Mount Dora, FL 
Lincoln Ave. Park West Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #5 (Taken 1/2011)
3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    4/1/2014   4/2/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 199  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Fun course. There are only nine holes but they have done a nice job of making each of the nine feel different. It's an open property, punctuated by older trees that do a nice job of taking up space. There are a pair of straight shots but the majority make you throw a line with some fade on it, the straight route being blocked by one of the large oaks. 4 is the most interesting hole. It's among the shortest but the basket is between horizontal limbs. The easy shot is a layup that slides under the front branch but the chance for an ace needs to go over the top. However, being slightly off on that throw can lead to a kick off a branch and a lie where the birdie chance is blocked off.

With the exception of 9, every hole provides a chance at an ace. It's a great course for runners as the nine can be played quickly and by looping, a player could easily have a few dozen chances at an ace in no time. The navigation is excellent, with big arrows on the baskets pointing towards the next tee. The tees are adequate for the holes and the signs accurately describe the path to the basket.

It's also great for new players. The variety of shots combined with the short distances makes it a great introduction to the game. The holes require lines, but they are very generous, and there is a ton of room for error, for players to learn how to throw. The aforementioned ease of navigation and the complete lack of underbrush is also a boon to beginners. Being so far from any other course, that's definitely an important quality to have as many people will first be exposed to the game here. The course doesn't really suffer from a lack of challenge because most players should know what they are coming here for. It's on-the-way, it makes for a quick stop and it should be fun enough for local players. And it makes great use of a relatively small property.
Cons: Beyond the obvious limitations, (perfectly flat, most holes under 200 feet, low-challenge)there are really only two issues. First, while there aren't any paths through the course, it does seem to get a bit of foot traffic using the course to get from one street to another. I'm guessing that most of these people walk through the park a lot and only rarely see anyone using the baskets. Second, if the course is crowded, there could be some issues with errant shots crossing into other fairways. I've seen much worse in this regard and the short distances should mean that players are in control most of the time, but there are some areas of potential conflict.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice Warm-up Course

5+    9/2/2013   9/2/2013
Review By: TeeRex
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/2/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is in the shade 90% of the time and in Central Florida, in the summer, this is a plus. Additionally, it makes you work around a lot of those trees. Easier Par 3, 9-hole course with #9 being a par 4. I have played course 4th time today. All 5 games under par. I have only been playing since May this year, 2013. I GOT AN ACE ON #8, 152FT, USING A DISCRAFT BUZZ/177G. YAHOOOOOOO. I like to go when I don't have a lot of time to play. It is real good for tuning up ones' game.
Cons: Plays too fast. Wish could stretch out a few of the holes. Normal group of 2-3 plays nine in 25-35 minutes. Have met some fellow players here that now play regular with. Older carpeted Tee Boxes but are better than loose sand pits. Usually keep debris from trees policed up.
Other Thoughts: I hope baskets are going to change positions as the new bicycle path coming through park seems a little close in some instances.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Perfect As Is

2-4    8/4/2013   8/5/2013
Review By: davmer2303
Played: 25  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 1.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Course has decent tees, directional signs, and is easy to navigate.
* Property is small, but filled with mature oaks, making for natural challenges.
* Despite its lack of length, real thought was put into the shape of the holes, and I found myself enjoying myself.
* Their are tennis courts and baseball fields, but the course is secluded..
* Distances range from 140ish to 291. You wont pull out your big drivers, but there is quite a lot of line shaping.
* fun factor is good. Experienced players can have ace/birdie races, and the less experienced wont be turned off by overlong holes.
Cons: * Course lacks length and the diversity that comes with it Mind you, the property is small, so this really was a best effort.
* Some of the carpeted tees are lumpy, but, not much of a run up (if any) is needed.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun, little course that we played on the way into Mt. Dora. If I lived in the neighborhood, I would enjoy practicing my putters and mids here. There may not be long shots but you WILL make shots here and take different lines to complete them. Would I drive out of my way for this course? No. But were I heading into MT Dora or coming from an Orlando course, I'd be thrilled to stop here for a fast, fun round. If you're in the area stop on by. You may find something to like as well!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lincoln Avenue DGC

1    7/20/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of ace potential since many of the holes are under 200 with open hyzer and straight lines to the basket. The course is very accessible being right off Hwy 441 with adequate parking. The course is very shady and what few obstacles that are on the property were used as effectively as possible (basket directly behind trees). Holes 1 & 9 are the toughest holes on the course. Hole 9 plays like it is 315 due to elevation and has plenty of trees in the fairway. After 8 easy holes you finally get something of a challenge at the very end. It is nice that the course brings you back to the parking lot at the end of the round, always a plus! Very nice tee signs.
Cons: Considering this is really the only course around Mt. Dora/Eustis I really wish it had a little more challenge. Only 9 holes and all but hole 9 are short. Lots of people using the tennis courts made the parking area feel safe but back on the course there were people walking around who seemed a little shady. This course needs concrete tees. I imagine they haven't done that as it was originally a temporary course to try out DG in the area. Not really anyone out there on the course when I played it which could be a pro - as the course is tight and you wouldn't want to hit someone or wait for a group to play ahead of you. Also a con...there really isn't anyone out there to get in a round with.
Other Thoughts: Other than that, just appreciative of the effort that went into working with the city to put in another course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Make it permanent.

1    5/9/2010   6/17/2010
Review By: Daddy_Dragon
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 23.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Big Shady trees. Course requires some skill.
Cons: The first tee has carpet. The rest has a piece of wood on the ground. It would better benefit the course if all the tees had concrete or at least a well mounted carpet area. Watch out if there are other players, you might get pegged by a disk cause the course is so closely packed.
Other Thoughts: O.K. so the course is not permanent, so it is short, so it isn't a family park included. I would not discredit the place. I feel that it would become a decent place if it became permanent and some work was put into the place.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Great place to learn disc golf...

5+    4/26/2010   4/29/2010
Review By: raydancer
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
Pros: This is a great course to learn or teach disc golf. The nine holes offer a nice variety of shots and the trees offer a constant challenge. There's very little chance of losing a disc, as there's very little brush. The location is convenient, just off of Highway 441.
Cons: Most of the holes are pretty short and probably do not offer significant challenge to experienced players. The dirt tee areas are starting to get pretty worn and holey. People are always walking their dogs through the course...watch your step.
Other Thoughts: I've been playing this course weekly and it's always a lot of fun. I just started playing a few months ago, so I am still significantly challenged by the course. I really hope that the City of Mt. Dora chooses to either make this course permanent or set up a full 18 holes nearby.

  Great Little Course

1    2/20/2010   2/24/2010
Review By: jalex787
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course for a beginner and/or young teens wanting to get into the sport. My 13 year old son and I played here on Saturday and had a great time. He commented on the fact that he liked this course better than some of the courses that we have played in the past. This course is I would say 98% shaded due to the mature Oak trees. There is little to no under brush, so losing a disc is virtually impossible. For those of us that live in Lake County, this course is a welcome addition to our area.
Cons: I only have a few things that I would view as cons. One is that I wish the course layout was bigger, however in the defense of the designer, I think they did a pretty good job with the space that was available. This is only a 9 hole course with holes 1 thru 8 being par 3's and hole 9 a par 4. The tee box for hole 3 is about 15 feet from the road (11th Ave), which isn't a real big deal since 11th Avenue is a residential street with little to no traffic.
Other Thoughts: I think we should all go to the City of Mount Dora's website, look under Parks & Rec and send the Parks & Recs Director an email in support of this course. For you dog lovers, there is a dog park within walking distance from the course (walk east on 11th Ave and it's across from the baseball fields). So husbands bring your wives, wives bring your husbands, grab the kids, your disc's and your dog. Have fun and help support our new course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good starter course...

5+    12/20/2009   12/20/2009
Review By: stsren
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 14.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/13/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Best course in Mt Dora!
Challenging - well, as challenging as a shorter distance course can be without making you miserable. The fairway location and trees keep you honest and force you to use a handful of different shots to be effective and keep your score down.
Enough foliage to keep you focused, but you don't feel like you're playing in the deep forest.
Tee sign posts are clear enough (and the baskets are close enough to discern).
No underbrush, clean fairways (though narrow in some areas), and enough of a challenge to be entertaining for more experienced players (if you're just looking to kill a little time). You won't lose any discs on the course and there's no water to contend with!
Cons: Tee boxes - The first tee box is carpeted, the rest are just a piece of painted wood in the ground. For a temp course this isn't a big problem, but it did make it somewhat difficult to find the next starting point at times.
Short distances - I know this course is intended for beginners and juniors, so those types of folks won't see this as a drawback, but more experienced players will be left without the opportunity to really let it rip.
Small playing area - If it were a busy day at the disc golf area folks would have to be alert.
Only 9 holes - Some people may view this as a pro, but I like to have the chance for some more birdies!
Lots of trees - Also listed as a Pro, without the oaks the course would be a waste, but they can frustrate even an experienced player.
People walking their dogs through the park (and not bringing along baggies).
No permanent restroom facilities - Port-O-Let is available by the tennis courts.
Not enough garbage cans on the course (some located back at the tennis courts)
Other Thoughts: Overall the course is exactly as it was intended. It's a decent starter course and would be perfect for the novice or junior. I'd love to see the course placed in a larger park with some elevation change (and room for 18), but it's already the best thing available within a 15 mile radius. This is a fun little course that I'd visit and play 9 with my folks before hitting up the downtown for lunch.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lincoln Avenue Park West

2-4    12/9/2009   12/10/2009
Review By: The Miniac
Played: 258  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 38.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Introductory level course located directly across the street from middle school and a few blocks from high school. Easy access to hwy. Flows fairly easily. A few holes offer lefty and righty routes. It is a very nice course for the intended demographic, which is juniors or beginners. But seasoned players should still get plenty of enjoyment out of it as it requires some finesse.
Cons: Very small property to work with. Some fairways may be a bit too close.
Other Thoughts: This course is a "Have Course-Will Travel" rent-a-course project. The course will be in the ground for 6 months. At which time, the park department will decide if they want to get a permanent course or drop it. We would like to encourage everyone to stop by and play it regardless of your skill level. It's a fun track even though it is short. Plays through some beautiful old oaks.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.