Martinsburg, WV 
Poor House Farm DGC Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #9 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 257ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Pretty sweet

1    7/10/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: Mr Mojo Risin
Played: 18  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/1/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Played this course 2 weeks ago and I came away impressed. Tons of woods and elevation. The course offers a nice reward for staying on the fairway. Nice baskets and a very scenic area. The 18th hole might be the best hole on the course. A par 3 with a 100 foot elevation drop. So you have to make sure you don't over throw and end up in the woods.
Cons: The marjority of these holes, I think all of them are par 3's. You can see the basket from the tee off position on almost every hole. This isn't really a bad thing but most of the holes are under 300 feet in the 220-250 range. I cannot remember any hole that allowed you to really rip it open. I used my mid range on a lot of my drives.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun course but not overly challenging. A couple of safe throws and your putting, so very little reward for taking a risk. But still a fun course to play every now and then.


I just played this course again and I might redeuce the score. The tee's are pretty bad on this one. A few loose gravel ones or just grass. Hard to get a good footing.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    5/14/2010   5/15/2010
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nestled in the WV countryside, Poor House Farm is a great community park. The park and most of the course was well kept and nicely manicured. Ten minutes from the I-81 corridor, Poor House Farm is easy to get to. Despite its proximity to the interstate, the sounds of nature easily overtake the din of the traffic.

The baskets at Poor House were in immaculate condition. Additionally, the new looking tee signs were in great shape and were helpful in terms of displaying the hole number, distance, and par. What appeared to be newly-created and hung "Next Hole" signs were very helpful.

Elevation was taken into account when this course was designed and is a highlight of the course. Upshots and downshots were incorporated into several different holes with the 18th hole being a specific highlight. The hole incorporates a 60-100' elevation drop, requiring a low, precise throw or risk a severely punishing lie...an excellent example of the risk/reward aspect of disc golf.

The 10th hole was another gem. Emerging from the wooded fairway of the 9th hole, the tee for the 10th hole looks out across a wide expanse of rolling hills and a massive orchard. This is one of the most beautiful holes that I've ever played.

The course featured a nice distribution of right and left doglegs.

In addition to elevation variety, there were several different types of fairways from wide strips of grass to tightly wooded holes.
Cons: Poor House appears to be a work in progress. As such, some tees were gravel while others were natural and a few were muddy.

Tee signs weren't present on all the holes, but upon completion, this could easily be removed as a con. Similarly, while the "Next Hole" signs were helpful, additional signs would help to mitigate potential navigation issues.

While most of the fairways were kept in great shape, the amount of brush that borders several of the holes was excessively dense and could very easily lead to a lost disc (and did in my case...but that's how it goes).

Given the size of the park and the layout, some of the holes could use some additional length to help boost the challenge factor and increase fairway variety. Additionally, given the pond and other adjacent stream, adding some type of obstacles would have been a big plus.
Other Thoughts: Once the tee signs and tee pads are complete and if some of the underbrush was trimmed back, it would be very easy to bump this course to a 3.5.

Overall, the course was a fun play and the Martinsburg, WV residents can count themselves lucky that they have such a nice course in their area. I'd recommend Poor Hourse Farm to anyone traveling on I-81.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Vertically Variable

2-4    4/2/2010   4/3/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 347  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Great variety in which elevation is used - minor and major downhills and uphills, up-n-over rises, across valleys, and, of course, flat.

Part of a nice multi-purpose park, mostly away from other park users, other than those that mistake fairways for walking paths! :-) Smattering of benches and trash cans along course. Practice basket and plenty of space to loosen up.
Cons:
Single basket/single tee. Tees are short, and a mixture of natural and gravel, which makes for some slipping and sliding.
Other Thoughts:
The course initially plays steeply up, then zig-zags across, then finally comes zooming down a wooded hill. A couple holes under 200', a couple over 300', but most fall into the mid-200s range. Decent mixture of right/left/no-turning shots, with the right being a bit more sweeping, and the lefts being more subtle and near the basket.

Navigation: The first half is simple, with good tee signs, and more signs near baskets directing you to the next tee. Directional signage ends at #10, as does most of the tee signs - hopefully this will be remedied soon. Some tips: from basket #12, go left, following the orange surveyor tape to find tee #13. To find tee #14, continue straight when the obvious path turns hard right. To find tee #15, go downhill and right from #14's basket. Tee #18, I believe, is a little plateau to the left of the path, just where it turns hard right and downhill.

Hole #11 is nice as you have a sweeping view of an orchard to your left; Hole #12 is the only hole where you have a choice of flight paths; Hole #18 is an epic ending hole, seemingly straight downhill, needing to stay out of the woods to both the left and right.

Overall, a solid course, with some challenging but not overbearing throwing lanes. With Whispering Falls to the north, and Sherando/Signal View to the south, this stretch of I81 provides lots of quality disc golf opportunities.

Update 7/10/11: The first 12 holes now have brick teepads, 6x12. There is a new tee-5. so it has no sign (old tee and sign still available). Hole-18 has a new tee location. A couple of the holes (4, 7) were in different positions than I recall, so the distance information at the sign is incorrect.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Spend Some Time in the Poor House

1    3/19/2010   3/26/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of a multitude of excellent courses near RT 81. Splendid scenery on the drive to and in this park. Poort-o-Potty and plenty of parking. Course is to the rear of the multi-poorpose park so foot traffic is at a minimum. Practice basket and 2 planned tees per hole. 18 natural tees but since 17 of 18 play either alongside a steep hill or on top of this hill...the tees were not sloppy/muddy despite epic rainstorms the week prior.11 of the 18 holes meander along grassy 10-20 ft wide walking paths with dense woods to either side of the fairways. This makes for a pleasant woodsy but well manicured feel. Plenty of little uphills, downhills, right and left turning shots as well as a couple more traditional woods holes. Hole #1 is a dandy start that requires a long straight drive. From there you must traverse 2 steep uphill holes; 2 is a short hyzer and 3 is short turnover...both are essentially straight up. From there you play along grassy fairways through the woods. A few holes stand out in my mind. 4 was a nice tee off over a slight valley up to pin shot and 8 was a clever right turning downhill anny. 14 was a true uphill ace run. All of the holes were true par 3s....with possible birdie runs on many of them. Seems a good chance to birdie or bogey due to dense trees off the fairways....this kept things interesting. The poorsibility to birdie or bogey depending on execution defines a good course to me. When you walk out of the woods and get to the tee pad for #11 you will see one of the poortiest and most majestic sights. A spectacular view of an ever reaching mountain top orchard with not a road or hint of civilization anywhere. Just glorious...trust me. There are a couple of holes (12 & 13) dug in and out of the forrest to break up the grass pathway holes and then at hole 16 things get special. 16 is a floater down a steep hillside to a faster green. 17 is a skillful cross the mountainside shot with another fast green and finally 18 is the best hole on the course and perhaps one of the better finishers out there. It's a straight down the chute screamer (driver) or floater (putter) to a basket nestled on a small green below. The massive mountainside elevation drop and tight but fair fairway make this hole memorable and worth the trip. All the holes are relatively short but require a fair amount of skill to negotiate. Nothing is easy here yet every hole was fair.(no excessively punitive fairways) Not championship caliber golf but you won't get bored here either. It has the poortential to be a destination course.
Cons: Lacks a few things that would push it into the 4+ range. Essentially there are no tees or signs. (I noticed consistent next tee signs which were helpful though) Course lacks any true length. I played the course with mostly slower fairway drivers and approach discs. I could have probably done as well with my mid ranges only but wanted to practice driving in the woods. Outside of hole 12 I don't remember having to make many lane choices off the tee. Basically it was heres the fairway..execute. I like a little more cerebral element especially if it's a shorter course. Course is a work in progress so theres some deadfall and rough areas that don't affect play but are a bit unsightly to prima donna types. The grassy wooded fairways started to grow monotonous to me after hole 8...thankfully the view at 11 cheered me up.
Other Thoughts: This place has a ton of poortential. Seems a few of the holes will be changed to add some length...seemed to be that way to me at least as I saw some clearing being done here and there and there appears to be plenty of room to work with here. It's set to the rear of a rural park and has 5 holes on the hillside that are unique. It's scenic and definetely has enough to keep any DGer interested. Whats especially nice is the strong finish of holes 16-18. The course begins on the backside of the ponds. You will see a practice basket and to the left of it is the tee for #1 and to the right of the practice basket you will see the finshing green for #18. Essentially it's a big loop up the hill across the top and then back down. I would have loved some open field holes around the ponds but then I saw about 100 people fishing the ponds and having a blast....this is West Virginny after all....play it you won't regret it and be careful walking up and down dem dere hills!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 nice views but....

1    3/1/2010   3/26/2010
Review By: Taka
Played: 54  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Near interstate so it makes for a nice rest stop. Nice views. Good workout as there is quite a bit of elevation change. Nice variety of holes. Brand new Discatchers.
Cons: Weak tee pads. Very short. In fact, I only ended up using a driver on the first hole. Played the rest of the course with Rocs and a putter.
Other Thoughts: This course plays up and around, then down a pretty good sized hill. Good mix of shots needed to score well but this course is kind of easy and very short. No real driving holes where you would want to let it rip. Longest hole is probably about 280' or so (#1) and most less that 200'. However it is a fun course with good views and makes for a good pit stop if you are traveling on I-81.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Developing course

2-4    2/1/2010   2/3/2010
Review By: devious_imp
Played: 44  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: variety - you will have steep uphills, and downhill, long flat shots, right turning, left turning. Shots where you have to make choices, open shots, well guarded baskets...
gorgeous views of the orchards
Cons: As the other reviews mentioned the tees could use some work. The markers are a little tough to find, but more clearly defined tee areas would be helpful as well as signs.
All of the holes are in the woods. I may be a little biased as I love the wide open grip it and rip it holes, but you do play every hole with trees on both sides and often above as well. Even with that as the case, several of the holes are wide enough (in winter) to have plenty of room (hole 1 comes to mind) to let it go.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course in progress. I think it has the potential to be an all-star course. They made great use of the elevation and terrain they had. I love the way the holes follow the trails.
I played it for the first time in the dark and had a blast. Even though we couldn't see the baskets we could tell where the fairways were and could follow those to the holes. The second time I played there were 4 inches of snow on the ground which again made finding the tees a little tough.
Over all a great course to play and well done for only being around a few months. Can't wait to see it get more developed with signs and tees.
Also I noticed a lot of trees marked to be cut down... I think a few of them could go, but the numbers that were marked would be way too much.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Raw

2-4    12/18/2009   12/18/2009
Review By: DWill
Played: 226  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 36.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a lot of elevation changes, with a few severe up and downhill shots. Only a few holes don't have some kind of elevation. A fairly tightly wooded course, with clearly defined fairways. Separated from the rest of the park, so there should be very little non disc golf traffic. Nice new Discatchers, that are easy to find. Course navigation was fairly easy, even without a map. Small stakes in the ground defined tee boxes and next tee locations.

In a multiuse park with bathrooms, a small pond, and conveniently located only a few minutes off of I81.
Cons: Dirt tees were not clearly defined, especially holes 12 and 18. The stakes directing to next tees and marking the tee boxes were sort of small and not always easy to see. In the summer, the overgrowth will make finding these stakes much harder.

There are 3 or 4 holes with extreme elevation to negotiate. In rain or wet conditions, these will be very muddy and become treacherous, and possibly unplayable.
Other Thoughts: This course appears to still be a work in progress. There had to be a lot of work clearing fairways and paths.

It is not a long course at all. I think only a few holes I couldn't see the basket from the tee. Accuracy is at a premium. Playing in the winter, errant shots weren't too difficult to find your disc, but I think in the summer, losing a disc is a very good possibility. Also, in the summer, the holes will seem even tighter.

This course is also not the easiest to traverse. With some uphill climbs, you will definitely get a work out. Maybe too much for young kids.

With improved tees, a few more strategically located next tee signs, and multiple pins, this could easily become a great course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Poor House is sweet

1    12/12/2009   12/13/2009
Review By: Rusty
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 35.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation change with a good varity of holes. This course makes you use your imagination to solve the the difficult playing situations.
Cons: You play up a monster hill on holes 2 & 3 but you are rewarded when you get up top. No real break on the course because of the hill.
Other Thoughts: This course is definetly one I love. I live 1 mile from Sherando and don't play many other courses because I have a great course so close. This is worth the trip. Poor House Farm is the disc golfing experience you will love, it's got it all. Tight shots, big throws, rist/ reward you name it. You finish comming down that big hill on holes 16 & 18 with some great looks. Since the course is brand new there is still alot of cleaning needed but play will take care of that.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.