Chandler, AZ 
Paseo Vista Recreation Area Share
Uploaded By: Shayneholley Hole #8 (Taken 7/2015)
3 / 195ft.   3 / 195ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign

Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Entertaining Course

2-4    8/4/2015   8/4/2015
Review By: Jowie
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2
Pros: *Very well cared for and very clean
*Bathrooms, garbage and recycling right off parking lot
*Fairways are clearly marked
*Great "next hole" arrows, easy navigation
*Addition of wood chips is a really nice touch
*Makes extremely good use of the allocated space
*Lots of fun holes, several ace runs, and a couple of interesting mandos...perfect for a rec round
Cons: *Crowds can create crossfire due to the number of adjacent fairways, keep your head on a swivel!
*Be aware, there is even less shade here than on most Valley courses
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a really fun, nicely maintained rec/beginner course. It is hard to find a lot of drawbacks. The course designer(s) did a great job of making an entertaining little course in a small area. I look forward to playing it again!

 Not your typical desert course!

5+    7/25/2015   7/28/2015
Review By: Shayneholley
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well laid out fairways if you play the rock lined OBs. Great for tournament preparation. Course has multiple legitimate par 4s. It has grown up a lot of vegetation and is now no longer a flat dry desert course, that I'm told it used to be.
Cons: A lot of hard pack and heat will tear up some of the more rubber type plastics.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

My new home course

5+    6/18/2015   6/19/2015
Review By: JNichols
Played: 50  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/26/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clean course that is well designed for the allotted space. Some small elevation changes, well designed holes, and just a ton of fun. I have 2 kids (9 and 13 years old) that play with me Often and having long and short tees makes this course fun for Everyone.

Cons: Neat layout, but not the most Challenging course. I am sure anyone rated over 900 will get bored of playing this course fairly quickly.
Other Thoughts: Predictable wind patterns (wind seems to come from same direction most of the time, but Does get gusty) and a well designed layout make this a great course to work on your midrange/putting game. There are not many Long holes. The course is crawling with rabbits, roadrunners, squirrels, lizards, quail, and other wildlife. Overall, I am greatful to have this course so close to my new home in Arizona!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Unique & Enjoyable!

1    3/17/2015   3/18/2015
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 831  Reviewed: 782  Exp: 37.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Paseo Vista Recreation Area is a recreation course built over the top of a old garbage dump. The terrain is a rolling, desert type but not a true desert. Something more of a cross between desert and groomed recreation area. The course has a practice basket, two concrete pads for each hole and simple signs showing a map and distance. The first sign was pretty beat up but the rest were in fairly good shape.
Hole distances varied from short ACE runs (150, 185 ft.) to 615 ft. par 4s.
The signature holes on the course are the two culvert holes. The first is 170 ft. to the basket which stands just 15 feet or so past the 10 foot high concrete culvert. The obvious stradegy here is to play this like any other 170 straight ACE run and ignore the culvert. Yeah! Easier said than done! I threw my drive over the culvert.
The second culvert hole, # 18, is another story. The sign says 215 from the first pad, 235 ft. from the second pad. These distances are way off! the second pad is about 100 ft. closer to culvert than first. Then it's 120 ft. more to the culvert. The basket is then 200 ft. past the culvert. So in the basket position today, it was 420. That's a very tough par 3 with a mando through a culvert.
I like the way the sign on # 13 listed different pars for the two tee pads. The distances are 345/475 and the pars are listed as 3/4. Very few courses go to this extreme.
Cons: # 17 is listed as 270 ft. It's slightly uphill and is listed as a par 4. This is an EAGLE waiting to happen all day long. It obviously should be a par 3.
Many of the fairways are very close and I guess this could cause a problem.
Other Thoughts: IMO, this course is well planned, well designed, well maintained and well constructed. If I lived near, I would play here often.
It's the first Phoenix area course that I've played that is really ideal for beginners and rec players alike. I've since played Green Valley out in San Tan Valley and that's another perfect course for beginners to cut their teeth on. Enjoy them both!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Growing into a hidden gem

5+    4/20/2014   4/22/2014
Review By: bogeybogey
Played: 25  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The trees seen in the media files are much bigger now making many of them come into play, adding to difficulty. Water and bathrooms on site as well as a 30 foot practice ring are nice amenities. Overall a quick and fun course that forces you 150-650 off the tee and through culverts.
Cons: Course shortens to ~150 on some holes making them too easy.
Other Thoughts: Great warm up course if planning a multiple course day.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Nice little pitch and putt

1    11/28/2013   11/28/2013
Review By: Justice1979
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very neat short course. My drive is way too much for this course. Great course to practice approach and putt from.
Cons: Windy, on this day, but not abysmal. I have played at far tougher courses in far worse wind, so this is reasonable. Lots of errant shots from other players. Tees, fairways, and baskets way too close together.
Other Thoughts: All in all a neat use of the grounds. Fun to play on this course. GREAT FOR BEGINNERS. My wife got her first, second, and third par. This was a fun little course. The cons are just minor considerations to keep in mind.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun beginner layout

1    9/22/2013   11/6/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a fairly open desert style park. There are a few small trees, otherwise the obstacles are mainly some small scrubby brush and some manmade obstacles. The brush is used well on a couple holes to punish errant drives, leaving upshots that have to go up and over to get to the green. The two holes that use the drainage culverts as mandos were a fun touch. On a course intended for higher level players they would seem gimmicky, but here they fit in perfectly and definitely add a different challenge.

There are some minor elevation changes that come into play on several holes. Nothing huge, but enough to make you think a little about how your disc is going to fly up or down a small hill. The baskets and tees are in nice shape, and the long tees on about half the holes add a little more challenge for better players. The signage is great, making it pretty easy to know where to throw and where to find the next tee.
Cons: There are some major safety issues here. Many of the fairways are parallel with no space or foliage in between. With less accurate players as the target audience here, those issues are magnified, and the heavy traffic makes it even worse. I saw several shots that ended up one or two fairways over from where they started when I played.

The park is pretty much wide open. The design makes some really fun short holes for what was available, but in the end it's a very short course without real line shaping challenges of any kind. I thought the long tees actually took away from the spirit of the course, the longer shots didn't fit the character of the course or the intended audience well.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will enjoy this course a lot. It's very approachable with little punishment for errant shots and a few fun challenges. More experienced players can have a good time bringing out new players or playing a quick putter round, but shouldn't expect a real test of their disc golf skills. This isn't the course I'd recommend if you're on a road trip through the area, but it's a nice quick stop if you don't have a lot of time.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Short but sweet

1    10/7/2013   10/7/2013
Review By: stratedge
Played: 27  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/22/2015
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained and in a nice recreation area with many amenities. Bring the whole family.

The terrain is hilly and makes for interesting angles of approach to park your disc at the basket. It's used well. Everything is really well marked and the stones in the ground near the basket pointing to the next tee is a great and welcome touch. The desert terrain is way more fun than I thought it would be, not being from the area.

The 2 holes with the concrete tube mandos are awesome, it's a really great idea that really works well. You have to make a good approach shot up to the tube, and then depending on how well you did that, make a decision to go for it or play it safe as you go through.
Cons: Super easy. I threw under par for the first time in my life here, on my first game, and it's not the par 4s that are easy... it's the par 3s. But still fun trying to deuce as many holes as you can. A lot of ~200 ft holes, that play like the disc golf version of "pitch and putt" (approach and putt?).

Very forgiving because even if you miss a shot, obstacles don't obscure the basket from any side. Generally, disc golf courses with few trees try to incorporate them as best they can, but this course seems to do the opposite and seems to avoid the trees/brush (more often than not). This course could have been a lot more interesting if the baskets were put beside/behind the bushes rather than in front of them. This is the course you bring your family to if you're trying to teach them to play.

The ground is very rocky, lots of rough gravel and sharp rock in many places, and will really beat in the discs fast.
Other Thoughts: I had fun. If/when I return to the area, I'm going to bring the family out to this course and let the kids play in the play ground while I play a round. A great course to swing out to if you're in the area. Goes without saying though, it's really hot and dry, bring cold drinks.

I think I've increased my rating by .5 due exclusively to the tube mandos which are really memorable and interesting. It's such a great idea, I think more holes should utilize this.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Mandos rock

5+    4/25/2013   6/25/2013
Review By: discwolf
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very fun course with great facilities. Water and restrooms close to start, finish, and halfway point. practice putting area near first hole. All holes are clearly maked and labeled with good signage. Love the two mando holes. great course to work on precision and touch. Nice tee pads and even a few extra ones for beginners.
Cons: Smells like manure sometimes but hey your in farm country on top of a landfill.
Other Thoughts: not sure if par fours are regulation par fours and need to be played as par 3's. Layout and rules at start of course is a nice touch but not sure what the min. distance for par 4's should be?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Vista yes, but...

1    4/25/2013   4/26/2013
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: beautiful vista views. Good tee pads, next hole markers are some of the best I have seen. Nicely laid out with obvious care. great that other uses of the park do not overlap this course. Hole 7 is a great signature hole with the pipe mando. Zero trash on course. Plays fun. Lots of aceable holes here. No big arm stuff... no big deal there. Steel plates as bridges over culverts are well placed and appreciated. Locals are friendly. bench on 12? was nice... but you need a few more on a few more holes. Lots of other things to do in the park... lndfill theme... reclaimed materials for park play lots and art pieces is nice.
Cons: many landfill courses are too windy. today was no exception. really makes for a tough time, cuts down on the enjoyment. adds challenge, but... This would be great without the wind. Not sure if wind is always an issue... I will come back and play again next time I am in town to see how it is. Garbage cans needed... more benches please.
Other Thoughts: No big arm stuff is O.K. since w all this wind big arm = havock. Would be a great course for small tournament play. Love the mandos on 7 and 18.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.