Florence, AL
McFarland Park Share
Uploaded By: willsfc  



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A fun course

1    2/9/2013   2/14/2013
Review By: Autoscopy
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Great Baskets
- Very Peaceful
- Well Maintained
- Pro Tees vary greatly from Ams making it a very different course.
- Multiple pin locations that required different shots.
- A couple of scenery changes.
Cons: - Sometimes with enough rain the course will become flooded througout most of the holes. That's why it's no longer a ball course.
- Not enough signage. It's very difficult to find the next hole unless a local could tell you.
-Very likely that you could lose a disc because of so many water hazards. Also the hazards are very swampy which makes retrieval even tougher. Discs also don't seem to float as normal.
- Most of the holes vary but a few on the back 9 feel like the same straghtforward unchallenging shot which can seem redundant.
- Some of the holes are separated by a long distance.
- Not for beginners unless they're are willing to lose some frisbees.
- The signs for holes don't not show the par count.
Other Thoughts: Overall a fun course. A few of the holes seem tough to birdie and easy to par and that is speaking from the Am tees which I feel is bad course design. Though there are some very fun and interesting holes. The water can be scary at times especially in windy situations so I don't play as often as the other course here in Florence. Carpeted tees FYI.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Loved it

1    12/19/2012   12/29/2012
Review By: kingje1
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
Pros: The Water: I have to admit, I love water holes. My heart beats faster, I get a little nervous and I know I have to bring my A-game. Yes there is the chance that you can lose your disc. I threw one right into the middle of a pond after hitting a tree limb and I still loved it. It was a wahoo so a worthy donation to the locals. I played the pro tees which put the water more into play then the am tees. Holes are long and with obstacles. Only a couple holes heavily wooded, everything else just had well placed obstacles. The good thing about the water on this course is that if you don't think you can make it you can adjust your shot, you will just have to throw longer on the up shot.
Cons: Walking from one hole to the next I stepped into some puddles where the water went over my shoe. I couldn't find the pro tee on two of the holes. I wish there were some sign posts. Luckily someone else was playing ahead of me or it would have been hard to find where to go.
Other Thoughts: I drove from Nashville and didn't know what to expect. I have to say that I loved playing this course and next time I have a day off during the week I will drive the 2 hours again as it was well worth it. Once they get some signs going this will be a fantastic course.

 Very Nice Course

2-4    6/28/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: crimsonopposum
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Scenic, well-maintained, challenging
Cons: lots of ponds in which to lose an errant disc.
Other Thoughts: I am glad that the city of Florence decided to turn the old McFarland Golf Course into a DiscGolf course. It was a fabulous idea and they are to be commended for it. The course is lovely and very well maintained.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice Course

5+    3/3/2012   5/22/2012
Review By: wheelthrill
Played: 36  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front 9 is great.
They changed up the course since they first built it, making the baskets shorter.
Water does come into play on quite a few holes, but no worries, you do have the option to lay up.
Cons: Water and it's long.
The back 9 is a litter harder and longer than the front, more water in play. You do have the option again of laying up but it takes more throws.
When your disc is lost in the water, it's lost. No need going in and getting it.
Other Thoughts: Great course to practice long throws and to overcome your fear of "disc in water syndrome."

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Potentially good...

5+    3/25/2011   3/29/2011
Review By: frolfinfool
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The front nine of this course offers a decent amount of variety and is well laid out.

There are holes that you can stretch your arm out with and others that accuracy plays more of a role. Water also is in play well for risk/reward type of shots.

It is well maintained by the park employees.
Cons: The water on this course makes it unappealing to many casual players, since a disc is pretty much gone if it goes in.

When it was first put in, it was monotonous to play but the first changes made it FAR more enjoyable. The latest changes however took away a couple of my favorite holes and replaced them with holes that are dull. Definitely not digging them...

There are not any trash cans, benches, tee signs, map, etc. but the course is still a work in progress and some of these things are being made so I'm not considering these into the score.

Dead fish smell/pond smell is kinda raunchy at times.
Other Thoughts: This course before the latest changes would have been a 4-ish in my opinion, but hopefully the changes are not permanent.

It is a very underutilized course, but again I think that it is mostly just the chance of losing a disc that keeps people away.

McFarland and Veterans complement each other nicely (especially before the last changes) and make for a great day of golf. It is great having another course in Florence and I really appreciate all the work James Burton, Jack White, and everyone else have put into it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

nice course

1    3/1/2011   3/9/2011
Review By: iccsoccer24
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/20/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fairways were cut nicely. Carpet tee boxes.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: Thanks for keeping this course in great shape!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  McFarland Disc Golf Course Review, Florence, AL

2-4    4/9/2010   4/9/2010
Review By: BelowPar
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent use of small hillocks built originally for a real golf course to provide elevation for many shots. Good use of water hazards without being unreasonably close to the water with one exception. Very well maintained by the city. Holes 1 and 10 are not far from the road so you can choose where to start doubles or other group play more easily.
Cons: No signs installed, so difficult to figure out where all the pads are without a lot of walking around. Difficult to find hole 1 from the road, need a sign at the parking lot. My rating system evaluated the Am tees only, I thought the Pro tees were a bit ridiculous for length, mostly "boomer" shots.
Other Thoughts: (1) Available parking, bathrooms, bridges available over creeks or ditches. Each is worth 8 points. There is one bridge over small ditch, and gravel roads with culverts over small ditches. Parking is good, and there are bathrooms close by. 24 Points

(2) Signs/Navigation - position of next tee, position of basket, distance to hole. Each is worth six points. Sticks with distance to holes present only at tee pads, 6 points.

(3) Distance from hole 1 to parkint lot < 100 yards, hole 18 from parking lot < 100 yards, hole 10 from parking lot < 100 yards. Each is worth 6 points. Holes one, 10, and 18 are all reasonably close to the parking lot, 18 points.

(4) Pads - concrete is worth 18 points, carpet or rubber is worth 9 points. All pads are carpet, 9 points.

(5) Holes where fairway Width >= 30' one point each. All holes have good fairways, 18 points.

(6) Holes < 400, one point each. Three holes are over 400', 15 points.

(7) Pin positions which are not less then 10' from deep water or busy road, one point each. One hole is about 10' from water, with downhill into water, all other holes are good. 17 points

(8) Baskets - Double chains = 1 point for each basket, single chains = 1/2 point for each basket, non-standard baskets = 0 points for each basket. All holes are double chains, 18 points.

Total Score Max =

Divide by 30 to get rating from one to 5.

24 + 6 + 18 + 9 + 18 + 15 + 17 + 18 = 113. 125/30 = 4.1, for a rating of a 4.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Supa Sweet!

5+    3/21/2010   3/25/2010
Review By: rkorab
Played: 68  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is laid out on an existing old ball golf course and the grass is beautiful. All holes have short and long tee's. Course favors big arms from the longs, many opportunity's to air it our or let em roll. Very peaceful, secluded course with several views of the TN river.
Cons: Flooding/Mushy grounds can be an issue after heavy rain. I would like to see a little more variety of shots. No golf carts :(
Other Thoughts: All around a great course that is well manicured and tons of fun to throw your longest drivers over the water. Bathrooms are very close and concessions can be purchased at the entrance to the park. I would definetely make the drive to play this bad boy!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 so long ball golf

1    3/20/2010   3/22/2010
Review By: arrdee33
Played: 77  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 19.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course is layed out on an old ball golf course which IMO makes a great layout.
-Has Pro and Am pads that are truly different when distance is the factor
-nice new discatchers
-course is spread out as to not ever feel like your on top of other groups
-utilizes the old elevated ball golf tee boxes as target areas and tees, the slopes also come into play to force smart putting
-lots and lots of water, on at least 70% of the holes. you really only have to throw over it in direct line to the basket 3 or 4 holes, but it comes into play on the left and right the fairways- punishing bad drives
-no shule
-nice large mature trees are sprinkled throughout the lines of play
-nice park in walking distance form the TN river for viewing enjoyment during a visit
Cons: -its in a flood plain, aparent by the maintnence building being on stilts (as long as it hasnt recently rained the course is rather dry)
-carpet tees (listed only because some dont like carpet, these are in great shape and if level, i prefer carpet as it seems to be easier on the knees)
-no benches or trashcans yet

this is a BRAND new course, so it just needs some time to gain the aminities
Other Thoughts: Its very close to veterans park, these make a great 2 a day trip

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.