Disc Golf Store
Chino, CA 
Prado DGC Share
Uploaded By: puckdevil8 Hole #18 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 388ft. Par / Distance:
Early Morning 2010-09-25 Waiting for park to open Hole 18



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Fun and Wide Open

1    8/7/2013   8/13/2013
Review By: dmgalloway1
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is wide open which can really allow you to let some drives fly!
Few trees to obstruct beginner throws on the front 9.
Back 9 provide a challenge for more experienced players by using elevation and a few low ceiling take offs.
Several shaded benches to take a rest during a round.
Cons: Those shaded benches are right in the path of play, so if picnickers are there, you'll have a hard time avoiding them.
Hole 7 is ridiculously long but still labeled a par 3.
The advertised "pedestrian rate" is not even an option. Expect to pay at least $8.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/6/2013   7/6/2013
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: DISCatcher baskets w/ poles extending well above, Practice basket, Large tee pads, Challenging for all levels of play, Good use of obstacles and elevation, Risk-Reward shots, Maintained grounds, Trash receptacles/Recycling bins throughout, Clean restrooms, Lots of parking, Alcohol and Dog friendly, usually never crowded and other amenities nearby.
Cons: $8 weekday and $10 weekend Fee to park $2 walk-in, Gate closes at 5:00pm, Tee signs lack integrity, Course flow.
Other Thoughts: This is a pay to play course that provides clean amenities, maintains the grounds very well, and keeps the riff raff away. The course will challenge players of all calibers with distances for most holes averaging 350ft. with +/- elevation and low ceiling trees and WIND. Most of the layout consists of wide-open windows. Distances posted on tee signs are inaccurate and next tee signs would improve navigation for first timers. Disc selection and choice of throws along with knowing how to throw in the wind is tested. During summer months, insects will be out especially on holes near the water I strongly suggest some type of repellant.
Camping and Fishing available within the park making it a great destination course for the entire family.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Really fun

1    6/28/2013   6/28/2013
Review By: MOchains
Played: 74  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.2 Years
Pros: This course is really fun. I played early morning and the course was completely empty. Grass is cut short and almost golf course like. The course is relatively open, but careful use of trees and tees make for challenging shots. Many shots are limited by low hanging trees near the tees. Good use of the little elevation available. In my opinion 7-9 and 17 are the most memorable holes on the course.
Cons: One disappointing aspect of this course was the lack of use of water holes. Some of the holes by water presented no real risk (1&4). A couple small changes could make these holes much more "risk/ reward". Move 4 a few feet down toward the water and back 100 ft and now you have a real hole. 1 placed toward the water over the hill would definitely add to the hole.

A few of the holes (14-16) were somewhat repetitive and mundane, however, with the land used I don't know what else could be changed.
The distances posted on some of the holes seemed a little inaccurate; perhaps they were measured using Internet distances. ;-)
Other Thoughts: Overall it is worth playing. Not the hardest course, but fun for novice and pros alike. It is the only course I paid for and the only course I felt I needed to write a review for from my California trip. I wish I could play it again. Worth the trip and worth the entry fee.

 The Wind!

5+    7/4/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: thugjitsu
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of the area for some technical and some bomber holes.
Well kept park
Great practice for wind.
All discatcher baskets with poles on top to locate them on blind shots
Cons: Picnic benches come into play which can be dangerous
Can get boring after multiple rounds
Tough to navigate on the first time
Other Thoughts: For us So-Cal people who don't get much variation in our weather this course provides some nasty nasty winds that are great to practice in. If its busy i suggest go somewhere else as some picnic benches are dangerously close to baskets or right in the fairway. Theres nothing too special about this course that stands out but if its a weekday and you want a more secluded course, this is it. You can also drink on site and they have pits to bbq so it can be an all day thing to play some rounds, then bbq and relax.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/3/2012   6/5/2012
Review By: bradharris
Played: 70  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.3 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course sits on a clean, well-maintained park. The grass is mowed and the grounds are free of litter.

Hole 7 is definitely the highlight of the course. It provides a nice risk/reward opportunity for players who think they have the arm to clear the water. However, there is also a safe route around the left side for those that don't want to take chances over the water.

The course makes good use of the space it has to provide the best challenge it can. most holes require a long accurate drive to have any chance at a birdie.
Cons: There isn't a lot of elevation or vegetation to work with here, so most holes simply require a long accurate field shot. There's no real line shaping required and very little punishment for bad shots. Threes are very common here, particularly with smaller arms that can't reach the pin from the tee.

With this lack of variety, it's easy to give your mental game a rest here. I like to see holes that make you think carefully about shot selection, but there are none of those here. The only remotely difficult mental hole is seven where you have to decide whether or not to go for it over the water.

Picnic areas come into play on a few holes (even in the fairway at times). This can create safety issues, or worse, unplayable holes.
Other Thoughts: Prado certainly does not give players a negative experience. The course is well maintained and relatively easy to navigate. However, the nature of the landscape makes the game play pretty mundane.

I would imagine players get pretty bored with this course after playing it a few times. It's nice for a quick round here-and-there, particularly if you're struggling with your line shaping. However, for repeated play, I would look elsewhere.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 cant go wrong at prado

5+    1/22/2012   2/2/2012
Review By: pasitalredy
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/6/2012
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: this course is way worth playing .all the holes are great and the fact that the course is somewhat close to my home is great...I recomend checking weather conditions before going .due to the fact that it gets really windy sometimmes.but other than that its a pretty cool course.many lake side shots that makes it way more nerve racking but its all good.cuz I love intense playing!.as long as u can control ur disc you'll be fine.
Cons: I don't like paying ten bucks to play...sometimes gets really nasty windy...so loook the weather up!.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, but open

1    6/9/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through rolling grassy hills with scattered mature trees. Most holes have a few trees in play that you need to avoid, a few with some low ceilings to contend with. One hole has a nice water hazard on the right, tempting righties with a big hyzer line over the water that's risky but the most direct line to the pin. The elevation changes in the park were well used to add challenge and fun, with a nice mix of uphill and downhill holes.

The park is beautifully maintained, with nicely mowed grass and no trash outside of the plentiful trash cans. The tees are nice grippy concrete pads, with basic tee signs giving the distance to the pin. The baskets were in decent shape and had numbers facing the tee which is always helpful. There's a practice basket near the parking lot with some tree around it and enough open space to practice some approaches too.
Cons: The course is pretty open overall. The available trees are used quite well, but the nature of the park keeps it from being all that technical a course. Because of this, you often aren't pushed to hit a specific line, most holes allow for many different shots so you never have to use a variety of shots. The design obviously tried to compensate with distance, but that means there are a lot of tweener holes that are too long for most players to reach for a birdie chance but too short and open to produce many bogies.

There are several spots where navigation isn't totally obvious, the closest tee isn't always the next one. There are also some holes where multiple baskets are in view, you sometimes have to walk up to be able to read the numbers and figure out where to throw. There are lots of picnic areas in play throughout the course, only a couple were in use the day I played but I can imagine some safety issues on a nice weekend afternoon.
Other Thoughts: There are some nice holes here, but there are also a lot of open shots. It's a great place to throw some nice long drives and work on rollers. Beginners might find it a little long, but outside of the water hole there isn't too much punishment for inaccurate drives. More experienced players won't find a lot of line shaping challenges, but you'll have to throw some accurate drives to score well and might have to contend with wind. It's a little pricey to enter the park, but if you load up a group and split the fee it's not too bad.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Prado Park

5+    6/4/2011   6/13/2011
Review By: treesbeware
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2011
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Good course layout and difficulty. a good skill tester kind of course.
-Alcohol is allowed here so bring your cooler and some brew.
-Friendly regulars
-Brand new innova baskets
-Clean bathrooms
Cons: -Extreme weather... when its hot its real hot there, same thing when it comes to the wind.
-cow smell... but we are in dairy land.
-holiday and long weekends bring picnicers and fishermen.
Other Thoughts: The park does have an admission fee but to me it is worth the money. The fee keeps the crowds down, you dont usually have to wait on other groups or feel rushed to play. All this course really needs is a course club and a monthly tourny... and maybe a back 18.

Also, this is my home course. So, I redesigned the arial map and uploaded it here for everyone. Enjoy!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Dang Lake

2-4    5/14/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: PDXDisc
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Extremely well maintained course with great tee pads and baskets. The extra long poles on the top of the basket make it easy to target when throwing over a hill. The fee keeps the crowds down and the course uncrowded. Good variety of long/short, up/down, and getting around the water.
Cons: While it did not happen to me in talking with a couple guys that play this course a lot, the course can get crowded with pic-nic'ers and people fishing.
The dang lake ate my favorite Sidewinder teeing off on 7 - but that's my own fault for letting it drift up and catch the wind.
$10 to drive in is pretty steep and there is a not a lot of parking outside that allow for a walk-in
Other Thoughts: Very nice park with not a lot of people playing the course.
If you are going to play a couple times keep your receipt. The fee only needs to be paid once. You can leave and come back! I played once in the morning and came back later in the day.
If anyone goes weed whackin and finds a blue champion sidewinder please please please call and return it. I'll pay shipping and a pitcher of choice...

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Prado

1    3/2/2011   3/3/2011
Review By: macViciouss
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pretty course
one of the few 18 hole courses around us
pretty empty
concrete tees
lots of other stuff to do in this park
Cons: not exactly clearly marked as to where to go next
if you arent experienced, the lake can prove to be a bit of a hazard, we actually lost a driver to the lake.
Cost 7 bucks on weekdays, 10 on weekends and theres a 2$ walk in fee, but theres really no place to reasonably park outside of the park
Other Thoughts: The people that were working here were very nice. The park was very well kept. The nicest scenery of a course ive been to around here yet. be a nice place for a picnic or something fun after you play. just beware of the lake.Park closes at 5 pm so go early.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.