Snellville, GA 
Lenora Park Share
Uploaded By: sfeather Hole #15
3 / 297ft.   3 / 297ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Fun, not that challenging

1    7/25/2013   7/25/2013
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 25  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.1 Years
Pros: I'm repeating a bunch of other folks, but like everyone has said, course is in very good shape and well maintained. It's also wiiiide open. You can run around blind folded all day and not hit a tree. If you like to throw bomb after bomb after bomb, this is your course. You can basically play this with 2 discs - a long range driver and putter.
Cons: Signage, signage, signage. I was totally lost after hole 6 and played the wrong hole. There's a tee near the 6 basket, but it's for hole 10. Hole 7's tee is a long way away, hidden by trees. I didn't discover this until I'd thrown 450' down hole 10 and had to hike back up.
Other Thoughts: Great park facilities to drop off the wife, kids and dog while you play!

 Good Beginner Course for Cutting Teeth into Disc Golf

5+    4/10/2011   4/12/2011
Review By: EagleZT
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Open Layout. Cant Really not have a Direct Line to the Basket unless you stick in in the "woods" Good for first timers like myself who are new to the game. Really Tests my newbie distance and I am trying to get up to 300' driving.

Safe clean park. GDGO does a great job maintaining the course.
Cons: A lot of people around the 1st, 18th, 17th. Kids from the playgrounds like to venture on to the 18th fairway. Just yell at them to watch out and they usually do.

Seems redundant in the middle until you get to the 13th. The Open layout while good can get boring.
Other Thoughts: Good course for beginners like myself. People that have been playing a while are very friendly to help you out if you need tips and advice and are even in some cases willing to play a hole or two with you to help with technique. Course is in decent shape. Lenora is generally safe and have never felt like my stuff was going to be broken into.

Sunday early afternoons are good to go if you want to avoid crowds.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/28/2010   9/3/2010
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 7.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course Essentials:
-Baskets: DISCatchers, variable position (some holes). All baskets in great shape.
-Tee Pads: Level, concrete tee pads of adequate size, single position per hole.
-Tee Signs/Markers: Small wooden posts mark each tee. Most holes have brooms and a small sign on the post with hole layout, pin positions, etc.

General Course Design & Layout:
-Par: CoursePar/64, ProPar/54.
-Course Length: 5758ft Total, 320ft avg: 1@>250ft, 6@250-300ft, 6@300-350ft, 2@350-400ft, 3@400+ft
-Fairways: Grass, Primarily Open
-Fairway Variety: Straight (16), Left(1), Split(1)
-Elevation: Minimum to Moderate: Flat (8), Uphill (6), Downhill (4)

The disc course at Lenora Park offers a mostly open design over gently rolling terrain. This 18-hole layout is comprised of one continuous loop with a smooth and uninterrupted flow. The minimum to moderate elevations throughout the course were used efficiently to provide a good variety in uphill, downhill, and flat fairways. Several holes utilize sidehill pin positions that are condusive to roll-aways and help increase the challenge of the course, a bad upshot or missed putt could easily add unnecessary shots to your score. Holes 2 (alternate(long)) pin placement, 4, 13, 14, and 16 provide a semi-technical layout through the stands of trees on the course, the other 13 holes are primarily straight and open.

Navigation & Maintenance:
Course navigation is simple and straight-forward for the most part. There are a few things worth noting based on my experience as a first-time visitor to the park.

-The signs in the park point you to the disc golf course, however, when I reached the parking area (designated by the signs) for the disc golf course, I was actually a very long way from the first tee. When you enter the park, there is a red barn on top of a hill on the right, the first tee is near the red barn. There is a parking lot much closer to the first tee, but there are other activities in this area as well, so they may be trying to limit DG parking in this area?!
-At several points during the round, multiple tees/pins are visible. On multiple occasions, I ended up walking to the wrong tee pad and having to back-track to get to the next hole. This isn't a huge issue, but a few navigational tools on the signs would clear this issue up real quick.

Course maintenance was excellent. The park in general was immaculate and well-kept, the disc golf course was no exception. During my round, there was a local group from the Gwinnett Disc Golf Organization (GDGO) who was replacing chains on one of the baskets. I actually had the opportunity to meet the president of the GDGO who was at the course the day that I played. We had a nice conversation and I got to hear about the new and exciting things on the docket for this course. It sounds like some fundraisers had brought for additional funding for future improvements to help increase the challenge and appeal of this course. It is very obvious that this organization cares for the course and its upkeep, and is doing an excellent job with maintaining and improving the course.
Keep up the good work!
Cons: -Repetitive: The open layout of the course currently tends to get repetitive. There is a nice variety in elevation changes, but over 2/3 of the holes are pretty much straight and open. There are plans in place to add more obstacles in the future, but this is the current state of the design.

-High Traffic Areas: The park in general is fantastic and has a lot to offer the local community. With that being said, the park is very busy with other activities, just be aware of others who may be near the course as some holes may provide interference with others using the facilities.

-The first tee could be marked a little better (thankfully I had DGCR mobile and found the information I needed on there). I had not initially planned to play this course, so I didn't have the info from DGCR, just follow the info on here and you'll be fine.

-Several tees/pins in close proximity, can be confusing and easy to walk to the wrong tee, a notation on the tee signs would be a big help.
Other Thoughts: I was in the area visiting some family, and had originally planned to skip this one, but when I found out that the park was only 2minutes from where I was staying, I had to check it out. Despite the simplistic nature of the course, I had a great overall experience, and am glad that I had the opportunity to play at Lenora. The GDGO is also maintaining the nearby Alexander Park, which is also a fantastic course, and are planning a new course in the area in the near future. I'm very excited about disc golf in this area, if you are in or near the area, get out here and check out the GDGO and see what all they have to offer.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Trees?!?! We don't need no stinking trees!

1    3/9/2009   4/9/2010
Review By: Toomes
Played: 95  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Right off the bat, this course is in an extremely nice park. Pretty setting. Big mature trees. Nice Pond. Lots of other amenities.
- The few holes that use trees as obstacles are really nice. Hole 14 and 16 in particular, I really liked.
- Good place to practice wind play and distance drives.
- Good use elevation. Hole 1, 2 and 18 have the most extremely elevation changes.
- Pretty easy to navigate thanks to good signage and a busy park. There were a good amount of people on the course the one time I've played the course, so it was easy to just follow the lead of what everyone else was doing.
Cons: - Open and boring through the middle section of the course. A few trees here in there, but mostly just a wide open field from hole 3 to hole 12. Really repetitive. Very little technical skills needed.
- Very little Risk/Reward in an open field and not punishing for bad shots.
- Goose poo everywhere.
Other Thoughts: Not a course I would want to play a lot if I was a local. I would definitely play it though I was looking to work on my wind game or long open bombs. Could be a good change of pace when your tired of playing the more wooded courses in the area like East Roswell or Redan.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great for beginners

5+    11/15/2009   11/23/2009
Review By: 3OrangeWhips
Played: 96  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Yet another fantastic Gwinnett County Park. Beautiful vistas on rolling hills. Easy to navigate with concrete tee pads, signage, benches and trash cans at every hole. Lots of long, wide open holes with a few semi-wooded holes thrown in. Good assortment of uphill and downhill shots. Excellent course for beginners. Not very crowded and very little interference with other park goers. The course spread out in its own section of the park; you will get a nice aerobic workout. Ample parking, restrooms and practice basket near holes #1 and #18.
Cons: Repetitive and not very technically demanding; may be boring to advanced players.
Other Thoughts: As a beginner (4 months), I flat out love this course. It really lets me work on my game without being demoralized by astronomical scores. The more I play this course, the more I can see improvements in my game at other more demanding courses. Normally, I would rate a course of this caliber a 3, but I gave it a 4 because it is a fantastic setting to get out and throw a round of disc golf: wide open spaces, quiet, rolling hills, lots of sunshine and blazing colors during autumn. If you want to get away from it all and just have a lot of fun, this is the place.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Lenora Park

1    9/11/2009   9/11/2009
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 90  Exp: 6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice course set in a great park. Overall it is clean, safe, offers ample parking, and seems to be really well maintained. It's a mainly open course with somewhat scenic and rolling hills along with mature trees scattered around. There is a nice view of a pond on most of the holes which adds to the personality of the course.

The course itself while not the most difficult, does offer an enticement. The elevation changes, good mix of distances, and the occasional trees as obstacles all unite for a pretty fun course. I understand that wind is also a big factor and can/will offer to the challenge. The land was used perfectly and there was a great consideration of uphill and downhill shots. Additionally, I enjoyed a few shots that went across shallow valleys. A couple of holes that are a little more crowded with trees are peppered in on the back nine. Just one hole had a dogleg. It heads downhill and to the right and I considered it one of the best on the course.

The course also has plenty of gravy too. Concrete tee pads, good signage, benches, occasional trash cans, and a few brooms are all here. All of the Innova DiscCatchers baskets are in great shape. There is even a practice basket for a quick warm up. I also noted an alternate tee pad at number two that forces you to throw across a drainage area and the hole also boasts an alternate basket tucked in the woods. The alternate basket can also be employed on number five.

This is a great course to introduce new players to the sport. The openness should help them work out the kinks without the frustration of banging trees or searching for lost discs.
Cons: It might be considered repetitive if open holes are not your thing. Also, without the option of alternate tee pads or basket placements it could be sort of stagnant for those who play the course frequently. It also is missing any risk/reward factor. I can't think of any holes that you can feel especially thrilled about "parking" your shot. That is not to say that I am not trilled about parking a shot! It is just that you probably won't have to use much strategy or finesse to make it happen here.

There won't be much relief from the summer heat in the dog days. Also with the niceness of the park and it being close to the pond, playground, and open fields, you can expect to interact with other park users that may not be familiar with disc golf.

Watch out for goose turds here and there.
Other Thoughts: It was a little difficult to find the first pad. If you park in the first lot to the left, walk across the street, go up the hill towards the barn to the right of the unmarked practice basket. Also you should use a little care navigating on your first time out. It is not confusing enough to be a con but use a little disc golf intuition.

I think the posted par should be ignored. I think they are way too generous, even for a beginner.

This course is good enough to warrant a lengthy (hour or so) drive without being disappointed. If you really want to make it worth while, try to hit Alexander Park as well while you are in the area. Even a couple of hour drive would be worth it for the two. It could make for a great disc golf day. Enjoy!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A great beginners course

5+    6/17/2009   6/18/2009
Review By: splash_4
Played: 29  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very nice beginner course that is useful to introduce new players to the game. There is not a lot that you can do wrong on this course and the chance of losing a disc is minimal. An experienced player will find this park a good place to work on line shaping without punishment if your release is wrong and with the opening of [url=http://www.dgcoursereview.com....php?id=3345]Alexander Park [/url] nearby there is little traffic on the course to prevent multiple shots on each hole.


- Concrete pads at every hole. (hole #2 has an alternate tee that allows an over the water shot)
- Great use of elevation changes that will challenge all but the longest arms
- Three holes over 400 feet.
- Park is well maintained and the grass is mowed frequently.
- Garbage cans placed liberally around the course.
- Benches placed strategically around the course (nice in the Georgia Summers)
- Good signage from hole to hole with the exception of 6 to 7. Many folks get confused and head left to 10 instead of right to 7.
Cons: - While there are clean bathrooms in the park, they are a fair distance from the course itself.
- The course is very repetitive after a while. It becomes bomb shot after bomb shot. For a RHBH hole four requires a hard hyzer shot and hole 13 requires a hard anhyzer shot but all others are straight.
- The course is located near picnic pavilions and other multi-use parts of the park and there will be non-players on the course that you will have to play around.
- Very little in the way of trees or shade on this course and it can be brutal in the summer heat.
Other Thoughts: As stated earlier, this is a great place to bring beginning players as it is very difficult to make a shot that you cannot easily recover from. The course par is really high at a 62 and should be much lower. Experienced players that can throw 350 feet should be shooting in the high 40's on this course.

One saving grace is that this course becomes a 'whole nother beast' in the wind. With no trees slowing the wind down, it is not uncommon to have to deal with 30-40 MPH winds here. This adds a great degree of difficulty and is why I will continue to play this course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good if you want to air 'em out

5+    6/10/2009   6/14/2009
Review By: Matt
Played: 33  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is an open course where moderate elevation changes, wind, and slightly longer than average hole lengths provide the primary challenge.

If you are looking for an open course to air out your discs this is a great place to do it. It is often windy and the elevation changes provide some pretty fun shots. Two of the longest holes have flat, well manicured fairways, so rollers can work well. Three holes on the back nine bring some trees into play for a little variety. Hole 2 has been greatly improved with the alternate basket in the woods and is quite fun when played from the short or long pad (it's the only hole with 2 tee pads).
Cons: Mostly all open. Not much shade.
Other Thoughts: Very good course for new players and those who want to practice.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 1st Course we played in GA

2-4    4/19/2009   4/29/2009
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/27/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a complete re-write using my new rating system.

Very clean park in a very decent part of town.
Easily navigated with the exception of 6-7...most people end up at 10. Once you do it once you learn, but a nex-t sign or some sort of indication would be helpful.
Simple and elegant tee signs are mounted on short wooden posts. They do the job and are all intact.
Front 12 is basically a practice field with baskets. This can be taken as a pro or con but it is a great place to practice driving and various shots without worry.
When the course doesn't provide challenge the wind will.
Nice elevation changes and 13-16 are like a whole different course.
Cons: Like a practice field with baskets. It might get a little tedious, especially to those that can drop a shot right to the basket every time.
Little shade on most holes.
Very limited obstacles. A few holes where trees come into play, otherwise just elevation differences.
One tee, no alternate baskets (except 2 which has both an alt. basket and tee).
Little or no risk with any shot.
Other Thoughts: A good beginner course like others have said, but it also discourages beginners because of some long drive distances.
Using my new rating system this course scored a pretty good 61.5 out of 100. It is above average because it is in a nice setting and has all the basic amenities.
The things keeping it from "world class" status is the lack of difficulty from obstacles.
Having one tee requires you to either use pro par which is pretty tough or rec. par which is almost silly.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 B = Be a little too open and a little too boring

1    4/18/2008   4/18/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.2 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- C-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- C+
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- B
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B+
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor…more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.