Charlotte, NC 
Elon Park - Angry Beaver Share
Uploaded By: DiscChucker Hole #15 (Taken 7/2010)
4 / 503ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Angry Beaver

1    11/23/2012   11/23/2012
Review By: tsaksa13
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: The course has a very nice layout. Some short technical shots and some open long shots. Big range of hole lengths from 200 ft to 800 ft. The stream is OB for some holes makes it a bit harder. The course was very clean and clearly marked from hole to hole.
Cons: The retention pond on hole 5 can be a loss of a disc so be careful where you throw.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses I've played from difficulty to cleanliness to layout.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Great course

2-4    7/16/2012   10/16/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 170  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.3 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Disclaimer: I only played the worlds layout.

There are solid concrete tees here and sometimes long tees. I love how the course starts with three birdie holes and then begins to get difficult. It's great that the first three holes are all treacherous greens. Even though they are short, they are not gimmies. Hole 4 is a great forced straight shot with ob on either side of the fairway. Hole 6 is a demanding placement par 4 that is very tough to stay clean on the skinny fairway. 7 is a solid dogleg right par 3. 8 is a good par 4. Even though the hole is only 380' a 3 does feel like a birdie here. Off the tee there are two defined gaps split by a large tree. Anywhere left or ricocheted left here will be OB. It is a tight twisty fairway and at the green there is more OB behind the basket. Hole 9 has a unique shaped fairway. It is a left turning horseshoe that goes up and back down. The drive plays up and over OB making it like an island hole. Again, you will need a gut check as you decide whether to run your putt or not. Hole 10 is a good downhill, tight, tunnel shot. Hole 11 is a great dogleg right par 4. Hole 12 is tight and doglegs left but has a tricky angle to it. Hole 13 is a solid uphill hole. Hole 15 is solid left turning par 3. Hole 16 is solid left turning par 4. 18 is an awesome finishing hole. It is a par 5 with a generous fairway to rip some drives on. Enjoy the finish.
Cons: Hole 5 from the short tee was too easy of a birdie for me. I could just throw two 250 foot hyzers and drop in my 3. It was not worth going for the 2 with the OB so I found it a boring hole. I have not played it from the long tee. Some small branches in the middle of the fairways seemed flukey and unfair when I played there.Hole 14's drive is really short and boring to me. It is a par 4 where I throw two putters to get to the green which is not very fun. Hole 17 feels exactly like hole 7 to me as it requires the same line.

The short par 4s are repetitive to me. Just not what I prefer.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 South Charlotte Gem

5+    8/22/2011   8/22/2011
Review By: jamsandwich
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Not crowded after 5pm. Good length. Course plays very spacious, not on top of other groups. Risk Reward is Med. Not really sure how you'd lose discs out here if you are halfway decent.
Cons: Kind of confusing to play. Not a lot of action means spiderwebs in the summer. Parking can be a hassle sometimes.
Other Thoughts: Wish this course was here when I was in high school. A great alternative to renny for kids from deep south charlotte.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Elon Long, Strong, and Bound to get the Friction On

1    7/15/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 99  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2010
11 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: One of the best I've played, this course offers some of the best variety in one 18 that I've seen. It's mostly wooded with a few open bombs, has great length, realistic and legitimate pars, and the hole design varies superbly from left to right and lengthwise in combination with the good elevation. Practically every hole requires some forethought on disc placement, even the first 3 shorties, and it will punish you with a bogey or sometimes worse if you don't execute your shots wisely. The tees are all in and they are nice and level, there's enough trash cans available that respectful DG'ers shouldn't make a mess and most of the back 9 seemed to have these nice benches with ergonomic back support that was a welcome relief for this weary traveler. If you like tight, long, technical courses in NC woods then you'll love this one. The fairways themselves have their "tough" spots, usually off the tee, where they are pretty tight but usually you can exhale if you clear them, unlike some tight fairways that stay tight from end to end like a lame hipster's pair of jeans.
Cons: You don't tee off from the giant mound on hole # 5.

Some noodle-arms (<300' of accurate D) may be disadvantaged here. (No disrespect to noodlearms, I have one often when I'm tired.)

The first couple of holes deceive you into thinking you might have a birdie fest, the difficulty level gets ratcheted up really quickly so smoke 'em while you got 'em so to speak.

Hole # 9 is a little gimmicky for my tastes, you're forced to land on this tight island area or you're OB. It might not be so gimmicky when that creek is flooded though.

The tee signs were temporary pieces of paper that were taped to poles. Half of them were laying on the ground.
Other Thoughts: I'd rank this a 5.0 easy if there were benches on every hole like the ones that were there and if it had more permanent tee signs.

Signature/Favorite Hole: #5. This hole is like playing Wii Golf, it's a long par 5 that requires strategy and good shot placement on every throw. The tee off is a wooded tunnel with the object of hitting the landing area straight ahead at the end. Then, you have some disc eating marsh directly in front of and to the right to throw over. OB woods on the left and the huge mound to the right means you can't be too careless with the rest of your throws, even though it's a very open hole the rest of the way.

Like bettsjc said in his review, there's just something about those white Discatchers that lets you know that you are in for a challenge in Charlotte.

(Oh, and when I typed '...Bound to get the Friction on,' I meant it. Definitely powder up the ol' inner thighs if you have Scottish tree trunk legs like I do, it's a long walk and you will chafe in this heat.)

11 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 now yer talkin...

5+    2/26/2009   12/9/2009
Review By: albert8fish
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 15.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/26/2010
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: UPDATE: some tee pads are finished!! The ever so sloppy ninth hole is now concrete and straw at the tee, which gives relief to all chucking it a few feet behind the tee in the mud. Even with a few tees in I can tell this is my home course, played 54 holes on two courses, and didn't have to get back in my car...upgraded score to 4.5 I love this park.
Cons: This is a pro course, and is not complete. Wear waterproof mud kickers, and you will be golden.I do see some tough spots in the drainage of the land after a brutal Charlotte rain, but all in all it looks well thought out so far.No holes stuck out as unnecessary, they all fit the bill nicely, and compliment one another.Be ultra careful with your footing on the rocks on five if you traverse them, and look out for ankle twisting holes covered by leaves.
Other Thoughts: Couldn't ask for a better course than this at this park.Beginner(Elon am-tees)Intermediate(Elon pro-tees) and finally pro (Elong), all at the same park.I really Love Charlotte Disc Golf, if I didn't live here already, I would move here, just to play all the great courses spread out across town.Thanks CDGC.
My score of 4 discs, will be increasing as the park gets complete I am sure of it.
Favorite holes at Elon are #5 (par five with a 90 degree left to open fairway over snake like gully and swamp), #8 (par four, fairway meet creek he will be filling in for you in your absence) , #10 (tunnel shot with quick elevation drop, creek at bottom to stop you from laying up on either side of fairway), and #13 (par three straight up hill, hit the bottom of the basket with a sidearm, so close, took the birdie). Can't wait to play it again, really impressed with the treachery and reward.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.