Chino, CA 
Prado DGC Share
Uploaded By: bazillion   (Taken 1/2010)
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Popped my disc golf cherry here...

1    6/3/2016   6/3/2016
Review By: desdave
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Long layout with lots of trees. Some unlevel tee slabs. A few easy wide open holes, but many holes require some forethought.
Cons: Other than the sprinklers being on at 7, nothing to complain about here.
Other Thoughts: I played my first round here 2 weeks ago... my first round ever. A little long for a newbie. But I still shot (what I thought was a respectable) 72. Went back today, and shot a 67. Hit a lot of trees on holes 1-8, started aiming for the trees on 9-18 and didn't hit one. Go figure. Very breezy my first time, dead calm today. "Our" sport is a blast!


1    3/16/2015   3/17/2015
Review By: Andymanout
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well kept and reasonably clear of cross traffic. Designed to make use of terrain and elevation to give some great holes. The lake is a disc eater for the less skilled and overly ambitious. She gets in yer kitchen. Someone most have birdied 6 and took the placard home. Other than that the other Tee Markers are present.
Cons: $!0.00 weekend and $8.00 Weekday gate fee is per vehicle. This gets manageable with a crew of players carpooling in.
Other Thoughts: The course needs alternate tee positions. We need to build up a group to champion the course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/6/2013   7/6/2013
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 224  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 7.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: DISCatcher baskets w/ poles extending well above, Practice basket, Large tee pads, Challenging for all levels of play, Good use of obstacles and elevation, Risk-Reward shots, Maintained grounds, Trash receptacles/Recycling bins throughout, Clean restrooms, Lots of parking, Alcohol and Dog friendly, usually never crowded and other amenities nearby.
Cons: $8 weekday and $10 weekend Fee to park $2 walk-in, Gate closes at 5:00pm, Tee signs lack integrity, Course flow.
Other Thoughts: This is a pay to play course that provides clean amenities, maintains the grounds very well, and keeps the riff raff away. The course will challenge players of all calibers with distances for most holes averaging 350ft. with +/- elevation and low ceiling trees and WIND. Most of the layout consists of wide-open windows. Distances posted on tee signs are inaccurate and next tee signs would improve navigation for first timers. Disc selection and choice of throws along with knowing how to throw in the wind is tested. During summer months, insects will be out especially on holes near the water I strongly suggest some type of repellant.
Camping and Fishing available within the park making it a great destination course for the entire family.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Wind!

5+    7/4/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: thugjitsu
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of the area for some technical and some bomber holes.
Well kept park
Great practice for wind.
All discatcher baskets with poles on top to locate them on blind shots
Cons: Picnic benches come into play which can be dangerous
Can get boring after multiple rounds
Tough to navigate on the first time
Other Thoughts: For us So-Cal people who don't get much variation in our weather this course provides some nasty nasty winds that are great to practice in. If its busy i suggest go somewhere else as some picnic benches are dangerously close to baskets or right in the fairway. Theres nothing too special about this course that stands out but if its a weekday and you want a more secluded course, this is it. You can also drink on site and they have pits to bbq so it can be an all day thing to play some rounds, then bbq and relax.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Dang Lake

2-4    5/14/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: PDXDisc
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Extremely well maintained course with great tee pads and baskets. The extra long poles on the top of the basket make it easy to target when throwing over a hill. The fee keeps the crowds down and the course uncrowded. Good variety of long/short, up/down, and getting around the water.
Cons: While it did not happen to me in talking with a couple guys that play this course a lot, the course can get crowded with pic-nic'ers and people fishing.
The dang lake ate my favorite Sidewinder teeing off on 7 - but that's my own fault for letting it drift up and catch the wind.
$10 to drive in is pretty steep and there is a not a lot of parking outside that allow for a walk-in
Other Thoughts: Very nice park with not a lot of people playing the course.
If you are going to play a couple times keep your receipt. The fee only needs to be paid once. You can leave and come back! I played once in the morning and came back later in the day.
If anyone goes weed whackin and finds a blue champion sidewinder please please please call and return it. I'll pay shipping and a pitcher of choice...

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Prado

1    3/2/2011   3/3/2011
Review By: macViciouss
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pretty course
one of the few 18 hole courses around us
pretty empty
concrete tees
lots of other stuff to do in this park
Cons: not exactly clearly marked as to where to go next
if you arent experienced, the lake can prove to be a bit of a hazard, we actually lost a driver to the lake.
Cost 7 bucks on weekdays, 10 on weekends and theres a 2$ walk in fee, but theres really no place to reasonably park outside of the park
Other Thoughts: The people that were working here were very nice. The park was very well kept. The nicest scenery of a course ive been to around here yet. be a nice place for a picnic or something fun after you play. just beware of the lake.Park closes at 5 pm so go early.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/20/2012   2/18/2011
Review By: Mark R
Played: 90  Reviewed: 71  Exp: 14 Years
This review was updated on 2/21/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice public park with several fun holes. Cement tees and big, visible signs with accurate distances posted. A nice 270-degree vista of surrounding mountains is unique(Inland Empire-San Bernardino). Water holes (Holes 5-7) are very nice, in that you will only lose a disc if you really screw up as opposed to an unlucky throw. All holes are 'right-sized' (200-400, with one over 500'). Fairly high fun factor, particularly with some of the drives on the back nine. The best fairways (such 4 and 12) have gently-sloping downhill fairways. Has a more casual, low-stress vibe than LaMirada and El Dorado.
Cons: A couple of 'cheap' holes (3, 10). Seven dollars seems a little steep for potentially unemployed disc golfers, since the bathrooms were locked, and maintenance was only partially obvious. A few unpleasant smells wafting by on occasion. Not a lot of course diversity.
Other Thoughts: Lots of fun, fairly wide-open drives (should remind Michiganders of Begg Park in BC a bit). Also many bird species present (saw a scarlet tanager, bluebirds, and a meadowlark in one round). This area could use a few more courses just like this one, but it falls a little short of the top rank.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Worth Your Visit

1    7/1/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: Twinskulls
Played: 74  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Super clean and easy to follow throughout the course. Very grassy, can walk with barefoot. Plenty of trees for shades.
Cons: W I N D Y ! I played in the late afternoon. The course is pretty easy but windy gave us more challenge.
Other Thoughts: We were lucky enough that we were the only four people playing there that time. If many people play there same time, tees and pins are too close. There's may some bumps on the heads. But overall the course is good and I would go and play there again sometime in future.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Unique SoCal Course

2-4    4/10/2010   4/11/2010
Review By: fifteen
Played: 41  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Different from the usual Southern California courses. Different lines are required here and that helps you hone your disc golfing skills. Some holes play along the lake which can play mind games with you but they aren't a factor if you choose the right line.

The baskets and the teepads are in great shape and navigation isn't a problem. The signs are unique, wooden signs with the number and distance etched on them.
Cons: The price to enter is quite steep, $10 per car so carpool if you can to cut costs. The park is also a lake and a campground so you'll be faced with a lot of non-golfers walking around. Give 'em a shout for a head up or to get them move a bit.

Some holes have picnic tables smack in the middle of the fairway which is a recipe for disaster should there be a family having a weekend picnic.
Other Thoughts: Came out here for a tournament and am glad I made the trip up from San Diego. Loved hole #7 which is a long hole with a right dogleg to the basket, play it right and you'll easily par it.

Wind picks up in the afternoon which can play with your shots, keep 'em low to defeat the wind.

I definitely will come out here again to defeat the wind!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great getaway from LA

2-4    1/10/2010   1/13/2010
Review By: backswing_aplenty
Played: 64  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.1 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great spot to have a course. Cool little section of a larger park complex with extremely manicured grass and trees, and some rolling ills to keep you on your toes.
Mix of long and short holes with a lake near 4 holes that doesn't really come into play but looms near enough to mess with your head. (made and offering my first round on hole #4, don't flip a Wraith into the lake.)

You are forced to use many different shots in your bag. Long open D, controlled D, forehand, anhyzer lines, uphill, and downhill shots.

Well marked tees for not having concrete tee boxes or signs. Easy and intuitive course flow, always found the next tee with ease.

Baskets are pristine and you have a practice basket with some elevation and a few trees to practice with.

Bathrooms by hole 1 and trashcans everywhere.

Great dogleg right on hole 7(?) that forces a quality drive to be lined up for the approach, followed by a nifty blind hill shot and then a nice shot with an early tunnel. Great 3 hole run.
Cons: In need of another redesign.

If just 3 or 4 tees were moved about 10-20ft. farther from or either left or right in relation to the basket this course would be bumped up .5 in rating.

The back 9 has 4 holes that are simple 375-400 straight across a field, maybe a tree here or there but just a heave-ho. Fairly easy for those that can throw that far, but a simple 3 for everyone else. Trouble early or trouble late would give much more difficulty and you only need to move the tee a few feet left or right or even closer to make one think about the shot.

Only a few guarded pins, most are wide open looks at the basket not requiring much thought off the tee. Moving a few pins to the bottoms of the shallow valleys created by the rolling hills with create some more interesting greens.

There's a giant hill just begging for an alternate tee or pin placement behind hole 8/9.

Some fairways threw directly over a BBQ and benches?! How this was allowed is amazing to me. No one was using the park for anything but fishing (away from the course) and DG. Again need to shift some lines around the course from the tees.
Other Thoughts: Not a pro or con, just and "is" - $10 per vehicle to get into the park. It is what it is, find some friends to carpool like I did.

I really liked this course and the potential it holds. There are no concrete teepads yet but the grass is so well manicured and flat they're not really necessary yet and are neither a pro nor con at the moment.

This also gives Dave Dunipace the option to further tweak the course, which needs to be done, and will only make the course better.

I will be out to this course often. A great addition to the So Cal scene and welcome location away from the greater LA area.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.