Crystal Springs, MS 
Chautauqua Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #14 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 164ft.   3 / 215ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Pro Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Wow!

1    5/24/2016   5/24/2016
Review By: Tybythecoast
Played: 141  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 18.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: SO MANY SHOTS! Length, elevation changes, lefty, righty, straight, just wonderful. The whole course was a joy.
Cons: If you play the Pro tees, especially the hard to find ones like 17/18 (still not sure which hole it actually was) you better be PRO. I shot a 59 and felt VERY good about it. No way a 59 isn't over a 1000 rating from the Pro tees. Course was super confusing since I didn't have a guide. Eager for an updated map and tees.
Other Thoughts: It just doesn't matter that I struggled to find tees and baskets, the course was amazing. It looked like a completely different course from the shorts. Looked exponentially easier on some holes. If you play the Pro tees, there are some epic holes that were a delight to play. One of my favorite courses!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Extremely Frustated

1    2/27/2016   2/29/2016
Review By: golfmaniac89
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is laid out across a lot of hills, with shots requiring you to aim uphill, downhill, and across hills. I had to go from overstable to understable to stable and everything in between. I didn't find myself using the same disc for multiple tee shots in a row.
Cons: --Course flow is a HUGE problem. First off, I understand that the course has underwent a major redesign, but the baskets need to be relabelled as such. The first three holes were just fine, but when my friend and I got to hole 4, the problems started. There were two potential baskets to aim at. I was playing the long tees, and he was playing the short tees, and the short tee aimed at one basket, and the long tee aimed another way.

--Going from 6 to 7 can be a nightmare. The arrows were helpful up to a point, but it still awkward to go 6-7-8-9.

--There needs to be an arrow to point to the tee box for Hole 10. It took us a minute to find the tee box.

--The flow of course towards the end (13-19) was near impossible to follow,
Other Thoughts: I had been looking forward to playing this course for a very long time, and I was very disappointed. Please, get the numbers right on the baskets. Get some signs for the long pads (I'm a very solid advanced player.) Put some time into helping someone who comes as a first time player to be able to get around the course with little to no issue whatsoever.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Frustrating

1    12/21/2015   12/21/2015
Review By: Joshwest
Played: 33  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very nice area, good baskets and tee pads. Good looking tee signs and pretty good signage between holes to the next tee.
Cons: I'll start this by preferencing that it was rainy when I played, so I may be less harsh if I didn't just go up and down hills covered in wet leaves. The most obvious flaw is the numbers on the baskets. Almost all of them have the wrong number on the baskets, and that's infuriating. Some places it's obvious which hole, but others, not so much, so you're clueless as to which to go to. There is a map box at the 1st tee, but not surprisingly it was empty. But the biggest disappointment was the horrible use of the elevation. There was so much opportunity to make the course challenging and unique. But almost all the holes have no elevation change at the basket and tee, but has a massive valley in between. There are 2 holes that have a major drop from tee to basket and one that goes up. That's rather sad compared to all the reviews saying it has a lot of elevation change. And the course was not difficult at all. I shoot roughly even par on normal courses. But I shot 3 down, in the rain and slipping on the wet ground all day, and being really frustrated from the confusing holes.
Other Thoughts: Please fix the baskets.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/1/2013   12/6/2013
Review By: Qikly
Played: 88  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 3.9 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Chautauqua Park DGC has a nice variety of terrain, with downhill shots (1, 15), lots of rolling hills (4, 5, 11), and tight wooded holes (12, 14, 16) in addition to some more straight-forward fare. Pin placement is particularly well done, challenging you with a risk of rollaways (5), drop-offs (13), and water hazards (1 & 2). I had to break out my ultra floppy, hit-and-stick Soft Vibram putter more during this round than I've ever had to before. Being made to sweat my approaches even more than usual is a good thing from a course design perspective, even if it doesn't help my score or my blood pressure.

The elevation here bears special mention. It's very pervasive, and can be fairly extreme, especially in the rapidity with which it shifts. Holes such as 9 (from the pro tee) and 13 have you throwing blind shots over prominent mounds in a way I've never quite seen before, which I appreciate. Elsewhere you're throwing straight ahead over a drastic dip that can add a few strokes in a hurry if you hit an obstacle (11, 12), stray from the fairway (14), or fall victim to a rollaway (3). I found the elevation to be the most distinctive aspect of the course.

Although their distances aren't currently listed on DGCR, the vast majority of holes feature pro tees that often add a good challenge to the hole or provide a completely different look. The concrete tees that are put in are, for the most part, very nice.

Course is easy to find and right off the highway, which I always appreciate.

Favorite holes: 5 (plays across a rolling fairway dotted with trees and the pin perched on a fairly steep hill; one of the most complete holes on the course) and 15 (nice downhill shot in the woods that starts out tight and opens up, with a creek guarding the pin).
Cons: I would have liked to have seen more complete holes on this course, especially given the rich possibilities of its hilly, wooded terrain. Many of the holes allow a single shot to make or break your play though. Although smart pin placements regularly challenge your approaches, these usually come in the form of wary layups. I was left wishing for some true par 4s, which, again, seem very possible on such a sprawling, obstacle-laden course. As it stands, an opportunity for some real high level golf seems a bit unseized.

Additionally, 5 or 6 holes linger near or cross into the realm of being throwaways, due to wide open fairways or straight forward lines. All but the best courses have a few such holes, of course, but they seemed a bit more prevalent at Chautauqua.

Perhaps this is partly because the wow factor is a bit lacking. In a setting this beautiful, on a course where space restrictions are seemingly nonexistent, there seemed to be the potential to create some memorable moments both visually and technically. As it stands, I recall a few shots fondly (such as the blind downhill drives on 13 and 15 and the movement across hole 5), but much of the course recedes into a general "good-but-not-great" milieu.

As others have mentioned, navigation can be dicey at times. This is due in equal parts to confusing/missing-where-needed signage, odd course flow, and tee and pin numbering not matching up. Renumbering/redesign seems at least partly to blame. I was fortunate enough to play with a local, but can imagine I would have had a hard time finding my way around without him. If you're playing without anyone with prior experience, bring a map, and still be prepared for a few confusing moments.

Concrete tees became less common on the final 1/3 of the course. The natural tees were often rough, but playable.

The vast majority of holes only have one pin position.
Other Thoughts: Chautauqua is a solid course that I enjoyed playing. I did however come away feeling that its present 4.0+ rating isn't quite representative. I view such courses as being destination-caliber, or at the very least the kind of places that lodge themselves into your head well past your round, and unfortunately Chautauqua didn't quite meet these expectations for me. Is it worth visiting? Absolutely - it makes for a fun round. But I wouldn't call it a must-play.

Thanks to Travis ("WSP420") for being a willing and knowledgeable host and all-around cool guy during my visit.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 New Layout?

5+    5/24/2013   4/24/2013
Review By: WSP420
Played: 51  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 14 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2014
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Multiple tees
-Challenging and fun
-Very nice park & well maintained
-Well shaded, even on some of the more open holes
-Just enough water and O.B. to keep you on your toes
Cons: -They just rearranged this course. Some pins still have the old hole numbers on them & the signage is still up from the old layout... it can get a bit confusing.
-Although there are benches and trash cans, few are located on the holes themselves.
Other Thoughts: Be sure to take a RIGHT after Hole #6, The sign at the basket points to the left. Hole #12 is LEFT, Hole #7 is RIGHT.

I could stay out there all day, very nice park.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Truly a Hidden Gem

1    6/30/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: MiketheGoalie
Played: 52  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is laid out in a city park maintained by the City of Crystal Springs. The course is in great shape and makes excellent use of the available land and the existing nature trails. One thing this course has in abundance is elevation. Uphill shots, downhill shots, and ravine shots are in play on all but a couple of holes. Even the open "bomb" holes have an up-&-down walk involved to get from the tee to the pin. You will get a workout for both your arm and your legs on this course.

Throw variety on this 19-hole course is also one of its strengths. Backhand, forehand, uphill, downhill, overhead, s-curves, hard hooks, hyzer bombs, tight controlled approaches, risk vs. reward putts, and grip-and-rips were all necessary during our round (from the am tees) and not just for get out of trouble shots. Multiple lines on most holes and several good birdie opportunities are present for well-executed shots.

The existing stone walls and walking paths are a nice feature of the park and are welcome on the few holes that utilize them for navigation. The park features several nature trails, pavilions of varying size and location, a nice modern playground, the aforementioned community center, and a picturesque lake. The vast majority of the tees (am and pro) are concrete and the baskets are in spectacular shape. The fairways are well cut and beaten in and the majority of the underbrush is manageable and it's easy to locate a wayward drive without getting too deep in the shule. Plenty of tunnel shots on this one and both righty and lefty shots are favored/penalized throughout the course. Extremely well balanced but still very fun course. The hanging basket hole sneaks up on you and is very well done!

The difference between the am and pro tees on some holes was drastic. I'm thinking specifically of 17 as a good example. The am tee punches right out of the edge of the woods and has a slight left turn as the flightline follows the parallel road. The pro tee however nearly doubles the length of the hole and you have to throw over a 15-20 foot embankment to get anything close to the same flightline.

Some benches are distributed throughout the course and three or four pavilions are just off the travel path between holes. The community center near the beginning of the course has maps and a small selection of (mostly) Innova discs. They have air conditioning too!
Cons: Signage, Signage, and Signage. Navigation signage is a must. We were able to find out way using some temporary signage that had been erected for a recent doubles tourney. We got to the park early enough that the community center building near hole 1 wasn't open yet so we didn't have the ability to get a map (It has been uploaded to this site now). Also the mailbox adjacent to hole 1 didn't contain any maps as mentioned in previous reviews. Still, we did OK with navigation but I can imagine that first-timers will struggle without the map or similar signage as the flow isn't intuitive at a few locations and the course kind of winds around and through itself. Also the first three holes and the last two holes are located in a somewhat separate area of the park. The tee signs are Sharpie marks on little wood blocks set into the ground with some rebar. Not exactly easy to find if you're hunting for the next tee or even the difference between the am and pro boxes.

The lake is only really in play on the first two holes and then you're into the elevation portion of the course with a couple of small, winding creeks. They're of the size that you can easily stride across.

A couple of boxes are of the natural, root-filled, and sandy variety. Not an issue as the run-up isn't exactly integral on those holes, but since the vast majority of the am and pro tees are nice long and wide concrete tees it is noticeable on the handful that aren't. Speaking of traction, be careful traversing some of the slopes (up and down) as this is a pine forest and the floor is covered in needles and dead leaves that add an element of treachery to your descents and ascents. Any recent heavy rains could cause issues in spots as well as muddy treks would become part of the experience.
Other Thoughts: This course was flat-out fun! Plenty of mature growth woods and isolated trees make for playing a variety of holes and the elevation component of this course is extremely unique for Mississippi. My brother commented that it was like hiking the AP while playing disc golf! I highly recommend wearing good, sturdy shoes, packing plenty of water (and maybe a snack), think about bringing a walking stick, and allow plenty of time to enjoy the course.

I would play this course again in a heartbeat. I know I listed a few cons above, but they are fairly minor in my experience and the terrain is both potentially problematic (slippery when wet, etc.) and also an integral part of this course's character and challenge level. But at the end of the day, I loved this course and hope to get a chance to play it again.

Note: Never found the mythical 20th hole and the course map (that we picked up in the community center building after our round) only indicates 19.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 chautauqua rocks!

1    2/11/2012   2/18/2012
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 236  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2013
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -amazing park property: has elevation galore, a lake, creeks, thick woods, open fields, ravines
-combination of woods, elevation, and punishing rough make this course very challenging
-ELEVATION!! up, down, across ravines, downhill tunnels
-great variety in distance, from 160' to over 600'
-discatchers in great condition
-some concrete tees, most dirt tees are even
-pro pads on many but not all holes
-some great, well-protected pin placements
-hanging basket on hole 13, fun touch
-elevation makes for many tricky, hillside greens
-course maps at the park office, you will need it!
Cons: -navigation is tricky in several spots. there are some temporary signs from a previous tournament that help a lot but it is still easy to get lost in a few spots.

-not all tees are concrete and a few of the dirt ones are uneven, particularly hole 9 (not so bad since it is one of the shortest holes).

-safety issues on some of the hills: there are paths but they may not be anywhere near where your disc landed. some of the ravine holes could have posts and/or ropes on the steep hillsides so that you can access your disc. holes 7 & 8 especially.

-possible safety issues on some holes that are very close together or close to walking paths

-very physically challenging terrain. some people will have a hard time here.

-only 19 holes? i couldn't find hole 20, i think it was temporary or has been pulled.
Other Thoughts: This is one epic course in a nice, large park. The golf here is challenging and the terrain is extreme in many parts. There are many ravines and large hills that the course plays over plus lots of rolling hills. Most of the course ranges from semi-wooded to a few very wooded fairways, putting a premium on accuracy, but there are also several open and long-bomb shots as well. The distances listed here are for the short tees so the pro pads play a bit longer. On the wooded holes most of the fairways are quite fair, you just need to stay on the fairway to avoid the punishing rough.

As many reviewers have noted, the course feels unfinished. Many but not all holes have concrete tee pads and many also have pro pads. Most pro pads add distance but a few change the tee shot also. This place will really shine once there is adequate signage and a course map at the start. I didn't mind the dirt pads and spartan finish (the quality of golf speaks for itself) but it would really kick this place up a notch to have all the usual amenities.

I didn't look around to see if there were bathrooms and water fountains but there is a building right by the parking lot so it is likely. The course is easy to access from the highway and seems like it would not be crowded often.

If you love challenging golf in a beautiful natural setting, this is the course to play near Jackson. There are many birdie opportunities but also many difficult holes that could easily blow up your score. Definitely a destination course if you are traveling near or through the area. I will definitely play again the next time I am nearby.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Pimp Course!!!

1    9/14/2011   9/14/2011
Review By: robasse
Played: 98  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course layout and super workout! The mix of elevation changes and pin location are wonderful! I enjoyed all aspects of the course even though I played it in a big hurry. Got a heck of a workout
Cons: The only problem that I had with this course was signage. Luckliy I played it soon after the Southern Nationals Dubs Championship so there was still descent signage. If the good signage could be installed and concrete pads on every hole, the course would be spectacular!!!
Other Thoughts: This course is not designed for out of shape or overweight people. If you are not in shape and you wanna play this course, you better be accurate off the tee.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Unique and Great

1    9/2/2011   9/3/2011
Review By: lxdawg25
Played: 32  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 12 Years
This review was updated on 10/24/2011
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What a wonderfully unique course! This course felt like something I have never seen before. I really can not say enough good things about the design of this course. Bring your A game as all possible shot types will be used. The people around the course were also great. We were the only disc golfers out at the time but the grounds crew talked to use as did other folks out on the course, just chatting and asking about the sport.
Starting out with a great risk reward downhill shot, just be careful not to overdrive as the lake is right at the bottom. The first three holes play around the water of the lake and make shot selection important. As you move on to the fields you'll find that elevation plays a massive role in the design and difficulty of the course. Downhill, Uphill, Valleys, and a stream make this course an amazing use of topography in course design. Errant shots here are severely punished as you can end up sitting at the lowest part of the valley.
While I play any course for the first time I really try to pick out my favorite hole. It was impossible at Chautauqua due to the number of unique and interesting shots.
#8: I think the sign next to the tee box says it all. "Path for those who throw successful shots." Well I aced it, that's right my first ace. I got to use path. My wife, however, had to walk down the side of the large hill down into the valley and back up the other side. A large valley separates the tee from the basket leaving any short shots severely punished.

#9: I can only assume that the basket was put in place and than the area all around it eroded. If it did not happen that way I really don't know how they poured the cement for the basket where they did. Your drive goes blindly over a rolling hill and any putt that misses the basket will be punished. You'll be putting from 15 under the basket. Really love the design and the placement of the basket.

#11: Look down. No seriously that's the basket way down there. All the way down at the bottom of the hill. Just put you disc out there and watch it float to the basket, right on the other side of a small stream. Be ready for twelve as you have to go back up.

I can honestly say I wish this course was closer to my house, I would be there all the time. I loved this course.
Cons: As others said this course is still unfinished. Tee box forms are at some of the holes, with no tee box. Signs are just paper on sticks, or little chunks of wood. I would love to figure out how distances were measured, as they almost always seemed off by 100' or so. There is a distinct lack of amenities for the disc golf course, the park in general is well appointed, just out in the middle of the course you are on your own.
The other big problem is the distance between holes sometimes can be annoying. There are paper signs directing you so it was not always the hardest navigating, but the distance was annoying and possibly treacherous. Some of the wooded paths had cobbled steps and such, but sometimes you were going up and down relatively steep inclines with the choice of loose leafs, or loose gravel, one time it was loose sand. I'm just glad it was dry, I could see large injuries if it was wet out.

I did not know this course had 20 holes and only played 19. It is advisable as you walk the course to pay attention to basket numbers and tee signs to help you navigate as you go along.
Other Thoughts: It was said a lot during our round and I think it bears repeating here. This course is brutal. If you aren't used to the up and down and the trees it'll punish you. And I love this course! Just know what you are getting into and come prepared. Good shoes are a must. If you have accuracy issues get ready to spill some blood in a sticker bush. There are negatives associated with this course they are just severely out weighed by the positives. If you want a prim and proper polished course go up to Jackson and play The Rez. It'll be fun and entertaining, and the course will be comfortable. If you want to feel that primal joy of disc golf Chautaugua is the way to go.

I would love to see the finishing touches added to this course. A hands down 5 with that.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of fun, almost there

1    12/22/2010   2/10/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a very cool park with a huge variety in foliage and terrain. It starts out with a steep downhill with a dropoff to the lake, then a really risky shot along the edge of the lake to a risky green. From there it goes through a mix of park like areas with scattered trees and thicker woods. Most holes use elevation in some way, and there's a fun mix of uphills, downhills, and shots across valleys or using side hills to mix things up.

The design does a really nice job of mixing up the lines you've got to hit to score well. I really felt like I used most of the discs and shots in my arsenal here, and that makes for a really fun round. The park is pretty, with nice views of the lake, some manicured areas, and some secluded spots in the woods where you really get away from any other park uses. The wooded holes also bring in a little more punishment for errant shots and some nice creek hazards.

The baskets are in really nice shape overall, and catch well. The signage is really basic right now, but nearly all transitions between holes were marked where necessary and the tees are at least numbered.
Cons: The course still feels new and a little unfinished. The tees and signage especially are not quite there yet. There are no markings for distance or hole layout, so you have to scout a lot of holes to know where to throw. A few of the next tee markers were missing or moved, so we had to do some wandering at times, hopefully more permanent versions will go in with the other course signage. The tees are natural and uneven at the moment, and could get rutted out really quickly.

The water holes were really cool, I would have liked to see more holes bringing the lake into play. A couple holes felt like filler holes, and hole 20 doesn't really feel like a hole at all, especially playing so close to the road and parking lot. The end of the course gets a little cramped and overlapping, and there could be some safety issues. Some of the hillier areas in the woods have steep paths that could be erosion areas later on.
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun course with all kinds of different holes. Beginners would probably find this course pretty tough and punishing, and if they're not ready for a real hike it could be a bit much. Experienced players will find lots of challenges here, and a great mix of hole types and shapes to keep you guessing. A little work finishing this course up and it could be a really awesome place to play.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.