Snellville, GA 
Lenora Park Share
Uploaded By: sfeather Hole #10
3 / 468ft.   3 / 468ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Laid Back, Wide Open Course

5+    5/23/2015   8/5/2015
Review By: lukethenuke
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
Pros: You can throw hard through the whole course pretty much.

It's a great place to bring beginners or less experienced players. Few obstacles and fairly generous pars means everyone should have a good time.
Cons: Hole 7 is pretty close to the road, so if you have a poor drive there is a chance for your disc to hit people on the path or even go into the road (yes, this happened to me once).

Most of the course is wide open to the sun, so it's rough to play during the summer.

As others have said, lots of people like to use the course area for other activities (picnics, kids playing, football, photoshoots - you name it) so every now and then you have to be careful of that.

Because the course is so open, wind can really take hold of your disc sometimes.
Other Thoughts: For more of a challenge I would recommend Alexander, Redan, or Little Mulberry park, but Lenora is a reliably good time if the weather's nice.

Gotta love the grass

5+    5/24/2015   5/26/2015
Review By: SpatialT
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 29.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tees, well maintained, easy to navigate, decent signage, good for practicing major rips. Only a few technical holes - mostly clear, long rips. Some elevation changes - moderately hilly as Atlanta courses go.
Located in a great park
Cons: Not very technical
Wind can be brutal
Some potential for conflict with other park uses
Maybe a few short holes (<=275)
Other Thoughts: Only a few technical holes - mostly clear, long rips. Some elevation changes - moderately hilly as Atlanta courses go. A bit boring for me but the wind can make it very tough.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wide Open Spaces

2-4    3/15/2015   3/15/2015
Review By: SD86
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Well maintained course. Grass mowed, tee boxes and baskets in good condition, some tee boxes nicely repaired.
- The open spaces really give one a chance to "grip it and rip it", to try out driver discs, see how they fly, to work on one's throwing form, etc. without much risk of losing a disc or being way out in the trees or water.
- The uphill and downhill layouts give good opportunities to learn and work on making those shots, which is something I like to be able to do from time to time.
- The gym building has discs for rent and also for sale, often at very good prices.
Cons: - On entering the park, the sign say for "disc golf" to go straight ahead when one SHOULD make the first turn to the left (where it's marked "baseball complex") n order to park near the practice basket and first hole. That really needs to be fixed above and beyond any other issues.
- Pars: I don't know what the criteria for assigning par values was, but some of those par-5s aren't. I'm no expert nor power disc golfer, and I should not be making drop-in birdies and easy back-to-back birdies. Ditto that for some of the par-4s; the length is not enough for that designation.
- Signage: the layout can be confusing to new users of the course. "That tee box right next to the basket is not the next hole" can be said for many of the baskets. Some courses have rings at the base of the basket that points to the next tee-box. Signs pointing to the next tee box would also be very good.
- The mandatory on Hole #4 should be marked on the tree. The only "warning" is a sign at the tee box.
- Other park users are on the walking paths and some come out and play on the grassy areas, and they must be watched for while playing.
Other Thoughts: -I really like Lenora Park's open spaces and the opportunities it provides to work on my long(er) game. People who have complaints about that should try one of Gwinnett County, Georgia's more technical courses.
- Again: be aware of the road signs directions. Enter the park at the entrance near the red barn and take the first left where it says "baseball complex". If you follow the signs, you will be parking a LONG way from the first tee.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Wide Open

5+    6/30/2014   10/31/2014
Review By: kylemoody
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Nicely maintained course.
- One can really let it fly here without much worry of obstacles.
- Great for beginners.
Cons: - Too open, if the county could somehow plant some barrier trees and shrubs it would be a great course.
- Can be very busy. Usually around 5 or 6 other parties of players on the course.
- On many occasions I have had to skip a hole or be very cautious as there are often people who decide to take a picnic lunch in the middle of the fairway on holes 4-7. Seems like the park-goers could be more considerate of disc-golfers. There is plenty of park left for them to have their activities.
Other Thoughts: I learned to play disc golf here, so it is sentimental more than anything to me. I now live closer to the much more technical Alexander Park and play there a few times a week.
Lenora really is a great place for beginners. It can be a great confidence booster otherwise. If one is playing to the posted pars, he should be WELL under par as there are a few super easy par 5s and 4s. I usually play the whole course as if it is a par 3 course.
If I have new discs in my bag, this is the first place I go.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fair

5+    9/10/2013   7/28/2014
Review By: cnalbers
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 32.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The park is nice and well maintained. There are some nice long holes. Ample parking
Cons: Way too open with few obstacles. Small teepads, no secondary teepads. Seems like the pin positions hardly ever change. Only one blind hole on the course. Not very challenging at all if you can throw far and fairly accurately. Very windy at times, made worse by the lack of trees. Bathrooms not close, water fountain not close.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course for beginners when the wind is not bad.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/13/2014   4/13/2014
Review By: Astroboy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Great course to let it fly. This is my home course, i started here. Its a great place to start and learn. I practice and break in new disks here often. Multiple holes with alternative basket and tee placments. The walk makes for a great workout, terrain is up hill down hill from hole to hole.
Cons: For pros it doesnt offer much challenge and if you dont know the course you could walk to the wrong hole. The park it self is very active and events do tend to spill into the course making some tee shots annoying.
Other Thoughts: I like playing here alot and use it to polish my game. The basket have been replaced recently, maps of the course are avalible in the gym and a larger one on display at #1 as well as the lost and found.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A good course to test your arm or disc flight characteristics

1    8/20/2013   9/6/2013
Review By: captain_d
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wide open shots, beautiful landscape, nice park, decent signage and concrete teepads, very walkable.
Cons: Only wide open shots, no real difficulty to any shot.
Other Thoughts: A really good course if you just want to grip it and rip it. Not a whole lot of challenge on any pin whatsoever, but a good course to take beginners or if you got some new discs and aren't quite sure how they fly.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, not that challenging

1    7/25/2013   7/25/2013
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 65  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm repeating a bunch of other folks, but like everyone has said, course is in very good shape and well maintained. It's also wiiiide open. You can run around blind folded all day and not hit a tree. If you like to throw bomb after bomb after bomb, this is your course. You can basically play this with 2 discs - a long range driver and putter.
Cons: Signage, signage, signage. I was totally lost after hole 6 and played the wrong hole. There's a tee near the 6 basket, but it's for hole 10. Hole 7's tee is a long way away, hidden by trees. I didn't discover this until I'd thrown 450' down hole 10 and had to hike back up.
Other Thoughts: Great park facilities to drop off the wife, kids and dog while you play!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    3/27/2012   3/27/2012
Review By: edphoto
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course for people working on distance shots or to improve accuracy.
Very few trees and no water to contend with.
Well maintained. Great for a family afternoon outing.
Cons: The layout of the course was somewhat difficult to follow. There was no signage evident on the course leading you to the next hole.
Other Thoughts: Very relaxing and easy course to play. No real mind boggling areas or difficult holes to challenge you.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course not Challenging

1    1/29/2012   1/29/2012
Review By: LDietz
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
Pros: Great course for working on distance since there are few obstructions. Excellently maintained. I'd play again.
Cons: Not much of a challenge except to throw the correct distance. Even shots 45 degrees off course don't cost you a stroke since there are almost no obstructions.
Other Thoughts: I found this course to only be mildly hilly. Try playing the CO Mts. if you want hills. I will play it again.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.