Florence, AL 
McFarland Park Share
Uploaded By: AdamE Hole #8 (Taken 3/2015)
3 / 321ft.   4 / 561ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket

Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2

1    6/18/2015   7/1/2015
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 246  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 19.1 Years
Pros: McFarland Park DGC has a very pretty setting on land of an old ball golf course that is on a flat near the banks of the TN River opposite some picturesque cliffs (be sure to drive down the shoreline road after your round and admire the views). This area is a very nice place just to be outside and adding in disc golf is a bonus.

There are 18 holes and 2 sets of tees to cater to different skill levels. (The tees also helped me navigate as you at least knew which direction the hole is going.)

The design makes good use of just a portion of the land. (Using the entire golf course would have been insanely long, so thanks to the designer in starting from scratch and not just playing along the fairways of the old golf course- that would be boring.) There are some holes that play in the openness of the original golf course, some that play through the wooded areas bordering the old fairways, and others are in a more heavily wooded area by the old golf cart house. The course makes use of the old elevated greens on what would be an otherwise very flat course.

And there are ponds everywhere! Water is the main obstacle here. These holes are nicely designed to give players good risk/reward decisions- try to hit the line along the pond or play it out wide and safe, layup or go long, etc. There was always a safe play to avoid losing a disc, but it might make the next shot more difficult or may take an extra shot to hole out.

I appreciated the good variation in hole distance, 200'-600' (I only played 1 round from the shorter tees, so the longer tees would give even more variety and challenge.) There are several holes where the basket is reachable from the tee and many more where it will take 2-3 shots to get there.

Also nice was this was pretty much the only thing going on with this piece of land- no picnic tables, walking trails, playgrounds, etc. Just disc golf only here as those other things are in a different section of the park.
Cons: Unfortunately, this type of land does not dictate navigation- there are no obvious trails or paths. After finishing a hole you look around and think the next one could be just about anywhere. This makes for lots of walking the first time you play. I did manage to find every hole, but a map and/or more next tee signs would be very helpful. (Hole 3 was the worst for me as I made a huge circle finding several other tees and baskets in the process before I finally found 3 at the last place I looked.)

It was sometimes hard to find both tees (in fact there were a few long tees and one short tee I was unable to locate. I thought maybe a couple holes only had 1 tee, but according to the hole info on DGCR there should be two complete sets.) The tee markers were just short wooden posts with hole # and distance, though some were knocked down (or missing?) The tee areas were carpet and sometimes hard to see from a distance being flush with the ground.

Other than water, the open holes require very little accuracy and the wooded holes have several options and easy recovery for errant shots. There is just a bit of repetitiveness (not consecutive, but in the overall round.) For example, holes 9 and 18 are very similar just long open holes on the old golf fairways with a pond on the right and the basket placed up on the elevated green.

It was mid-summer and conditions were fine for me, but guessing from the looks of the land, the proximity to the river, and what others have said, I could see during very rainy/flooding times this course might be unplayable or, at the least, very soggy.
Other Thoughts: With some better navigational aids or a map and some nicer or better maintained tee signs this would be a really nice place to play. There is good bit of fair challenge that I enjoyed and would definitely play here again, especially now that I have an idea of where the tees and baskets are.

Holes 1 and 10 start next to each other. Each 9 does finish up near (but not exactly close to) the parking lot.

Park at the visitor center building on the right after entering the park. Tees for 1/10 are behind it towards the ponds, just look for the trail that goes to the kiosk.

It is worth a stop if you are in the area and is not too far from Veterans Lakeside Park for a nice day of 36 different holes.

1    3/7/2015   5/15/2015
Review By: AdamE
Played: 244  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 12 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very pretty course with lots of mature pine trees and water set on an old ball golf course with great views of the Tennessee River.

The tee pads are carpet, they're nice and level so I didn't have any issue with them. The tees are marked by 4x4's with the top painted red or blue to indicate which tee you're at. The hole number and distances are carved into the post as well. There are 2 sets of tees on all but one hole. The blue tees are quite a bit longer and sometimes bring water into play or force longer water carries while the short pads are usually safer shots or short water carries. The course does a good job of catering to a wide variety of skill level with dramatic differences in length and risk between the two sets of tees.

The course has Discatchers so the yellow band makes them easy to locate. There's a decent amount of elevation on the course and the hills are incorporated into the design well. The course plays among tall mature trees so there is no rough to loose a disc in here, just water.
Cons: The course was a big soggy when I happened to be here but there had been quite a bit of rain recently.

The course could use navigation signs in a few areas so it's easier to find the next tee, although this isn't an issue once you've played here a couple times.

Because it's set on an old ball golf course the course definitely leans more towards a grip and rip style where errants shots are rarely punished (unless water is involved) than a technical course, but there are a few good technical shots mixed in as well.

The shot selection here is just ok, I only recall 2 holes forcing RHBH turnover shots.
Other Thoughts: I played here with friend who's a Rec player so I played the longs and he the shorts. While there is a lot of water here the design makes it fairly easy to play it safe (or as risky as you want) so we didn't have any issues navigating the water. He appreciate the shorts pads and the challenges they provided while I had a blast from the longs bombing drives over the water trying to chase birdies.

This course is worth checking out if you're in the area, it's a fun challenge and quite scenic. Navigation is a little tricky in a few places your first time here though so hopefully a course map will be made soon.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A fun course

1    2/9/2013   2/14/2013
Review By: Autoscopy
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Great Baskets
- Very Peaceful
- Well Maintained
- Pro Tees vary greatly from Ams making it a very different course.
- Multiple pin locations that required different shots.
- A couple of scenery changes.
Cons: - Sometimes with enough rain the course will become flooded througout most of the holes. That's why it's no longer a ball course.
- Not enough signage. It's very difficult to find the next hole unless a local could tell you.
-Very likely that you could lose a disc because of so many water hazards. Also the hazards are very swampy which makes retrieval even tougher. Discs also don't seem to float as normal.
- Most of the holes vary but a few on the back 9 feel like the same straghtforward unchallenging shot which can seem redundant.
- Some of the holes are separated by a long distance.
- Not for beginners unless they're are willing to lose some frisbees.
- The signs for holes don't not show the par count.
Other Thoughts: Overall a fun course. A few of the holes seem tough to birdie and easy to par and that is speaking from the Am tees which I feel is bad course design. Though there are some very fun and interesting holes. The water can be scary at times especially in windy situations so I don't play as often as the other course here in Florence. Carpeted tees FYI.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Loved it

1    12/19/2012   12/29/2012
Review By: kingje1
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
Pros: The Water: I have to admit, I love water holes. My heart beats faster, I get a little nervous and I know I have to bring my A-game. Yes there is the chance that you can lose your disc. I threw one right into the middle of a pond after hitting a tree limb and I still loved it. It was a wahoo so a worthy donation to the locals. I played the pro tees which put the water more into play then the am tees. Holes are long and with obstacles. Only a couple holes heavily wooded, everything else just had well placed obstacles. The good thing about the water on this course is that if you don't think you can make it you can adjust your shot, you will just have to throw longer on the up shot.
Cons: Walking from one hole to the next I stepped into some puddles where the water went over my shoe. I couldn't find the pro tee on two of the holes. I wish there were some sign posts. Luckily someone else was playing ahead of me or it would have been hard to find where to go.
Other Thoughts: I drove from Nashville and didn't know what to expect. I have to say that I loved playing this course and next time I have a day off during the week I will drive the 2 hours again as it was well worth it. Once they get some signs going this will be a fantastic course.

  Very Nice Course

2-4    6/28/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: crimsonopposum
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Scenic, well-maintained, challenging
Cons: lots of ponds in which to lose an errant disc.
Other Thoughts: I am glad that the city of Florence decided to turn the old McFarland Golf Course into a DiscGolf course. It was a fabulous idea and they are to be commended for it. The course is lovely and very well maintained.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

5+    3/3/2012   5/22/2012
Review By: wheelthrill
Played: 40  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front 9 is great.
They changed up the course since they first built it, making the baskets shorter.
Water does come into play on quite a few holes, but no worries, you do have the option to lay up.
Cons: Water and it's long.
The back 9 is a litter harder and longer than the front, more water in play. You do have the option again of laying up but it takes more throws.
When your disc is lost in the water, it's lost. No need going in and getting it.
Other Thoughts: Great course to practice long throws and to overcome your fear of "disc in water syndrome."

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Potentially good...

5+    3/25/2011   3/29/2011
Review By: frolfinfool
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The front nine of this course offers a decent amount of variety and is well laid out.

There are holes that you can stretch your arm out with and others that accuracy plays more of a role. Water also is in play well for risk/reward type of shots.

It is well maintained by the park employees.
Cons: The water on this course makes it unappealing to many casual players, since a disc is pretty much gone if it goes in.

When it was first put in, it was monotonous to play but the first changes made it FAR more enjoyable. The latest changes however took away a couple of my favorite holes and replaced them with holes that are dull. Definitely not digging them...

There are not any trash cans, benches, tee signs, map, etc. but the course is still a work in progress and some of these things are being made so I'm not considering these into the score.

Dead fish smell/pond smell is kinda raunchy at times.
Other Thoughts: This course before the latest changes would have been a 4-ish in my opinion, but hopefully the changes are not permanent.

It is a very underutilized course, but again I think that it is mostly just the chance of losing a disc that keeps people away.

McFarland and Veterans complement each other nicely (especially before the last changes) and make for a great day of golf. It is great having another course in Florence and I really appreciate all the work James Burton, Jack White, and everyone else have put into it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 nice course

1    3/1/2011   3/9/2011
Review By: iccsoccer24
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/20/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fairways were cut nicely. Carpet tee boxes.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: Thanks for keeping this course in great shape!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  McFarland Disc Golf Course Review, Florence, AL

2-4    4/9/2010   4/9/2010
Review By: BelowPar
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent use of small hillocks built originally for a real golf course to provide elevation for many shots. Good use of water hazards without being unreasonably close to the water with one exception. Very well maintained by the city. Holes 1 and 10 are not far from the road so you can choose where to start doubles or other group play more easily.
Cons: No signs installed, so difficult to figure out where all the pads are without a lot of walking around. Difficult to find hole 1 from the road, need a sign at the parking lot. My rating system evaluated the Am tees only, I thought the Pro tees were a bit ridiculous for length, mostly "boomer" shots.
Other Thoughts: (1) Available parking, bathrooms, bridges available over creeks or ditches. Each is worth 8 points. There is one bridge over small ditch, and gravel roads with culverts over small ditches. Parking is good, and there are bathrooms close by. 24 Points

(2) Signs/Navigation - position of next tee, position of basket, distance to hole. Each is worth six points. Sticks with distance to holes present only at tee pads, 6 points.

(3) Distance from hole 1 to parkint lot < 100 yards, hole 18 from parking lot < 100 yards, hole 10 from parking lot < 100 yards. Each is worth 6 points. Holes one, 10, and 18 are all reasonably close to the parking lot, 18 points.

(4) Pads - concrete is worth 18 points, carpet or rubber is worth 9 points. All pads are carpet, 9 points.

(5) Holes where fairway Width >= 30' one point each. All holes have good fairways, 18 points.

(6) Holes < 400, one point each. Three holes are over 400', 15 points.

(7) Pin positions which are not less then 10' from deep water or busy road, one point each. One hole is about 10' from water, with downhill into water, all other holes are good. 17 points

(8) Baskets - Double chains = 1 point for each basket, single chains = 1/2 point for each basket, non-standard baskets = 0 points for each basket. All holes are double chains, 18 points.

Total Score Max =

Divide by 30 to get rating from one to 5.

24 + 6 + 18 + 9 + 18 + 15 + 17 + 18 = 113. 125/30 = 4.1, for a rating of a 4.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Supa Sweet!

5+    3/21/2010   3/25/2010
Review By: rkorab
Played: 75  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is laid out on an existing old ball golf course and the grass is beautiful. All holes have short and long tee's. Course favors big arms from the longs, many opportunity's to air it our or let em roll. Very peaceful, secluded course with several views of the TN river.
Cons: Flooding/Mushy grounds can be an issue after heavy rain. I would like to see a little more variety of shots. No golf carts :(
Other Thoughts: All around a great course that is well manicured and tons of fun to throw your longest drivers over the water. Bathrooms are very close and concessions can be purchased at the entrance to the park. I would definetely make the drive to play this bad boy!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.