Disc Golf Center
Snellville, GA 
Lenora Park Share
Uploaded By: sfeather Hole #9
3 / 317ft.   3 / 317ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great place to "air it out"

1    3/23/2011   3/23/2011
Review By: Jeffrey2636
Played: 39  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 3.8 Years
Pros: Perfect place to take your new long range driver and learn how to throw it as there is not a lot of places to find trouble. Wide open design. Great place to buy discs for very cheap at the Lenora Gym.
Cons: Not much imagination or skill shots needed.
Repetitive.
Other Thoughts: The course itself is out in the open and you can see almost the entire course from hole #1 on the hill. There's nothing like taking your new long range driver to a course and trying to control it through tight fairways and havng a frustrating time doing so. This course gives you TONS of breathing room and a great place to take out all those drivers and let em rip. Because of the open design, the course is a bit deceiving in terms of difficulty. The holes have some length to them so even though you don't get into a lot of trouble often, you still have distance to achieve. I will use this place as a training ground to get to know my new drivers from time to time. Also, a nice added touch of brooms at each tee pad to sweep off debris if needed.

 Great for Beginners

5+    3/1/2011   3/17/2011
Review By: jawjaboy34
Played: 28  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great confidence building course or if you are introducing the game to someone that has never even thrown a disc take them here! Very little water play and all the holes, except 16, are wide open! Very fun for families
Cons: If you are an expert, you will probably find this course to be too easy. Inaccurate tee signs (par numbers are too high).
Other Thoughts: Again, great for beginners and families.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/28/2010   9/3/2010
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course Essentials:
-Baskets: DISCatchers, variable position (some holes). All baskets in great shape.
-Tee Pads: Level, concrete tee pads of adequate size, single position per hole.
-Tee Signs/Markers: Small wooden posts mark each tee. Most holes have brooms and a small sign on the post with hole layout, pin positions, etc.

General Course Design & Layout:
-Par: CoursePar/64, ProPar/54.
-Course Length: 5758ft Total, 320ft avg: 1@>250ft, 6@250-300ft, 6@300-350ft, 2@350-400ft, 3@400+ft
-Fairways: Grass, Primarily Open
-Fairway Variety: Straight (16), Left(1), Split(1)
-Elevation: Minimum to Moderate: Flat (8), Uphill (6), Downhill (4)

The disc course at Lenora Park offers a mostly open design over gently rolling terrain. This 18-hole layout is comprised of one continuous loop with a smooth and uninterrupted flow. The minimum to moderate elevations throughout the course were used efficiently to provide a good variety in uphill, downhill, and flat fairways. Several holes utilize sidehill pin positions that are condusive to roll-aways and help increase the challenge of the course, a bad upshot or missed putt could easily add unnecessary shots to your score. Holes 2 (alternate(long)) pin placement, 4, 13, 14, and 16 provide a semi-technical layout through the stands of trees on the course, the other 13 holes are primarily straight and open.

Navigation & Maintenance:
Course navigation is simple and straight-forward for the most part. There are a few things worth noting based on my experience as a first-time visitor to the park.

-The signs in the park point you to the disc golf course, however, when I reached the parking area (designated by the signs) for the disc golf course, I was actually a very long way from the first tee. When you enter the park, there is a red barn on top of a hill on the right, the first tee is near the red barn. There is a parking lot much closer to the first tee, but there are other activities in this area as well, so they may be trying to limit DG parking in this area?!
-At several points during the round, multiple tees/pins are visible. On multiple occasions, I ended up walking to the wrong tee pad and having to back-track to get to the next hole. This isn't a huge issue, but a few navigational tools on the signs would clear this issue up real quick.

Course maintenance was excellent. The park in general was immaculate and well-kept, the disc golf course was no exception. During my round, there was a local group from the Gwinnett Disc Golf Organization (GDGO) who was replacing chains on one of the baskets. I actually had the opportunity to meet the president of the GDGO who was at the course the day that I played. We had a nice conversation and I got to hear about the new and exciting things on the docket for this course. It sounds like some fundraisers had brought for additional funding for future improvements to help increase the challenge and appeal of this course. It is very obvious that this organization cares for the course and its upkeep, and is doing an excellent job with maintaining and improving the course.
Keep up the good work!
Cons: -Repetitive: The open layout of the course currently tends to get repetitive. There is a nice variety in elevation changes, but over 2/3 of the holes are pretty much straight and open. There are plans in place to add more obstacles in the future, but this is the current state of the design.

-High Traffic Areas: The park in general is fantastic and has a lot to offer the local community. With that being said, the park is very busy with other activities, just be aware of others who may be near the course as some holes may provide interference with others using the facilities.

-The first tee could be marked a little better (thankfully I had DGCR mobile and found the information I needed on there). I had not initially planned to play this course, so I didn't have the info from DGCR, just follow the info on here and you'll be fine.

-Several tees/pins in close proximity, can be confusing and easy to walk to the wrong tee, a notation on the tee signs would be a big help.
Other Thoughts: I was in the area visiting some family, and had originally planned to skip this one, but when I found out that the park was only 2minutes from where I was staying, I had to check it out. Despite the simplistic nature of the course, I had a great overall experience, and am glad that I had the opportunity to play at Lenora. The GDGO is also maintaining the nearby Alexander Park, which is also a fantastic course, and are planning a new course in the area in the near future. I'm very excited about disc golf in this area, if you are in or near the area, get out here and check out the GDGO and see what all they have to offer.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 CHANGES MADE TO THE COURSE

5+    7/16/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: Bakenstine
Played: 66  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/10/2010
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: _Hole 5 Connection!_ (Chillaxation spot before or after hole 5)
PROS for CHANGES made: 3 is hard to see but not blind per se. Now the mando on 4 MUST be observed since the basket for 3 is in the Bermuda triangle. 10's basket is pushed back a few yards for the distance shot. 13 is visible from pad, and is a less intense dogleg right without the risk of decapitating joggers. 15 and 16 alternates are not too different from the originals, yet provide a different skill set to get there in 1 drive for sure. All in all, I like to see more options and changes made, so the cost of remodeling is surely worth it!
Cons: CONS for CHANGES made: 3 isn't on the best line, and I don't really like the Bermuda triangle. 4 throws now really need to risk the walking path. 10 is hard as is, but harder like this. I can deal with that but. I would like to see it move back and forth. 13 was classic Lenora at it's best. Now the throws go right by the 12 pad instead of the walking path. My sidearm rocked this hole before, and now I feel kinda robbed. 15 and 16 need to alternate back to basic pos sometimes or I will get homesick
Other Thoughts: I was glad to see the addition of the alt2/alt5 basket in the woods a year+ ago. Then the markers around the practice basket and the signage came. I like watching Lenora, my old home course before The Alex came to town, grow, evolve, and thrive here in Snellville. I have been playing Lenora 4 years now, and watched Alexander come into fruition from day 1. Keep the changes coming (Start with hole 6... I miss the old tree that was there!)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Trees?!?! We don't need no stinking trees!

1    3/9/2009   4/9/2010
Review By: Toomes
Played: 95  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Right off the bat, this course is in an extremely nice park. Pretty setting. Big mature trees. Nice Pond. Lots of other amenities.
- The few holes that use trees as obstacles are really nice. Hole 14 and 16 in particular, I really liked.
- Good place to practice wind play and distance drives.
- Good use elevation. Hole 1, 2 and 18 have the most extremely elevation changes.
- Pretty easy to navigate thanks to good signage and a busy park. There were a good amount of people on the course the one time I've played the course, so it was easy to just follow the lead of what everyone else was doing.
Cons: - Open and boring through the middle section of the course. A few trees here in there, but mostly just a wide open field from hole 3 to hole 12. Really repetitive. Very little technical skills needed.
- Very little Risk/Reward in an open field and not punishing for bad shots.
- Goose poo everywhere.
Other Thoughts: Not a course I would want to play a lot if I was a local. I would definitely play it though I was looking to work on my wind game or long open bombs. Could be a good change of pace when your tired of playing the more wooded courses in the area like East Roswell or Redan.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Just OK

1    3/14/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: slengel82
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Open fields. Few trees. Nice rolling hills. Course wasn't very crowded so we didn't ever wait. Decent views all around. Good practice basket on the way to hole one. Hole one is by the red barn near the baseball feilds.
Cons: I feel like it is the same hole over and over again.
Other Thoughts: Good practice couse.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

5+    12/28/2009   1/6/2010
Review By: Subicon
Played: 27  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/4/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Clean, safe park
-Friendly local players
-Well maintained
-Decent variety of hills and turns
-Not a ton of disc warping trees (some may consider this a con)
-Wide open: great for testing/improving your drive distance
-Very hard to lose a disc on this course
-Plenty of benches and trash cans
-New alternate basket locations on several holes!
Cons: -Goose poop
-No next tee signs (playing it once or twice should be enough to memorize the course)
-Holiday picnickers invading course
-Only one tee pad per hole.
Other Thoughts: This course is less than ten minutes away from my home, so I play it quite often. It may not be the hardest course, but when the wind picks up (and it often does) it really adds to the overall challenge. I love throwing bombs and this is a great place for that.

Playing at Lenora will guaranty you getting some exercise due to lots of walking. This is also a good park to start playing on, because it is very forgiving.

Update: Several holes now have alternate basket locations. I'm really glad that they added some alternate baskets, because it does add some needed variety to the course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great for beginners

5+    11/15/2009   11/23/2009
Review By: 3OrangeWhips
Played: 96  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Yet another fantastic Gwinnett County Park. Beautiful vistas on rolling hills. Easy to navigate with concrete tee pads, signage, benches and trash cans at every hole. Lots of long, wide open holes with a few semi-wooded holes thrown in. Good assortment of uphill and downhill shots. Excellent course for beginners. Not very crowded and very little interference with other park goers. The course spread out in its own section of the park; you will get a nice aerobic workout. Ample parking, restrooms and practice basket near holes #1 and #18.
Cons: Repetitive and not very technically demanding; may be boring to advanced players.
Other Thoughts: As a beginner (4 months), I flat out love this course. It really lets me work on my game without being demoralized by astronomical scores. The more I play this course, the more I can see improvements in my game at other more demanding courses. Normally, I would rate a course of this caliber a 3, but I gave it a 4 because it is a fantastic setting to get out and throw a round of disc golf: wide open spaces, quiet, rolling hills, lots of sunshine and blazing colors during autumn. If you want to get away from it all and just have a lot of fun, this is the place.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Lenora Park

1    9/11/2009   9/11/2009
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 6.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice course set in a great park. Overall it is clean, safe, offers ample parking, and seems to be really well maintained. It's a mainly open course with somewhat scenic and rolling hills along with mature trees scattered around. There is a nice view of a pond on most of the holes which adds to the personality of the course.

The course itself while not the most difficult, does offer an enticement. The elevation changes, good mix of distances, and the occasional trees as obstacles all unite for a pretty fun course. I understand that wind is also a big factor and can/will offer to the challenge. The land was used perfectly and there was a great consideration of uphill and downhill shots. Additionally, I enjoyed a few shots that went across shallow valleys. A couple of holes that are a little more crowded with trees are peppered in on the back nine. Just one hole had a dogleg. It heads downhill and to the right and I considered it one of the best on the course.

The course also has plenty of gravy too. Concrete tee pads, good signage, benches, occasional trash cans, and a few brooms are all here. All of the Innova DiscCatchers baskets are in great shape. There is even a practice basket for a quick warm up. I also noted an alternate tee pad at number two that forces you to throw across a drainage area and the hole also boasts an alternate basket tucked in the woods. The alternate basket can also be employed on number five.

This is a great course to introduce new players to the sport. The openness should help them work out the kinks without the frustration of banging trees or searching for lost discs.
Cons: It might be considered repetitive if open holes are not your thing. Also, without the option of alternate tee pads or basket placements it could be sort of stagnant for those who play the course frequently. It also is missing any risk/reward factor. I can't think of any holes that you can feel especially thrilled about "parking" your shot. That is not to say that I am not trilled about parking a shot! It is just that you probably won't have to use much strategy or finesse to make it happen here.

There won't be much relief from the summer heat in the dog days. Also with the niceness of the park and it being close to the pond, playground, and open fields, you can expect to interact with other park users that may not be familiar with disc golf.

Watch out for goose turds here and there.
Other Thoughts: It was a little difficult to find the first pad. If you park in the first lot to the left, walk across the street, go up the hill towards the barn to the right of the unmarked practice basket. Also you should use a little care navigating on your first time out. It is not confusing enough to be a con but use a little disc golf intuition.

I think the posted par should be ignored. I think they are way too generous, even for a beginner.

This course is good enough to warrant a lengthy (hour or so) drive without being disappointed. If you really want to make it worth while, try to hit Alexander Park as well while you are in the area. Even a couple of hour drive would be worth it for the two. It could make for a great disc golf day. Enjoy!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great for new players

5+    7/17/2009   7/17/2009
Review By: Alan.D
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great first course for people to play.
-Open, very few trees, no water
-Great use of elevation
-Good use of land
-Concrete tee pads on all holes
-Just fun to play
-Can sit and watch about 6 holes from several benches
-Very active and safe park no need to worry about leaving your car.
Cons: -Very Open while no trees is fun it is also boring
-Only one Pin and tee per hole
-People often use parts of the course to set up picnics, or fly kites... ect you will often have to skip some holes!
Other Thoughts: Just a great park and a very good course. It is fun for people of all levels to play. It is very active and you will see other players if it is a nice day. People do use the course for non course events :( seeing picnics in the middle of a fairway is not uncommon.

It is just fun to play this one.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.