Chandler, AZ
Paseo Vista Recreation Area Share
Uploaded By: eye-ball-sac Hole #12 (Taken 1/2011)
3 / 160ft.   3 / 310ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 White Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Vista yes, but...

1    4/25/2013   4/26/2013
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: beautiful vista views. Good tee pads, next hole markers are some of the best I have seen. Nicely laid out with obvious care. great that other uses of the park do not overlap this course. Hole 7 is a great signature hole with the pipe mando. Zero trash on course. Plays fun. Lots of aceable holes here. No big arm stuff... no big deal there. Steel plates as bridges over culverts are well placed and appreciated. Locals are friendly. bench on 12? was nice... but you need a few more on a few more holes. Lots of other things to do in the park... lndfill theme... reclaimed materials for park play lots and art pieces is nice.
Cons: many landfill courses are too windy. today was no exception. really makes for a tough time, cuts down on the enjoyment. adds challenge, but... This would be great without the wind. Not sure if wind is always an issue... I will come back and play again next time I am in town to see how it is. Garbage cans needed... more benches please.
Other Thoughts: No big arm stuff is O.K. since w all this wind big arm = havock. Would be a great course for small tournament play. Love the mandos on 7 and 18.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 My first ACE!

2-4    10/14/2012   11/3/2012
Review By: Whitey602
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Very well maintained..Great views..wind makes for a challenge..bathrooms and water..easy to navigate..good signage..most holes have 2 tees..one average to long and one fairly short. a few blind shots one very long hole 5..
Cons: No grass can't play in summer or at least I wouldnt..walking paths very close to some fairways..
Other Thoughts: I really like this course..its built on an old landfill on top of a hill over looking farmland..crop planes fly overhead..I got my first ACE here on hole 14. Only one tee option from that hole so I dont feel bad about it being only 210 feet. Have hit metal on hole 6 twice. Big concrete mandos on 2 hole make for interesting shots..A couple holes need some real power but most pretty short. makes for a fun day if you have various skill levels playing with you..if ou stick to all the long tees its a decent chalenge

 Pretty Cool

5+    2/26/2012   3/7/2012
Review By: Collegeguy121
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
Pros: Practice basket
Tees & signs
bathrooms
Cons: Tight fairways
Sometimes there are blind tee shots and I've had difficulty finding the tee shots
crowded on the weekends
Other Thoughts: I don't really get why hole 17 is a par 4.

 The Vista is Nice!

2-4    2/17/2011   2/28/2011
Review By: Magiken
Played: 42  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 4.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Best course conditions so far (more on this later)
Course is very easy to find
Nice location with some interesting scenery
Warm-up area with basket
Baskets are in good shape and seem to all have hole number markers
Very beginner friendly
Multiple pad positions (and a couple extra baskets) throughout the course
Very cool mando pipe tunnel shots
Dog Friendly
Nice park amenities (dog park, archery range (yes I said archery), playground, restrooms, water, & free parking!)
Cons:
Tight design with fairways very close to each other
Won't be a challenge for the advanced player
Other Thoughts:
Random Thoughts:
From a course conditions perspective (maps, tee signage, tee pads, baskets), this course is the best one I've seen so far in my travels. I don't think this can be understated. If you're looking for an example for how to build a course, this is the one to look at. The map sign, the rules sign, the tee signs, the tee pads, the tee markers (yes, there are tee markers), and the baskets are in absolutely fantastic condition. All I can say is "Bravo!" to the course designers. You folks took your work seriously. As for the course itself, I found it to be about as much fun as you could fit in the space. Most of the holes aren't terribly long but they each present a slightly different challenge, from where the OB line is, to a strategically placed tree or hill, or the wonderfully fun pipe tunnel shots. I would imagine that getting your throw though one of those tunnels on your first throw must be a great feeling. One I unfortunately didn't get to feel. But it was still fun. Hole 18 is probably the signature hole because it has one of the pipes right around 250' and a tree almost directly in front of it but 40' back, which means you have to make a lay-up decision, and then if you choose to lay-up, make it a good one to set you up for a shot at the basket. A fun one that I looked forward to playing again. Now, getting back to the space itself, that's where the downside comes in. It's just not that big, which means fairways and other players are quite close. You'll need to keep your head on a swivel. It also means that it's not a particularly difficult course. I played it twice and threw -2 and -1 for the rounds with 10 or so birdies, and was actually throwing for a legitimate eagle for the first time (though truthfully I'm not sure that #17 should be a par 4 but thanks for the ego boost). Yes, there were obviously some bogeys in there, most of which were very correctable, except the tunnel shots which was just me missing. So I would imagine the advanced player decimating this course and being unfulfilled. Having said that, I found the terrain interesting with it's rock creeks (no water in them so don't worry) and slight undulations, and I suppose you could spice it up like a prior reviewer suggested by making those OB, but truthfully that might make it too hard, as there are a lot of them and I ended up in them at least 4 times on very good throws. But what the hay, give it a go.

Bottom Line:
This course might be a contender for best conditions of any course. I'm finding it hard to find anything to improve upon. Unfortunately, there just isn't enough space, obstacles, or elevation changes to make it truly elite. Having said that, I found it a fun course, and if I lived nearby, I would play it regularly to hone my game. I would also highly HIGHLY encourage anyone to introduce someone to the game on this course. It's absolutely perfect for that function. I brought some first time family member players out there and they agreed as well.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 King of the HIll

2-4    1/4/2010   1/4/2010
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A brand new park set on top of a large hill/mountain, actually an old landfill, that has awesome views of the surrounding area. Easy parking right by the first hole. Nice practice basket to warm up at. Large course map right by teepad 1. Beautiful landscaping throughout entire park area. Large lebel cement teepads on all holes. Nearly every hole has a white (pro) and red (am) teepads. Nice metal signs with all the info needed. Brand new baskets. Most holes play straight on. Some of the holes are rather short allowing for lots of birdie and ace potential. Slight elevation throughout that adds some challenge, especially on hole three with a hill right past the teepad blocking your view. Fairly easy to navigate throughout the course. A few longer holes thrown in there to let it rip. Two large cement tunnels that are mandos to throw through that add a unique challenge.
Cons: Not a pro level course. The holes are fairly short and the majority of the time I was throwing my putter from the teepad. Space is limited here and the fairways are very close to each other, with hole 2 throwing a teeshot over the basket on 1. Throw your disc just off the fairway and risk hitting someone. Also this creates baskets that are very close to each other making it a little confusing which one to throw at sometimes. This is a desert course and thus there is no grass and minimal amount of tree to obstuct fairways thus decreasing the challenge level. Lack of left/right shots and short holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a decent course to play. A nice park with wonderful views. This disc golf park is designed for new players to the game and also for families as indicated by some of the super short holes from the red teepads. Even throwing from the white pads, total course length is 5350 feet, some 9 hole courses are close to this length. The challenge level is too low, but for a beginner this would be just perfect. Watch out for the tight fairways so no one gets hurt. With a large playground, dog park and baseball field under construction, this is a great place to take the family too and introduce new players to the game.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.