Martinsburg, WV 
Poor House Farm DGC Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #13 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Not for the weak....

1    12/7/2014   12/8/2014
Review By: seanyboyhoward
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome entrance to course. If you are someone who likes elevation change this is a course for you. All variety of shots, ace runs, technical shots, up hill, down hill..etc. The course is a great hike, especially the first 4 holes. Use of property is pretty good, lots of fallen trees on holes which i enjoy. Teepads are in great shape as well as baskets.
Cons: As stated in other reviews the signage is poor. With the multiple trails and the course having a map at each hole would be very beneficial. The signs pointing to next hole, perhaps a different color than green they were hard to see.

Also I went when all the brush around the course was dead but I can see how in full foliage it would be terrible.
Garbage cans, just put a few out on the course. There were beer cans at certain points, just a few cans to keep it a little cleaner.
Other Thoughts: This was a fantastic course. I would recommend it to anyone in the area. I had a great time playing.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice Course, few tips to help

2-4    9/13/2014   9/15/2014
Review By: dougo
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads when they exist
well kept fairways(mowed where possible)
Nice shot variety
Risk Reward on some holes
Awesome views on certain holes
Great Park!
Cons: Signage here is only yardage and most of the time the baskets are farther than listed.
A few of the last holes need tee pads/signage leading to the next hole.
You can get lost pretty easily due to the lack of directional signage.
Other Thoughts: Overall I really like this course. With a little work it could be even better. My biggest gripe is the signage(or lack of) with mountain bike and CC trails intersecting everywhere it's very easy to go the wrong way. Also basket locations change so a hole layout on the sign would be awesome! Maybe a donation box could be placed to collect some money towards them?

Also, whoever trims the course back (thanks!) but when you trim a small tree please don't cut them at 2-4" high on an angle! Very dangerous and a big tripping hazard!

Advice- Wear boots and watch out for the stumps. Hole 12 is barely playable with a huge tree down in the middle.
Hole 17's tee pad (we guess) is on top of the hill looking down towards the fallen tree with the basket up on the knoll.
Hole 18- Tee pad is on the gravel. Disregard the sign on the tree. Throw down the hill towards the small clearing the basket is a sharp RT short of the creek bed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  sweet course in the making

1    3/26/2011   3/29/2011
Review By: discgolf247
Played: 24  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.7 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Loved this course. it challenges every part of your game from backhand, forehand, side arm, rollers, etc. it has striaght shots, up hill, down hill right and left. no 1 can complain it was built for righties or lefts. the setting is very nice and scenic. frist round about 2.5 to 3 hours. 2nd round about 2 hours
Cons: its still be built so im sure it will all be done but, need better signs to show where the next hole is. i didn't like the tee signs in front of the tee pads on some of the holes. not a design problem but alot of poison seen and off the fairway will be thick in the spring, so watch your plastic.
Other Thoughts: cant wait to go back and play again. its going to be a awsome course when its done.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great young course

1    9/6/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: MooseDrool
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety of elevation and open vs closed fairway. Vegetation isn't so thick you can't find your disc. Beautiful views from many of the holes. Only two really steep uphill holes.
Cons: Young course has not evolved yet and has some grass and gravel tees. Signs are very basic with no maps or descriptions. Most of the fairways are straight to the basket.
Other Thoughts: Tee 11 is one of the prettiest tees I've seen with a great view of the orchard and valley beyond. The tee itself gives a clue as to where the course is headed.
This is a fun course to play and has fantastic potential.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Spend Some Time in the Poor House

1    3/19/2010   3/26/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of a multitude of excellent courses near RT 81. Splendid scenery on the drive to and in this park. Poort-o-Potty and plenty of parking. Course is to the rear of the multi-poorpose park so foot traffic is at a minimum. Practice basket and 2 planned tees per hole. 18 natural tees but since 17 of 18 play either alongside a steep hill or on top of this hill...the tees were not sloppy/muddy despite epic rainstorms the week prior.11 of the 18 holes meander along grassy 10-20 ft wide walking paths with dense woods to either side of the fairways. This makes for a pleasant woodsy but well manicured feel. Plenty of little uphills, downhills, right and left turning shots as well as a couple more traditional woods holes. Hole #1 is a dandy start that requires a long straight drive. From there you must traverse 2 steep uphill holes; 2 is a short hyzer and 3 is short turnover...both are essentially straight up. From there you play along grassy fairways through the woods. A few holes stand out in my mind. 4 was a nice tee off over a slight valley up to pin shot and 8 was a clever right turning downhill anny. 14 was a true uphill ace run. All of the holes were true par 3s....with possible birdie runs on many of them. Seems a good chance to birdie or bogey due to dense trees off the fairways....this kept things interesting. The poorsibility to birdie or bogey depending on execution defines a good course to me. When you walk out of the woods and get to the tee pad for #11 you will see one of the poortiest and most majestic sights. A spectacular view of an ever reaching mountain top orchard with not a road or hint of civilization anywhere. Just glorious...trust me. There are a couple of holes (12 & 13) dug in and out of the forrest to break up the grass pathway holes and then at hole 16 things get special. 16 is a floater down a steep hillside to a faster green. 17 is a skillful cross the mountainside shot with another fast green and finally 18 is the best hole on the course and perhaps one of the better finishers out there. It's a straight down the chute screamer (driver) or floater (putter) to a basket nestled on a small green below. The massive mountainside elevation drop and tight but fair fairway make this hole memorable and worth the trip. All the holes are relatively short but require a fair amount of skill to negotiate. Nothing is easy here yet every hole was fair.(no excessively punitive fairways) Not championship caliber golf but you won't get bored here either. It has the poortential to be a destination course.
Cons: Lacks a few things that would push it into the 4+ range. Essentially there are no tees or signs. (I noticed consistent next tee signs which were helpful though) Course lacks any true length. I played the course with mostly slower fairway drivers and approach discs. I could have probably done as well with my mid ranges only but wanted to practice driving in the woods. Outside of hole 12 I don't remember having to make many lane choices off the tee. Basically it was heres the fairway..execute. I like a little more cerebral element especially if it's a shorter course. Course is a work in progress so theres some deadfall and rough areas that don't affect play but are a bit unsightly to prima donna types. The grassy wooded fairways started to grow monotonous to me after hole 8...thankfully the view at 11 cheered me up.
Other Thoughts: This place has a ton of poortential. Seems a few of the holes will be changed to add some length...seemed to be that way to me at least as I saw some clearing being done here and there and there appears to be plenty of room to work with here. It's set to the rear of a rural park and has 5 holes on the hillside that are unique. It's scenic and definetely has enough to keep any DGer interested. Whats especially nice is the strong finish of holes 16-18. The course begins on the backside of the ponds. You will see a practice basket and to the left of it is the tee for #1 and to the right of the practice basket you will see the finshing green for #18. Essentially it's a big loop up the hill across the top and then back down. I would have loved some open field holes around the ponds but then I saw about 100 people fishing the ponds and having a blast....this is West Virginny after all....play it you won't regret it and be careful walking up and down dem dere hills!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.