Disc Golf Store
Orland, CA
Black Butte Lake DGC Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #15
3 / 288ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Favorite NorCal course!

2-4    2/9/2014   2/12/2014
Review By: bigflick
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is amazing! I got really lucky too, played it on a friday and then again on the following sunday and all the pins were moved to there alternates. Fun technical shots all over the place with alot death putts. Then big open huck shots too. I believe this may be one of the best courses I've played since I moved to Nor Cal.
Cons: Hardly ever see anybody else out there when I play it, which is weird cause next to Peregrine point I feel like this is the best course in the area, you would think there would be more folks playing it, but the weather was also kinda gross.
Other Thoughts: Looks like a great course for an event, cant wait to play one here.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Risk, Great Reward

5+    1/3/2013   1/10/2013
Review By: xjsnowbum
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery
Camping for part of the year
Very rare to see any other groups on the course
Wide variety of shots that challenge in different ways
Lots of elevation changes
Lake nearby
Course maintained by Army Corps of Engineers
Cons: Rubber teepads (doesn't bother me, but they are deathly when wet)
No tee signs
Zero stores within 10 miles
Little parking, but little necessary as it's never crowded
Only 2 trash bins on the course
Other Thoughts: This is a great course that can be very challenging to anyone. It can frustrate even the best of players with roll a ways that happen from a miscalculate shot, or especially, a hit of the top of those Yellow Innova baskets. I would travel out of Chico any day to this course to get the extra challenge, beautiful views, and lack of people. Plus, this was the site of the 2010 Norcal Championships! That's definitely saying something...

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A favorite.

5+    2/22/2012   2/27/2012
Review By: nelsofthewoods
Played: 27  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 2.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Secluded and beautiful.
-Lots of elevation changes.
-Constantly challenging.
-Discatcher baskets, rubber tees.
Cons: -I imagine it gets overgrown and hot in the summer.
-Unfortunate rollers going down the hills can be frustrating.
-Somebody told me that it's nearly impossible to play when it's windy.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses. The only time I've seen more than 7 people out there was during a tournament. There is a campground across the road AND within 20 minutes of I5, making it great for if you're traveling. The course itself is a workout with the hills. I think pros and beginners can both enjoy playing here.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Black Butte Rocks

5+    6/6/2010   6/22/2010
Review By: gmoney
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Awesome course design with mix of short and long; use of elevation with back drop of the lake is creative use of space. Challenging course with epic hole 18 shot to finish off the newest big time course in Northern California. Chico Rick takes Napa concepts one step better...add water to the elevation!

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Best I've Played

5+    2/26/2011   5/20/2010
Review By: Jgunter
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/27/2011
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lot's of elevation changes
Good variety of shots
Extremely scenic
Extremely well laid out into two nine hole loops
Mixture open and wooded shots.
Benches at most tees
Cons: Teepads need work
directional signs need work.
No holes upwards of 400 ft.
Flows beautifully but there could be more holes that slope right to left.
Other Thoughts: Wind has been a factor each time i have played this course.
Hole one is a relatively simple hole it curves slightly to the left with little slope available lines fore each type of shot.
#2 slopes slightly downhill with more trees and a shorter, straighter shot than #1
#3 Shoots over a small hill, reasonably open with a left to right fairway and the pin is guarded by a couple of trees with a downslope just behind the basket.
#4 is a slightly narrow, slightly up hill shot. not too much else to say.
#5 the up hill slope increases, the fairway is a little more open but watch the downslope on the other side of the basket, an overshot can send you way down the slope and towards the lake.
#6 is the first true bomber hole, you shoot from the top of a slope across a small valley and around the trees to the next hill over. The left to right slope that predominates this hole should make sidearm or lefty backhand throwers think twice.
#7 is a similar shot to hole six except it is significantly shorter and has a large down slope on the other side of the pin. I got a tap in birdie last time i played this hole but the drive could have very easily gone way past and made for one hell of an upshot.
#8 shoots across the valley made by the creek leading into the lake. It's a little hard to see the pin from the teepad. Getting your disc caught in a tree on your drive is a major concern here because your drive sends you directly into a lot of tall oak trees.
#9 shoots across another left to right slope and forces you to shoot slightly uphill on the upshot.

Intermission: I would like to again complement the designer's of this course because holes one and ten start right about where hole 9 finishes. making a single 9 hole loop of either the front or the back 9 just as easy as an entire 18 hole round from start to finish.
#10 is a reasonably flat and open hole with a dead tree on the ground about forty feet from the tee.
#11 shoots straight up hill requiring a left to right shot to avoid the trees and get to the pin
#12 is a deceptively tough hole, with a slight downhill slope throughout and a very aggressive slope behind the pin. Another hole to watch out for i alway seem to over shoot this one and end up a hundred feet and atleast two strokes down hill.
#13 the entire fairway is dominated by a left to right slope including the green. Aside from the extreme slope nothing about this hole is all that difficult.
#14 is the big downhill hole of the course the wind from the lake makes a slow, easy turnover almost out of the question. Navigate the downslope and watch for the cliff behind the green and this hole shouldn't be too much trouble.
#15 is almost the exact opposite of #14, it shoots directly uphill with a slight left turn around some trees to get to the pin.
#16 Is a reasonably flat risk reward hole with a couple different lines created by the trees in the fairway, watch the right to left slope on the left side of the fairway.
#17 Is one of the few holes i can think of with a significant right to left slope. other than that it is a moderately narrow hole with trees on both sides of the fairway.
#18 Is a beauty of a bomber, the tee has you shooting across the creek valley that should be very familiar after playing #11. If you can keep it over the trees in the valley the pin is a couple hundred feet up the opposite hillside of the tee and a little bit to the right. One of my favorite finishing holes in the sport of disc golf.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.