Martinsburg, WV 
Poor House Farm DGC Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #1 (Taken 3/2010)
4 / 368ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
West Virginia's most under rated coarse

5+    8/28/2015   9/6/2015
Review By: James McGirr
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
This review was updated on 9/11/2015
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: On any given hole there is at least 30 feet of uninpeded air space through out the fairway. The course has the appearance of being heavily treed.Through out the coarse Fairways were very fair off the tee
Cons: If you can throw a disc over 375 feet you could over power the coarse.If you go into the ruff alot of sticky things stick to you.
Other Thoughts: I really liked the coarse. It looks difficult at first. than you look closer. There are real fairways here even if your throw isn't totally on your intended line. Your throw ends up some were down by the basket. I really liked this course and have played alot of disc golf courses.It does require accurate throws but not total persision.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Po Boy Sandwich

1    5/2/2015   5/4/2015
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 134  Reviewed: 123  Exp: 9.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 technical holes playing through rugged wooded mountain terrain. 16 of the tees are nice pavers and holes 17 and 18 were natural tees. There are basic signs around the tees. Good mix of holes playing straight or gentle turns left or right with varying distances and elevation changes. There is some OB on the course to add to the challenge. Lots of fun short holes and hole 18 caps it off throwing a monster downhill shot. Benches at all the tees. Bathrooms by parking lot.
Cons: As a traveling player, navigation and signage are the biggest cons here. There are tee signs at the tees, but some are mounted and others are laying around. The rough can also be a menace. As I was searching for an errant disc on hole 4, a couple nice semi-local players helped in the search and found my lost disc, and I asked to join them since I hadn't played here and they were happy to show me around and they knew navigation is tricky here.

Only one big loop of 18 holes back to parking lot. Course might be a little rough for rank beginners and too tough to hike the elevation required for other people. Course is also a bit short in length for pro level players.
Other Thoughts: The Poor House Farm DGC is set in the mountain and woods behind the rustic farm house. You pass the pond and go over the bridge of the creek to get to hole 1. There was a wedding going on when I played here and the closest parking lot was closed, and I had to walk the long way around the farm house.

Hole 1 starts out with a nice flat 50-60' wide fairway although there are woods on both sides and a creek on the left that I found on the first drive of the day. Then Holes 2 and 3 play quite a bit uphill. Hole 4 was a nice little valley shot. Holes 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 and 11 alternate gentle turns and elevation changes. Holes 12, 13, 14, and 15 all play slightly uphill and varying degrees of straight to slightly RHBH hyzer lines. Holes 16 and 17 are different than the pictures, I forget which one was the short island hole over a valley, but I really liked that shot. There is a bit of a walk downhill to hole 18, then you have a steep downhill bomb and the basket was blind to the right at the bottom of the hill, protected by trees and large rock formations just before the basket and the creek 40' behind the basket. It feels weird to throw out above the trees instead of down the swath of trees that was cut out for the fairway, it's just that steep!

Overall Poor House Farm tastes like a Po Boy Sandwich, it's a fun solid little technical course for most players. It's not a course that would go too far out of the way to play, but if in the area bring a map or meet a local, stay in the fairway, and have a good ole time here.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not for the weak....

1    12/7/2014   12/8/2014
Review By: seanyboyhoward
Played: 25  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome entrance to course. If you are someone who likes elevation change this is a course for you. All variety of shots, ace runs, technical shots, up hill, down hill..etc. The course is a great hike, especially the first 4 holes. Use of property is pretty good, lots of fallen trees on holes which i enjoy. Teepads are in great shape as well as baskets.
Cons: As stated in other reviews the signage is poor. With the multiple trails and the course having a map at each hole would be very beneficial. The signs pointing to next hole, perhaps a different color than green they were hard to see.

Also I went when all the brush around the course was dead but I can see how in full foliage it would be terrible.
Garbage cans, just put a few out on the course. There were beer cans at certain points, just a few cans to keep it a little cleaner.
Other Thoughts: This was a fantastic course. I would recommend it to anyone in the area. I had a great time playing.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice Course, few tips to help

2-4    9/13/2014   9/15/2014
Review By: dougo
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads when they exist
well kept fairways(mowed where possible)
Nice shot variety
Risk Reward on some holes
Awesome views on certain holes
Great Park!
Cons: Signage here is only yardage and most of the time the baskets are farther than listed.
A few of the last holes need tee pads/signage leading to the next hole.
You can get lost pretty easily due to the lack of directional signage.
Other Thoughts: Overall I really like this course. With a little work it could be even better. My biggest gripe is the signage(or lack of) with mountain bike and CC trails intersecting everywhere it's very easy to go the wrong way. Also basket locations change so a hole layout on the sign would be awesome! Maybe a donation box could be placed to collect some money towards them?

Also, whoever trims the course back (thanks!) but when you trim a small tree please don't cut them at 2-4" high on an angle! Very dangerous and a big tripping hazard!

Advice- Wear boots and watch out for the stumps. Hole 12 is barely playable with a huge tree down in the middle.
Hole 17's tee pad (we guess) is on top of the hill looking down towards the fallen tree with the basket up on the knoll.
Hole 18- Tee pad is on the gravel. Disregard the sign on the tree. Throw down the hill towards the small clearing the basket is a sharp RT short of the creek bed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

1    12/27/2013   1/6/2014
Review By: Geremy
Played: 46  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Tee pads are very grippy and level
-Accuracy is generally always rewarded
-Great elevation changes on at least half of the holes
Cons: -A couple tee pads still need to be installed (as of this write up)
-The rough is thick, glad I played in the winter!
-Need to update tee signs
Other Thoughts: Very scenic course with lots of different types of shots. Keep up the great work fellas!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Oh my, another tree tunnel off the tee

1    9/14/2013   9/17/2013
Review By: HawaiiJack
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice work to get a course into unfavorable terrain. Being aggressive while maintaining accuracy off the tee will result in many birdie opportunities.
Cons: Inadequate signage. This park is honeycombed with trails and paths branch out in many directions from several baskets. Bringing a course map is a necessity. Holes have very little diversity.
Other Thoughts: There is a hike between many holes. I enjoyed it but I mention it for completeness for those who don't.
Holes 1-6: The course seemed fun and different as the tight tunnels off the tee into a variety of elevation changes lead to creative thinking about disc and shot selection.
Holes 7-12: The basic hole layout doesn't change much but the distance and difficulty go up a notch. If you miss fairways this course could start to get into your head. But it's starting to seem a bit boring and redundant.
Holes 13-18: A lot of relocation work is being done here. But the repetitive nature of the tee shots has become mind numbing. "Let's see, a tight tunnel going uphill to a blind basket. Haven't I played this hole about 6 times today?" I was tired and hungry and I poached an apple from the orchard.
A long downhill walk after #17 lead to a bench but no tee sign or tee pad for #18. I explored a few of the intersecting trails and never did find the tee. Presumably from the bench you fling your disc straight down the hill and when you get to the creek turn right and you'll see the basket. Don't follow what looks like a fairway going off to the right as you near the bottom of the slope, you'll never even see the basket from that path.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    7/29/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: jordanferg92
Played: 40  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1. Permanent brick tees
2. Signs include distance and par
3. Fairways are clear and open
4. Provides multiple opportunities to use every throw and disc you have
5. Most holes have benches
6. Wide variety of holes
Cons: 1. Some of the signs are missing
2. Trash can at tee 1 was overflowing
3. Navigation was difficult at times
Other Thoughts: This course was great. I don't really have one bad thing to say about it. I loved the tees. This course has a lot of foot traffic and it really helps keep the paths clear and the fairways clean. This course overall is my favorite. It is very well maintained, beautiful, and challenging.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Play it it's fun

2-4    3/14/2012   3/14/2012
Review By: dschley
Played: 29  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great layout good use of the elevation changes. Well defined fairways. Adequate signage. Good flow. Excellent tee pads and benches.
Cons: Inaccurate signage lengths being corrected I hear
Other Thoughts: The course is young and is getting better with age. Played once in longs and was very challenging yet not frustrating. Shorts was just plain fun and challenging enough.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

5+    4/2/2014   10/10/2011
Review By: zubeala
Played: 53  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/3/2014
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Lots of variety. Stream along hole 1 and at the bottom of 18. Plenty of changes in elevation. Holes 2-4 all uphill and narrow. Fairly well marked. Most t pads are in decent condition. Hole number 11 in the spring when the apple blossems are in bloom, might be one of the most scenic holes in the US. Hole 18 is a downhill bomb. Basket hidden behind rock ledge at the bottom.
Cons: Holes 2-4 all uphill and narrow. Easy to lose discs in the summer, as this is not an easy course to keep mowed. We use spotters on lots of holes. Last 3 holes t pads are incomplete. Some fairways have low stumps that can do severe damage to your ankles if you are not paying attention. Hole 18 is so easy to lose a disc on because even a mid level player can throw 300ft. I would suggest spotters.
Other Thoughts: Keep in mind this is also a X-counrty running course so look out for people running on the course. Changed 16 and 17 last year. I liked the old 17 better.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Coming Along

1    7/9/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: CDAWG
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good long course. Great exercise. There is a little bit of a walk between each hole which was nice.

Great variety of shots with low canopies. Found myself throwing A LOT of sidearms so be sure to practice those before you head out.

AWESOME volunteer out weed-eating 18. This hole is very steep and we were impressed with his commitment.

Great brick tees on front nine.

Signage to next hole was a god-send! I would have hated to have not had the help.
Cons: Plenty of blind shots with no help from the tees.

Found myself consistently in the wrong spot. Not terrible throws, but from where I landed you could not approach the basket. Next time I'll know but it was frustrating for a while.
Other Thoughts: The place is coming along. Look for the tournament in September.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.