Chandler, AZ 
Paseo Vista Recreation Area Share
Uploaded By: eye-ball-sac   (Taken 1/2011)
Practice basket with 10 meter circle



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Short but sweet

1    10/7/2013   10/7/2013
Review By: stratedge
Played: 18  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained and in a nice recreation area with many amenities. Bring the whole family.

The terrain is hilly and makes for interesting angles of approach to park your disc at the basket. It's used well. Everything is really well marked and the stones in the ground near the basket pointing to the next tee is a great and welcome touch. The desert terrain is way more fun than I thought it would be, not being from the area.

The 2 holes with the concrete tube mandos are awesome, it's a really great idea that really works well. You have to make a good approach shot up to the tube, and then depending on how well you did that, make a decision to go for it or play it safe as you go through.
Cons: Super easy. I threw under par for the first time in my life here, on my first game, and it's not the par 4s that are easy... it's the par 3s. But still fun trying to deuce as many holes as you can. A lot of ~200 ft holes, that play like the disc golf version of "pitch and putt" (approach and putt?).

Very forgiving because even if you miss a shot, obstacles don't obscure the basket from any side. Generally, disc golf courses with few trees try to incorporate them as best they can, but this course seems to do the opposite and seems to avoid the trees/brush (more often than not). This course could have been a lot more interesting if the baskets were put beside/behind the bushes rather than in front of them. This is the course you bring your family to if you're trying to teach them to play.

The ground is very rocky, lots of rough gravel and sharp rock in many places, and will really beat in the discs fast.
Other Thoughts: I had fun. If/when I return to the area, I'm going to bring the family out to this course and let the kids play in the play ground while I play a round. A great course to swing out to if you're in the area. Goes without saying though, it's really hot and dry, bring cold drinks.

I think I've increased my rating by .5 due exclusively to the tube mandos which are really memorable and interesting. It's such a great idea, I think more holes should utilize this.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  On a reclaimed landfill

5+    3/10/2011   3/11/2011
Review By: ASUPaul
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great location and a creative way to "recycle" an old landfill site. Parking is close to the course and there is a putting green near the first tee. Also posted nearby (and on the Paseo Vista website) is an accurate map of the course with tees, holes, and distances marked. There also is a sign posted by each tee with the information and map for that hole. My wife and I both are older novices, but after she got a set of discs for Christmas we got into it right away and try to play at least once a week. The view is great, there are other things going on around you (like bi-planes and experimental aircraft taking off from nearby Chandler Airport). The tees are concrete and well marked, as are the holes (once you are close enough to read the numbers). The course and entire park area are planted with native vegetation, and watered with reclaimed water. The terrain is gently hilly, which is kind of nice compared with just a flat course. People here (so far anyway) have been friendly, and we have had no issues with anyone. Alcohol is not allowed in the park, but this could be a con for those who would like a cold beer after playing a round or two. Restrooms and fresh water are right on site, which is a great convenience.
Cons: It's difficult to see some of the holes (and this will become more of an issue when some of the vegetation is in full leaf), at least until you get close enough to read the numbers. It seems like some of the signs are posted backwards, but that's not really a bid deal. The "washes" are paved with angular cobbles and these can be kind of tricky to walk over -- it's a sprained ankle (or worse) waiting to happen. Unless you're a pro and put every shot on the fairway, these areas are unavoidable. Otherwise, there are metal plates that serve as bridges across these washes, but they are few and not always close enough to be convenient. There is virtually no shade on the course, which may limit some players to early and late in the day when the weather is warmer. This may seem like a lot of cons, but there is nothing here that should be a deterrent to anyone.
Other Thoughts: Download and print a copy of the course map from the Paseo Vista website and take it along -- it can help resolve some of the confusion that can arise about where is the next tee, or the next hole. There also are other amenities to this park, and other reasons to visit. Overall a lot to offer.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 On top of a hill...

5+    7/25/2010   8/1/2010
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is located on top of a landfill that has been buried over with tons (literally!) of dirt. Because of all the dirt, there are some small hills which makes this course different from all the other ones in the area. There were some vertical obstacles. It looked like they were trying to grow some more, but for now there's not much. Rock beds were interesting, but if you land in one, it's a hard position to throw from. Crushed rock fairways were very good, but could tear up your disc. The course had a double loop design (hole 1,9,10, and 18 were all close to the parking lot.) Dual concrete tees were nice. Tee signs were very detailed and accurate. DISCatcher baskets were in very good condition and had no graffiti on them. Trash cans are scattered throughout the course and there's hardly any trash (except for under the ground).
Cons: Holes were very short. Only three holes over 400 ft. Most holes were under 200 ft. and were easily reached in one shot. Lots of non-golfers in the park. The fairways are the same material as the walking trail so sometimes people get confused and start walking/biking through the fairways. No benches anywhere, but the course plays fast so you won't need them.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course was very fun to play. The concrete tunnels were annoying the first time playing them, but around the 3rd or 4th time it was easy. There's a nice practice basket with a 30m ring near hole one for some pre-round putting practice. I was visiting family for a week and I played this course about 6 times. There are lots of other activities in the park so you could bring the whole family.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting Terrain

1    3/22/2010   5/13/2010
Review By: Jax11
Played: 97  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Concrete Tee-pads
- Very easy to navigate
- Great signage
- Good elevation changes
- Decent variety of distances.
- Interesting Desert Terrain
- Neat mandos with concrete pipes
- Nice walking paths and bridges to cross rock beds.
- Nice Discatcher baskets
- Practice green and 30 meter ring before hole one.
Cons: - Not many obstacles (Spike Hyzers all day)
- Some holes were repetitive.
- Very cramped could get dangerous with other park users and other golfers.
- The rock beds became a pain at times, especially for the older disc golfers who are not as nimble as they used to be.
Other Thoughts: Overall a nice little course. It was a joy to have a course that was so well laid out navigation wise after trying to play Mesquite Grove. This course was built on an old landfill so the elevation is nice and the view of the surrounding area is scenic as well. This is for the most part a short course and some of the holes are right on top of each other. Since it is desert terrain there are no real vertical obstacles besides elevation and you do not need to really chose a line on most holes. The concrete tunnels made for a fun mando and were very unique. The course is also laid out so the end of the front nine brings you nearly to where you started so you can call it quits at 9 holes if you wish. I would definitely play this course again , but if the designers maybe added some mature saguaro cacti it could be that much better.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Worth Playing

2-4    1/31/2010   1/2/2010
Review By: rcmalamutes
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/31/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very nicely marked. I have only played a few courses in Arizona, but this is by far the nicest in terms of signage and tees. The Mandatory tunnels are very cool additions.
Cons: There are quite a few short holes, as other reviewers have pointed out, and they are VERY close together. If you had several groups playing here things would get very interesting, very quickly. Very rough on the disks with all of the rocks.
Other Thoughts: I am a Mesa resident, and their are a few courses that are closer... this is worth the drive.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Well Done

5+    12/29/2009   12/31/2009
Review By: Sunday Mike
Played: 42  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/4/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is absolutely the best constructed course in Phoenix. The tees and signs are great. Paths lead from each basket to the next tee (except after #9--#10 is just down the main park path from #9). There are even crushed rock fairways!! Most of the holes also have two tees (both being concrete). The park itself is also very well thought out with very clean facilities.
Cons: I am not a long thrower, but even I must say that there are quite a few short holes on this couse. The red tees are incredibly short--they would be very nice for a beginnner, but a veteran player would not find them very challenging. The white tees are much more manageable. I am still of two minds about the two holes which have mandatory concrete tunnels to shoot through. They are interesting and give the course some character, but I'm not sure I like them
Other Thoughts: When the trees start coming in, this is going to be a high caliber course.
Yes there are a few too many short holes, but this is hands down the best planned course in the Phoenix area!! You need to play this one!!!

Alot of people complain about the short length of this course, well there is a way to counteract that. Throughout the course are rockbeds which almost look like streams. If you play those as OB it puts a whole new spin on the course and the difficulty level is increased quite a bit.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.