Chino, CA 
Prado DGC Share
Uploaded By: Apothecary Hole #16 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Popped my disc golf cherry here...

1    6/3/2016   6/3/2016
Review By: desdave
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
Pros: Long layout with lots of trees. Some unlevel tee slabs. A few easy wide open holes, but many holes require some forethought.
Cons: Other than the sprinklers being on at 7, nothing to complain about here.
Other Thoughts: I played my first round here 2 weeks ago... my first round ever. A little long for a newbie. But I still shot (what I thought was a respectable) 72. Went back today, and shot a 67. Hit a lot of trees on holes 1-8, started aiming for the trees on 9-18 and didn't hit one. Go figure. Very breezy my first time, dead calm today. "Our" sport is a blast!

Prado DGC-Lovely Park-Why Am Underwhelmed?

1    3/22/2016   3/23/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 994  Reviewed: 940  Exp: 38.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Prado Park is a another large regional park charging large regional fees to enter ($8 and $10 on weekends). The course is bordered by a large fishing lake. It's nice to look at and course designers did bring the lake into play on one or two holes. Any more would have meant disrupting the fishermen who ply the lakes banks. The terrain here is slightly undulating, scattered mature trees and nice green grass. There are plenty of picnic tables, both in the shade and sun in rest at during your long round here. The course completes it's loop right back to the restrooms where your started. I did have some great times experimenting with some rollers trying to figure out the contour of the land. Unfortunately, the wind sometimes had other ideas.

The course has nice concrete tee pads and simple wooden tee signs which give the hole #, par and distance. The baskets are Innova Discatchers with the yellow bands and a small number on the band. After hole # 1, I found a small tablet in the ground shaped like a home plate with a # 2 pointing to the next tee. Unfortunately, that was the last one of those I found.

The course is long enough ( another reviewer estimates average length of 350'), open enough and just flat enough, that I found myself wanting more? More variety, perhaps? A cool ACE run? The one signature hole that really got my juices flowing? That one big downhill that you look forward to your whole round?
Cons: The # 6 tee sign is facing the wrong way. Luckily, the only player on the course today set me straight.

Navigation, while not often easy was not often kind, so I never had to make up my mind. Sorry, my mind is wondering to old rock songs from the 60's. My apologies to those younger readers who missed this great era of music!

The wind, at times, negatively affected my game.

Only the one next tee after # 1 , helpful navigation aid. These would be a great feature on this wide open course. The extended poles on a couple of the partially hidden baskets were very helpful.


Other Thoughts: Pardo is a very lovely nice course. It's length probably suits some players perfectly. With my noodle arm, almost every hole was a drive, a pitch and hopefully, a makable putt for another ho-hum par three. A player who throws 350' to 400' or more might think this is the greatest course since sliced bread! I think maybe the course just didn't fit my game.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    3/16/2015   3/17/2015
Review By: Andymanout
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well kept and reasonably clear of cross traffic. Designed to make use of terrain and elevation to give some great holes. The lake is a disc eater for the less skilled and overly ambitious. She gets in yer kitchen. Someone most have birdied 6 and took the placard home. Other than that the other Tee Markers are present.
Cons: $!0.00 weekend and $8.00 Weekday gate fee is per vehicle. This gets manageable with a crew of players carpooling in.
Other Thoughts: The course needs alternate tee positions. We need to build up a group to champion the course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Wide Open

1    8/7/2013   8/13/2013
Review By: dmgalloway1
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is wide open which can really allow you to let some drives fly!
Few trees to obstruct beginner throws on the front 9.
Back 9 provide a challenge for more experienced players by using elevation and a few low ceiling take offs.
Several shaded benches to take a rest during a round.
Cons: Those shaded benches are right in the path of play, so if picnickers are there, you'll have a hard time avoiding them.
Hole 7 is ridiculously long but still labeled a par 3.
The advertised "pedestrian rate" is not even an option. Expect to pay at least $8.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/6/2013   7/6/2013
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 224  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: DISCatcher baskets w/ poles extending well above, Practice basket, Large tee pads, Challenging for all levels of play, Good use of obstacles and elevation, Risk-Reward shots, Maintained grounds, Trash receptacles/Recycling bins throughout, Clean restrooms, Lots of parking, Alcohol and Dog friendly, usually never crowded and other amenities nearby.
Cons: $8 weekday and $10 weekend Fee to park $2 walk-in, Gate closes at 5:00pm, Tee signs lack integrity, Course flow.
Other Thoughts: This is a pay to play course that provides clean amenities, maintains the grounds very well, and keeps the riff raff away. The course will challenge players of all calibers with distances for most holes averaging 350ft. with +/- elevation and low ceiling trees and WIND. Most of the layout consists of wide-open windows. Distances posted on tee signs are inaccurate and next tee signs would improve navigation for first timers. Disc selection and choice of throws along with knowing how to throw in the wind is tested. During summer months, insects will be out especially on holes near the water I strongly suggest some type of repellant.
Camping and Fishing available within the park making it a great destination course for the entire family.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Really fun

1    6/28/2013   6/28/2013
Review By: MOchains
Played: 75  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is really fun. I played early morning and the course was completely empty. Grass is cut short and almost golf course like. The course is relatively open, but careful use of trees and tees make for challenging shots. Many shots are limited by low hanging trees near the tees. Good use of the little elevation available. In my opinion 7-9 and 17 are the most memorable holes on the course.
Cons: One disappointing aspect of this course was the lack of use of water holes. Some of the holes by water presented no real risk (1&4). A couple small changes could make these holes much more "risk/ reward". Move 4 a few feet down toward the water and back 100 ft and now you have a real hole. 1 placed toward the water over the hill would definitely add to the hole.

A few of the holes (14-16) were somewhat repetitive and mundane, however, with the land used I don't know what else could be changed.
The distances posted on some of the holes seemed a little inaccurate; perhaps they were measured using Internet distances. ;-)
Other Thoughts: Overall it is worth playing. Not the hardest course, but fun for novice and pros alike. It is the only course I paid for and the only course I felt I needed to write a review for from my California trip. I wish I could play it again. Worth the trip and worth the entry fee.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The Wind!

5+    7/4/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: thugjitsu
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of the area for some technical and some bomber holes.
Well kept park
Great practice for wind.
All discatcher baskets with poles on top to locate them on blind shots
Cons: Picnic benches come into play which can be dangerous
Can get boring after multiple rounds
Tough to navigate on the first time
Other Thoughts: For us So-Cal people who don't get much variation in our weather this course provides some nasty nasty winds that are great to practice in. If its busy i suggest go somewhere else as some picnic benches are dangerously close to baskets or right in the fairway. Theres nothing too special about this course that stands out but if its a weekday and you want a more secluded course, this is it. You can also drink on site and they have pits to bbq so it can be an all day thing to play some rounds, then bbq and relax.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/3/2012   6/5/2012
Review By: bradharris
Played: 87  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 13.3 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course sits on a clean, well-maintained park. The grass is mowed and the grounds are free of litter.

Hole 7 is definitely the highlight of the course. It provides a nice risk/reward opportunity for players who think they have the arm to clear the water. However, there is also a safe route around the left side for those that don't want to take chances over the water.

The course makes good use of the space it has to provide the best challenge it can. most holes require a long accurate drive to have any chance at a birdie.
Cons: There isn't a lot of elevation or vegetation to work with here, so most holes simply require a long accurate field shot. There's no real line shaping required and very little punishment for bad shots. Threes are very common here, particularly with smaller arms that can't reach the pin from the tee.

With this lack of variety, it's easy to give your mental game a rest here. I like to see holes that make you think carefully about shot selection, but there are none of those here. The only remotely difficult mental hole is seven where you have to decide whether or not to go for it over the water.

Picnic areas come into play on a few holes (even in the fairway at times). This can create safety issues, or worse, unplayable holes.
Other Thoughts: Prado certainly does not give players a negative experience. The course is well maintained and relatively easy to navigate. However, the nature of the landscape makes the game play pretty mundane.

I would imagine players get pretty bored with this course after playing it a few times. It's nice for a quick round here-and-there, particularly if you're struggling with your line shaping. However, for repeated play, I would look elsewhere.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 cant go wrong at prado

5+    1/22/2012   2/2/2012
Review By: pasitalredy
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/6/2012
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: this course is way worth playing .all the holes are great and the fact that the course is somewhat close to my home is great...I recomend checking weather conditions before going .due to the fact that it gets really windy sometimmes.but other than that its a pretty cool course.many lake side shots that makes it way more nerve racking but its all good.cuz I love intense playing!.as long as u can control ur disc you'll be fine.
Cons: I don't like paying ten bucks to play...sometimes gets really nasty windy...so loook the weather up!.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, but open

1    6/9/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.5 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through rolling grassy hills with scattered mature trees. Most holes have a few trees in play that you need to avoid, a few with some low ceilings to contend with. One hole has a nice water hazard on the right, tempting righties with a big hyzer line over the water that's risky but the most direct line to the pin. The elevation changes in the park were well used to add challenge and fun, with a nice mix of uphill and downhill holes.

The park is beautifully maintained, with nicely mowed grass and no trash outside of the plentiful trash cans. The tees are nice grippy concrete pads, with basic tee signs giving the distance to the pin. The baskets were in decent shape and had numbers facing the tee which is always helpful. There's a practice basket near the parking lot with some tree around it and enough open space to practice some approaches too.
Cons: The course is pretty open overall. The available trees are used quite well, but the nature of the park keeps it from being all that technical a course. Because of this, you often aren't pushed to hit a specific line, most holes allow for many different shots so you never have to use a variety of shots. The design obviously tried to compensate with distance, but that means there are a lot of tweener holes that are too long for most players to reach for a birdie chance but too short and open to produce many bogies.

There are several spots where navigation isn't totally obvious, the closest tee isn't always the next one. There are also some holes where multiple baskets are in view, you sometimes have to walk up to be able to read the numbers and figure out where to throw. There are lots of picnic areas in play throughout the course, only a couple were in use the day I played but I can imagine some safety issues on a nice weekend afternoon.
Other Thoughts: There are some nice holes here, but there are also a lot of open shots. It's a great place to throw some nice long drives and work on rollers. Beginners might find it a little long, but outside of the water hole there isn't too much punishment for inaccurate drives. More experienced players won't find a lot of line shaping challenges, but you'll have to throw some accurate drives to score well and might have to contend with wind. It's a little pricey to enter the park, but if you load up a group and split the fee it's not too bad.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.