Snellville, GA
Lenora Park Share
Uploaded By: sfeather Hole #15
3 / 297ft.   3 / 297ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Good if you want to air 'em out

5+    6/10/2009   6/14/2009
Review By: Matt
Played: 31  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is an open course where moderate elevation changes, wind, and slightly longer than average hole lengths provide the primary challenge.

If you are looking for an open course to air out your discs this is a great place to do it. It is often windy and the elevation changes provide some pretty fun shots. Two of the longest holes have flat, well manicured fairways, so rollers can work well. Three holes on the back nine bring some trees into play for a little variety. Hole 2 has been greatly improved with the alternate basket in the woods and is quite fun when played from the short or long pad (it's the only hole with 2 tee pads).
Cons: Mostly all open. Not much shade.
Other Thoughts: Very good course for new players and those who want to practice.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 1st Course we played in GA

2-4    4/19/2009   4/29/2009
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 63  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/27/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a complete re-write using my new rating system.

Very clean park in a very decent part of town.
Easily navigated with the exception of 6-7...most people end up at 10. Once you do it once you learn, but a nex-t sign or some sort of indication would be helpful.
Simple and elegant tee signs are mounted on short wooden posts. They do the job and are all intact.
Front 12 is basically a practice field with baskets. This can be taken as a pro or con but it is a great place to practice driving and various shots without worry.
When the course doesn't provide challenge the wind will.
Nice elevation changes and 13-16 are like a whole different course.
Cons: Like a practice field with baskets. It might get a little tedious, especially to those that can drop a shot right to the basket every time.
Little shade on most holes.
Very limited obstacles. A few holes where trees come into play, otherwise just elevation differences.
One tee, no alternate baskets (except 2 which has both an alt. basket and tee).
Little or no risk with any shot.
Other Thoughts: A good beginner course like others have said, but it also discourages beginners because of some long drive distances.
Using my new rating system this course scored a pretty good 61.5 out of 100. It is above average because it is in a nice setting and has all the basic amenities.
The things keeping it from "world class" status is the lack of difficulty from obstacles.
Having one tee requires you to either use pro par which is pretty tough or rec. par which is almost silly.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 B = Be a little too open and a little too boring

1    4/18/2008   4/18/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 363  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 19.9 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- C-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- C+
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- B
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B+
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor…more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/12/2009   4/15/2009
Review By: sdecker
Played: 27  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 22 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nicely landscaped and kept as it is maintained by the park service. Nice, wide open fairways great for beginners, refining your drive, or learning a new shot such as the forehand. Concrete tees and proper signage on every hole. Easy to navigate the entire course. All in all a great course to take people to learn the game.
Cons: Pin placements never appear to change. Could be made more difficult with minor pin placement differences to many holes. Only 3 holes even remotely involve trees and even those are not difficult if you have some experience. The par ratings are too high. Several holes that would be 3's or 4's elsewhere are 5's here and many experienced folks play the course as all par 3's. Walking paths are in play on about 10 holes so pedestrians can be a pain.
Other Thoughts: I sort of consider this my 'home' course although Yargo is closer. I've played it dozens, maybe 100+ times over the years and it's a good course. Just not particularly challenging if you have good drive distance and accuracy.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, Pleasant and Windy

5+    3/8/2009   3/9/2009
Review By: gvan
Played: 105  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/15/2009
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good elevation with several uphill holes. One strong left drive around trees (4) and one strong right drive around trees (13).
- Although it's a mostly open course where it's hard to make a bad shot, several baskets are placed near enough to a tree that shot choice comes into play even if a bad choice wouldn't be punished too much.
- As stated before, this course is great for beginners and there are often several out on the course, but it has some bright spots as well. Most holes are around 300', but the 400 footers are open enough that you can really take a shot at the basket.
- The alternate tee for #2 (around the end of the pond) provides a neat shot over the pond and there is a basket in the trees that serves as an alternate 2 or 5.
Cons: -Casual non-golfers are often around the course. Perhaps this offsets the lack of trees a bit (hehe). The park is VERY busy on Saturday and Sunday afternoons. The walk/jog path running around the course provides some extra incentive to control your shots on the long holes #7 and #8.
- There is no Nex-T sign after #6 so new folks often go to #10 instead (which is closer)
- No risk. There is a pond, but little chance of losing a disk in it unless you throw way too much anhyzer on #17.
Other Thoughts: - This is a friendly and safe park. Rest rooms are available near #18 (and therefore not too far from #1).
- They have installed a new kiosk near hole 1 to house a course map and other information.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Crush and Crush Again

1    6/3/2000   1/3/2009
Review By: ddevine
Played: 111  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 35.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Hard to lose plastic, plenty of opportunity to throw really hard. Great for working on your power.
Cons: Hard to follow. Somewhat repetitive, with lots of "throw it really hard in an open field" type holes. Brutally hot in the summer, with little shade.
Other Thoughts: My review may be overly harsh since I came here after playing Redan on a hot, hot summer afternoon and played it solo.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice

5+    12/8/2008   12/23/2008
Review By: Galahad
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads, wide open, clean, easy to follow. No riff raff to deal with.
Cons: Almost too open - would be nice to have a few more holes w/ obstacles. None shade hardly in the summer, can get hot hot hot.
Other Thoughts: A great place to learn how to "crush" a drive.

It's almost always windy out here too!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice open park

1    12/21/2008   12/21/2008
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 88  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.6 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pretty, well maintained park, good signage, plenty of benches for those that need a rest. Plenty of trash can around the course. Nice use of elevation changes. If your a newbie you will love this course. Come out on a windy day and even an experienced player will be challenged. This is a great course for night golf! The park is open until 11pm and the open layout works well for night golf. My favorite hole has to be 14, blind left to right shot around trees and down hill.
Cons: During the summer heat you will want water as there is not much shade.
The first time you play it may take a little while to find #1 and #7. 1 is by the barn and #7 is to the right and forward of #6s basket. #10 tee is closer and to the left, confuses many. You will share the park with picnickers crossing the course ocosionally.
Other Thoughts: A night tournament would be great here. Some longer tee boxes for the power players would help for those who fing the course to easy.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Grip it and rip it!!!!

1    12/19/2008   12/19/2008
Review By: jreeves16
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's wide open. Throw what you have. This course is best for beginners and for working on your throws. It's a lot like being in a field and just throwing your discs. Fortunately you have baskets to throw at. There are awesome concrete pads. The course and park are in great shape. There is no way to lose a disc. Great signs and each tee is pretty close to the one before it. It's a great open course.
Cons: It's a little on the easy side. The pars are off. That's about it really.
Other Thoughts: If you live close by and you want a driving range with baskets, this is the place to go. I've only been playing a few weeks so this course was great for me. I totally understand why a veteran would find this course too easy, but everyone can enjoy a beautiful day and chunking your disc as far as you can. If that's what you'd like to do, then this is the place to do it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 WIDE OPEN SPACES!!!!

1    12/19/2008   12/19/2008
Review By: BobbyC13
Played: 27  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: LET EM RIP AND LET EM FLY! This course allows you to throw nearly every disc in your bag. It is really open, really well thought out and has great signage. It is true it is easy, I shot 2 under, but it is nice and peaceful out there. I like to watch discs soar and this course delivers just that. The front 9 is open while the back goes in and out of slightly wooded areas. If you lose a disc here I would be suprised!
Cons: The pars on some holes need to be re-thought, not very challenging as far as obstacles go, nothing to really make you alter your shot or think too much about any shot.
Other Thoughts: I have been playing now for 3 weeks and I actually liked this course a good deal. It is nice, open, quiet, and plays long which is fun to me. I threw my Dx Wraith 310 out there! It was fun to let em rip! I am a pretty solid player who has had the worst of 13 over and the best today of 2 under, elsewhere was 2 over for my best.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.