Hanover, PA 
Codorus State Park - Blue Course Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5X
3 / 176ft.   3 / 358ft.   3 / 390ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5X Pro Tee (X-Hole Course)



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Update

1    12/28/2013   12/30/2013
Review By: TimZ
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful green grass fairways. Visiting from the west coast, this was a real treat. Cool layout, nicely labeled, variety of shots. left, right, up, down.
Cons: Smooth rubber mats can slip if wet and be counter productive.
Other Thoughts: I wanted to add that there are now color tee signs at each "Am" teepad.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Blue Course was a Blast

1    11/26/2013   11/27/2013
Review By: Fishfood
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/29/2013
Pros: Made a trip out to Gettysburg area, decided to get there early so I could play my first round at Codorus Blue Course. Conditions weren't the best, 32 degrees, flurries, freezing rain and then just rain.
Easy to find the beginning of the Blue and "X" courses, well marked signs point you right to the parking lot. Parked next to the big signage board with a course map box...stocked with course maps! Big help for me as a complete stranger to the park. If you are standing at the sign board, the Blue Course starts at the lake side end of the parking lot.
Once there you will find rubber tee pads with three different tees, Pro, Am and Rec. I chose to play from the Am's and threw two putters for the entire 27 holes...JK Aviar and a ProR Ryno. There are hole layout signs at every hole with distances. When you get to the basket, there will be a wooden arrow pointing you to the next tee (took me a short while to figure out what they were for..duh).
Good mix of open and tree lined holes, mixed with changes in elevation, dog legs, off camber and well placed baskets. There aren't any holes I would concider tight. All have relatively straight forward lanes to keep you moving forward to keep the play quick. Holes avg 300 ft with some 400ft and some 200ft. I found this course to be a lot of fun, especially while sticking to putters and/or midranges. Didn't get a chance to play the Red Course or "X" 9 hole course....next time I will definitely play them.
Cons: I had to watch my footing on some of the rubber tee pads due to tree roots making the tee pads very uneven/wavy....minor con but something to watch for, especially if the conditions were moist like it was when I played...rubber pads were slippery in the wet.
Other Thoughts: With all the other activities possible at this park, it's a definite destination outing, not just for disc golf. Will be camping, kayaking and fishing the next time I'm here.

I Preferred Blue!

1    7/17/2013   8/23/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 668  Reviewed: 606  Exp: 36.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Codorus State Park is the large PA state park on the shores of beautiful Lake Marburg. With three courses here, disc golfers could camp, golf and spend time in the lake. What a ideal vacation spot! The lovely rolling terrain, sometimes open, sometimes wooded with awesome views of the lake and marina make for for great terrain for the courses.

Of the three, I was most impressed with the Blue Course. It's the most wooded, technical of three and features rubber tee pads called the Pro, the AM and the Green tees. The Pro tees are the most competitive. Am's are a solid recreational level and the Green's are mostly Pitch and Putt. Though it's technical, there were no holes where you felt like you were just throwing and hoping. Each holes had a line. You just had to throw with some accuracy at times.

I found the navigation on the Blue course to be a breeze. Each basket had a next arrow sign pointing the way to the next tee box. The Blue course is mostly shady which was great on this 100 degree afternoon.

I didn't think any holes stood out as being signature just a whole series of enjoyable throws with enough challenge to entertain me.
Cons: I agree the extra holes can be a little hard to locate.
jblough brings up an excellent point about it's too bad you couldn't bring a couple of the open holes from the Red course over here to the Blue (Just for variety sake).

There probably isn't the challenge here for advanced/Pro players.
Other Thoughts: I could play a lot of rounds on this side of the park without growing bored. Trying out each of the three tee pads gives you so many options. I'd love to return and play Codorus Blue sometime in the future. Maybe camp and enjoy the lake. Many people were on this day.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good, Solid Technical course

1    10/7/2012   10/7/2012
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 61  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 3.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 27 featured holes that are moderately to heavily wooded wth only a couple of real "open" holes. Bathrooms are on site.Two or three permanent tee pads exist at each hole for pro, am and rec players. Baskets are numbered and in decent shape. Pretty good layout with a couple of inspired holes (hole 5 in particular is a cool throw) and good variety. Distances are reasonable. Elevation is nicely implemented into the course. Navigation not particularly tough. Fairways are well-groomed. This course is mostly set apart from other park activities.
Cons: As with the red course, the blue course needs higher quality signage with distance and preferred flight path shown. Original (i.e. shallow) discatcher baskets can spit out putts. Several tee pads are slick at times and others are showing their wear and need work. More "next tee" navigational arrows would be helpful.
Other Thoughts: The "Blue" course combines 18 holes with 9 additional "XC" holes for a 27 hole total. Many people like this course better than the Red course for its technicality and reasonable distances. It has a decidedly more "disc golf feel" to it than the red course for its seclusion from other areas of the park. Wind not quite the factor it is here as it is across the park on the Red course and water not a factor at all. Overall, a nice playing experience.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Plan a day (or weekend) here!

1    10/24/2011   11/13/2011
Review By: J-vish
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of holes! 3 tee boxes per hole. Pleasant surroundings. Definitely a MUST play if you're nearby.
Cons: Course not well marked. No course maps, nor hole details at the tee box. At least it's a nice park and I didn't mind wandering around (or back-tracking) looking for the next hole.
Other Thoughts: Red course is wide open - good for beginners.
Blue course is a bit tighter.
Best way to play 18 here is start on the back 9 of the blue course then hit the X holes...these are by far the best 9!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/25/2011   7/28/2011
Review By: dmach
Played: 76  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: course is set in a really nice park. plenty of variation in holes; some up hill, some down hill, some flat, lots of trees, little trees, etc. three tees to every hole.
Cons: the course was a little hard to navigate, no tee signs or maps, although there was an arrow on some of the baskets (not all) the pro tees seem to be designed by a lefty, so if you are, they are great! but im not. and it wasnt just a few lefty holes, it was every single pro tee...tight tunnel shot with a right turn after about 2-300ft....too repetitive...back nine were hard to find from the original 18, unless you can read a map well....you have to play them off of #15 or so otherwise you will have to walk back to play them...
Other Thoughts: i would definitely go back to this course again! didnt have time to check out the red course, but would like to next time! course maps available at parking lot...place definitely needs tee signs tho!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mecca

5+    7/24/2011   7/25/2011
Review By: The otto
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: First off, Codorus is really two separate 18 hole courses and another two separate 9 hole courses. They are designed such that you can play 27 hole loops, but the 9 hole courses are much more challenging than their 18 hole counterparts. Most, if not all, holes have 3 tees: Rec, Am and Pro. Some tees are asphalt, but most have been converted to flypad. This course requires a variety of shots, some power, and good control. Most of the Cons listed in reviews are unfounded. Almost every basket has an arrow pointing you to the next tee that hangs from under the basket.
Cons: Any teepad in the shade is likely to be slippery. Course needs more love from the park - debris removal, repainting of baskets, and shuffling of pin positions - there are alternates!
Other Thoughts: Easily worth the hour drive from Baltimore escape the routine of druid/rock/ptap. Shooting 54 from the long tees is a challenge!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Scrumchulescent

1    5/22/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: Mr Mojo Risin
Played: 18  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tons of variety overall. Elevation, narrow fairways, open fairways, plenty of trees. I loved all the vegetation but wasn't overpowering to the point where I lost any discs if I strayed off the fairway. Really enjoyed the elevation changes and the baskets were nice.
Cons: Nothing really, however it looked like the landscaping wasn't as nice as it was when I played here last summer.
Other Thoughts: Great course, had a blast playing on a perfect day. I enjoyed this course better than the Red course. I like the narrow fairways and trees aka dream smashers.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 fun

1    4/20/2011   4/24/2011
Review By: aDedhed
Played: 31  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: very beautiful open course. it was long and technical at the same time. i really enjoyed this course
Cons: middle of a state park makes it real hard to drink beer
Other Thoughts: beautiful surrounding area. i will definatly make a trip back

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best course at the Park

1    10/11/2010   10/12/2010
Review By: sheepforwheat
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Other Thoughts: this was the better course of the two. It was separated more from the rest of the park and it felt like it's own thing. On the other course (red) it felt more like you were in the way of other activities such as... PARKING!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.