Crystal Springs, MS
Chautauqua Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: WSP420 Hole #6 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 182ft.   3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Pro Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
chautauqua rocks!

1    2/11/2012   2/18/2012
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 179  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2013
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -amazing park property: has elevation galore, a lake, creeks, thick woods, open fields, ravines
-combination of woods, elevation, and punishing rough make this course very challenging
-ELEVATION!! up, down, across ravines, downhill tunnels
-great variety in distance, from 160' to over 600'
-discatchers in great condition
-some concrete tees, most dirt tees are even
-pro pads on many but not all holes
-some great, well-protected pin placements
-hanging basket on hole 13, fun touch
-elevation makes for many tricky, hillside greens
-course maps at the park office, you will need it!
Cons: -navigation is tricky in several spots. there are some temporary signs from a previous tournament that help a lot but it is still easy to get lost in a few spots.

-not all tees are concrete and a few of the dirt ones are uneven, particularly hole 9 (not so bad since it is one of the shortest holes).

-safety issues on some of the hills: there are paths but they may not be anywhere near where your disc landed. some of the ravine holes could have posts and/or ropes on the steep hillsides so that you can access your disc. holes 7 & 8 especially.

-possible safety issues on some holes that are very close together or close to walking paths

-very physically challenging terrain. some people will have a hard time here.

-only 19 holes? i couldn't find hole 20, i think it was temporary or has been pulled.
Other Thoughts: This is one epic course in a nice, large park. The golf here is challenging and the terrain is extreme in many parts. There are many ravines and large hills that the course plays over plus lots of rolling hills. Most of the course ranges from semi-wooded to a few very wooded fairways, putting a premium on accuracy, but there are also several open and long-bomb shots as well. The distances listed here are for the short tees so the pro pads play a bit longer. On the wooded holes most of the fairways are quite fair, you just need to stay on the fairway to avoid the punishing rough.

As many reviewers have noted, the course feels unfinished. Many but not all holes have concrete tee pads and many also have pro pads. Most pro pads add distance but a few change the tee shot also. This place will really shine once there is adequate signage and a course map at the start. I didn't mind the dirt pads and spartan finish (the quality of golf speaks for itself) but it would really kick this place up a notch to have all the usual amenities.

I didn't look around to see if there were bathrooms and water fountains but there is a building right by the parking lot so it is likely. The course is easy to access from the highway and seems like it would not be crowded often.

If you love challenging golf in a beautiful natural setting, this is the course to play near Jackson. There are many birdie opportunities but also many difficult holes that could easily blow up your score. Definitely a destination course if you are traveling near or through the area. I will definitely play again the next time I am nearby.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Pimp Course!!!

1    9/14/2011   9/14/2011
Review By: robasse
Played: 83  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course layout and super workout! The mix of elevation changes and pin location are wonderful! I enjoyed all aspects of the course even though I played it in a big hurry. Got a heck of a workout
Cons: The only problem that I had with this course was signage. Luckliy I played it soon after the Southern Nationals Dubs Championship so there was still descent signage. If the good signage could be installed and concrete pads on every hole, the course would be spectacular!!!
Other Thoughts: This course is not designed for out of shape or overweight people. If you are not in shape and you wanna play this course, you better be accurate off the tee.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of fun, almost there

1    12/22/2010   2/10/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a very cool park with a huge variety in foliage and terrain. It starts out with a steep downhill with a dropoff to the lake, then a really risky shot along the edge of the lake to a risky green. From there it goes through a mix of park like areas with scattered trees and thicker woods. Most holes use elevation in some way, and there's a fun mix of uphills, downhills, and shots across valleys or using side hills to mix things up.

The design does a really nice job of mixing up the lines you've got to hit to score well. I really felt like I used most of the discs and shots in my arsenal here, and that makes for a really fun round. The park is pretty, with nice views of the lake, some manicured areas, and some secluded spots in the woods where you really get away from any other park uses. The wooded holes also bring in a little more punishment for errant shots and some nice creek hazards.

The baskets are in really nice shape overall, and catch well. The signage is really basic right now, but nearly all transitions between holes were marked where necessary and the tees are at least numbered.
Cons: The course still feels new and a little unfinished. The tees and signage especially are not quite there yet. There are no markings for distance or hole layout, so you have to scout a lot of holes to know where to throw. A few of the next tee markers were missing or moved, so we had to do some wandering at times, hopefully more permanent versions will go in with the other course signage. The tees are natural and uneven at the moment, and could get rutted out really quickly.

The water holes were really cool, I would have liked to see more holes bringing the lake into play. A couple holes felt like filler holes, and hole 20 doesn't really feel like a hole at all, especially playing so close to the road and parking lot. The end of the course gets a little cramped and overlapping, and there could be some safety issues. Some of the hillier areas in the woods have steep paths that could be erosion areas later on.
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun course with all kinds of different holes. Beginners would probably find this course pretty tough and punishing, and if they're not ready for a real hike it could be a bit much. Experienced players will find lots of challenges here, and a great mix of hole types and shapes to keep you guessing. A little work finishing this course up and it could be a really awesome place to play.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 HILLS!! and WOODS!!

1    2/17/2010   2/18/2010
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 55  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Map and scorecard in mailbox by 1st tee. Plenty of elevation and trees create some scenic shots and surroundings along with a few ace runs for pros and 1 or 2 for us rec players. Oh and the ace runs are not super short and open. Water in play on hole 1 and 2. Don't over throw 1 or your disc will be swimming with the fishes or across the water with no way to retrieve it except to jump in or walk up to the road and try to go down this steep embankment. A creek in play on a couple of holes also. Some pucker up pin placements which of course if missed can change your score by a couple of strokes. Some are next to a stream or just by a steep drop off. Next hole signs help to navigate a brand new course. Several annys and some hyzers too along with some straight shots add variety because there are some off each that are fair and some really tight. Some up hill and some downhill and my favorite across the valley to the opposite hill. Just a good selection of hole types. A couple of risk reward shots/options. This course is heavily wooded in my opinion and a majority of it plays like and has the feel of a state park course more so than a city park. Just more secluded feeling except for a few of the front 9. We ran into the fine people that work there. They are working hard to get this course tournament/1st timer ready. Even though it is Heavily wooded it still has a couple of grip it shots, but you are still in the woods for the most part. This is the most hilly course that I have played so far, a real workout. Wildlife is always a plus for me and this time it was ducks, about a gaggle of them. They calmly walked next to us about 5 feet away like they are used to humans.(court house squirrels) For a rec player like me this course is challenging but not super hard. If I could have stayed away from the trees I would have had a few more pars. I look forward to coming back when the signs and concrete T-pads are in. For the pads she said soon. I asked "Within 2 months?" and she said yes. I didn't ask about T signs, sorry. The only reason I gave it a 4 is that I am pretending like it has new signage and concrete pads as it is supposed to within 60 days. Without both of these aspects, I would give it 3 1/2 instead of 4.
Cons: Temp cons. Natural uneven pads. No T signs. Have to spot many baskets.

Regular cons. Need a spotter in the winter because of the leaves which is expected on a wooded course in the winter. Muddy in a couple of parts. We have had snow and rain and little sun in this part of the country lately so this might not be a regular problem. I need to play it again when it is finished before I list anymore cons.
Other Thoughts: Overall I suggest wait a couple of months and give it a try. With new signage and concrete pads this in my opinion is a solid 4 disc course. A hilly and wooded jewel.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/12/2010   2/18/2010
Review By: noahat
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: massive elevations changes
variety of shots required
beautiful scenery
good baskets
easy to find your way around due to great markings
Cons: dirt tees
some fairways are close together. I threw down another fairway on purpose on one hole b/c it seemed like the best path. If the layout stays the same, there should probably be a couple of mandos put in place to keep players from playing different fairways.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a great course and a fantastic addition to the area. The tee pads are dirt, but contain helpful markers that define the pad with a simple drawing of the hole design, which is surprisingly helpful. The other marker will have the hole distance. I think this is instantly one of the top courses in the state, with plenty of room for improvement. I think with some modifications, it could be the best.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Sunday Doubles

1    1/31/2010   1/31/2010
Review By: manglin
Played: 30  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/18/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Elevation change is remarkable.
-Shot type variety.
-Hole length variety.
-Extremely beautiful park and surrounding area.
-Brand new baskets.
-Variety of open holes vs. very wooded.
-Simple yet helpful hole markings and directions to the next tee after the previous basket.
Cons: -Tees. They are all natural now. Some are uneven, downhill, and uphill.
-Course could get backed up during heavy traffic on some holes due to fairways closely bordering each other.
-No benches or trash cans.
Other Thoughts: I got to witness this diamond in the rough during the JUDGES Sunday double round. It has water come into play on holes 1 and 2. After that you're pretty clear on big water (some creeks are the latter holes though). The park is very scenic, and has some other walking trails through out the woods. I would classify the course as moderate-to-heavily wooded. There are some open holes, but not many. In winter, this course is pretty "thick". I'll be interested to see how it's maintained during the spring/summer. I highly recommend this course to anyone in the area, and it's worth a drive too. It reminds me of Tombigbee in many ways, it has some characteristics of Bud Hill and Meeman-Shelby.

I have a pull cart that I use sometimes, and this course would not accommodate it all. With the elevation changes as they are, it makes you want to pack your bag much lighter next time.

I would say the course favors a LHBH shot, but there's still some RHBH lines if you look for them. And there's a fair amount of holes that favor a RHBH shot too.

I saw signs for restrooms, but I did not get a chance to check them out.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.