Springboro, OH 
Eagle Ridge DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 255ft.   3 / 255ft.   3 / 255ft.   2 / 255ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Nice, well kept course.

5+    7/15/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: remraf
Played: 12  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fairly long and challenging.
Typically well kept.
Nothing really "in the woods", but trees are in play on every hole.
Unique in comparison to other courses in the area.
Cons: 2 baskets (4 holes if you play 18) are right up against the pond. Sending a putt into the pond is actually fairly likely.
If you haven't played before, it can be confusing where to go next (luckily, course maps are frequently available near the 1st/10th tee).
Can have lots of non disc golf traffic: picnics, joggers, dog walkers, and children playing in the ravine that is in play on holes 1 and 4.
No tee pads, personally, I'll take natural grass to cheap rubber or possibly slick asphalt any day. GIVE ME CONCRETE OR GIVE ME GRASS - :)
Other Thoughts: I just wanted to update this review since it is currently the most recent review. If you are thinking about giving this course a shot but are put off by some of the reviews or the overall rating of the course, I just want to say outright that I think the course rating is at least a half a star low. It is in a well maintained park, and it is quite unique compared to other area courses. I would also have you look at the dates of the reviews, they quickly get old - fast. And the biggest, most valid complaint in old reviews - the inability to locate tees - has been addressed for some time now. There are standing posts next to the tees. And while the tees are grass, and there are no "next tee" signs, with the posts you can navigate the course fairly readily. This course is well maintained, fairly long, and as another reviewer states, surprisingly challenging. You may not think so at first, but at the end of your round looking at your scorecard, I'm fairly certain you will agree. And while there are only 9 baskets, the two different tees per basket in most cases make the hole play entirely different. I can't guarantee you'll love the course, I just think it's better than the rating implies. Give it a try sometime, or revisit it if you haven't been for a while.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Surprisingly challenging

2-4    12/15/2012   12/16/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 163  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 3.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Personally, I like a well- maintained park course where there is little chance of losing a disc. If you have a disc retriever for the small pond (you'll putt to within 10' four times!), you're good to go. Take it as a pro or a con, Eagle Ridge was designed in the back of Patricia Allyn Park (on route 48, north of Lebanon, OH) with obstacles, tight or low lines and actual risk/ reward opportunities. You're either going to face disc-grabbing cypress trees, challenging gaps, or going in the drink, on nearly every hole.

There are two sets of tees (each marked by a pair of ground-level blocks) and nine baskets. Starting at the course sign just left of the shelter, first consult the map for layout, then look for the small orange tee markers for the first nine, and come back around for the yellow markers for the 'back nine'.

Holes 1 and 2 (add nine all the way through: the second tees change some shot angles) start you into the cypress grove, 3 and 4 cross a small, pretty drainage creek (with 4's basket precariously close to the ditch), and 5 hyzers (rhbh) across a beautifully built (Eagle Scout project) bridge, to a basket just inside the woods. 6 is a long-arm uphill hole finishing behind a pine tree and just 8 feet from the pond. 7 is a reachable 330' glide downhill (stay right if you go short), that just barely enters the woods again, and 8 shoots out from the edge of the woods into a small glade. You finish on 9 (18) between a pair of pines and again about 7' from the pond.

This park has all the amenities, and is very clean and well-maintained. The disc golf is set apart from most of the other activities, though there does appear to be a nice trail back in the woods to the right. You usually won't have to wait on non-DGers to clear the area.
Cons: 18 chains are nice on a basket, but the single ring of them allows cut-throughs if you putt strong. Tees are natural turf (though they don't yet seem to be overly worn in). There are no distance markers.

The flow of the course runs in a bit of a figure-8, so going from 4/13 to 5/14 crosses the 1/10 fairway.

If you're not up to shaping lines carefully, keeping your lines below overhanging branches, and still being able to shoot well between 250' and 350', this course could eat your lunch! And if you stress out putting toward water, this might not be your cup of tea.
Other Thoughts: The front and back nine were designed to have some balance, but as you go around twice, you can either play it as designed with a mix of long and short tees, or (if you brought less experienced players) you might want to play the nine shorter tees.

The park appears to have a lot of potential for more holes, incorporating more of the woods, or even out along the sides, where there's still lots of room. A simple shot over the pond as you walk back to the beginning would be neat.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Eagle Ridge

5+    7/4/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 67  Reviewed: 43
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Decent, scenic mostly open 18 hole course in springboro. good challenge, not too difficult though, the pond shot is a tough one.
Cons: there could be next tee signs, took forever just to get hole number signs.
Other Thoughts: well made course, needs better tees, some pictures and pointing to next tees.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/25/2011   11/25/2011
Review By: jd.mackiewicz
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 23.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Free Disk Golf Course in a very nice park
*Orange signs are now up to mark tees
*Enjoyed my time playing here.
Cons: *No Tee Pads, can be very slick
*No distance listed at tees
* No Par listed.
Other Thoughts: *Mostly open grassy course, with a few significant trees.
*The pins are doubled up so that two tees shoot for one pin

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Awesome Course

1    10/23/2011   10/23/2011
Review By: Beej
Played: 25  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great wide open space,
Awesome use of trees!
Good Mandos on Hole 4.
Cons: Couldn't find Holes 7 or 9
Map was not to scale
Flags missing for most of the holes.. Hard to find many of the tees.
9 and 18 are terrifyingly close to the pond (I lost a disc!)
No maps left (had to take a picture of the one on the bulletin board with our phones).
Other Thoughts: Great playgrounds for people looking for family-friendly disc golf courses.
Outhouse Next to parking lot.
Pond is deeper than it looks!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/16/2011   10/16/2011
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course area very well maintained and mostly away from the other park activities. This is an Eagle Scout Project and I think they did a great job.

There are some long open holes to work on your distance game.

The course is played as 18 holes, using 9 baskets.

The water hazards (baskets right next to the pond) are very risky but it adds more challenge that I thought the course needed.
Cons: I rarely found the tee area even when using the course map. There are supposedly brick markers flush with the ground. Navigation was very frustrating and most times I just picked a place to tee off from based on the map.
Other Thoughts: The course is located at the backside of Patricia Allyn Park.

Tee signs would be a big upgrade for orienteering the course.

If there were less navigation frustrations I would gladly raise my rating. The Scouts did a nice job, I definitely respect their work here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 POTENTIAL!

1    7/3/2011   7/3/2011
Review By: tsqrd
Played: 32  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of hole design and distances.

Great use of mature trees and terrain.

Park is absolutely beautiful and very well maintained.
Cons: The tee boxes are very difficult to find, even with a map. There really isnt a box, just a ground marker.

9 baskets for 18 holes. Could be an issue if the course is busy. Luckily we were alone, so we could hunt for tee boxes all we wanted.

Hole 6 and 9 are way too close to the pond. Forces you play ultra-conservative with your approach.
Other Thoughts: This course has amazing potential within an even more amazing park setting. The tee box markers were easy to find at first, but after 5 holes, we only found one more marker, so we just played basically from basket to basket.

The baskets for holes 6 and 9 need to be moved away from the pond. Each b asket has a grouping of pine trees in front of them. If the basket was moved up into the middle of the trees, the holes would be awesome! As they are now, you cannot afford to go for the pin due the the extreme risk of landing in the pond.

With some maturity and additional upgrades, this course could easily be rated 3.5-4.0 in my opinion. Great job for an Eagle Scout project. Thanks guys! Keep up the great work!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Eagle Ridge

1    3/1/2011   3/2/2011
Review By: vetonoshake
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice baskets and a friendly park setting.
Cons: VERY confusing. There are no tee pads, and no signs. The tees are marked by little squares in the ground with the hole number on one of the squares, and with small flags that stick out of the ground. The flags are very hard to see from the previous hole and aren't even there on a lot of holes. There is no tee pad at all, just the grass. A lot of the baskets are used for more than one hole which also is a little confusing.
Other Thoughts: Hard to know where to throw from or which baskets to throw to. I got really turned around after about hole 8, and decided to just make up holes as I went. This course has potential, but isn't worth playing as is. Improvements are definitely needed.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Eagle Scout Project

1    8/28/2010   8/31/2010
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 139  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 12.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice Park
Well Maintained
Friendly Locals
Excellent Eagle Scout Project
Cons: Not much of a challenge
Hard to Navigate
Many holes share the same basket
Under construction when I was there
Crowded
Other Thoughts: I was in Scouts when I was younger so I understand how the whole Eagle Scout Project thing works. This course was probably designed by a 17 year old with assistance from his family, the people working on it were members of his troop and their families with very limited funds and resources.

Rating it solely as an Eagle Scout project it would get a 4 or a 4.5. But can it compete with a tournament quality course run and funded by a State Park or a Disc Golf Organization, the answer is no but it's not fair to hold this course to that standard. It's a fantastic course when you consider what they had to work with

The course is mostly in an open field with a pond, a small creek, scattered trees all around. It's a very nice park and it's well taken care off and some of the holes are really fun

It can be hard to navigate, I spent a lot of time walking around looking for the square bricks that had the hole numbers on them. Also many of the hole have multiple hole numbers for each pin (hole 10 shares a basket with hole 1 and so on)

But it's nice course in a nice park. go there with you family, hit the playground, have a picnic. Make a day of it. I wouldn't travel any major distances to get to this one but it's very nice

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Needs some work

1    7/9/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: ohiostatefan38
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Long holes great for working on your driving skills. The park itself is nice
Cons: Almost impossible to find tee pads. Not a very challenging course. Hard to find your way around
Other Thoughts: Needs more prominent tee pads

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.