Martinsburg, WV 
Poor House Farm DGC Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #11 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

5+    4/2/2014   10/10/2011
Review By: zubeala
Played: 53  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/3/2014
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Lots of variety. Stream along hole 1 and at the bottom of 18. Plenty of changes in elevation. Holes 2-4 all uphill and narrow. Fairly well marked. Most t pads are in decent condition. Hole number 11 in the spring when the apple blossems are in bloom, might be one of the most scenic holes in the US. Hole 18 is a downhill bomb. Basket hidden behind rock ledge at the bottom.
Cons: Holes 2-4 all uphill and narrow. Easy to lose discs in the summer, as this is not an easy course to keep mowed. We use spotters on lots of holes. Last 3 holes t pads are incomplete. Some fairways have low stumps that can do severe damage to your ankles if you are not paying attention. Hole 18 is so easy to lose a disc on because even a mid level player can throw 300ft. I would suggest spotters.
Other Thoughts: Keep in mind this is also a X-counrty running course so look out for people running on the course. Changed 16 and 17 last year. I liked the old 17 better.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Coming Along

1    7/9/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: CDAWG
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good long course. Great exercise. There is a little bit of a walk between each hole which was nice.

Great variety of shots with low canopies. Found myself throwing A LOT of sidearms so be sure to practice those before you head out.

AWESOME volunteer out weed-eating 18. This hole is very steep and we were impressed with his commitment.

Great brick tees on front nine.

Signage to next hole was a god-send! I would have hated to have not had the help.
Cons: Plenty of blind shots with no help from the tees.

Found myself consistently in the wrong spot. Not terrible throws, but from where I landed you could not approach the basket. Next time I'll know but it was frustrating for a while.
Other Thoughts: The place is coming along. Look for the tournament in September.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Local Course

1    8/28/2010   9/3/2010
Review By: LeftyChris
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great scenery

Decent variation between the holes

Awesome baskets

Good park to relax at due to the pond

Would recommend to anyone in the 1 hour travel area

Cons: Signs could be misleading

Some tees are dirt or gravel

Would be nice to have a map on each hole



Other Thoughts: Definitely a course worth playing if in the area. I go here a good bit and have fun every time. Either playing a game of PIG on the practice basket or playing back to back rounds with a group of friends is a blast.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty sweet

1    7/10/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: Mr Mojo Risin
Played: 18  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/1/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Played this course 2 weeks ago and I came away impressed. Tons of woods and elevation. The course offers a nice reward for staying on the fairway. Nice baskets and a very scenic area. The 18th hole might be the best hole on the course. A par 3 with a 100 foot elevation drop. So you have to make sure you don't over throw and end up in the woods.
Cons: The marjority of these holes, I think all of them are par 3's. You can see the basket from the tee off position on almost every hole. This isn't really a bad thing but most of the holes are under 300 feet in the 220-250 range. I cannot remember any hole that allowed you to really rip it open. I used my mid range on a lot of my drives.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun course but not overly challenging. A couple of safe throws and your putting, so very little reward for taking a risk. But still a fun course to play every now and then.


I just played this course again and I might redeuce the score. The tee's are pretty bad on this one. A few loose gravel ones or just grass. Hard to get a good footing.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    5/14/2010   5/15/2010
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 5.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nestled in the WV countryside, Poor House Farm is a great community park. The park and most of the course was well kept and nicely manicured. Ten minutes from the I-81 corridor, Poor House Farm is easy to get to. Despite its proximity to the interstate, the sounds of nature easily overtake the din of the traffic.

The baskets at Poor House were in immaculate condition. Additionally, the new looking tee signs were in great shape and were helpful in terms of displaying the hole number, distance, and par. What appeared to be newly-created and hung "Next Hole" signs were very helpful.

Elevation was taken into account when this course was designed and is a highlight of the course. Upshots and downshots were incorporated into several different holes with the 18th hole being a specific highlight. The hole incorporates a 60-100' elevation drop, requiring a low, precise throw or risk a severely punishing lie...an excellent example of the risk/reward aspect of disc golf.

The 10th hole was another gem. Emerging from the wooded fairway of the 9th hole, the tee for the 10th hole looks out across a wide expanse of rolling hills and a massive orchard. This is one of the most beautiful holes that I've ever played.

The course featured a nice distribution of right and left doglegs.

In addition to elevation variety, there were several different types of fairways from wide strips of grass to tightly wooded holes.
Cons: Poor House appears to be a work in progress. As such, some tees were gravel while others were natural and a few were muddy.

Tee signs weren't present on all the holes, but upon completion, this could easily be removed as a con. Similarly, while the "Next Hole" signs were helpful, additional signs would help to mitigate potential navigation issues.

While most of the fairways were kept in great shape, the amount of brush that borders several of the holes was excessively dense and could very easily lead to a lost disc (and did in my case...but that's how it goes).

Given the size of the park and the layout, some of the holes could use some additional length to help boost the challenge factor and increase fairway variety. Additionally, given the pond and other adjacent stream, adding some type of obstacles would have been a big plus.
Other Thoughts: Once the tee signs and tee pads are complete and if some of the underbrush was trimmed back, it would be very easy to bump this course to a 3.5.

Overall, the course was a fun play and the Martinsburg, WV residents can count themselves lucky that they have such a nice course in their area. I'd recommend Poor Hourse Farm to anyone traveling on I-81.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Developing course

2-4    2/1/2010   2/3/2010
Review By: devious_imp
Played: 44  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: variety - you will have steep uphills, and downhill, long flat shots, right turning, left turning. Shots where you have to make choices, open shots, well guarded baskets...
gorgeous views of the orchards
Cons: As the other reviews mentioned the tees could use some work. The markers are a little tough to find, but more clearly defined tee areas would be helpful as well as signs.
All of the holes are in the woods. I may be a little biased as I love the wide open grip it and rip it holes, but you do play every hole with trees on both sides and often above as well. Even with that as the case, several of the holes are wide enough (in winter) to have plenty of room (hole 1 comes to mind) to let it go.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course in progress. I think it has the potential to be an all-star course. They made great use of the elevation and terrain they had. I love the way the holes follow the trails.
I played it for the first time in the dark and had a blast. Even though we couldn't see the baskets we could tell where the fairways were and could follow those to the holes. The second time I played there were 4 inches of snow on the ground which again made finding the tees a little tough.
Over all a great course to play and well done for only being around a few months. Can't wait to see it get more developed with signs and tees.
Also I noticed a lot of trees marked to be cut down... I think a few of them could go, but the numbers that were marked would be way too much.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Raw

2-4    12/18/2009   12/18/2009
Review By: DWill
Played: 230  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 36.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a lot of elevation changes, with a few severe up and downhill shots. Only a few holes don't have some kind of elevation. A fairly tightly wooded course, with clearly defined fairways. Separated from the rest of the park, so there should be very little non disc golf traffic. Nice new Discatchers, that are easy to find. Course navigation was fairly easy, even without a map. Small stakes in the ground defined tee boxes and next tee locations.

In a multiuse park with bathrooms, a small pond, and conveniently located only a few minutes off of I81.
Cons: Dirt tees were not clearly defined, especially holes 12 and 18. The stakes directing to next tees and marking the tee boxes were sort of small and not always easy to see. In the summer, the overgrowth will make finding these stakes much harder.

There are 3 or 4 holes with extreme elevation to negotiate. In rain or wet conditions, these will be very muddy and become treacherous, and possibly unplayable.
Other Thoughts: This course appears to still be a work in progress. There had to be a lot of work clearing fairways and paths.

It is not a long course at all. I think only a few holes I couldn't see the basket from the tee. Accuracy is at a premium. Playing in the winter, errant shots weren't too difficult to find your disc, but I think in the summer, losing a disc is a very good possibility. Also, in the summer, the holes will seem even tighter.

This course is also not the easiest to traverse. With some uphill climbs, you will definitely get a work out. Maybe too much for young kids.

With improved tees, a few more strategically located next tee signs, and multiple pins, this could easily become a great course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.