Springboro, OH 
Eagle Ridge DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg   (Taken 6/2010)
Course Sign



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice, well kept course.

5+    7/15/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: remraf
Played: 12  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fairly long and challenging.
Typically well kept.
Nothing really "in the woods", but trees are in play on every hole.
Unique in comparison to other courses in the area.
Cons: 2 baskets (4 holes if you play 18) are right up against the pond. Sending a putt into the pond is actually fairly likely.
If you haven't played before, it can be confusing where to go next (luckily, course maps are frequently available near the 1st/10th tee).
Can have lots of non disc golf traffic: picnics, joggers, dog walkers, and children playing in the ravine that is in play on holes 1 and 4.
No tee pads, personally, I'll take natural grass to cheap rubber or possibly slick asphalt any day. GIVE ME CONCRETE OR GIVE ME GRASS - :)
Other Thoughts: I just wanted to update this review since it is currently the most recent review. If you are thinking about giving this course a shot but are put off by some of the reviews or the overall rating of the course, I just want to say outright that I think the course rating is at least a half a star low. It is in a well maintained park, and it is quite unique compared to other area courses. I would also have you look at the dates of the reviews, they quickly get old - fast. And the biggest, most valid complaint in old reviews - the inability to locate tees - has been addressed for some time now. There are standing posts next to the tees. And while the tees are grass, and there are no "next tee" signs, with the posts you can navigate the course fairly readily. This course is well maintained, fairly long, and as another reviewer states, surprisingly challenging. You may not think so at first, but at the end of your round looking at your scorecard, I'm fairly certain you will agree. And while there are only 9 baskets, the two different tees per basket in most cases make the hole play entirely different. I can't guarantee you'll love the course, I just think it's better than the rating implies. Give it a try sometime, or revisit it if you haven't been for a while.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Eagle Ridge

5+    7/4/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 67  Reviewed: 43
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Decent, scenic mostly open 18 hole course in springboro. good challenge, not too difficult though, the pond shot is a tough one.
Cons: there could be next tee signs, took forever just to get hole number signs.
Other Thoughts: well made course, needs better tees, some pictures and pointing to next tees.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/25/2011   11/25/2011
Review By: jd.mackiewicz
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 23.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Free Disk Golf Course in a very nice park
*Orange signs are now up to mark tees
*Enjoyed my time playing here.
Cons: *No Tee Pads, can be very slick
*No distance listed at tees
* No Par listed.
Other Thoughts: *Mostly open grassy course, with a few significant trees.
*The pins are doubled up so that two tees shoot for one pin

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Eagle Scout Project

1    8/28/2010   8/31/2010
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 139  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 12.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice Park
Well Maintained
Friendly Locals
Excellent Eagle Scout Project
Cons: Not much of a challenge
Hard to Navigate
Many holes share the same basket
Under construction when I was there
Crowded
Other Thoughts: I was in Scouts when I was younger so I understand how the whole Eagle Scout Project thing works. This course was probably designed by a 17 year old with assistance from his family, the people working on it were members of his troop and their families with very limited funds and resources.

Rating it solely as an Eagle Scout project it would get a 4 or a 4.5. But can it compete with a tournament quality course run and funded by a State Park or a Disc Golf Organization, the answer is no but it's not fair to hold this course to that standard. It's a fantastic course when you consider what they had to work with

The course is mostly in an open field with a pond, a small creek, scattered trees all around. It's a very nice park and it's well taken care off and some of the holes are really fun

It can be hard to navigate, I spent a lot of time walking around looking for the square bricks that had the hole numbers on them. Also many of the hole have multiple hole numbers for each pin (hole 10 shares a basket with hole 1 and so on)

But it's nice course in a nice park. go there with you family, hit the playground, have a picnic. Make a day of it. I wouldn't travel any major distances to get to this one but it's very nice

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Nice Addition to Warren County Disc Golf

5+    1/3/2010   1/4/2010
Review By: RogueArtist
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/19/2010
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course offers a good variety in hole shape and design and has some nice altitude changes from tee to basket which is a nice feature. It consists of 9 baskets with 2 tees at each basket. (It was a very cold windy day so we only played the first 9 tees.) Each hole plays differently from the next and you never have that sense of "Didn't I just play that hole?". The front 4 holes plays through a wooded grove forcing players to exercise significant control and providing nice risk reward for accurate long drives.
The course is set in a very nice park with playgrounds and pavilions and open fields. It felt like somewhere there could be a nice set of restrooms I didnt notice them though as I was really focused on the course.

Cons: The course does in its current state have a few drawbacks and as a result pulled the course from being Very Good to Typical... hopefully in the coming year they will add some signage to help address some of these issues.

1) The Markers for the holes are stones set in the ground the result is your round of disc golf includes a round of "Lets Find the Next Tee Box..." There was a map on the bulletin board at the beginning of the course, however my brother had the foresight to load the course map onto his Ipod as a PDF ... so we were able to reference that throughout and find our way.

2) Water Hazards - While there are some streams and creeks that come into play on the course the baskets of hole #6 and Hole #9 are literally 6 feet from a pond. Both of these holes play west into the prevailing wind wreaking havoc on your disc. Having water that close to the basket really makes me want to lay up and not really go for anything other than a short putt and makes these holes no fun to play. Id rather move the baskets another 20 foot away from the pond to solve this problem. One of my discs did land on the pond and i did retrieve it via a stick as the pond was frozen.

3) No Pars - We didnt notice on the map what the pars were for the different holes and markers themselves did not include this info... you will see below I give my thoughts as to what they should be. Not sure if the distances were included on the map either.

4) Course Flow - There is a pretty significant hike between hole #4 and Hole #5... not the end of the world.
Other Thoughts: #1 is a fairly open shot through a line of trees and up a hill to a basket set back in a clearing in the woods. A nice par 3.

#2 is a much longer slight bend to the left through some larger trees.... an accurate drive into the fairway here is a birdie opportunity. Probably Par 4

#3 A very tight drive through some narrow gaps. (Be careful into the creek off to the right there is some old rusty fencing rolled up... I got my disc stuck in there. ) This hole could use a little bit of trimming as it was pretty hard to get a clear drive. After the gap the hole is set back with jsut a few trees surrounding a Par 4

#4 Directly on the right of this hole is a meandering path where pedestrians could be walking on a nicer day... its a nice fairly open downhill fade to the right begging for a nice forehand. The basket is set right next to a small stream and protected by some larger trees. A Par 3

#5 A open downhill drive with a short and sharp turn to the left to a clearing in the forest edge. The basket sets up the hill over a little creek.
A unique Par 4 ....maybe 5

#6 A long uphill battle against the wind to a basket protect on the backside by a good size pond. Par 5

#7 My favorite hole - A rolling downhill very open hole into a small clearing in the woods that protects the basket. The design here really lets you just let it rip (Similar to 11 on the nearby gulley Course) Par 4

#8 The teepad here is set back into the woods and you drive between two mounds of dirt left over from when they were excavating the park. Its a rolling uphill with the baskets protected by some largerish trees. Par 4 or 5

#9 A short par 3 to the basket with the pond just 6 feet away a few spotty trees. Probably the weakest hole on the course design wise.


****** REVIEW UPDATE******

Since my initial review I have been back to this course numerous times. A cool feature is that the second 9 holes are located in places to where many of them play pretty different from the front 9. The extraordinary amount of space given for this course allows this. Mandos have been added on hole number 4 to help protect some of the pedestrian paths and in doing so adds a little bit of challenge to there.

My biggest concern with the course remains the ridiculously close placement of the 6 and 9 baskets to the water.... The course is not played enough to where you can make up some pretty good holes to baskets other than 6 and 9 and not be in anyones way. Nevertheless, this course is a great addition with lots of variety .... just 2 really really stupid pin placements.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.