Snellville, GA 
Lenora Park Share
Uploaded By: sfeather Hole #10
3 / 468ft.   3 / 468ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee

Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Grip it and rip it

5+    6/19/2011   10/25/2011
Review By: Will_S
Played: 32  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide open fairways let you get out there and bomb your driver. The tee pads are also very nice and the course is very well maintained. I met the president and a couple other officers of the club up there and they couldn't have been nicer. I love playing here when I'm in town for a Braves game.
Cons: While having wide open fairways is fun, it doesn't lead to much of a challenge as far as shot selection goes. But that's hardly a complaint.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Review of Lenora

5+    2/7/2011   6/23/2011
Review By: Chain Bangin' Joshua
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Long open spaces and a liberal par allow for first-time golfers to have a good, not-frustrating time. Beautiful scenery and benches for breaks in the game. Alternate tee for hole #3 steps up the challenge of throwing over water. Well-kept ground allow for long rollers and shorts. Very little underbrush or thorns. Onsite bathrooms are very clean and stocked. Parking is close and plentiful.
Cons: Jogging course runs through part of the course, so be aware of joggers getting in the way. There is very little shade, so bring water on hot days. The wind on this course is unusually strong and can blow your disc far off course.
Other Thoughts: This was the second course I ever played, and I greatly enjoy playing there on a cloudy or cool day. This course is also the best (in my opinion) for night games with lit discs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Awesome beginner course

2-4    5/5/2011   5/6/2011
Review By: blue23642
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Open course, very few obstructions
-Very well maintained- brooms on every teepad, fairways maintained, 5m putting circle things were still outlined from a recent tournament
-Several alternate pins and a couple alternate tees
-At hole #1 there is a message board, lost and found, and a map that shows all the holes and locations of the pins (and alternates)

Cons: -Hard to find the start point if you turn in the wrong entrance:P If you pull into the entrance by the waterpark, go back out and go to the other entrance
-Having played for about 10 or 11 years, the large amount of open holes became repetitive
-During the summer, due to how nice the park is, it will become very crowded!
Other Thoughts: Overall, a great course, especially for beginner disc golfers! Definitely worth a drive of an hour or so. There are a few courses around, so hit up a couple in one day to make it a heck a day!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Beginner Course for Cutting Teeth into Disc Golf

5+    4/10/2011   4/12/2011
Review By: EagleZT
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.7 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Open Layout. Cant Really not have a Direct Line to the Basket unless you stick in in the "woods" Good for first timers like myself who are new to the game. Really Tests my newbie distance and I am trying to get up to 300' driving.

Safe clean park. GDGO does a great job maintaining the course.
Cons: A lot of people around the 1st, 18th, 17th. Kids from the playgrounds like to venture on to the 18th fairway. Just yell at them to watch out and they usually do.

Seems redundant in the middle until you get to the 13th. The Open layout while good can get boring.
Other Thoughts: Good course for beginners like myself. People that have been playing a while are very friendly to help you out if you need tips and advice and are even in some cases willing to play a hole or two with you to help with technique. Course is in decent shape. Lenora is generally safe and have never felt like my stuff was going to be broken into.

Sunday early afternoons are good to go if you want to avoid crowds.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great place to "air it out"

1    3/23/2011   3/23/2011
Review By: Jeffrey2636
Played: 43  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 4.9 Years
Pros: Perfect place to take your new long range driver and learn how to throw it as there is not a lot of places to find trouble. Wide open design. Great place to buy discs for very cheap at the Lenora Gym.
Cons: Not much imagination or skill shots needed.
Other Thoughts: The course itself is out in the open and you can see almost the entire course from hole #1 on the hill. There's nothing like taking your new long range driver to a course and trying to control it through tight fairways and havng a frustrating time doing so. This course gives you TONS of breathing room and a great place to take out all those drivers and let em rip. Because of the open design, the course is a bit deceiving in terms of difficulty. The holes have some length to them so even though you don't get into a lot of trouble often, you still have distance to achieve. I will use this place as a training ground to get to know my new drivers from time to time. Also, a nice added touch of brooms at each tee pad to sweep off debris if needed.

 Great for Beginners

5+    3/1/2011   3/17/2011
Review By: jawjaboy34
Played: 28  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great confidence building course or if you are introducing the game to someone that has never even thrown a disc take them here! Very little water play and all the holes, except 16, are wide open! Very fun for families
Cons: If you are an expert, you will probably find this course to be too easy. Inaccurate tee signs (par numbers are too high).
Other Thoughts: Again, great for beginners and families.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    8/28/2010   9/3/2010
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 9.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course Essentials:
-Baskets: DISCatchers, variable position (some holes). All baskets in great shape.
-Tee Pads: Level, concrete tee pads of adequate size, single position per hole.
-Tee Signs/Markers: Small wooden posts mark each tee. Most holes have brooms and a small sign on the post with hole layout, pin positions, etc.

General Course Design & Layout:
-Par: CoursePar/64, ProPar/54.
-Course Length: 5758ft Total, 320ft avg: 1@>250ft, 6@250-300ft, 6@300-350ft, 2@350-400ft, 3@400+ft
-Fairways: Grass, Primarily Open
-Fairway Variety: Straight (16), Left(1), Split(1)
-Elevation: Minimum to Moderate: Flat (8), Uphill (6), Downhill (4)

The disc course at Lenora Park offers a mostly open design over gently rolling terrain. This 18-hole layout is comprised of one continuous loop with a smooth and uninterrupted flow. The minimum to moderate elevations throughout the course were used efficiently to provide a good variety in uphill, downhill, and flat fairways. Several holes utilize sidehill pin positions that are condusive to roll-aways and help increase the challenge of the course, a bad upshot or missed putt could easily add unnecessary shots to your score. Holes 2 (alternate(long)) pin placement, 4, 13, 14, and 16 provide a semi-technical layout through the stands of trees on the course, the other 13 holes are primarily straight and open.

Navigation & Maintenance:
Course navigation is simple and straight-forward for the most part. There are a few things worth noting based on my experience as a first-time visitor to the park.

-The signs in the park point you to the disc golf course, however, when I reached the parking area (designated by the signs) for the disc golf course, I was actually a very long way from the first tee. When you enter the park, there is a red barn on top of a hill on the right, the first tee is near the red barn. There is a parking lot much closer to the first tee, but there are other activities in this area as well, so they may be trying to limit DG parking in this area?!
-At several points during the round, multiple tees/pins are visible. On multiple occasions, I ended up walking to the wrong tee pad and having to back-track to get to the next hole. This isn't a huge issue, but a few navigational tools on the signs would clear this issue up real quick.

Course maintenance was excellent. The park in general was immaculate and well-kept, the disc golf course was no exception. During my round, there was a local group from the Gwinnett Disc Golf Organization (GDGO) who was replacing chains on one of the baskets. I actually had the opportunity to meet the president of the GDGO who was at the course the day that I played. We had a nice conversation and I got to hear about the new and exciting things on the docket for this course. It sounds like some fundraisers had brought for additional funding for future improvements to help increase the challenge and appeal of this course. It is very obvious that this organization cares for the course and its upkeep, and is doing an excellent job with maintaining and improving the course.
Keep up the good work!
Cons: -Repetitive: The open layout of the course currently tends to get repetitive. There is a nice variety in elevation changes, but over 2/3 of the holes are pretty much straight and open. There are plans in place to add more obstacles in the future, but this is the current state of the design.

-High Traffic Areas: The park in general is fantastic and has a lot to offer the local community. With that being said, the park is very busy with other activities, just be aware of others who may be near the course as some holes may provide interference with others using the facilities.

-The first tee could be marked a little better (thankfully I had DGCR mobile and found the information I needed on there). I had not initially planned to play this course, so I didn't have the info from DGCR, just follow the info on here and you'll be fine.

-Several tees/pins in close proximity, can be confusing and easy to walk to the wrong tee, a notation on the tee signs would be a big help.
Other Thoughts: I was in the area visiting some family, and had originally planned to skip this one, but when I found out that the park was only 2minutes from where I was staying, I had to check it out. Despite the simplistic nature of the course, I had a great overall experience, and am glad that I had the opportunity to play at Lenora. The GDGO is also maintaining the nearby Alexander Park, which is also a fantastic course, and are planning a new course in the area in the near future. I'm very excited about disc golf in this area, if you are in or near the area, get out here and check out the GDGO and see what all they have to offer.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/16/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: Bakenstine
Played: 70  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/10/2010
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: _Hole 5 Connection!_ (Chillaxation spot before or after hole 5)
PROS for CHANGES made: 3 is hard to see but not blind per se. Now the mando on 4 MUST be observed since the basket for 3 is in the Bermuda triangle. 10's basket is pushed back a few yards for the distance shot. 13 is visible from pad, and is a less intense dogleg right without the risk of decapitating joggers. 15 and 16 alternates are not too different from the originals, yet provide a different skill set to get there in 1 drive for sure. All in all, I like to see more options and changes made, so the cost of remodeling is surely worth it!
Cons: CONS for CHANGES made: 3 isn't on the best line, and I don't really like the Bermuda triangle. 4 throws now really need to risk the walking path. 10 is hard as is, but harder like this. I can deal with that but. I would like to see it move back and forth. 13 was classic Lenora at it's best. Now the throws go right by the 12 pad instead of the walking path. My sidearm rocked this hole before, and now I feel kinda robbed. 15 and 16 need to alternate back to basic pos sometimes or I will get homesick
Other Thoughts: I was glad to see the addition of the alt2/alt5 basket in the woods a year+ ago. Then the markers around the practice basket and the signage came. I like watching Lenora, my old home course before The Alex came to town, grow, evolve, and thrive here in Snellville. I have been playing Lenora 4 years now, and watched Alexander come into fruition from day 1. Keep the changes coming (Start with hole 6... I miss the old tree that was there!)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Trees?!?! We don't need no stinking trees!

1    3/9/2009   4/9/2010
Review By: Toomes
Played: 95  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Right off the bat, this course is in an extremely nice park. Pretty setting. Big mature trees. Nice Pond. Lots of other amenities.
- The few holes that use trees as obstacles are really nice. Hole 14 and 16 in particular, I really liked.
- Good place to practice wind play and distance drives.
- Good use elevation. Hole 1, 2 and 18 have the most extremely elevation changes.
- Pretty easy to navigate thanks to good signage and a busy park. There were a good amount of people on the course the one time I've played the course, so it was easy to just follow the lead of what everyone else was doing.
Cons: - Open and boring through the middle section of the course. A few trees here in there, but mostly just a wide open field from hole 3 to hole 12. Really repetitive. Very little technical skills needed.
- Very little Risk/Reward in an open field and not punishing for bad shots.
- Goose poo everywhere.
Other Thoughts: Not a course I would want to play a lot if I was a local. I would definitely play it though I was looking to work on my wind game or long open bombs. Could be a good change of pace when your tired of playing the more wooded courses in the area like East Roswell or Redan.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Just OK

1    3/14/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: slengel82
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Open fields. Few trees. Nice rolling hills. Course wasn't very crowded so we didn't ever wait. Decent views all around. Good practice basket on the way to hole one. Hole one is by the red barn near the baseball feilds.
Cons: I feel like it is the same hole over and over again.
Other Thoughts: Good practice couse.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.