.
Cons: Nothing really, however it looked like the landscaping wasn't as nice as it was when I played here last summer.
Other Thoughts: Great course, had a blast playing on a perfect day. I enjoyed this course better than the Red course. I like the narrow fairways and trees aka dream smashers.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Best course at the Park

1    10/11/2010   10/12/2010
Review By: sheepforwheat
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Other Thoughts: this was the better course of the two. It was separated more from the rest of the park and it felt like it's own thing. On the other course (red) it felt more like you were in the way of other activities such as... PARKING!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful and Challenging

1    7/31/2010   8/1/2010
Review By: r3VOLution
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Challenging course mostly in the woods around Codorus State Park.
Cons: Not always clear were the next hole was. (Even with a map.)
Other Thoughts: I would have preferred to play the more open Red Course first. The Blue Course is more technical with shorter holes. Very nice none the less.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A fun course

1    7/14/2009   4/3/2010
Review By: JDaley522
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Some challenging tee shots. One of the nicest courses I've ever played. Well maintained.
Cons: Couldn't say a bad thing about it
Other Thoughts: I played in the early AM during a soft rain, which led to a some slippery footing, but still had a great time.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 What a great course!

5+    1/13/2010   3/14/2010
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 27 great holes through mostly woods, nice baskets, two flypad tees, excellent variety of shots, elevation changes, risk/reward shots, couple ace runs, X-holes add a bit more challenge. Bathrooms. Well maintained course. Most scenic views of any course around.
Cons: Lacks sinage, only one pin placement, flypads not all level and slippery when wet, can be confusing navigating.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite of the two courses and as a whole one of my favorite places! Just a peaceful and scenic place to play some awesome 54 holes of disc golf!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Disc Golf Mecca

5+    12/13/2009   12/15/2009
Review By: freighttrain
Played: 48  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/27/2013
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Codorus Blue has a great range in hole layouts from distance to elevation changes. The park maitainence and volunteers help to keep the course and park looking great. Definitely my favorite side of the two codorus codorus. Plenty of options with three tee pads.
Cons: Rubber tee pads, that when are wet are great if you want to slip and break something. I've slipped numerous times yet i still keep coming. Be careful and take relief from the pad.
Other Thoughts: With a good club and good volunteers Codorus could become the disc golf mecca it should be. Seriously 54 holes in one area with multiple tee shots and various safari layouts/20 hole tourney layout.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Gotta Play all 54

5+    11/1/2008   1/1/2009
Review By: dtwo
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 21.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The full 54 at Codorus are what make this course a great course.

Tournaments here are typically 40 holes, with multiple combined holes which really makes the course a challenge.

Blue + X holes are more difficult than the Red + CC holes, but you miss the great views of the lake. You need to play the X holes in a break after Blue 12.

Lots of shot variety, but a bit RHBH friendly. However, many locals have a great forehand which does come in handy here!

Rubber tee pads grip well even in the rain.

A few holes have alternate pin positions, and most are not indicated on the map.
Cons: This park gets lots of traffic, and road traffic, and other park patrons can be disctracting on the course.

Special layouts for tournaments are not always available ... Hole 12 hay bale set up was sweet!
Other Thoughts: I would rate Codorus overall a 4.5 ... but when you rate each course separate that is hard to give out.

If you can not play all 54, then at least try to play a tournament 40, those layouts are posted in various news groups.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.