Garberville, CA 
Southern Humbolt Community Park Share
Uploaded By: mike shoys Hole #2
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Where's The Course?

1    8/16/2013   8/27/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 611  Exp: 36.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Seems like it might be a nice park for a course., nice combination of wide open spaces of wooded area. I walked by one friendly cow on the way in looking for course and I met two mountain bikers.

I looked and looked and found traces of a old course. There was a basket next to an old bandstand (?). And another basket under some trees about 200' from the bandstand. Teeing off the bandstand was pretty cool. I finally located what passed as a # 8 tee pad. And as I had totally given up and was walking by to my car, I spotted a basket way back up in the distance.
Cons: What I was able to locate:

One tee pad (# 8)
Three baskets
One old bandstand
Zero signs
One kiosk w/no information
One cow
Two Mountain bikers
Other Thoughts: If there's a course here, I sure as hell couldn't find it. No signs, nothing to help navigate. I'd drive pass this on and head on down the road.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Needs some TLC

1    1/3/2013   1/5/2013
Review By: WipJeezy
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Technical, fun shots.
Cons: lack of signage and missing baskets(?).
Other Thoughts: We definitely came at the right time of year, the grass was low and the blackberries were thin. Had a very hard time finding baskets and/or tone poles (perhaps a few are missing?). Once the holes were figured out, I loved the distance and technicality. Great course to have a tournament on if it had some TLC. SoHum's hidden jewel?

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 I Did Not Like This Course

1    11/27/2010   11/27/2010
Review By: puckdevil8
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's in the great wide outdoors of Humboldt County
Cons: EVERYTHING ELSE.
Other Thoughts: Maybe I went at the wrong time altogether. But there was no clear course...I only found 1 teebox and well...it just plain sucked. The best course I've played in Humboldt is on the Cal State Humboldt Campus in the Redwoods.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good times in G-ville

5+    10/9/2009   2/12/2010
Review By: humchris85
Played: 113  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 9.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -One of the best opening shots in disc golf, a big downhill bomb to a pin protected by a line of pear trees, with tasty pears in the right season.
-Many unique holes that I have never seen elsewhere.
-Wide variety of shots ranging from short to long, left to right to straight
-Elevation change present through a large amount of the course, uphills, downhills and sidehills.
-Beutifull Southern Humboldt scienery
-Good mixture of wooded to open holes
-Creek flowing through the course during much of the year, and comes into play on some holes
-River access in the same park.
-Usualy empty, but the locals are friendly and fun to play a round with
-Bunkers and hazards force you to think about your throws and throw accuratly on some holes
-Baskets on most holes, with a couple tonepoles spread around the courese
-Challenging!
Cons: -Poison oak prevelent
-Blackberries on course can be a terrible bunker to be in, but can be quite yummy in the right time of year.
-Tees are marked dirt pads, but are usualy well packed and solid
-A lack of sinage can make it very difficult to find your way around the first time or two. FIND A LOCAL FOR A GUIDE IF YOU PLAN ON TRYING TO PLAY HERE.
-Some holes get over grown in the spring and summer
Other Thoughts: This course one of the 2 beutiful courses that So-Hum players get to enjoy, Birds of Paridise being the beter course, but not as easly accessible. This course is definatly not ment as a beginers course, it will punish bad shots with blackberry scratches, poison oak, and if your realy off, lost discs. I've watched this course chew up lesser players, so if your looking for a course to play an easy relaxing round on, don't come here. For those of you wanting to get challenged, worked hard, beat up, and go home with some beutifull memories this might be the course for you.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/9/2009   1/9/2010
Review By: mike shoys
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/11/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-large variety of holes.
-number 1 is epic. my new favorite #1
-really good pears and blackberries on the course when they're ripe.
-all shots called for. the variety in terrain was used perfectly. lots of land dedicated to this course. woods, fields, and mixed. the progression is awesome. you start out in the open and slowly make your way into the woods, then back out.
-friendly locals on the rare occasion you see someone else there.
-18 is similar to 1. plays to the same basket from the other end of the hillside. this is a pro.
-nice baskets. The only tone pole i recall was on #2... and a wooden post around 13-15
-accessible, but still a hidden gem.
-many many unique holes: 1 and 18 as previously mentioned, 4 tees off from on top of a concert stage in the woods, 8 is short, but the fairway does a 180 (see pic), 3 and 9 (i think) and 15 seem like impossible birdies, 7 has 2 routes to the basket, both of which are difficult. it was designed very creatively.
Cons:
-lots of poison oak.
-lots of blackberries
-grass renders the field holes unplayable (or very motivated) in the summer. head high and pretty thick. allergen rich as well.
-dirt tees, but nicely packed.
-no signage, so like most humboldtian courses a guide is just about needed.
Other Thoughts:
-pretty difficult course. if you miss the fairway you often end up in the blackberries, or in a creek, or both
-this course isn't as tiring as stafford but it will tax you. its Area 74ish.
-my favorite courses are less crowded and more rugged, a nature getaway and a challenge. that said, you will find this course in my favorites. glad to finally see it on this site.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.