Disc Golf Center
Martinsburg, WV 
Poor House Farm DGC Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #3 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 155ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Nice Course, few tips to help

2-4    9/13/2014   9/15/2014
Review By: dougo
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads when they exist
well kept fairways(mowed where possible)
Nice shot variety
Risk Reward on some holes
Awesome views on certain holes
Great Park!
Cons: Signage here is only yardage and most of the time the baskets are farther than listed.
A few of the last holes need tee pads/signage leading to the next hole.
You can get lost pretty easily due to the lack of directional signage.
Other Thoughts: Overall I really like this course. With a little work it could be even better. My biggest gripe is the signage(or lack of) with mountain bike and CC trails intersecting everywhere it's very easy to go the wrong way. Also basket locations change so a hole layout on the sign would be awesome! Maybe a donation box could be placed to collect some money towards them?

Also, whoever trims the course back (thanks!) but when you trim a small tree please don't cut them at 2-4" high on an angle! Very dangerous and a big tripping hazard!

Advice- Wear boots and watch out for the stumps. Hole 12 is barely playable with a huge tree down in the middle.
Hole 17's tee pad (we guess) is on top of the hill looking down towards the fallen tree with the basket up on the knoll.
Hole 18- Tee pad is on the gravel. Disregard the sign on the tree. Throw down the hill towards the small clearing the basket is a sharp RT short of the creek bed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

1    12/27/2013   1/6/2014
Review By: Geremy
Played: 45  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Tee pads are very grippy and level
-Accuracy is generally always rewarded
-Great elevation changes on at least half of the holes
Cons: -A couple tee pads still need to be installed (as of this write up)
-The rough is thick, glad I played in the winter!
-Need to update tee signs
Other Thoughts: Very scenic course with lots of different types of shots. Keep up the great work fellas!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Oh my, another tree tunnel off the tee

1    9/14/2013   9/17/2013
Review By: HawaiiJack
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice work to get a course into unfavorable terrain. Being aggressive while maintaining accuracy off the tee will result in many birdie opportunities.
Cons: Inadequate signage. This park is honeycombed with trails and paths branch out in many directions from several baskets. Bringing a course map is a necessity. Holes have very little diversity.
Other Thoughts: There is a hike between many holes. I enjoyed it but I mention it for completeness for those who don't.
Holes 1-6: The course seemed fun and different as the tight tunnels off the tee into a variety of elevation changes lead to creative thinking about disc and shot selection.
Holes 7-12: The basic hole layout doesn't change much but the distance and difficulty go up a notch. If you miss fairways this course could start to get into your head. But it's starting to seem a bit boring and redundant.
Holes 13-18: A lot of relocation work is being done here. But the repetitive nature of the tee shots has become mind numbing. "Let's see, a tight tunnel going uphill to a blind basket. Haven't I played this hole about 6 times today?" I was tired and hungry and I poached an apple from the orchard.
A long downhill walk after #17 lead to a bench but no tee sign or tee pad for #18. I explored a few of the intersecting trails and never did find the tee. Presumably from the bench you fling your disc straight down the hill and when you get to the creek turn right and you'll see the basket. Don't follow what looks like a fairway going off to the right as you near the bottom of the slope, you'll never even see the basket from that path.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing

1    7/29/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: jordanferg92
Played: 38  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1. Permanent brick tees
2. Signs include distance and par
3. Fairways are clear and open
4. Provides multiple opportunities to use every throw and disc you have
5. Most holes have benches
6. Wide variety of holes
Cons: 1. Some of the signs are missing
2. Trash can at tee 1 was overflowing
3. Navigation was difficult at times
Other Thoughts: This course was great. I don't really have one bad thing to say about it. I loved the tees. This course has a lot of foot traffic and it really helps keep the paths clear and the fairways clean. This course overall is my favorite. It is very well maintained, beautiful, and challenging.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Play it it's fun

2-4    3/14/2012   3/14/2012
Review By: dschley
Played: 29  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great layout good use of the elevation changes. Well defined fairways. Adequate signage. Good flow. Excellent tee pads and benches.
Cons: Inaccurate signage lengths being corrected I hear
Other Thoughts: The course is young and is getting better with age. Played once in longs and was very challenging yet not frustrating. Shorts was just plain fun and challenging enough.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    4/2/2014   10/10/2011
Review By: zubeala
Played: 51  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/3/2014
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Lots of variety. Stream along hole 1 and at the bottom of 18. Plenty of changes in elevation. Holes 2-4 all uphill and narrow. Fairly well marked. Most t pads are in decent condition. Hole number 11 in the spring when the apple blossems are in bloom, might be one of the most scenic holes in the US. Hole 18 is a downhill bomb. Basket hidden behind rock ledge at the bottom.
Cons: Holes 2-4 all uphill and narrow. Easy to lose discs in the summer, as this is not an easy course to keep mowed. We use spotters on lots of holes. Last 3 holes t pads are incomplete. Some fairways have low stumps that can do severe damage to your ankles if you are not paying attention. Hole 18 is so easy to lose a disc on because even a mid level player can throw 300ft. I would suggest spotters.
Other Thoughts: Keep in mind this is also a X-counrty running course so look out for people running on the course. Changed 16 and 17 last year. I liked the old 17 better.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Coming Along

1    7/9/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: CDAWG
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good long course. Great exercise. There is a little bit of a walk between each hole which was nice.

Great variety of shots with low canopies. Found myself throwing A LOT of sidearms so be sure to practice those before you head out.

AWESOME volunteer out weed-eating 18. This hole is very steep and we were impressed with his commitment.

Great brick tees on front nine.

Signage to next hole was a god-send! I would have hated to have not had the help.
Cons: Plenty of blind shots with no help from the tees.

Found myself consistently in the wrong spot. Not terrible throws, but from where I landed you could not approach the basket. Next time I'll know but it was frustrating for a while.
Other Thoughts: The place is coming along. Look for the tournament in September.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course, but navigational nightmare

1    6/4/2011   6/5/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Front 9 had brick tee pads
Good variety of shots, some elevation changes. Some shots feature a low canopy to add challenge.
Benches on nearly every tee pad
Discatchers in good shape
Bathrooms
Practice basket
Some nice views of the West Virginia hill side including a picturesque view of an apple orchard
Cons: Back 9 had uneven chunky gravel tee pads
Navigation is atrocious, every basket has multiple paths and no clue on which is the correct way to go. Playing this course was like playing the castles in Mario and trying to figure out the correct combination of paths to get to the next hole.
Tee signs only gave distance for short position, but all front 9 baskets were in tournament long position, no flight paths or indication of where the baskets were and all baskets were blind. I had to walk an extra 2 miles to figure out where the tees were and an extra mile to know where the blind baskets were, this was extremely frustrating and a waste of time.
Tournament longs were just double the length and surround the basket by thick trees, hard to be hard, not fun.
Hole 18's vegetation was overgrown and lead to increased chance of disc loss.
Hole 7 has a split with an open fairway on the right and a wall of trees on the left, and the basket is tucked way behind the trees. Without tee signs you would assume you should drive for the open fairway.
Other Thoughts: Course desperately needs accurate signage with flight paths and distances. Course needs numerous arrows to guide you to the next basket. This is a young course in a multi use park with tons of potential to be great. you can see that the course is a work in progress with work currently being done, but I rated the course based on condition the day I played it.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  sweet course in the making

1    3/26/2011   3/29/2011
Review By: discgolf247
Played: 24  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Loved this course. it challenges every part of your game from backhand, forehand, side arm, rollers, etc. it has striaght shots, up hill, down hill right and left. no 1 can complain it was built for righties or lefts. the setting is very nice and scenic. frist round about 2.5 to 3 hours. 2nd round about 2 hours
Cons: its still be built so im sure it will all be done but, need better signs to show where the next hole is. i didn't like the tee signs in front of the tee pads on some of the holes. not a design problem but alot of poison seen and off the fairway will be thick in the spring, so watch your plastic.
Other Thoughts: cant wait to go back and play again. its going to be a awsome course when its done.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great young course

1    9/6/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: MooseDrool
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety of elevation and open vs closed fairway. Vegetation isn't so thick you can't find your disc. Beautiful views from many of the holes. Only two really steep uphill holes.
Cons: Young course has not evolved yet and has some grass and gravel tees. Signs are very basic with no maps or descriptions. Most of the fairways are straight to the basket.
Other Thoughts: Tee 11 is one of the prettiest tees I've seen with a great view of the orchard and valley beyond. The tee itself gives a clue as to where the course is headed.
This is a fun course to play and has fantastic potential.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.