Disc Golf Store
Orland, CA 
Black Butte Lake DGC Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #15
3 / 288ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Nice elevation

1    6/28/2014   9/9/2014
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 766  Exp: 12.6 Years
Pros: The course is set on rolling hills with scattered mature oaks. There are enough trees to make you shape some interesting lines, with a pretty good variety of left and right turning shots mixed in. The tees are placed near trees for the most part, and the low hanging canopy makes it so you're forced to take the intended shot, I thought it was impressive how many holes managed to take away the easy hyzer shot with how open the land is. The tee placement also does a really nice job of providing shade at each pad which is a great perk on a hot summer day out here.

The course is mostly pretty short but there are a couple longer holes mixed in that will make most players pull out a driver. The front 9 is fairly flat, but the back brings a lot more elevation into play. There are some fun downhills and tough uphills mixed in with tricky sidehill lies and valley shots with big punishment for coming up short. There are lots of opportunities for rollaways around the greens if you're not careful how you place your upshots. There are some nice views of the lake and the surrounding buttes from a lot of spots on the course.
Cons: The signage could use an upgrade. There are numbered 4x4 posts but nothing indicating hole layout which would be nice on a couple blind shots. The course is pretty short, there was enough land for some bigger shots and some use of the bigger elevation that would have added some fun challenge. There is some long grass, but the fairways are mowed plenty wide so it only comes into play on really terrible shots. There are a couple spots where a next tee sign would come in handy.
Other Thoughts: I thought the design did a nice job given the limitations in foliage density. It's a fun course for beginners, though the rollaways could be tough for players without a lot of control. Experienced players won't find this one all that challenging, but there are some enjoyable shots and some nice views that make this worth a stop if you're driving through.


1    6/13/2014   7/24/2014
Review By: Timbercrushers
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a great course. Nice mix of open shots and strategically placed trees. Great views of the mountains and the lake. This is one of my favorite courses I have played to date.
Cons: Lots of hills!! Expect to get a work out.

Other than the hills, this course is awesome!
Other Thoughts: I'm from the Midwest, so seeing the scenery was incredible. I wish I could play this course everyday!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Favorite NorCal course!

2-4    2/9/2014   2/12/2014
Review By: bigflick
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is amazing! I got really lucky too, played it on a friday and then again on the following sunday and all the pins were moved to there alternates. Fun technical shots all over the place with alot death putts. Then big open huck shots too. I believe this may be one of the best courses I've played since I moved to Nor Cal.
Cons: Hardly ever see anybody else out there when I play it, which is weird cause next to Peregrine point I feel like this is the best course in the area, you would think there would be more folks playing it, but the weather was also kinda gross.
Other Thoughts: Looks like a great course for an event, cant wait to play one here.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Tons of potential at this place

1    6/8/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: FatBrad64
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Concrete tee pads on all 18 Holes.
- Multiple pin locations on most holes.
- Many birdie opportunities, without too many gimmies
- Easy to follow layout, flows similarly to ball golf layout
- Good variation between short and long holes
Cons: - Very dry course
- Weeds were a bit tall w/ star thistle beginning to grow
- Not sure how accurate the marked out distances are, they seem a little off
- Extremely windy (20+mph)
- HOT (110 degrees)
Other Thoughts: I thoroughly enjoyed this course. The front 9 is open, and considerably easier than the back. The layout is very entertaining. I don't exactly know where water would come into play on this course, as there was none to be found. I would recommend this course to anyone traveling through the area.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good course, but not great.

5+    1/16/2013   1/16/2013
Review By: Wayne Disqus
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A good mix of shots at this course. Varies from technical ace run opportunities to open elevation changes with death putts. Nice in the spring and fall. Good for both novice and advanced players. Double loop design implemented. Doesn't favor RHBH. Well maintained.
Cons: Tee "pads" are terrible rubber mats that serve little to no purpose. Very slippery when wet. Natural tee pads are better IMO. Especially with the hard pack ground in that area. There's very few alternate pin locations. No stores anywhere near course and no running water. Hot in the summer just like all other courses in this area code.
Other Thoughts: I really like going out to this course a few times a year for the change of scenery. I feel it's a little short when the weather isn't scorching hot. Which can be good and bad depending on if you want to throw two rounds to feel satiated or not. I think the course could have been designed much better with the space that's available. My review of three discs is based upon looking up highly rated courses on this site and comparing them to this course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Risk, Great Reward

5+    1/3/2013   1/10/2013
Review By: xjsnowbum
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery
Camping for part of the year
Very rare to see any other groups on the course
Wide variety of shots that challenge in different ways
Lots of elevation changes
Lake nearby
Course maintained by Army Corps of Engineers
Cons: Rubber teepads (doesn't bother me, but they are deathly when wet)
No tee signs
Zero stores within 10 miles
Little parking, but little necessary as it's never crowded
Only 2 trash bins on the course
Other Thoughts: This is a great course that can be very challenging to anyone. It can frustrate even the best of players with roll a ways that happen from a miscalculate shot, or especially, a hit of the top of those Yellow Innova baskets. I would travel out of Chico any day to this course to get the extra challenge, beautiful views, and lack of people. Plus, this was the site of the 2010 Norcal Championships! That's definitely saying something...

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Black Butte DGC

5+    11/3/2012   11/26/2012
Review By: Philbert
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/3/2014
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Several holes now have multiple pins.
- Good signage.
- Benches at most holes.
- Lots of good technical shots and risk / reward.
- Amazing views.
- Course is very dynamic through out the year.
- Quiet and away from it all.
- A great feeling of accomplishment after playing a solid round.
- Concrete Tees -- Ohhhh Baby!
Cons: - Occasional rollers can be painful.
- During the summer it does get hot. Bring enough water for not just a round of disc. But a pretty good hike as well. Black Buttes rolling hills is not a metaphor.
Other Thoughts: Black Butte is one of the more challenging courses in the Butte/Glenn area. Set on the rolling hills on the East side of the Black Butte Lake Reservoir. The front nine plays out to the lake edge along one of the access roads, then comes back along one of the arms of the lake. The back nine plays out along the other side of the arm, then comes back across the top of the spine of the hill. The water only comes into play during the time of year that the reservoir is fairly full. Most of the holes playing near the water have a slope leading straight down to the waters edge. Playing on top of the spines leaves you vulnerable to the wind and possible bad rolls or skips. More new pin positions have been installed for several holes. This course just keeps getting better and better.

Update: Sadly after playing a few more courses, I needed to adjust my rating to be more inline with my new perspective on the numbers.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A favorite.

5+    2/22/2012   2/27/2012
Review By: nelsofthewoods
Played: 30  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Secluded and beautiful.
-Lots of elevation changes.
-Constantly challenging.
-Discatcher baskets, rubber tees.
Cons: -I imagine it gets overgrown and hot in the summer.
-Unfortunate rollers going down the hills can be frustrating.
-Somebody told me that it's nearly impossible to play when it's windy.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses. The only time I've seen more than 7 people out there was during a tournament. There is a campground across the road AND within 20 minutes of I5, making it great for if you're traveling. The course itself is a workout with the hills. I think pros and beginners can both enjoy playing here.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Black Butte DGC

5+    3/25/2011   12/22/2011
Review By: MikePinchico
Played: 105  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/23/2014
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Black Butte DGC is a free, beautiful, secluded 18 hole course just outside the town of Orland, CA. Laid out along the hills surrounding Black Butte Reservoir the course is lined with oaks and is quite beautiful. There are plenty of ace opportunities at the innova chainstar baskets throughout the course. The tee areas have signs and bag holders and most have a bench to take a breather. Cement tee pads have been installed as of 4/27/13. The course is dog friendly and will most likely be all yours. The early spring time is my favorite time to play because the grass is green and short and the trees don't have their leaves yet.
Cons: Bring water because there is none for you out there. Wind and heat can be a factor at certain points in the year. Hole 11 is a filler hole, but what can you do. The grass can get high but it is regularly mowed. Too far from my house in Chico to regularly play. Make sure your shots land flat because you can get some nasty rollers (this is not a con rather on of the unique hazards associated with the course). Water does not come into play unless you really mess your shot up. The oak trees on this course will catch your plastic better than Buster Posey, just to let you know.
Other Thoughts: This was the site of the 2010 Nor Cal championships and annually holds the Banging Chains for Charity C-tier event. There are proposals to make the course 27 holes. Camping is available right near the course during the summer months.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 LOVED IT!

1    6/14/2011   7/13/2011
Review By: Dirt4dinner
Played: 72  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.8 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course was awesome! It was tough, and had it's fair share of pucker shots with the water in play, as well as some good open ripper shots. It had everything...except a water fountain!
Cons: It was HOT, it was in the middle of NOWHERE, and it was LONELY!

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.