Chino, CA 
Prado DGC Share
Uploaded By: Apothecary Hole #1 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee

Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

1    3/2/2011   3/3/2011
Review By: macViciouss
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pretty course
one of the few 18 hole courses around us
pretty empty
concrete tees
lots of other stuff to do in this park
Cons: not exactly clearly marked as to where to go next
if you arent experienced, the lake can prove to be a bit of a hazard, we actually lost a driver to the lake.
Cost 7 bucks on weekdays, 10 on weekends and theres a 2$ walk in fee, but theres really no place to reasonably park outside of the park
Other Thoughts: The people that were working here were very nice. The park was very well kept. The nicest scenery of a course ive been to around here yet. be a nice place for a picnic or something fun after you play. just beware of the lake.Park closes at 5 pm so go early.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    2/20/2012   2/18/2011
Review By: Mark R
Played: 87  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/21/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice public park with several fun holes. Cement tees and big, visible signs with accurate distances posted. A nice 270-degree vista of surrounding mountains is unique(Inland Empire-San Bernardino). Water holes (Holes 5-7) are very nice, in that you will only lose a disc if you really screw up as opposed to an unlucky throw. All holes are 'right-sized' (200-400, with one over 500'). Fairly high fun factor, particularly with some of the drives on the back nine. The best fairways (such 4 and 12) have gently-sloping downhill fairways. Has a more casual, low-stress vibe than LaMirada and El Dorado.
Cons: A couple of 'cheap' holes (3, 10). Seven dollars seems a little steep for potentially unemployed disc golfers, since the bathrooms were locked, and maintenance was only partially obvious. A few unpleasant smells wafting by on occasion. Not a lot of course diversity.
Other Thoughts: Lots of fun, fairly wide-open drives (should remind Michiganders of Begg Park in BC a bit). Also many bird species present (saw a scarlet tanager, bluebirds, and a meadowlark in one round). This area could use a few more courses just like this one, but it falls a little short of the top rank.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little park course

1    1/2/2011   1/4/2011
Review By: Harrishabitat
Played: 143  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 9.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good use of land.
Nice elevation changes.
Uses objects to the best challenge.
Well kept.
Cons: Probably would get boring after repetitive play
some throwing line cross over
might be crowded for a tourney.
Other Thoughts: Nice get away park. Worth the side trip if you are in the area. Fun play to get out and let it rip and score low.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasantly Surprised

1    9/25/2010   9/25/2010
Review By: puckdevil8
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
Pros: Wide open and beautiful scenerly. The tees and baskets are very well marked. This course gives you several different views and makes you use your different shot styles. I used backhands, forehands and hammers. It is nice when you can bring out the entire gambit of your shots. It's nice to throw around a lake and not lose discs.
Cons: Early in the morning...sprinklers are running and it is pretty wet overall. In addition, it mostly smells like cow maneure.
Other Thoughts: I was thinking it would be further to drive to from Orange, but it was actually only about 25 minutes. I would definitely play this course on a regular basis.

 Worth Your Visit

1    7/1/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: Twinskulls
Played: 74  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Super clean and easy to follow throughout the course. Very grassy, can walk with barefoot. Plenty of trees for shades.
Cons: W I N D Y ! I played in the late afternoon. The course is pretty easy but windy gave us more challenge.
Other Thoughts: We were lucky enough that we were the only four people playing there that time. If many people play there same time, tees and pins are too close. There's may some bumps on the heads. But overall the course is good and I would go and play there again sometime in future.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not to be missed

5+    5/16/2010   5/16/2010
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 78  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - All holes are well marked which makes navigation a breeze.
- New tee pads, New baskets, restrooms, and water fountains everywhere.
- Plenty of obstacles including water, hills, large trees and howling wind.
- Holes are well planned out and require you to use a variety of throws.
- Mostly Disc Golf Exclusive, there were a few fisherman but most everyone stays on the other side of the lake.
- Crowds are light even on the weekends.
- Overall the course is kept in pristine condition. No trash on the ground, grass well maintained.
Cons: $10 entry fee is the most I've paid for disc golf, but it is worth it. Bugs are out in swarms, even in the wind.

Many of the baskets were out in the open, although there were plenty of trees blocking drives the baskets were largely unguarded. A few well placed new trees could go a long way.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth the drive and the money.

The combination of high winds and water can really play some mind games with you. Throw an understable disc on 7 and you can kiss it goodbye.

I looked into parking outside the park and walking in (because I'm cheap like that), and I couldn't find any place to park withing a 15 minute walk. So at this time carpooling remains the best bet.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Unique SoCal Course

2-4    4/10/2010   4/11/2010
Review By: fifteen
Played: 41  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Different from the usual Southern California courses. Different lines are required here and that helps you hone your disc golfing skills. Some holes play along the lake which can play mind games with you but they aren't a factor if you choose the right line.

The baskets and the teepads are in great shape and navigation isn't a problem. The signs are unique, wooden signs with the number and distance etched on them.
Cons: The price to enter is quite steep, $10 per car so carpool if you can to cut costs. The park is also a lake and a campground so you'll be faced with a lot of non-golfers walking around. Give 'em a shout for a head up or to get them move a bit.

Some holes have picnic tables smack in the middle of the fairway which is a recipe for disaster should there be a family having a weekend picnic.
Other Thoughts: Came out here for a tournament and am glad I made the trip up from San Diego. Loved hole #7 which is a long hole with a right dogleg to the basket, play it right and you'll easily par it.

Wind picks up in the afternoon which can play with your shots, keep 'em low to defeat the wind.

I definitely will come out here again to defeat the wind!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic and Challenging

1    3/13/2010   3/13/2010
Review By: OcDiscGolf
Played: 23  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 17.8 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Beautiful surroundings in a semi-rural park like setting; rolling hills surround the entire strip of land
Elevation change in play on the majority of the course adding additional challenge
Drinking alcohol is fully legal here
Brand new super grippy, extra long concrete tees
New tee signs and brand new (correctly) numbered baskets
Water comes into play on several holes and makes you rethink your lines
Lots of trees act as great natural obstacles
All of the angles are thought out, and there is plenty of variety for both right and left hand throwers here.
Plenty of trashcans and a few bathrooms
Picnic benches on almost all of the holes
Seems to be a disc golf exclusive area, although a few fishermen were a bit oblivious and almost got hit. I think they'll get it soon enough.
$10 to Park. I am all for pitching in but that price makes this the most expensive DG Course I've ever been to
The wind picks up in the afternoons and can make for challenging play (might not be a con for everyone). Putts especially become very difficult when the wind picks up.
Not much shade - almost all of the benches are out in the open. Seems like it would get HOT here in the summer time. No secluded "break" hole to speak of.
Other Thoughts:
Prado is a brand new course off the 71 Expressway in Chino's beautiful Prado Regional Park. The concrete tees were recently installed along with the tee signs (March 2010), making this beautiful course that much better. The course plays along a lake with reeds on the edges, and the banks of the river slope gradually in most places. Water comes into play on a few holes here, especially on Hole # 7, without a doubt the signature hole on this course. It is a 527 foot right curve around the water, but there is a line directly across. Few that go for this line actually make it, but when they do - it's a thing of beauty. The Safe route is about 300 feet to the apex, then straight at the basket slightly over the water.

The water can also get into your head as it toys with you on 4, 6, and 8 as well. #8 Shoots over a hill to the basket blind at about .250 feet on a slight RHBH hyzer. The basket sits on a hill with a significant amount of slope and the water is a menacing 40 feet behind it. Air it out here and you most likely end up in the water or the reeds, both of which are an almost impossible retrieval.

The scenery is unparalleled at this course, and offers a great cross section of nature not normally seen in California. The large turkey vultures are one of the primary attractions here, whether they are circling at 800 feet or lounging in one of the many trees watching the fishermen, hoping for a free handout. I Also saw a few very large hawks here when I played.

Don't miss this course if playing in the Orange/San Bernardino/Riverside/San Diego/L.A. area. It's a good one and it's here to stay. It has tinges of both La Mirada and Whittier Narrows, but the water coming actively into play isn't the norm in Socal and that definitely adds to the allure here. It was designed by two of the best in the business, and I almost get the feeling it is the closest to Innova's "homebase" course that we will see due to its proximity to their corporate office. It was fun to see Dave Dunipace playing 2 groups in front of ours. It was even more fun to watch him help with some disc retrieval after a few errant shots went in the water.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 SoCal Gem!!

5+    5/25/2010   3/13/2010
Review By: pokamitch
Played: 30  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 29.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Great layout. Many different shots/ variety of lines to each hole. Distances to pins varied alot. Plenty of elevation changes. Water comes into play on a few holes. Very easy to navigate, with "tombstone" directing you to the next hole. O.K. flow, only a few long walks back to tees.

2) Excellent equipment/ ammeneties. **All tee pads are large, grippy concrete**. Nice signs with accurate hole lengths. Plenty of trash cans, benches, and restrooms. Brand New Chains. A Pro-Shop is coming soon as well.

3) Disc Golf Exclusive Area!!!! Well maintained by the park services. Awesome views/ scenery

4) Easy to reach from O.C., L.A., Riverside, and even San Diego Counties
Cons: 1) Pay to play. I don't mind because I will be coming with a few guys from OC. $7/ weekdays, $10/ weekends, holidays. I think it is worth it because of the pros I listed

2) A lil too wide open. Could use some more trees around holes to make the short game tougher

3)**Although the teepads are large and grippy concrete, they were not leveled. Seems like a waste to spend the money, make them and not even level em out. Tees are supposed to be level, not ramps. This really confounds me due to the fact the guys at Innova designed and built the course. You would think they would have a clue...**
Other Thoughts: I am so stoked that we have a high caliber, championship quality course within a reasonable distance from OC. I really enjoy playing at this course and plan on enjoying it for many more years. Very roller friendly course

Gets really windy in the hills. Bring stable plastic

**Favorite Holes**

# 5- Nice rip of 370' downhill. Very reachable with several different routes to navigate for every style of throw you use.

#17- Straight shot between 2 large trees. Elevation goes down then rises up to a small hill where the hole is located. Gives the effect that the hole is elevated but it really is pretty much level with the tee

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 new Tee Pads and Signs

5+    3/10/2010   3/12/2010
Review By: Discette
Played: 283  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 19.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/15/2010
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of the most beautiful parks in So Cal with grassy fairways, scenic lake and mountain views. Layout requires a variety of shots.

Awesome new concrete tees have been installed. The new tee pads are 6 by 12 with a rough finish that works great wet or dry. There are new custom tee signs on each hole with distances.

There are restrooms with running water near Holes 1-3 and a second set of portables by Hole 13.

If you have an annual pass, it will allow you access to Yucaipa Regional Park as well.
Cons: While I am not sure it is a con, water does come into play on several holes. So there is the possibility of losing an errant drive.

There are fire ants in the park. They tend to be found at the base of the Eucalyptus trees. Be careful when setting a bag down on areas without grass.

Other Thoughts: Wind does pick up in the afternoons adding challenge to the course.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.