Chino, CA 
Prado DGC Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #2 (Taken 12/2009)
3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Really fun

1    6/28/2013   6/28/2013
Review By: MOchains
Played: 74  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.7 Years
Pros: This course is really fun. I played early morning and the course was completely empty. Grass is cut short and almost golf course like. The course is relatively open, but careful use of trees and tees make for challenging shots. Many shots are limited by low hanging trees near the tees. Good use of the little elevation available. In my opinion 7-9 and 17 are the most memorable holes on the course.
Cons: One disappointing aspect of this course was the lack of use of water holes. Some of the holes by water presented no real risk (1&4). A couple small changes could make these holes much more "risk/ reward". Move 4 a few feet down toward the water and back 100 ft and now you have a real hole. 1 placed toward the water over the hill would definitely add to the hole.

A few of the holes (14-16) were somewhat repetitive and mundane, however, with the land used I don't know what else could be changed.
The distances posted on some of the holes seemed a little inaccurate; perhaps they were measured using Internet distances. ;-)
Other Thoughts: Overall it is worth playing. Not the hardest course, but fun for novice and pros alike. It is the only course I paid for and the only course I felt I needed to write a review for from my California trip. I wish I could play it again. Worth the trip and worth the entry fee.

 cant go wrong at prado

5+    1/22/2012   2/2/2012
Review By: pasitalredy
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/6/2012
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: this course is way worth playing .all the holes are great and the fact that the course is somewhat close to my home is great...I recomend checking weather conditions before going .due to the fact that it gets really windy sometimmes.but other than that its a pretty cool course.many lake side shots that makes it way more nerve racking but its all good.cuz I love intense playing!.as long as u can control ur disc you'll be fine.
Cons: I don't like paying ten bucks to play...sometimes gets really nasty windy...so loook the weather up!.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not to be missed

5+    5/16/2010   5/16/2010
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 74  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - All holes are well marked which makes navigation a breeze.
- New tee pads, New baskets, restrooms, and water fountains everywhere.
- Plenty of obstacles including water, hills, large trees and howling wind.
- Holes are well planned out and require you to use a variety of throws.
- Mostly Disc Golf Exclusive, there were a few fisherman but most everyone stays on the other side of the lake.
- Crowds are light even on the weekends.
- Overall the course is kept in pristine condition. No trash on the ground, grass well maintained.
Cons: $10 entry fee is the most I've paid for disc golf, but it is worth it. Bugs are out in swarms, even in the wind.

Many of the baskets were out in the open, although there were plenty of trees blocking drives the baskets were largely unguarded. A few well placed new trees could go a long way.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth the drive and the money.

The combination of high winds and water can really play some mind games with you. Throw an understable disc on 7 and you can kiss it goodbye.

I looked into parking outside the park and walking in (because I'm cheap like that), and I couldn't find any place to park withing a 15 minute walk. So at this time carpooling remains the best bet.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic and Challenging

1    3/13/2010   3/13/2010
Review By: OcDiscGolf
Played: 23  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 17 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Beautiful surroundings in a semi-rural park like setting; rolling hills surround the entire strip of land
Elevation change in play on the majority of the course adding additional challenge
Drinking alcohol is fully legal here
Brand new super grippy, extra long concrete tees
New tee signs and brand new (correctly) numbered baskets
Water comes into play on several holes and makes you rethink your lines
Lots of trees act as great natural obstacles
All of the angles are thought out, and there is plenty of variety for both right and left hand throwers here.
Plenty of trashcans and a few bathrooms
Picnic benches on almost all of the holes
Seems to be a disc golf exclusive area, although a few fishermen were a bit oblivious and almost got hit. I think they'll get it soon enough.
Cons:
$10 to Park. I am all for pitching in but that price makes this the most expensive DG Course I've ever been to
The wind picks up in the afternoons and can make for challenging play (might not be a con for everyone). Putts especially become very difficult when the wind picks up.
Not much shade - almost all of the benches are out in the open. Seems like it would get HOT here in the summer time. No secluded "break" hole to speak of.
Other Thoughts:
Prado is a brand new course off the 71 Expressway in Chino's beautiful Prado Regional Park. The concrete tees were recently installed along with the tee signs (March 2010), making this beautiful course that much better. The course plays along a lake with reeds on the edges, and the banks of the river slope gradually in most places. Water comes into play on a few holes here, especially on Hole # 7, without a doubt the signature hole on this course. It is a 527 foot right curve around the water, but there is a line directly across. Few that go for this line actually make it, but when they do - it's a thing of beauty. The Safe route is about 300 feet to the apex, then straight at the basket slightly over the water.

The water can also get into your head as it toys with you on 4, 6, and 8 as well. #8 Shoots over a hill to the basket blind at about .250 feet on a slight RHBH hyzer. The basket sits on a hill with a significant amount of slope and the water is a menacing 40 feet behind it. Air it out here and you most likely end up in the water or the reeds, both of which are an almost impossible retrieval.

The scenery is unparalleled at this course, and offers a great cross section of nature not normally seen in California. The large turkey vultures are one of the primary attractions here, whether they are circling at 800 feet or lounging in one of the many trees watching the fishermen, hoping for a free handout. I Also saw a few very large hawks here when I played.

Don't miss this course if playing in the Orange/San Bernardino/Riverside/San Diego/L.A. area. It's a good one and it's here to stay. It has tinges of both La Mirada and Whittier Narrows, but the water coming actively into play isn't the norm in Socal and that definitely adds to the allure here. It was designed by two of the best in the business, and I almost get the feeling it is the closest to Innova's "homebase" course that we will see due to its proximity to their corporate office. It was fun to see Dave Dunipace playing 2 groups in front of ours. It was even more fun to watch him help with some disc retrieval after a few errant shots went in the water.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 SoCal Gem!!

5+    5/25/2010   3/13/2010
Review By: pokamitch
Played: 30  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 28.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Great layout. Many different shots/ variety of lines to each hole. Distances to pins varied alot. Plenty of elevation changes. Water comes into play on a few holes. Very easy to navigate, with "tombstone" directing you to the next hole. O.K. flow, only a few long walks back to tees.

2) Excellent equipment/ ammeneties. **All tee pads are large, grippy concrete**. Nice signs with accurate hole lengths. Plenty of trash cans, benches, and restrooms. Brand New Chains. A Pro-Shop is coming soon as well.

3) Disc Golf Exclusive Area!!!! Well maintained by the park services. Awesome views/ scenery

4) Easy to reach from O.C., L.A., Riverside, and even San Diego Counties
Cons: 1) Pay to play. I don't mind because I will be coming with a few guys from OC. $7/ weekdays, $10/ weekends, holidays. I think it is worth it because of the pros I listed

2) A lil too wide open. Could use some more trees around holes to make the short game tougher

3)**Although the teepads are large and grippy concrete, they were not leveled. Seems like a waste to spend the money, make them and not even level em out. Tees are supposed to be level, not ramps. This really confounds me due to the fact the guys at Innova designed and built the course. You would think they would have a clue...**
Other Thoughts: I am so stoked that we have a high caliber, championship quality course within a reasonable distance from OC. I really enjoy playing at this course and plan on enjoying it for many more years. Very roller friendly course

Gets really windy in the hills. Bring stable plastic

**Favorite Holes**

Front
# 5- Nice rip of 370' downhill. Very reachable with several different routes to navigate for every style of throw you use.

Back
#17- Straight shot between 2 large trees. Elevation goes down then rises up to a small hill where the hole is located. Gives the effect that the hole is elevated but it really is pretty much level with the tee

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 new Tee Pads and Signs

5+    3/10/2010   3/12/2010
Review By: Discette
Played: 251  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 18.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/15/2010
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of the most beautiful parks in So Cal with grassy fairways, scenic lake and mountain views. Layout requires a variety of shots.

Awesome new concrete tees have been installed. The new tee pads are 6 by 12 with a rough finish that works great wet or dry. There are new custom tee signs on each hole with distances.

There are restrooms with running water near Holes 1-3 and a second set of portables by Hole 13.



If you have an annual pass, it will allow you access to Yucaipa Regional Park as well.
Cons: While I am not sure it is a con, water does come into play on several holes. So there is the possibility of losing an errant drive.

There are fire ants in the park. They tend to be found at the base of the Eucalyptus trees. Be careful when setting a bag down on areas without grass.



Other Thoughts: Wind does pick up in the afternoons adding challenge to the course.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 el prado

5+    2/4/2010   2/4/2010
Review By: lmowdy
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: relatively empty on weekdays and a controlled turnout on weekends. was able to play 18 holes on a wed morning completely by ourselves.

terrain an obstacles were fair at the same time challenging. holes 1 & 2 are great for a quick warm up. 3&4 are a tad bit longer and more challenging, both requiring a nice low gliding anhyizer shot. 4 plays along a slight decline that really gets your legs warmed up for the rest of the front 9. hole 5 and so on is when you see the distance come into play.

when having problems finding tee's ask anyone around. each hole is bordering another so help is always there. and everyone who's played as had the same problem.

trash cans near every tee so please dont litter

tables and grills spread through the course which are great for disc golf bbq's and lunches.
Cons: some might like this but i dont. each hole had its own unique challenge thus requiring its own shot. wether it was up hill requiring a right turn, long down hill right turn, roller shot, uphill through trees, etc. although fun and challenging i found myself frustrated and waiting for the chance to just let one fly! if you have a bag full of confident shots, or are practicing a series of shots its great. but for those of us looking for a home course to breeze through this isnt it.

as said so many times, the tees are a huge problem. not only finding them but most uneven and some mud holes after the storm. worst holes are 9 &10. hole nine tees off right in the corner of the road and a small damn. you have the 4-5' tee space which is up a slight incline and directly behind the tee is a concrete and rock damn. you'll see when you get there... none the less i add about 10 feet to the hole by shooting on the street. hole 10 i do the same because the tee lies directly in a dip. so you start your step going down hill and finish your throw up hill. thus if your throw requires a run up like mine, you will not like these two holes in particular. either way i do hope tee pads are added which im sure wont be.

park closes at 5pm. dont know if summer hours are different. hopfully they are.


Other Thoughts: fun place to play if your in the riverside area. but if not huntington and la mirada are more ideal to frequent if coming from oc. after about 5 visits to prado im still more inclined to dive out to la mirada on the weekends..

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    1/31/2010   2/2/2010
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/14/2010
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Brand spankin' new shiny DisCatcher baskets...with numbers on them!
-Long holes that are not repetitive, expected to be bored by the 18th hole but definitely wanted more at the end.
-Lake provides a uniqueness not often found in So Cal.
-Spread out, park was not busy but even when busy, I don't expect it to be much of a problem.
-It is legal to drink beer at this course.
-Map provided at entrance of park, if you want one. You don't really need it.
-I know it is cliche to say, but you can really bring your whole bag out on this one.
-Elevation change presented some fun challenges, including a couple of blinds.
-Great rough, grippy tee pads.
-Very nice home made tee signs indicating par and distance of each hole.
-Practice basket
-Staff says they regularly sweep the lake for discs, and call numbers on them. They also accept and return lost discs at the entry kiosk. They are very excited to attend to disc golfers!!!
Cons: -Busy road next to the park detracts from the seclusion I like to find at regional parks that require an entrance fee. Nonetheless, still a pretty serene and peaceful park.
-As of now, the park closes at 5pm. Hopefully this gets pushed back as summer comes around, as it is getting dark around 8pm now.
Other Thoughts: Course plays on a grassy section of the regional park which is mostly flat, but has some very slight rolling hills. The most significant elevation change is a slant going toward the lake which mostly affects the first half of the course. Trees are spread out, but holes are effectively placed to utilize the tree locations well.

Tee signs and pads make course very easy to navigate. On tee's that are a particularly long walk from the previous pin, there are bricks in the ground indicating the direction of the next tee. This makes the course one of the easiest to navigate that I have ever seen.

Tees and baskets toward the center of the park can be confusing to figure out. Generally, it's the one that isn't too close and not extremely far.

Hole 7 around the lake was particularly scenic. I do not have the arm to go over the lake, fortunately you are not required to make this move. Hole 8 was a fun, short downhill blind that can turn out to be a disaster if you throw too far or roll into the reed near the lake.

Holes 17 and 18 felt kind of makeshift with the tee pads being on the other side of roads, but totally made sense and were a lot of fun.

Among all of the flat park courses found in the Los Angeles area, this one proved to be unique having the slightly slanted terrain and lake to add to the fun. Also being new and not too busy, it was nice to play at our own pace and not be stuck in the busy park rotation that is becoming more and more of a problem in the area. The $7 weekday / $10 weekend charge is sure to keep the vast majority of free course seeking DG'ers away.

I am excited to watch this course evolve. While some have said it is in need of a re-design, I found the current design to be adequate. While it does play over benches and bbq's, I can't imagine anybody ever wanting to use these facilities, which are located in pretty boring locations when compared to the rest of the park.

Area appeared to be DG exclusive, however we did notice the outline of a soccer field in the middle of the course. I am guessing that they are no longer going to use this for that purpose. I noticed some fields on the other side of the lake.

Given the completion of the pads, signs, 'next tee' markers, DisCatcher baskets, long holes and scenery, this has now become a top 5 (in so cal) course for me. I hear there is a pro shop coming at some point.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent practice course

1    1/10/2010   1/11/2010
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/6/2010
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course plays on a peninsula that juts out into a lake. The whole thing is part of a much larger park (not explored) that offers multiple activities. Lots of birds around including vultures (?) of some sort, really pretty scenery everywhere you look.

The place is super clean. Lots of trash cans, two permanent restroom buildings, and plenty of picnic bench seating.

We played in the morning and had no wind problems at all, although it did pick up a bit toward noon. I'd expect it to be breezy in the afternoon, so bring your wind game if you plan to play after lunch. Also when we played, there had been no rain for about a week at least, which meant the course was dry and good for rollers. Tee #16 though was noticeably mushy and could be a real swamp after a storm.

The holes range from 225-450 feet and all have grass tees marked with concrete blocks. Not worn, probably because this course is fairly new. (See "other thoughts" for more on tees.) Discatchers all around, nice and deep and in great shape.

The course is open, with small elevation changes throughout. If you can drive 400 you could do the whole thing with a putter. Not many trees, but enough to give you some thought as to lines. The lake does not really come into play - there's only one hole where throwing over water is an option - but we still lost three discs: one in the water and two in the reeds, which are an unusual hazard. If your disc goes more than two feet into the reeds, it's lost.

Added June 6, 2010: Every hole is par-able by anyone who can throw 250 or better. Birds abound for cannon arms.
Cons: Two cons. First, there are no technical holes anywhere on this course. The designers did a great job with what they had to work with, but that's a definite minus in my book.

The other minus is the $10-per-car entry fee. Yeah, the park is great, but that's a bit steep for DGers who are used to playing for free. We carpooled.
Other Thoughts: June 6, 2010 update: Cement tees are in and they are righteous - up half a disc for this. Long, wide, flat, with a rough surface that gives you confidence in your footing. One or two are a bit off-horizontal but not dangerously so. As before, given a choice between playing Prado or Whittier, I'll take Prado for the scenery.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.