Hanover, PA 
Codorus State Park - Blue Course Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #15 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 210ft.   3 / 325ft.   3 / 443ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Codorus Blue

5+    6/6/2009   6/15/2009
Review By: IAMGT
Played: 22  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2009
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is a very pretty course located at Codorus State Park. This course offers a good deal of challenge to all levels of disc golfers. #5 on this course is my favorite hole as it is a pretty downhill drive into a valley that is near the lake. There is always excellent signage, and the course is fairly easy to navigate.This course will give you a chance to throw all different varieties of shots and discs. There is a supplemental extra 9 holes right after number 13 that one can play. This course is much more technical than the red course as it is located more in the woods and doesn't have very many straight forward shots.
Cons: -Hole 6 is extremely difficult to par. I think it should be a par 4
-A couple of holes on the back 9 had some trees down blocking shots from the tee box
-There are never scorecards, so make sure that you print one out from this website if you want to have one with you.

Other Thoughts: Codorus is a beautiful park that you should play. It is worth it to drive to this course if you haven't played it already. I like to try and get here early in the morning as there are usually not very many people on the course. The best way to take advantage of all the holes is to get a campsite at their really nice facilities, come out early and play 18, 36, or even all 54 as there are an extra 9 holes on the blue and red course. You will not be disappointed.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The one to play

2-4    3/1/2009   4/5/2009
Review By: Godard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Three tees on every hole, including short rec tees perfect for beginners. The "X" course is a real gem, carved out of the woods for a fresh and modern challenge (Play them between holes 12 and 13 because they're hard to get to otherwise). Nice mix of woods, open shots, elevation, and some gorgeous views. The park is excellently maintained and groomed.
Cons: Baskets showing some wear. Rec teepads are too small, and on some of the X-holes, there are no pads at all. Layout gets confusing and messy around hole 15, with some backtracking.
Other Thoughts: Really can't wait to play this course as part of the North-South tournament, which I saw on disc golf TV.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Variations on a Theme

1    2/27/2009   3/4/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.4 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A wonderful course that will challenge your long finesse game and never allows you to relax. All holes have 3 tee pads. It is very well marked so it is hard to get lost. Helpful arrows hanging from every basket leading you to next tee. Not any overgrown shule or picker hell to ruin your experience. Most of the holes feature moderate woods, moderate elevation and moderate distance. IMO Holes 5 and 6 are the best holes with 5 being a fun crush down an open hill and 6 a more precise drive back up a big hill. The back CC9 are pro worthy holes with more elevation and overall much more interesting than the first 18. The course has no bad holes. If you can play here you can play anywhere. 27 blue here and 27 red are nearby.
Cons: Much of the course feels like Groundhog Day. Deja Vu feeling all day long. Like this hole is just like the last 20 I played. Imagine semi-wooded, semi-hilly, semi-long, and after too many in a row you will be semi-interested. Mentally grueling to keep your focus due to the lack of variety. Don't get me wrong there is shot-making needed on every hole but it maybe needs a few open holes, maybe a few could get down through the woods to the lake, I don't know? Just needs something different sprinkled in. Many of those similiar holes play close to one another as well. Bring Water.
Other Thoughts: Seems that with the exceptional 1,5,6 and back CC9 that maybe this course could be made into a more refined and amazing 18 rather than the other bland 15 holes. This is proof that sometimes less can be more. There is a flow problem when you finish the original 18 you have to back and find the CC9 which begin in the area where 12 ends and 17 begins. Seems some renumbering could have been done. I think if the course just condensed and refined and fixed the flow problems it could be one of the best in the state. It is worth traveling to due to the chance to play 54 holes and like I said earlier if you can shot make here...you can play anywhere.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Gotta Play all 54

5+    11/1/2008   1/1/2009
Review By: dtwo
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 21.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The full 54 at Codorus are what make this course a great course.

Tournaments here are typically 40 holes, with multiple combined holes which really makes the course a challenge.

Blue + X holes are more difficult than the Red + CC holes, but you miss the great views of the lake. You need to play the X holes in a break after Blue 12.

Lots of shot variety, but a bit RHBH friendly. However, many locals have a great forehand which does come in handy here!

Rubber tee pads grip well even in the rain.

A few holes have alternate pin positions, and most are not indicated on the map.
Cons: This park gets lots of traffic, and road traffic, and other park patrons can be disctracting on the course.

Special layouts for tournaments are not always available ... Hole 12 hay bale set up was sweet!
Other Thoughts: I would rate Codorus overall a 4.5 ... but when you rate each course separate that is hard to give out.

If you can not play all 54, then at least try to play a tournament 40, those layouts are posted in various news groups.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Wood effect

1    12/29/2008   12/30/2008
Review By: swatso
Played: 369  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/18/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 27-holes. Three rubber teepads per holes. Signs on each basket will point you to next tee.

Plenty of parking. Water fountains, permanent bathrooms available.

Map/scoresheet available for download.

Favourite hole: #5 Long downhill throw to a basket nestled in a small depression. Large trees between the tee and the basket prevent you from taking a direct line.
Cons: Map/scoresheet needs a bit of updating: the basket for #8 is to the left and into the woods - never would have guess that from the map. There are indeed separate AM tees for practically every X-hole - more than the distances on the scoresheet indicate.

Least favourite hole: #1X. While I don't mind trees which make me stay low, or throw an S or anhyzer, or make me consider a few alternate paths, it is the holes with multiple small trees scattered the (nearly) entire length of a flight path that drive me nuts. :-)
Other Thoughts: While certainly not a "deep woods" course, trees will come into play on every hole, i.e. they may alter your preferred path for your initial drive, your approach, and possibly even your putt, but nothing too outrageous.

The Rec-tees makes this a reasonable course for even novices to enjoy. While it might make more sense to have Rec-tees on the more-open Red course, perhaps its the closer proximity to people and cars on that course which would make that more of a problem.

Holes 10-18 seemed much easier to my friend and I who played the course - we combined to take 14 less strokes to complete these than on holes 1-9.

If you're going to play this as a complete 27-hole course, it might make more sense to play the nine X-holes after hole #12, then resume with #13.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good

2-4    10/12/2008   10/19/2008
Review By: Johnbunker
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well maintain and a good mix, need strong arm on some holes.
Cons: Tricky to find the way from pin to tee. Pin locations are too close to each other and easy to play the wrong one.
Other Thoughts: Fun and challenging, some holes may require hard hats :)

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful course

7/6/2008   7/11/2008
Review By: gameboy9
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You'll find a great mix of holes at this course. You'll see some flat, wide open holes, and you'll see some hilly, very wooded holes, and you'll see holes in between. You'll see a pin or two on a steep hill to make things more interesting as well. There are three tees you can use on this course; a pro, an amateur, and a beginner/junior tee. You'll see some beautiful views of Lake Marburg on holes 4, 5, and 6. This is a great course for beginners and pros alike.
Cons: There isn't much that's bad about the course, but it would be nice if there were tee signs with maps on them. A number of tees don't even have measurements on them. The beginner/junior tees don't have measurements at all. There are a couple of holes on the extra course where it's tough to find the beginner tees; look for the red ribbons on 4x and 6x especially. If these corrections were made, then this could be a 5 disc course.
Other Thoughts: This is a beautiful course that you can enjoy in shorts and sandals... provided that you throw carefully. There are a couple of cases where you can throw it in the woods, so if you're a beginner, you may want to get out the jeans and sneakers. I suggest you check out this course if you can.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Bring yer game

7/18/2007   1/25/2008
Review By: Crawdaddy
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 2 full 18 hole courses (Red & Blue) + 2-9 hole courses added to the mix=54 holes of WOW! Excellent mix of open and wooded holes. Pro & Am tees. Rec/Jr tees recently added to the blue course. Serene setting with Lake Marburg in the backdrop. Park Maintenance stay on top of things and keep the course well-groomed.
Cons: Too often (on the blue course I believe) play near roads with a lot of traffic in the spring/summer/fall. People just plant themselves for the "family picnic" in the middle of fairways :o( Finding your way without having someone who knows the course can be rough.
Other Thoughts: Expect to be at Codorus State Park a long while if you plan on throwing all 54 holes. Tourneys are fun and get mixed up with safari golf mentality eg. Red 1 Tee-Red 2 basket. Big arms should have fun while it can still be played by juniors.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Codorus

8/15/2007   1/22/2008
Review By: ferretdance03
Played: 74  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/27/2008
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Huge variety in just a sheer amount of holes. Wide open bombs, super tight wooded alleys, some holes have both. Codorus requires a full array of shots to shoot well. Asphalt pro tee pads and new rubber am tee pads leave Codorus only lacking in the sign department.
Other Thoughts: This is where I cut my teeth playing; and where, and who from, I take a lot of design inspiration. There are hyzers and anhyzers, uphill, downhill and cross hill shots. The newest holes (X on blue side, cross country on red) are some of the toughest golf in the area. Some leave you wondering what you should have done, and wishing that you would have just played it safe. The views of Lake Marburg are amazing, and the wind off the lake can make the open holes even more interesting. There is just an enormous amount of golf here. If you play more than one tourney at Codorus, odds are you will not play the same layout twice. The one area that is lacking is signs. It can be a bit confusing for a first timer due to the number of holes out there. I know there are park limitations in this area, but I've even witnessed return visitors getting turned around.
I disagree with the reviewer that said Codorus isn't worth an hour drive. I have/do/will continue to drive an hour to play Codorus every chance I get.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Expansive Course With Great Views

4/12/2003   9/12/2007
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/10/2008
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Views of Lake Marburg, well maintained, hole variety and length, more holes than you know what to do with.
Cons: Some holes play too close to or among the parking lots and other facilities.
Other Thoughts: This expansive array of disc golf courses has just about everything needed for a top-notch disc golf experience: shot variety, open and wooded holes, lots of hills, more holes than many people could play in a day, and best of all, fantastic views. Reminiscent of Patapsco Valley but even hillier and with more of a view, Codorus lacks only water challenges and tee pads, but still has much to offer.

When I was there in spring 2003, Codorus had 36 holes, what is now known as the red and blue courses, but did not have the extra nine holes that has been added to each of these courses. Both courses seem equally cool to me - the blue one, comprised of 18 of the original 27 holes, has a better mix of woods and open shots, but the red course has more holes with good views. Holes #5 through #13 on the red course, which I believe were the first nine (of now many) added to the original 27-hole layout, play in and around some picnic areas and parking lots, however, and may have to be skipped during the peak summer season. Both courses feature mostly traditional par 3 holes but some longer holes too - not like Patapsco and Rockburn Branch but still longer than average overall. Unlike those two courses, Codorus does ease up on you with a couple of shorter holes too. Also, except for water, every challenge is presented out here, and more so in the up and down hills category. In fact, Codorus is one of the hillier courses I've played. The blue course is easy to follow, with most holes featuring little signs directing you to the next tee, but I did have some trouble with the red course, since it doesn't have those little signs and isn't as easy to follow either way. But it was worth the effort.

In the end, the lasting impression of Codorus is the setting - the views of Lake Marburg and the surrounding countryside are fantastic. For the most part, the two (plus) courses alone would be well worth a road trip, especially if you're already in say Baltimore as I often am, but the setting makes Codorus one of the best kept secrets in disc golf, featuring great views, a variety of challenges, and not one but two well maintained courses on some pretty land in its own right. Just watch out for the groundhog holes.

Favorite Hole - #9 Red course. Long hole along side of hill with Lake Marbug on two sides and basket right on edge of the lake.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center