Crystal Springs, MS 
Chautauqua Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: WSP420 Hole #6 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 182ft.   3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Pro Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

1    12/1/2013   12/6/2013
Review By: Qikly
Played: 71  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 2.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Chautauqua Park DGC has a nice variety of terrain, with downhill shots (1, 15), lots of rolling hills (4, 5, 11), and tight wooded holes (12, 14, 16) in addition to some more straight-forward fare. Pin placement is particularly well done, challenging you with a risk of rollaways (5), drop-offs (13), and water hazards (1 & 2). I had to break out my ultra floppy, hit-and-stick Soft Vibram putter more during this round than I've ever had to before. Being made to sweat my approaches even more than usual is a good thing from a course design perspective, even if it doesn't help my score or my blood pressure.

The elevation here bears special mention. It's very pervasive, and can be fairly extreme, especially in the rapidity with which it shifts. Holes such as 9 (from the pro tee) and 13 have you throwing blind shots over prominent mounds in a way I've never quite seen before, which I appreciate. Elsewhere you're throwing straight ahead over a drastic dip that can add a few strokes in a hurry if you hit an obstacle (11, 12), stray from the fairway (14), or fall victim to a rollaway (3). I found the elevation to be the most distinctive aspect of the course.

Although their distances aren't currently listed on DGCR, the vast majority of holes feature pro tees that often add a good challenge to the hole or provide a completely different look. The concrete tees that are put in are, for the most part, very nice.

Course is easy to find and right off the highway, which I always appreciate.

Favorite holes: 5 (plays across a rolling fairway dotted with trees and the pin perched on a fairly steep hill; one of the most complete holes on the course) and 15 (nice downhill shot in the woods that starts out tight and opens up, with a creek guarding the pin).
Cons: I would have liked to have seen more complete holes on this course, especially given the rich possibilities of its hilly, wooded terrain. Many of the holes allow a single shot to make or break your play though. Although smart pin placements regularly challenge your approaches, these usually come in the form of wary layups. I was left wishing for some true par 4s, which, again, seem very possible on such a sprawling, obstacle-laden course. As it stands, an opportunity for some real high level golf seems a bit unseized.

Additionally, 5 or 6 holes linger near or cross into the realm of being throwaways, due to wide open fairways or straight forward lines. All but the best courses have a few such holes, of course, but they seemed a bit more prevalent at Chautauqua.

Perhaps this is partly because the wow factor is a bit lacking. In a setting this beautiful, on a course where space restrictions are seemingly nonexistent, there seemed to be the potential to create some memorable moments both visually and technically. As it stands, I recall a few shots fondly (such as the blind downhill drives on 13 and 15 and the movement across hole 5), but much of the course recedes into a general "good-but-not-great" milieu.

As others have mentioned, navigation can be dicey at times. This is due in equal parts to confusing/missing-where-needed signage, odd course flow, and tee and pin numbering not matching up. Renumbering/redesign seems at least partly to blame. I was fortunate enough to play with a local, but can imagine I would have had a hard time finding my way around without him. If you're playing without anyone with prior experience, bring a map, and still be prepared for a few confusing moments.

Concrete tees became less common on the final 1/3 of the course. The natural tees were often rough, but playable.

The vast majority of holes only have one pin position.
Other Thoughts: Chautauqua is a solid course that I enjoyed playing. I did however come away feeling that its present 4.0+ rating isn't quite representative. I view such courses as being destination-caliber, or at the very least the kind of places that lodge themselves into your head well past your round, and unfortunately Chautauqua didn't quite meet these expectations for me. Is it worth visiting? Absolutely - it makes for a fun round. But I wouldn't call it a must-play.

Thanks to Travis ("WSP420") for being a willing and knowledgeable host and all-around cool guy during my visit.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

New Layout?

5+    5/24/2013   4/24/2013
Review By: WSP420
Played: 51  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2014
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Multiple tees
-Challenging and fun
-Very nice park & well maintained
-Well shaded, even on some of the more open holes
-Just enough water and O.B. to keep you on your toes
Cons: -They just rearranged this course. Some pins still have the old hole numbers on them & the signage is still up from the old layout... it can get a bit confusing.
-Although there are benches and trash cans, few are located on the holes themselves.
Other Thoughts: Be sure to take a RIGHT after Hole #6, The sign at the basket points to the left. Hole #12 is LEFT, Hole #7 is RIGHT.

I could stay out there all day, very nice park.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Truly a Hidden Gem

1    6/30/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: MiketheGoalie
Played: 35  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is laid out in a city park maintained by the City of Crystal Springs. The course is in great shape and makes excellent use of the available land and the existing nature trails. One thing this course has in abundance is elevation. Uphill shots, downhill shots, and ravine shots are in play on all but a couple of holes. Even the open "bomb" holes have an up-&-down walk involved to get from the tee to the pin. You will get a workout for both your arm and your legs on this course.

Throw variety on this 19-hole course is also one of its strengths. Backhand, forehand, uphill, downhill, overhead, s-curves, hard hooks, hyzer bombs, tight controlled approaches, risk vs. reward putts, and grip-and-rips were all necessary during our round (from the am tees) and not just for get out of trouble shots. Multiple lines on most holes and several good birdie opportunities are present for well-executed shots.

The existing stone walls and walking paths are a nice feature of the park and are welcome on the few holes that utilize them for navigation. The park features several nature trails, pavilions of varying size and location, a nice modern playground, the aforementioned community center, and a picturesque lake. The vast majority of the tees (am and pro) are concrete and the baskets are in spectacular shape. The fairways are well cut and beaten in and the majority of the underbrush is manageable and it's easy to locate a wayward drive without getting too deep in the shule. Plenty of tunnel shots on this one and both righty and lefty shots are favored/penalized throughout the course. Extremely well balanced but still very fun course. The hanging basket hole sneaks up on you and is very well done!

The difference between the am and pro tees on some holes was drastic. I'm thinking specifically of 17 as a good example. The am tee punches right out of the edge of the woods and has a slight left turn as the flightline follows the parallel road. The pro tee however nearly doubles the length of the hole and you have to throw over a 15-20 foot embankment to get anything close to the same flightline.

Some benches are distributed throughout the course and three or four pavilions are just off the travel path between holes. The community center near the beginning of the course has maps and a small selection of (mostly) Innova discs. They have air conditioning too!
Cons: Signage, Signage, and Signage. Navigation signage is a must. We were able to find out way using some temporary signage that had been erected for a recent doubles tourney. We got to the park early enough that the community center building near hole 1 wasn't open yet so we didn't have the ability to get a map (It has been uploaded to this site now). Also the mailbox adjacent to hole 1 didn't contain any maps as mentioned in previous reviews. Still, we did OK with navigation but I can imagine that first-timers will struggle without the map or similar signage as the flow isn't intuitive at a few locations and the course kind of winds around and through itself. Also the first three holes and the last two holes are located in a somewhat separate area of the park. The tee signs are Sharpie marks on little wood blocks set into the ground with some rebar. Not exactly easy to find if you're hunting for the next tee or even the difference between the am and pro boxes.

The lake is only really in play on the first two holes and then you're into the elevation portion of the course with a couple of small, winding creeks. They're of the size that you can easily stride across.

A couple of boxes are of the natural, root-filled, and sandy variety. Not an issue as the run-up isn't exactly integral on those holes, but since the vast majority of the am and pro tees are nice long and wide concrete tees it is noticeable on the handful that aren't. Speaking of traction, be careful traversing some of the slopes (up and down) as this is a pine forest and the floor is covered in needles and dead leaves that add an element of treachery to your descents and ascents. Any recent heavy rains could cause issues in spots as well as muddy treks would become part of the experience.
Other Thoughts: This course was flat-out fun! Plenty of mature growth woods and isolated trees make for playing a variety of holes and the elevation component of this course is extremely unique for Mississippi. My brother commented that it was like hiking the AP while playing disc golf! I highly recommend wearing good, sturdy shoes, packing plenty of water (and maybe a snack), think about bringing a walking stick, and allow plenty of time to enjoy the course.

I would play this course again in a heartbeat. I know I listed a few cons above, but they are fairly minor in my experience and the terrain is both potentially problematic (slippery when wet, etc.) and also an integral part of this course's character and challenge level. But at the end of the day, I loved this course and hope to get a chance to play it again.

Note: Never found the mythical 20th hole and the course map (that we picked up in the community center building after our round) only indicates 19.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

chautauqua rocks!

1    2/11/2012   2/18/2012
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 210  Reviewed: 162  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2013
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -amazing park property: has elevation galore, a lake, creeks, thick woods, open fields, ravines
-combination of woods, elevation, and punishing rough make this course very challenging
-ELEVATION!! up, down, across ravines, downhill tunnels
-great variety in distance, from 160' to over 600'
-discatchers in great condition
-some concrete tees, most dirt tees are even
-pro pads on many but not all holes
-some great, well-protected pin placements
-hanging basket on hole 13, fun touch
-elevation makes for many tricky, hillside greens
-course maps at the park office, you will need it!
Cons: -navigation is tricky in several spots. there are some temporary signs from a previous tournament that help a lot but it is still easy to get lost in a few spots.

-not all tees are concrete and a few of the dirt ones are uneven, particularly hole 9 (not so bad since it is one of the shortest holes).

-safety issues on some of the hills: there are paths but they may not be anywhere near where your disc landed. some of the ravine holes could have posts and/or ropes on the steep hillsides so that you can access your disc. holes 7 & 8 especially.

-possible safety issues on some holes that are very close together or close to walking paths

-very physically challenging terrain. some people will have a hard time here.

-only 19 holes? i couldn't find hole 20, i think it was temporary or has been pulled.
Other Thoughts: This is one epic course in a nice, large park. The golf here is challenging and the terrain is extreme in many parts. There are many ravines and large hills that the course plays over plus lots of rolling hills. Most of the course ranges from semi-wooded to a few very wooded fairways, putting a premium on accuracy, but there are also several open and long-bomb shots as well. The distances listed here are for the short tees so the pro pads play a bit longer. On the wooded holes most of the fairways are quite fair, you just need to stay on the fairway to avoid the punishing rough.

As many reviewers have noted, the course feels unfinished. Many but not all holes have concrete tee pads and many also have pro pads. Most pro pads add distance but a few change the tee shot also. This place will really shine once there is adequate signage and a course map at the start. I didn't mind the dirt pads and spartan finish (the quality of golf speaks for itself) but it would really kick this place up a notch to have all the usual amenities.

I didn't look around to see if there were bathrooms and water fountains but there is a building right by the parking lot so it is likely. The course is easy to access from the highway and seems like it would not be crowded often.

If you love challenging golf in a beautiful natural setting, this is the course to play near Jackson. There are many birdie opportunities but also many difficult holes that could easily blow up your score. Definitely a destination course if you are traveling near or through the area. I will definitely play again the next time I am nearby.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Pimp Course!!!

1    9/14/2011   9/14/2011
Review By: robasse
Played: 91  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course layout and super workout! The mix of elevation changes and pin location are wonderful! I enjoyed all aspects of the course even though I played it in a big hurry. Got a heck of a workout
Cons: The only problem that I had with this course was signage. Luckliy I played it soon after the Southern Nationals Dubs Championship so there was still descent signage. If the good signage could be installed and concrete pads on every hole, the course would be spectacular!!!
Other Thoughts: This course is not designed for out of shape or overweight people. If you are not in shape and you wanna play this course, you better be accurate off the tee.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Unique and Great

1    9/2/2011   9/3/2011
Review By: lxdawg25
Played: 32  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/24/2011
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What a wonderfully unique course! This course felt like something I have never seen before. I really can not say enough good things about the design of this course. Bring your A game as all possible shot types will be used. The people around the course were also great. We were the only disc golfers out at the time but the grounds crew talked to use as did other folks out on the course, just chatting and asking about the sport.
Starting out with a great risk reward downhill shot, just be careful not to overdrive as the lake is right at the bottom. The first three holes play around the water of the lake and make shot selection important. As you move on to the fields you'll find that elevation plays a massive role in the design and difficulty of the course. Downhill, Uphill, Valleys, and a stream make this course an amazing use of topography in course design. Errant shots here are severely punished as you can end up sitting at the lowest part of the valley.
While I play any course for the first time I really try to pick out my favorite hole. It was impossible at Chautauqua due to the number of unique and interesting shots.
#8: I think the sign next to the tee box says it all. "Path for those who throw successful shots." Well I aced it, that's right my first ace. I got to use path. My wife, however, had to walk down the side of the large hill down into the valley and back up the other side. A large valley separates the tee from the basket leaving any short shots severely punished.

#9: I can only assume that the basket was put in place and than the area all around it eroded. If it did not happen that way I really don't know how they poured the cement for the basket where they did. Your drive goes blindly over a rolling hill and any putt that misses the basket will be punished. You'll be putting from 15 under the basket. Really love the design and the placement of the basket.

#11: Look down. No seriously that's the basket way down there. All the way down at the bottom of the hill. Just put you disc out there and watch it float to the basket, right on the other side of a small stream. Be ready for twelve as you have to go back up.

I can honestly say I wish this course was closer to my house, I would be there all the time. I loved this course.
Cons: As others said this course is still unfinished. Tee box forms are at some of the holes, with no tee box. Signs are just paper on sticks, or little chunks of wood. I would love to figure out how distances were measured, as they almost always seemed off by 100' or so. There is a distinct lack of amenities for the disc golf course, the park in general is well appointed, just out in the middle of the course you are on your own.
The other big problem is the distance between holes sometimes can be annoying. There are paper signs directing you so it was not always the hardest navigating, but the distance was annoying and possibly treacherous. Some of the wooded paths had cobbled steps and such, but sometimes you were going up and down relatively steep inclines with the choice of loose leafs, or loose gravel, one time it was loose sand. I'm just glad it was dry, I could see large injuries if it was wet out.

I did not know this course had 20 holes and only played 19. It is advisable as you walk the course to pay attention to basket numbers and tee signs to help you navigate as you go along.
Other Thoughts: It was said a lot during our round and I think it bears repeating here. This course is brutal. If you aren't used to the up and down and the trees it'll punish you. And I love this course! Just know what you are getting into and come prepared. Good shoes are a must. If you have accuracy issues get ready to spill some blood in a sticker bush. There are negatives associated with this course they are just severely out weighed by the positives. If you want a prim and proper polished course go up to Jackson and play The Rez. It'll be fun and entertaining, and the course will be comfortable. If you want to feel that primal joy of disc golf Chautaugua is the way to go.

I would love to see the finishing touches added to this course. A hands down 5 with that.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of fun, almost there

1    12/22/2010   2/10/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a very cool park with a huge variety in foliage and terrain. It starts out with a steep downhill with a dropoff to the lake, then a really risky shot along the edge of the lake to a risky green. From there it goes through a mix of park like areas with scattered trees and thicker woods. Most holes use elevation in some way, and there's a fun mix of uphills, downhills, and shots across valleys or using side hills to mix things up.

The design does a really nice job of mixing up the lines you've got to hit to score well. I really felt like I used most of the discs and shots in my arsenal here, and that makes for a really fun round. The park is pretty, with nice views of the lake, some manicured areas, and some secluded spots in the woods where you really get away from any other park uses. The wooded holes also bring in a little more punishment for errant shots and some nice creek hazards.

The baskets are in really nice shape overall, and catch well. The signage is really basic right now, but nearly all transitions between holes were marked where necessary and the tees are at least numbered.
Cons: The course still feels new and a little unfinished. The tees and signage especially are not quite there yet. There are no markings for distance or hole layout, so you have to scout a lot of holes to know where to throw. A few of the next tee markers were missing or moved, so we had to do some wandering at times, hopefully more permanent versions will go in with the other course signage. The tees are natural and uneven at the moment, and could get rutted out really quickly.

The water holes were really cool, I would have liked to see more holes bringing the lake into play. A couple holes felt like filler holes, and hole 20 doesn't really feel like a hole at all, especially playing so close to the road and parking lot. The end of the course gets a little cramped and overlapping, and there could be some safety issues. Some of the hillier areas in the woods have steep paths that could be erosion areas later on.
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun course with all kinds of different holes. Beginners would probably find this course pretty tough and punishing, and if they're not ready for a real hike it could be a bit much. Experienced players will find lots of challenges here, and a great mix of hole types and shapes to keep you guessing. A little work finishing this course up and it could be a really awesome place to play.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

1    12/28/2010   12/28/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 419  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Note: the course I played doesn't really match the information that DGCR has as of today, seems like a work in progress to get the distances figured out and such. A bunch of pro tees are present as well.*

- Course is set in a very hilly park that also borders a lake for two holes. Pretty much an even split between holes in the denser forest and holes that are more open with lots of mature trees. There are some walking paths, but the disc golf is well separated from everything else.
- Holes in the forest provide a ton of different shots, in so many different ways. In terms of lines, there is a great mix of left (#12), right (#3, #14), and straight (big time). While the majority are more or less straight, there are extremes that are very tough. Though the hole lengths are on the short side, in a big way, the overload of elevation changes make each shot a true test of distance control. #1, #10, and #11 are extreme downhill shots, #12 and #13 are decent uphill shots, and #3, #4, #7, #8 have deep valleys to shoot over. Some spots are really, really punishing, like #7's deep and sloping ravine-filled fairway.
- Holes outside and next to the forest are just as diverse as those inside the forest. A great need to shape shots out here, too: left (#17), right (#6, #19), and lots of weaving around trees and hitting windows on all of them. Tons of elevation changes out here as well, mostly downhill shots (#9, #16, #19) and valley shots (#16, #18).
- A few longer holes out here that should be considered legitimate par 4's from the pro tees. #15 is a 570ish hole that ends with a downhill curve to the right, and #5 is a long bomber that has to be well placed in between a few sets of large trees. Should be satisfying to the biggest arms in the world. The variety of hole length, especially with some pro tees, is fantastic.
- Two holes by the lake make excellent use of the water. #1 is a nice, short, very downhill hole with a left hook at the end, with water waiting on anything that goes too long. #2 is a forced RHBH anny (or similar), with absolutely no room for error on the left. A small creek is also present in some parts of the forest (especially in front of #11's basket), which provides great hazards in many spots.
- Lots of protected baskets, due to trees and water. #6/#15 and #7 use big and small trees, respectively. Two other baskets are very close to the lake; #2's is practically surrounded on 3 sides. Also a great amount of sloped greens, in almost any spot where there are elevation changes. This means there are a ton. #9's is positioned on the edge of a big dropoff, with only one sliver of land to gain access.
- Good baskets, overall good signage, tees not so good. Navigation is pretty easy, with #3 to #4 being the biggest challenge (go away from the lake and cross the road; follow the path). Lots and lots of signs are present in almost every spot, and the wooden tee markers on the ground are actually very good.
Cons: - Tees can be very tough to traverse, as some are uphill or uneven with roots and such. Luckily, most of these are on shorter holes so a run-up isn't that crucial.
- A little more length on some holes would add a lot of difficulty, some are right around 200' and can be easily deuced with a good shot. Of course, that adds to the fun in a lot of spots, with big risk/reward. Still, a lot of more or less straight and shorter shots to be found.
- #18's fairway is dangerously close to #19's; discs could rain from above here.
- Is that hole #20, or a practice basket? If that's hole #20, it has an unmarked tee and unmarked basket, and is a 100' (or less) ace run. I might have completely missed something here, but that is the king of all throwaway holes if it is. The road OB adds some challenge, but it is otherwise just a long putt.
Other Thoughts: - In terms of fun factor, this course is full to the brim!!! Almost every shot is completely different, with few exceptions. Between the huge elevation changes, tough lines to hit, big bomber drives and ace runs, tricky water placements in the form of a lake and some running water, well protected baskets and sloping greens, I really can't think of much that this course is missing. The only thing that keeps me from laying down a 5 spot on this course are some rugged tees, and the large number of shorter holes. Ending up with a 60 can be very doable for experienced players, if you can get the birdies where possible.
- Some other nice touches are present here, including a hanging basket on #13, a VIP trail to the basket on #8, a short brick wall that rejects short shots on #16, a drop zone on #2; lots of little things that add up to make the course truly special.
- A few spots are tough to traverse, like getting up and down some valleys and crossing the creek in other spots. Being in shape is highly recommended.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Jaw Droppiness

1    4/22/2010   4/23/2010
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1149  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 5 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A quick pit stop off of the freeway was at first a little strange, but its uniqueness builds a character that I have not seen in other courses, even the deaf fisherman who was using the first basket as a shelf for his tacklebox was a welcome character bonus. In the end, it was a very enjoyable, excitingly different round of disc golf.

Parking. A huge, shaded, parking area is provided for the city park visitor center, for the hiking trails, fishing, or any other activities, including the disc golf course, the parking is located at the first left from the entrance to the park, directly in front of the visitor center.

Scorecard/Map. Now, I guess I'll put this in the "pro" section, as it's great that they provide this service, located on a printed sheet of paper, scorecards with maps on the back can be found in a mailbox at hole one. The map for the most part is fairly helpful, but some of the holes are not where they are drawn on the map, namely 8 and 9, I'll get more into that in the 'con' section.

Jaw Droppiness. I made up a word just for this course. Holes 3 and 4, and 10-16 all went about like this: Finish previous hole, wander around for a few minutes until stumbling upon next hole's tee markers, read the distance marking and rough map of the hole, bring my vision up to match this rough map with the terrain, Jaw drops. Incredible! Huge elevation, Big gully crossings, pins on rock outcroppings, long boardwalks, sketchy bridges, and just an overall awesomeness, definitely makes the side trip worth while.

Variety of holes. There's not a whole lot of length, most holes are just over 300 or less, but what it lacks in length, it makes up for in creativity, with a good mix of technical, accuracy shots and open shots, one hole, number 16 has some decent length, and even the 'open' holes, have many strategically placed trees to make the hole just difficult enough. I wasn't to the point where I was swearing constantly, mostly it was just an enjoyable round.

Nice Baskets. A brand new course, with brand new baskets is always nice.

Tidy. I don't recall seeing very many garbage cans, but everything was quite clean. I'll attribute that to the constant flow of people working in the area, and the lack of people playing the course.

No People! In the entire time I was there, I saw nobody else with discs or even paying attention to the course, I had the entire course to myself, well, that is besides all of the other people walking around randomly.

Signage. As the map was quite difficult to follow and hardly accurate, the signs all over the place pointing the way to the next "T", the course was quite easy to navigate for the most part, I only got lost between 7 and 8 - keep walking past the visible 17 tee.
Cons: Tees/Lack of signage. The tee box was, in similar style as ball golf, two while blocks of wood to mark the front of the tee box. One block of wood had a rough sketch of the hole, and the other had the hole number and distance. Which is really all I need, I found it rather sufficient, and it felt it even added to the character of the course. But, most of the tees were quite small and uneven, the talk of concrete tees is still abuzz, so maybe in the near future the tees will be replaced and permanent signs put in.

Multiuse Park: Again, it's wonderful that disc golfers can live in harmony with other recreationists, but I found holes 1 and 2 extremely difficult to play with the additional hazard of deaf fishermen. Even the ones that could hear didn't pay any attention to me, and I played very conservatively as not to hit anyone.

Lost Discs: It is inevitable, losing discs, but this course with thick brush and blind holes as well as deep water hazards, I could easily see it eating up discs, in fact I found a nice disc that I will be adding to my bag, after I called the number that has been disconnected.

Clusterf*ck. The series of holes from 6-10, 17 and 18 are all crammed into a small area that is quite confusing to navigate. This could easily be solved by removing 2 of the holes and making it an 18 hole course rather than 20, or it appears that there is a ton of land that the course could possibly be expanded on to.
Other Thoughts: Closing Thoughts: In all, a quite enjoyable course to play, a gem worth going out of the way for, I would play it again if I am passing through the area.

Favorite Hole: I'll go with number 11, the first in a series of Jaw droppers, a short accurate shot across a deep gulley.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 HILLS!! and WOODS!!

1    2/17/2010   2/18/2010
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 55  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Map and scorecard in mailbox by 1st tee. Plenty of elevation and trees create some scenic shots and surroundings along with a few ace runs for pros and 1 or 2 for us rec players. Oh and the ace runs are not super short and open. Water in play on hole 1 and 2. Don't over throw 1 or your disc will be swimming with the fishes or across the water with no way to retrieve it except to jump in or walk up to the road and try to go down this steep embankment. A creek in play on a couple of holes also. Some pucker up pin placements which of course if missed can change your score by a couple of strokes. Some are next to a stream or just by a steep drop off. Next hole signs help to navigate a brand new course. Several annys and some hyzers too along with some straight shots add variety because there are some off each that are fair and some really tight. Some up hill and some downhill and my favorite across the valley to the opposite hill. Just a good selection of hole types. A couple of risk reward shots/options. This course is heavily wooded in my opinion and a majority of it plays like and has the feel of a state park course more so than a city park. Just more secluded feeling except for a few of the front 9. We ran into the fine people that work there. They are working hard to get this course tournament/1st timer ready. Even though it is Heavily wooded it still has a couple of grip it shots, but you are still in the woods for the most part. This is the most hilly course that I have played so far, a real workout. Wildlife is always a plus for me and this time it was ducks, about a gaggle of them. They calmly walked next to us about 5 feet away like they are used to humans.(court house squirrels) For a rec player like me this course is challenging but not super hard. If I could have stayed away from the trees I would have had a few more pars. I look forward to coming back when the signs and concrete T-pads are in. For the pads she said soon. I asked "Within 2 months?" and she said yes. I didn't ask about T signs, sorry. The only reason I gave it a 4 is that I am pretending like it has new signage and concrete pads as it is supposed to within 60 days. Without both of these aspects, I would give it 3 1/2 instead of 4.
Cons: Temp cons. Natural uneven pads. No T signs. Have to spot many baskets.

Regular cons. Need a spotter in the winter because of the leaves which is expected on a wooded course in the winter. Muddy in a couple of parts. We have had snow and rain and little sun in this part of the country lately so this might not be a regular problem. I need to play it again when it is finished before I list anymore cons.
Other Thoughts: Overall I suggest wait a couple of months and give it a try. With new signage and concrete pads this in my opinion is a solid 4 disc course. A hilly and wooded jewel.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.