Springboro, OH 
Eagle Ridge DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2 (Taken 6/2010)
4 / 451ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Has potential

2-4    9/27/2014   9/28/2014
Review By: JDS3105
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very little traffic. Provides a variety of shots. Nice scenery.
Cons: No tee pads. Chains on the baskets are temperamental. No course map- can be confusing for a first time player. Potential to loose discs in the water.
Other Thoughts: This is a decent course with some potential. Considering this was done as an Eagle Scout project, it's well done. If they add holes, it would be nice to see one or two under 200 ft. You need accuracy because there are plenty of trees to hit. We have friends in the area so we will definitely play this course. If they update the tee pads, I'd definitely raise my rating to 3 stars

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice, well kept course.

5+    7/15/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: remraf
Played: 18  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/31/2016
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fairly long and challenging.
Typically well kept.
Nothing really "in the woods", but trees are in play on every hole.
Unique in comparison to other courses in the area.
Cons: 2 baskets (4 holes if you play 18) are right up against the pond. Sending a putt into the pond is actually fairly likely.
If you haven't played before, it can be confusing where to go next (luckily, course maps are frequently available near the 1st/10th tee).
Can have lots of non disc golf traffic: picnics, joggers, dog walkers, and children playing in the ravine that is in play on holes 1 and 4.
No tee pads, personally, I'll take natural grass to cheap rubber or possibly slick asphalt any day. GIVE ME CONCRETE OR GIVE ME GRASS - :)
Other Thoughts: I just wanted to update this review since it is currently the most recent review. If you are thinking about giving this course a shot but are put off by some of the reviews or the overall rating of the course, know it is in a well maintained park, and it is quite unique compared to other area courses. And while the tees are grass, and there are no "next tee" signs, with the posts you can navigate the course fairly readily. This course is well maintained, fairly long, and as another reviewer states, surprisingly challenging. You may not think so at first, but at the end of your round looking at your scorecard, I'm fairly certain you will agree. And while there are only 9 baskets, the two different tees per basket in most cases make the hole play entirely different. I can't guarantee you'll love the course, but it's worth checking out.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Surprisingly challenging

2-4    12/15/2012   12/16/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 286  Reviewed: 269  Exp: 5.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Personally, I like a well- maintained park course where there is little chance of losing a disc. If you have a disc retriever for the small pond (you'll putt to within 10' four times!), you're good to go. Take it as a pro or a con, Eagle Ridge was designed in the back of Patricia Allyn Park (on route 48, north of Lebanon, OH) with obstacles, tight or low lines and actual risk/ reward opportunities. You're either going to face disc-grabbing cypress trees, challenging gaps, or going in the drink, on nearly every hole.

There are two sets of tees (each marked by a pair of ground-level blocks) and nine baskets. Starting at the course sign just left of the shelter, first consult the map for layout, then look for the small orange tee markers for the first nine, and come back around for the yellow markers for the 'back nine'.

Holes 1 and 2 (add nine all the way through: the second tees change some shot angles) start you into the cypress grove, 3 and 4 cross a small, pretty drainage creek (with 4's basket precariously close to the ditch), and 5 hyzers (rhbh) across a beautifully built (Eagle Scout project) bridge, to a basket just inside the woods. 6 is a long-arm uphill hole finishing behind a pine tree and just 8 feet from the pond. 7 is a reachable 330' glide downhill (stay right if you go short), that just barely enters the woods again, and 8 shoots out from the edge of the woods into a small glade. You finish on 9 (18) between a pair of pines and again about 7' from the pond.

This park has all the amenities, and is very clean and well-maintained. The disc golf is set apart from most of the other activities, though there does appear to be a nice trail back in the woods to the right. You usually won't have to wait on non-DGers to clear the area.
Cons: 18 chains are nice on a basket, but the single ring of them allows cut-throughs if you putt strong. Tees are natural turf (though they don't yet seem to be overly worn in). There are no distance markers.

The flow of the course runs in a bit of a figure-8, so going from 4/13 to 5/14 crosses the 1/10 fairway.

If you're not up to shaping lines carefully, keeping your lines below overhanging branches, and still being able to shoot well between 250' and 350', this course could eat your lunch! And if you stress out putting toward water, this might not be your cup of tea.
Other Thoughts: The front and back nine were designed to have some balance, but as you go around twice, you can either play it as designed with a mix of long and short tees, or (if you brought less experienced players) you might want to play the nine shorter tees.

The park appears to have a lot of potential for more holes, incorporating more of the woods, or even out along the sides, where there's still lots of room. A simple shot over the pond as you walk back to the beginning would be neat.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 POTENTIAL!

1    7/3/2011   7/3/2011
Review By: tsqrd
Played: 32  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of hole design and distances.

Great use of mature trees and terrain.

Park is absolutely beautiful and very well maintained.
Cons: The tee boxes are very difficult to find, even with a map. There really isnt a box, just a ground marker.

9 baskets for 18 holes. Could be an issue if the course is busy. Luckily we were alone, so we could hunt for tee boxes all we wanted.

Hole 6 and 9 are way too close to the pond. Forces you play ultra-conservative with your approach.
Other Thoughts: This course has amazing potential within an even more amazing park setting. The tee box markers were easy to find at first, but after 5 holes, we only found one more marker, so we just played basically from basket to basket.

The baskets for holes 6 and 9 need to be moved away from the pond. Each b asket has a grouping of pine trees in front of them. If the basket was moved up into the middle of the trees, the holes would be awesome! As they are now, you cannot afford to go for the pin due the the extreme risk of landing in the pond.

With some maturity and additional upgrades, this course could easily be rated 3.5-4.0 in my opinion. Great job for an Eagle Scout project. Thanks guys! Keep up the great work!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  very playable

5+    8/13/2010   8/13/2010
Review By: hitec100
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Some good challenges. Some holes to really drive, and some to take care even from the teepad.
Cons: Teepads can be difficult to find at times. A couple baskets too close to the pond for recreational play.
Other Thoughts: Nice course!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.