Charlotte, NC 
Elon Park - Angry Beaver Share
Uploaded By: DiscChucker Hole #17 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 282ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Slightly Irritated Beaver

5+    8/19/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 203  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Angry Beaver is a very tough course that compliments the eager very well. Much like Nevin this course is about contol and can you throw accurate shots.

There are a few holes where you can bomb like hole 5 short pad and hole 18 but beware there is O.B. or thick woods nearbye.

I love how the course rocks you to sleep as you start because 1 2 3 &4are so straight forward and then you get to 5 and it starts getting tough.

The worlds layout took out my least favorite hole in Long 5!

The fact that there are two completly different courses on this property has to be the biggest Pro
Cons: The biggest con for me is this course just isn't memorable after about hole 10. It seems to get boring. While I do like the holes for the most part they just never really stand out in my mind.

It can be confusing to newcomers which course is which because the first few holes of angry arnt very long so theyre thinking" man I can do this" then holes 4 and 5 hit them hard. We had a group behind us on angry carrying ultimate discs and they had found there way onto the wrong course. They ended up giving up after hole 7

Confusing transitions for first timers. Hole 1 to 2 is marked but still a long strange transition and several places on the back 9 are confusing with multiple tees nearbye

There are a few places that I feel the OB can be a bit much such as hole 8 and the random OB creek halfway down hole 10.

No benches and very few trashcans which leads to litter.
Other Thoughts: Angry beaver is a serious challenge. The style of play is just like Nevin in that it's all about placement off the tee. This one is a tough course so bring your A game if you are traveling through. I definatly recomend this one!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Ouch!

1    7/14/2012   7/14/2012
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 93  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 5.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are some absolutely spectacular holes on this course. The design on the course is good and it makes really good use of the stream that runs through the park. This is a huge park with a second much easier course there for the newer players. There is a very good viriety early on, but this fades away as the round goes on. Hole 18 is rather epic and even though I triple bogied it, it was still memorable in a good way. There are some really nice benches. Nice tee pads. Some of the baskets are aging a bit but for the most part they are still in very good condition. There are sports fields and I am sure more than I saw in the park. There is a very nice parking lot specifically in the disc golf area. The tee signs are really good and for the most part it is easy to find the next hole. This course is really all about the challenge.
Cons: The biggest con here for me was how the course started to feel repeatative about halfway through. Most of these are the holes that a long through tight woods with a dog leg one way or the other. So many of these holes I was just plain sick of them by the end. A bit more creativity would have made this course a 4 easily. Some of the OB lines are ridiculous, especially hole 9. Island green? Isn't it bad enough that you have to hit a tiny gap? There are a few walks from one hole to the next that might be a bit difficult.
Other Thoughts: I would highly recommend taking a map with you simply because there are a couple of long walks and poorly marked trails from one hole to the next. It looks as if they were well marked recently and just simple use by people who don't care or respect the course have made it not as good as it was. If you come to play this course, I would plan on playing the shorter easier course afterwards just so that you get your good feelings back. This really is a tough one and one I would not reccomend for newer players. This course does compare with some of the top courses in teh area, it really is just about that simple lack of creativity to holds this course back.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Upset Beaver

2-4    6/16/2012   6/16/2012
Review By: ssittler
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 17.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: With all the courses we have in Charlotte this is definitely a gem in the crown.
I'll call it the Upset Beaver now however because it's been shortened for the World's event. It was definitely Angry before, but the shorter holes increase the pace of play and provide some Anger management.
The first 3 holes give you a chance to get under par. After that, it's up to you to score because the course gives nothing.
Most of the course plays in the woods so you'll need to hit lines, mostly with midrange discs. I can't remember a single hole where max driver would have been appropriate. That said it's a great challenge.
Cons: This is petty but there are not benches on every hole. I'm getting older so this is now something I notice.
Other Thoughts: A great venue for everyone when you consider both the Eager and Angry Beaver.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

1    9/17/2010   9/17/2011
Review By: snoborderphx
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great Course, very fun, a nice mix of long and technical holes. I liked how this course had long holes mixed with more technical holes instead of the front 9 being technical and the back 9 being the long holes
Cons: I was too beginner to throw this course. Intermediate and above should play this course. The only things I didn't like about the course were the briar patch on 2 bc I threw it right in the briars, and how long the course was when I played it. I would do much better now, but I needed more practice before playing this course
Other Thoughts: Bring Water, good shoes, and a good attitude.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 South Charlotte Gem

5+    8/22/2011   8/22/2011
Review By: jamsandwich
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Not crowded after 5pm. Good length. Course plays very spacious, not on top of other groups. Risk Reward is Med. Not really sure how you'd lose discs out here if you are halfway decent.
Cons: Kind of confusing to play. Not a lot of action means spiderwebs in the summer. Parking can be a hassle sometimes.
Other Thoughts: Wish this course was here when I was in high school. A great alternative to renny for kids from deep south charlotte.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Angry but not Furious

2-4    8/6/2011   8/12/2011
Review By: jksenior
Played: 109  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great test of skill and tests virtually every shot in your bag.
- I like a course with true par 4's (and a 5 or two), not just long par 3's disguised as 4's.
- Forces you to think before you throw.
- The terrain is nice and varied, not too hilly, but provides a good change of elevation for many holes.
- Good use of the water that 's around and through the course. Makes you think about where your shot will fall out to.
- Very fair for lefty's and righty's.
- In a nicely maintained park in a good area of town.
Cons: Just a few cons that could be overcome.
- Tee signs as mentioned before; the tee signs are creative but hard to read. Makes the course more difficult to navigate that it should. Hard to read distances and have no picture/diagram of the hole.
- tee pads were nice and consistent but a little short
- very few opportunities to throw a full driver. mostly fairway and controlled drivers or mids. I took all of my max drivers out of the bag for a second round.
Other Thoughts: I played the angry beaver as part of a one-day tournament. Was my first time on the course. Playing the morning round blind was very difficult. This is definitely a course where you benefit from playing it multiple times.

I went into expecting it to be tough, it was, but not unfairly so. Definitely worth a trip to play. Also play the short course as a warm-up.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 BEAVER FEVER

5+    8/7/2011   8/7/2011
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 95  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: quality course in south charlotte , that is designed towards the pro to advanced level player. nice concrete pads at every hole and nice white disc catchers. this course will force you to throw controlled fairway shots. a kick the wrong way will cost you strokes . every hole makes you think. alot of OB , and a island green on hole #9 that can kill a round quickly.
Cons: it can get sloppy during the winter, and when the creek is flowing, discs will disappear. there are still alot of tripper stumps in the fairways. has some benches and trashcans, but it could use some more
Other Thoughts: overall this course is a test worthy round. par is a pretty solid round. if you want to warm up before playing the beaver, the park also has a beginner level course that will sure up your approach game. i think this is a top 5 charlotte course as far as difficulty goes

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 What a course!

2-4    6/26/2011   6/29/2011
Review By: chucker10
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Large concrete pads, new baskets, unique and creative layout. This course has a bit of everything and it is extremely challenging for a beginner/intermediate player like myself. It will test your resolve midway through the round or sooner. The first 3 holes are benign and fairly easy to par or even birdie. Then the pain begins but in a good way. I always played the eager beaver course in the same park thinking of how much better I have gotten but once I played this one I ate a big piece of humble pie. Nonetheless you can really hone your skills on this course because it seems to have every situation imaginable and it's easy to get in trouble if you're not precise on most holes. Distance really comes into play on 2 holes but precision and placement is the skill that is required when playing this course. There are a lot of courses in the Charlotte area and I haven't played all of them yet so I am probably not the best person to say this, but it is the toughest course I have played by far. The challenge though makes you want to come back.
Cons: Almost too technical at times and sometimes it feels like you just have to be lucky to get a good score. Course still needs to be broken in. Hole #2 needs some clearing out. You basically have a bunch of thick shrubbery starting a few feet in front of the tee pad and maybe 15 feet from the basket and in the summer it's a pain to get through.
Other Thoughts: As mentioned above it is very challenging and to me that is definitely a pro. If you learn how to get around this course I'm sure you can thrive in most courses in the area. Would not recommend if you're just going out to get a quick round in. You have to have a good strategy for each hole and not just toss the disc around. Be ready for a battle!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 ANGRY!!!!

1    4/1/2011   5/5/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 186  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 4.9 Years
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - The Angry Beaver layout provides a wealth of quality disc golf. Experienced players will be challenged to hit tightly wooded lines, avoid artifical OB, and cannon the occasional long open shot. Even players without big arms can score well here, as the fairways often place a premium on good placement over raw distance in order to set up the next shot. Artificial OB is everywhere. Keep an eye open for the red-tipped fence posts: they denote OB. A wide variety of hole length throughout: everything from 150' ace runs to crazily-shaped 800'+ monsters.
-Water comes into play nicely in several spots in the form of both a pond and small creeks. #2's green is a small hill with the pin at the top and a pond lurking behind for over-zealous tee shots and rollaways. #8, one of the course's standout holes, winds through woods with a stream comprising the left side of the fairway. #18 is a monster 800'+ hole that twists and turns before arriving at a pin position protected from behind by a creek.
- Slight to moderate elevation comes into play very nicely throughout, often in concert with water in order to provide some excellent risk/reward (especially on #'s 2 and 18).
- Good concrete tees. The signage, although hand-drawn, is more descriptive than most signage I've encountered. All OB is clearly labelled, along with distances, par, and hole number. Painted on various stumps and other markers are random distances to the pin or to a particular area of OB, which helps immensely on some of the longer holes. A few benches and trashcans are scattered throughout the course.
Cons: - Some conspicuous cutting and stumps remain from the initial course construction. Doesn't really impact play at all, but does detract somewhat from the beauty of the course. I imagine as this still fairly new course beats in, a lot of this will fade from sight.
Other Thoughts: - For players of lesser skill, the shorter and easier Eager Beaver course on site offers a great alternative to this challenging design.
- Special thanks to Stan and Diane McDaniel for giving my group a tour of the course, along with all the personal insights!

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Tough and fun

1    4/18/2011   5/3/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 814  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a park with a great mix of open and wooded areas. In the open, there are a few holes bringing water, road, and other artificial ob areas into play for some added challenge. The wooded holes offer some nice lines to hit, with a balance between right and left turning holes.

There is a nice variety of hole lengths here, both in the woods and in the open. The course starts with three shorter mostly open holes, but quickly adds in some longer shots through the woods, and an excellent hole in #5 where a well placed tunnel shot sets you up for an open bomb with lurking ob. The tees are concrete, and are in great shape, and the baskets are still pretty new so they catch great.
Cons: The tee signs drawn by local kids are a cool idea, and I think they're awesome on the shorter course where you can see all the baskets from the tees. Here, they don't have any information other than distance, and several holes are blind. Some had temporary laminated hole maps, but most were missing and many of the rest were on the ground.

It's too bad the pond and the large mound next to hole 5 couldn't be used more, they're both great features of the property that seem like they could add some fun shots. The course is still pretty new, so it needs a little more clearing and cleaning to feel totally finished, several wooded holes still have lots of stumps and roots waiting to trip you in the fairway.
Other Thoughts: This is a great challenge, and a lot of fun to play, definitely one I would recommend if you're in the Charlotte area. Beginners won't have a lot of fun here, accuracy and distance are both tested with lots of punishment for errant shots. New players would have a better time on the adjacent short course. More experienced throwers will find some great challenges, and enough variety to keep things interesting and to test lots of different parts of your game.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.