Hanover, PA 
Codorus State Park - Blue Course Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #14 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 163ft.   3 / 208ft.   3 / 312ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 4 Next >
 Expansive Course With Great Views

4/12/2003   9/12/2007
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 15.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/10/2008
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Views of Lake Marburg, well maintained, hole variety and length, more holes than you know what to do with.
Cons: Some holes play too close to or among the parking lots and other facilities.
Other Thoughts: This expansive array of disc golf courses has just about everything needed for a top-notch disc golf experience: shot variety, open and wooded holes, lots of hills, more holes than many people could play in a day, and best of all, fantastic views. Reminiscent of Patapsco Valley but even hillier and with more of a view, Codorus lacks only water challenges and tee pads, but still has much to offer.

When I was there in spring 2003, Codorus had 36 holes, what is now known as the red and blue courses, but did not have the extra nine holes that has been added to each of these courses. Both courses seem equally cool to me - the blue one, comprised of 18 of the original 27 holes, has a better mix of woods and open shots, but the red course has more holes with good views. Holes #5 through #13 on the red course, which I believe were the first nine (of now many) added to the original 27-hole layout, play in and around some picnic areas and parking lots, however, and may have to be skipped during the peak summer season. Both courses feature mostly traditional par 3 holes but some longer holes too - not like Patapsco and Rockburn Branch but still longer than average overall. Unlike those two courses, Codorus does ease up on you with a couple of shorter holes too. Also, except for water, every challenge is presented out here, and more so in the up and down hills category. In fact, Codorus is one of the hillier courses I've played. The blue course is easy to follow, with most holes featuring little signs directing you to the next tee, but I did have some trouble with the red course, since it doesn't have those little signs and isn't as easy to follow either way. But it was worth the effort.

In the end, the lasting impression of Codorus is the setting - the views of Lake Marburg and the surrounding countryside are fantastic. For the most part, the two (plus) courses alone would be well worth a road trip, especially if you're already in say Baltimore as I often am, but the setting makes Codorus one of the best kept secrets in disc golf, featuring great views, a variety of challenges, and not one but two well maintained courses on some pretty land in its own right. Just watch out for the groundhog holes.

Favorite Hole - #9 Red course. Long hole along side of hill with Lake Marbug on two sides and basket right on edge of the lake.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Worth It

9/29/2006   6/21/2007
Review By: disquegolfer
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: All the length one could want. Lots of variety. Nice mix of par 3s, 4s and 5s. Good use of terrain. Well marked and easy to follow.
Cons: Marathon golf.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 LONG!

5/26/2007   6/7/2007
Review By: timg
Played: 336  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 14.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 54 holes, all of which are well marked. "Next Tee" signs on every basket. Well maintained and scenic. LONG!
Cons: LONG! Expect to be here 4-6 hours if you plan on playing all 54 from the pro tees with a friend. A few holes on the red course play too close to parking lots and high traffic areas.
Other Thoughts: 54 holes.. it sounds fun in theory but in reality it is a test of endurance and stamina. We managed to play 46 holes but had to get going since there were 2 other courses we wanted to make it to that day.

The course itself is actually nice with a lot of well marked concrete teepads and what I really liked was each basket had a little plastic arrow attached beneath it pointing you to the next tee. It made navigating the course MUCH easier and you get more play time rather than "look for the next tee" time. A bunch of holes on the red course play along the lake which was quite nice although a bit crowdy in certain areas. The mix of open and wooded holes is nice as you won't spend too much time in the open or in the woods. I think the blue course had you in the woods more often than the red.

Overall I wouldn't say there are any real stand-out holes but overall the course is definitely enjoyable and worth a stop if you're in the area. I'd recommend against playing all 54 as it actually lost it's fun for me at some point and became more of a quest to finish. Sitting at hole #25 and thinking that you're ALMOST halfway done is a daunting thought. If you do plan on attempting the endurance test that is 54 holes be sure to bring plenty of water and like I said in the "Cons", plan on 4-6 hours minimum with two people. We play fairly quickly, didn't lose any discs and ended up making it to hole #46 after 4 hours.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Better than I thought...

1    4/7/2007   5/29/2007
Review By: adlacro
Played: 94  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/11/2008
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Course sorely improved since last visit, with improved signage and the views are breathtaking.
Cons: The bugs around this place are incredible. Wished the water fountains worked...
Other Thoughts: I drove 2 1/2 hours here. I recommend this place for a good road trip.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.