Chino, CA 
Prado DGC Share
Uploaded By: Apothecary Hole #9 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 

2-4    1/31/2010   2/2/2010
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/14/2010
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Brand spankin' new shiny DisCatcher baskets...with numbers on them!
-Long holes that are not repetitive, expected to be bored by the 18th hole but definitely wanted more at the end.
-Lake provides a uniqueness not often found in So Cal.
-Spread out, park was not busy but even when busy, I don't expect it to be much of a problem.
-It is legal to drink beer at this course.
-Map provided at entrance of park, if you want one. You don't really need it.
-I know it is cliche to say, but you can really bring your whole bag out on this one.
-Elevation change presented some fun challenges, including a couple of blinds.
-Great rough, grippy tee pads.
-Very nice home made tee signs indicating par and distance of each hole.
-Practice basket
-Staff says they regularly sweep the lake for discs, and call numbers on them. They also accept and return lost discs at the entry kiosk. They are very excited to attend to disc golfers!!!
Cons: -Busy road next to the park detracts from the seclusion I like to find at regional parks that require an entrance fee. Nonetheless, still a pretty serene and peaceful park.
-As of now, the park closes at 5pm. Hopefully this gets pushed back as summer comes around, as it is getting dark around 8pm now.
Other Thoughts: Course plays on a grassy section of the regional park which is mostly flat, but has some very slight rolling hills. The most significant elevation change is a slant going toward the lake which mostly affects the first half of the course. Trees are spread out, but holes are effectively placed to utilize the tree locations well.

Tee signs and pads make course very easy to navigate. On tee's that are a particularly long walk from the previous pin, there are bricks in the ground indicating the direction of the next tee. This makes the course one of the easiest to navigate that I have ever seen.

Tees and baskets toward the center of the park can be confusing to figure out. Generally, it's the one that isn't too close and not extremely far.

Hole 7 around the lake was particularly scenic. I do not have the arm to go over the lake, fortunately you are not required to make this move. Hole 8 was a fun, short downhill blind that can turn out to be a disaster if you throw too far or roll into the reed near the lake.

Holes 17 and 18 felt kind of makeshift with the tee pads being on the other side of roads, but totally made sense and were a lot of fun.

Among all of the flat park courses found in the Los Angeles area, this one proved to be unique having the slightly slanted terrain and lake to add to the fun. Also being new and not too busy, it was nice to play at our own pace and not be stuck in the busy park rotation that is becoming more and more of a problem in the area. The $7 weekday / $10 weekend charge is sure to keep the vast majority of free course seeking DG'ers away.

I am excited to watch this course evolve. While some have said it is in need of a re-design, I found the current design to be adequate. While it does play over benches and bbq's, I can't imagine anybody ever wanting to use these facilities, which are located in pretty boring locations when compared to the rest of the park.

Area appeared to be DG exclusive, however we did notice the outline of a soccer field in the middle of the course. I am guessing that they are no longer going to use this for that purpose. I noticed some fields on the other side of the lake.

Given the completion of the pads, signs, 'next tee' markers, DisCatcher baskets, long holes and scenery, this has now become a top 5 (in so cal) course for me. I hear there is a pro shop coming at some point.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Great getaway from LA

2-4    1/10/2010   1/13/2010
Review By: backswing_aplenty
Played: 64  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great spot to have a course. Cool little section of a larger park complex with extremely manicured grass and trees, and some rolling ills to keep you on your toes.
Mix of long and short holes with a lake near 4 holes that doesn't really come into play but looms near enough to mess with your head. (made and offering my first round on hole #4, don't flip a Wraith into the lake.)

You are forced to use many different shots in your bag. Long open D, controlled D, forehand, anhyzer lines, uphill, and downhill shots.

Well marked tees for not having concrete tee boxes or signs. Easy and intuitive course flow, always found the next tee with ease.

Baskets are pristine and you have a practice basket with some elevation and a few trees to practice with.

Bathrooms by hole 1 and trashcans everywhere.

Great dogleg right on hole 7(?) that forces a quality drive to be lined up for the approach, followed by a nifty blind hill shot and then a nice shot with an early tunnel. Great 3 hole run.
Cons: In need of another redesign.

If just 3 or 4 tees were moved about 10-20ft. farther from or either left or right in relation to the basket this course would be bumped up .5 in rating.

The back 9 has 4 holes that are simple 375-400 straight across a field, maybe a tree here or there but just a heave-ho. Fairly easy for those that can throw that far, but a simple 3 for everyone else. Trouble early or trouble late would give much more difficulty and you only need to move the tee a few feet left or right or even closer to make one think about the shot.

Only a few guarded pins, most are wide open looks at the basket not requiring much thought off the tee. Moving a few pins to the bottoms of the shallow valleys created by the rolling hills with create some more interesting greens.

There's a giant hill just begging for an alternate tee or pin placement behind hole 8/9.

Some fairways threw directly over a BBQ and benches?! How this was allowed is amazing to me. No one was using the park for anything but fishing (away from the course) and DG. Again need to shift some lines around the course from the tees.
Other Thoughts: Not a pro or con, just and "is" - $10 per vehicle to get into the park. It is what it is, find some friends to carpool like I did.

I really liked this course and the potential it holds. There are no concrete teepads yet but the grass is so well manicured and flat they're not really necessary yet and are neither a pro nor con at the moment.

This also gives Dave Dunipace the option to further tweak the course, which needs to be done, and will only make the course better.

I will be out to this course often. A great addition to the So Cal scene and welcome location away from the greater LA area.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent practice course

1    1/10/2010   1/11/2010
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 13.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/6/2010
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course plays on a peninsula that juts out into a lake. The whole thing is part of a much larger park (not explored) that offers multiple activities. Lots of birds around including vultures (?) of some sort, really pretty scenery everywhere you look.

The place is super clean. Lots of trash cans, two permanent restroom buildings, and plenty of picnic bench seating.

We played in the morning and had no wind problems at all, although it did pick up a bit toward noon. I'd expect it to be breezy in the afternoon, so bring your wind game if you plan to play after lunch. Also when we played, there had been no rain for about a week at least, which meant the course was dry and good for rollers. Tee #16 though was noticeably mushy and could be a real swamp after a storm.

The holes range from 225-450 feet and all have grass tees marked with concrete blocks. Not worn, probably because this course is fairly new. (See "other thoughts" for more on tees.) Discatchers all around, nice and deep and in great shape.

The course is open, with small elevation changes throughout. If you can drive 400 you could do the whole thing with a putter. Not many trees, but enough to give you some thought as to lines. The lake does not really come into play - there's only one hole where throwing over water is an option - but we still lost three discs: one in the water and two in the reeds, which are an unusual hazard. If your disc goes more than two feet into the reeds, it's lost.

Added June 6, 2010: Every hole is par-able by anyone who can throw 250 or better. Birds abound for cannon arms.
Cons: Two cons. First, there are no technical holes anywhere on this course. The designers did a great job with what they had to work with, but that's a definite minus in my book.

The other minus is the $10-per-car entry fee. Yeah, the park is great, but that's a bit steep for DGers who are used to playing for free. We carpooled.
Other Thoughts: June 6, 2010 update: Cement tees are in and they are righteous - up half a disc for this. Long, wide, flat, with a rough surface that gives you confidence in your footing. One or two are a bit off-horizontal but not dangerously so. As before, given a choice between playing Prado or Whittier, I'll take Prado for the scenery.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Prado Dam

1    12/28/2009   12/29/2009
Review By: Steve Nunez
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 33.4 Years
4 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: nice scenery and open course. All of the holes are within birdie range
Cons: Too windy, the wind will always be a challenge on this course. With no wind this course will be like any beginner course. Dave and Steve could've put better planning and some flag poles for the player to see the baskets. Charging a fee will inhibit young players coming here and this course is designed for beginners who can throw long,but what beginner can do that? Next time I want to play at an open couse like Prado, I'll go to Whittier Narrows,I don't have to waste gas then.
Other Thoughts: move the tee pads away from the previous holes fairway and no one will get hurt!

4 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Fun to play

1    12/19/2009   12/21/2009
Review By: JonnyHyzer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.7 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Nice scenic park in a rural area with great views.
- Flat areas with small rolling hills allows for a variety of shot types.
- Good use of trees (evergreen and decidious), hills and water on most holes.
- Good mix of hole lengths. Good shots are rewarded with birdy opps.
- 18 Brand new Discatcher baskets
Cons: - The layout felt a bit crampt. Some of the tee postions conflict with other fairways.
- There are a few holes you shoot blind over a hill. Would be nice to use tall flags on these pins.
- #2 shoots blind over a small hill and back toward Tee 1, Tee 3, and lunch bench area.
- Grass tees
- Park was pretty windy the whole day I was there (seems other reviewers experienced similar conditons).
Other Thoughts: Fun little course - Looking forward to playing it more and seeing it evolve w/ optional tee/pin locations.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Two Thumbs Up

5+    12/19/2009   12/19/2009
Review By: Apothecary
Played: 66  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 17.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/11/2010
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Away from the loud traffic of the greater LA metro area
-Challenging course design. Rolling hills and water are a threat. Opportunities for every type of shot imaginable
-Lefty and righty-friendly
-Clean bathrooms near the early holes
-Dog Friendly
-Booze friendly :D
-Camping close by. I didn't see where the camping was, but it would be cool to camp out there for a night and play Prado, Yucaipa and Van Buren Golf Center
-The staff in the booth were very helpful, explaining where to park, where hole 1 is and hooking up a map. If only they sold discs...
-Friendly people playing the course, many of whom were there for the first time. Enough golfers (really good ones) to have fun watching, but not so many that they slow you down.
-All dry, grippy grass tees that are in great condition.
-Fun little orange flags to mark the tees, in addition to stones that have the hole number and the distance on them. I found navigating Prado to be a breeze and didn't need the map once.
-New, marked, deep baskets
Cons: -Wind. Both times I have played there the wind picked up right as we were rounding the front. It can get pretty bad. I want to camp and play early next time.
-$7.00-10.00 USD seems a little steep, but the place is immaculate. Well-manicured and trash free. Really seem to get what you pay for.
-The place begs for a pro/snack shop
Other Thoughts: I loved the use of terrain of this course. Prado has hilly terrain that slopes towards the water in most places on the front and opens up for bigger arms on the back. Some shots are right along the water...don't let it juke you! Large trees and a few tees with overhanging branches to throw under make this course one of the better intermediate-advanced level course.
And then there's the wind.
When it whips up off the surrounding water, it howls and makes for an interesting round. Without the gusty conditions the back 9 would great for long rollers.
Prado is a great big arm course with a good mix of high-risk technical shots. It's excellent layout and quiet setting make it one of the nicer courses in the area. It is located close to the 91 and is easy to stop off and shoot a round at if you're heading East. Take the time to check out this new, hot course. You won't regret it!

**UPDATE**
Played the course yesterday. BEWARE FIRE ANTS INFESTING TREE BY TEE 2! Lil buggers are nasty.

They have also moved a few tees back, making this course MUCH tougher and more high-risk.

-.5 discs for the ant problem.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 El Prado

2-4    12/15/2009   12/15/2009
Review By: ibgollie
Played: 59  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great park with nice lakes, beautiful views, thick grass and big trees
-Good balance of short, long, uphill, & downhill holes.
-Get to work on all aspects of your game.
-Easy to get to and close to freeway access.
-Course maps available at entrance to the park
-Pay to enter the park (keeps the riff-raff out)
-You can drink if your of age
-18 brand new discatchers with the optional bonus practice basket
Cons: -Pay to enter the park ($7). Annual passes are available but they're over a hundred bones. They do get you into most the other San Bernadino parks though including Yuciapa I believe.
-Natural tees and minimal signage, but cmon, it's brand spankin new!
-Soothing sound of the nearby shooting range. (Not really that big a deal)
-Park closes at 5 during the winter
Other Thoughts: This is a good course that is fun to play for all skill levels, tough par course for beginners and an ace runnin' birdie course to skilled players. A great thing about the course is that it is easy to stretch a tee box here or there to really challenge better players. Not a lot either, 30-50' here and there and this course becomes a lot tougher.

Version 1.0 of the course is good and it will only get better with age. More pin locations, permanent tee boxes, a couple layout things ironed out and the course will be a solid course to work on your game.

There is a LOT of potential at this course and I'm looking forward to watching it progess into a great DG location.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.