Chandler, AZ 
Paseo Vista Recreation Area Share
Uploaded By: eye-ball-sac Hole #10 (Taken 1/2011)
3 / 230ft.   3 / 290ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Red Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
Pleasant Course on Reclaimed Land

2-4    10/1/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 181  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 22.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This park was built on an old landfill and they did a remarkable job of recreating the natural desert environment. The designers did a nice job of creating a course with limited space and terrain to work with.

Two tee pads on most holes accomodate different skill levels. The wind seems prevalent here and I see this as a benefit that adds challenge to the course. Add in some sloped greens and your par can easily become a bogey or worse! I think that equalizes the easier aspects of the course.
Teepads, signage and baskets are top notch!

A couple of holes were creative using drainage pipes as a Mandatory route, which I though was neat. They also used the slight elevation to the advantage.

This is the perfect place for beginners to learn without too much punishment or for families to enjoy a pretty place.
Cons: The primary downfall is the closeness of fairways to each other- leaving no room for error- or you're in the next fairway.

The other obvious factor is that due to the fact that all the vegetation is quite new, the course is pretty open- not much to go around or avoid (what's there is small). Hopefully, in time they will plant more foliage, or the existing stuff will get taller and wider.
Other Thoughts: Be prepared for your plastic to get abused- lots of clay soil and rocks filling drainage ditches!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  On a reclaimed landfill

5+    3/10/2011   3/11/2011
Review By: ASUPaul
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great location and a creative way to "recycle" an old landfill site. Parking is close to the course and there is a putting green near the first tee. Also posted nearby (and on the Paseo Vista website) is an accurate map of the course with tees, holes, and distances marked. There also is a sign posted by each tee with the information and map for that hole. My wife and I both are older novices, but after she got a set of discs for Christmas we got into it right away and try to play at least once a week. The view is great, there are other things going on around you (like bi-planes and experimental aircraft taking off from nearby Chandler Airport). The tees are concrete and well marked, as are the holes (once you are close enough to read the numbers). The course and entire park area are planted with native vegetation, and watered with reclaimed water. The terrain is gently hilly, which is kind of nice compared with just a flat course. People here (so far anyway) have been friendly, and we have had no issues with anyone. Alcohol is not allowed in the park, but this could be a con for those who would like a cold beer after playing a round or two. Restrooms and fresh water are right on site, which is a great convenience.
Cons: It's difficult to see some of the holes (and this will become more of an issue when some of the vegetation is in full leaf), at least until you get close enough to read the numbers. It seems like some of the signs are posted backwards, but that's not really a bid deal. The "washes" are paved with angular cobbles and these can be kind of tricky to walk over -- it's a sprained ankle (or worse) waiting to happen. Unless you're a pro and put every shot on the fairway, these areas are unavoidable. Otherwise, there are metal plates that serve as bridges across these washes, but they are few and not always close enough to be convenient. There is virtually no shade on the course, which may limit some players to early and late in the day when the weather is warmer. This may seem like a lot of cons, but there is nothing here that should be a deterrent to anyone.
Other Thoughts: Download and print a copy of the course map from the Paseo Vista website and take it along -- it can help resolve some of the confusion that can arise about where is the next tee, or the next hole. There also are other amenities to this park, and other reasons to visit. Overall a lot to offer.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Vista is Nice!

2-4    2/17/2011   2/28/2011
Review By: Magiken
Played: 43  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 5.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Best course conditions so far (more on this later)
Course is very easy to find
Nice location with some interesting scenery
Warm-up area with basket
Baskets are in good shape and seem to all have hole number markers
Very beginner friendly
Multiple pad positions (and a couple extra baskets) throughout the course
Very cool mando pipe tunnel shots
Dog Friendly
Nice park amenities (dog park, archery range (yes I said archery), playground, restrooms, water, & free parking!)
Cons:
Tight design with fairways very close to each other
Won't be a challenge for the advanced player
Other Thoughts:
Random Thoughts:
From a course conditions perspective (maps, tee signage, tee pads, baskets), this course is the best one I've seen so far in my travels. I don't think this can be understated. If you're looking for an example for how to build a course, this is the one to look at. The map sign, the rules sign, the tee signs, the tee pads, the tee markers (yes, there are tee markers), and the baskets are in absolutely fantastic condition. All I can say is "Bravo!" to the course designers. You folks took your work seriously. As for the course itself, I found it to be about as much fun as you could fit in the space. Most of the holes aren't terribly long but they each present a slightly different challenge, from where the OB line is, to a strategically placed tree or hill, or the wonderfully fun pipe tunnel shots. I would imagine that getting your throw though one of those tunnels on your first throw must be a great feeling. One I unfortunately didn't get to feel. But it was still fun. Hole 18 is probably the signature hole because it has one of the pipes right around 250' and a tree almost directly in front of it but 40' back, which means you have to make a lay-up decision, and then if you choose to lay-up, make it a good one to set you up for a shot at the basket. A fun one that I looked forward to playing again. Now, getting back to the space itself, that's where the downside comes in. It's just not that big, which means fairways and other players are quite close. You'll need to keep your head on a swivel. It also means that it's not a particularly difficult course. I played it twice and threw -2 and -1 for the rounds with 10 or so birdies, and was actually throwing for a legitimate eagle for the first time (though truthfully I'm not sure that #17 should be a par 4 but thanks for the ego boost). Yes, there were obviously some bogeys in there, most of which were very correctable, except the tunnel shots which was just me missing. So I would imagine the advanced player decimating this course and being unfulfilled. Having said that, I found the terrain interesting with it's rock creeks (no water in them so don't worry) and slight undulations, and I suppose you could spice it up like a prior reviewer suggested by making those OB, but truthfully that might make it too hard, as there are a lot of them and I ended up in them at least 4 times on very good throws. But what the hay, give it a go.

Bottom Line:
This course might be a contender for best conditions of any course. I'm finding it hard to find anything to improve upon. Unfortunately, there just isn't enough space, obstacles, or elevation changes to make it truly elite. Having said that, I found it a fun course, and if I lived nearby, I would play it regularly to hone my game. I would also highly HIGHLY encourage anyone to introduce someone to the game on this course. It's absolutely perfect for that function. I brought some first time family member players out there and they agreed as well.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/6/2010   10/6/2010
Review By: puffpufftoss
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: clean clear shots. rock trail to follow all around the course. each hole has a clearly marked cement tee off. 2 awesome mandos on whole 9 and 18
Cons: it gets way hot out there sometimes. not alot of shade.
Other Thoughts: really fun to go out and bs. doesnt take long to finish but great set up.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 On top of a hill...

5+    7/25/2010   8/1/2010
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is located on top of a landfill that has been buried over with tons (literally!) of dirt. Because of all the dirt, there are some small hills which makes this course different from all the other ones in the area. There were some vertical obstacles. It looked like they were trying to grow some more, but for now there's not much. Rock beds were interesting, but if you land in one, it's a hard position to throw from. Crushed rock fairways were very good, but could tear up your disc. The course had a double loop design (hole 1,9,10, and 18 were all close to the parking lot.) Dual concrete tees were nice. Tee signs were very detailed and accurate. DISCatcher baskets were in very good condition and had no graffiti on them. Trash cans are scattered throughout the course and there's hardly any trash (except for under the ground).
Cons: Holes were very short. Only three holes over 400 ft. Most holes were under 200 ft. and were easily reached in one shot. Lots of non-golfers in the park. The fairways are the same material as the walking trail so sometimes people get confused and start walking/biking through the fairways. No benches anywhere, but the course plays fast so you won't need them.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course was very fun to play. The concrete tunnels were annoying the first time playing them, but around the 3rd or 4th time it was easy. There's a nice practice basket with a 30m ring near hole one for some pre-round putting practice. I was visiting family for a week and I played this course about 6 times. There are lots of other activities in the park so you could bring the whole family.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting Terrain

1    3/22/2010   5/13/2010
Review By: Jax11
Played: 97  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Concrete Tee-pads
- Very easy to navigate
- Great signage
- Good elevation changes
- Decent variety of distances.
- Interesting Desert Terrain
- Neat mandos with concrete pipes
- Nice walking paths and bridges to cross rock beds.
- Nice Discatcher baskets
- Practice green and 30 meter ring before hole one.
Cons: - Not many obstacles (Spike Hyzers all day)
- Some holes were repetitive.
- Very cramped could get dangerous with other park users and other golfers.
- The rock beds became a pain at times, especially for the older disc golfers who are not as nimble as they used to be.
Other Thoughts: Overall a nice little course. It was a joy to have a course that was so well laid out navigation wise after trying to play Mesquite Grove. This course was built on an old landfill so the elevation is nice and the view of the surrounding area is scenic as well. This is for the most part a short course and some of the holes are right on top of each other. Since it is desert terrain there are no real vertical obstacles besides elevation and you do not need to really chose a line on most holes. The concrete tunnels made for a fun mando and were very unique. The course is also laid out so the end of the front nine brings you nearly to where you started so you can call it quits at 9 holes if you wish. I would definitely play this course again , but if the designers maybe added some mature saguaro cacti it could be that much better.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 King of the HIll

2-4    1/4/2010   1/4/2010
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A brand new park set on top of a large hill/mountain, actually an old landfill, that has awesome views of the surrounding area. Easy parking right by the first hole. Nice practice basket to warm up at. Large course map right by teepad 1. Beautiful landscaping throughout entire park area. Large lebel cement teepads on all holes. Nearly every hole has a white (pro) and red (am) teepads. Nice metal signs with all the info needed. Brand new baskets. Most holes play straight on. Some of the holes are rather short allowing for lots of birdie and ace potential. Slight elevation throughout that adds some challenge, especially on hole three with a hill right past the teepad blocking your view. Fairly easy to navigate throughout the course. A few longer holes thrown in there to let it rip. Two large cement tunnels that are mandos to throw through that add a unique challenge.
Cons: Not a pro level course. The holes are fairly short and the majority of the time I was throwing my putter from the teepad. Space is limited here and the fairways are very close to each other, with hole 2 throwing a teeshot over the basket on 1. Throw your disc just off the fairway and risk hitting someone. Also this creates baskets that are very close to each other making it a little confusing which one to throw at sometimes. This is a desert course and thus there is no grass and minimal amount of tree to obstuct fairways thus decreasing the challenge level. Lack of left/right shots and short holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a decent course to play. A nice park with wonderful views. This disc golf park is designed for new players to the game and also for families as indicated by some of the super short holes from the red teepads. Even throwing from the white pads, total course length is 5350 feet, some 9 hole courses are close to this length. The challenge level is too low, but for a beginner this would be just perfect. Watch out for the tight fairways so no one gets hurt. With a large playground, dog park and baseball field under construction, this is a great place to take the family too and introduce new players to the game.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Worth Playing

2-4    1/31/2010   1/2/2010
Review By: rcmalamutes
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/31/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very nicely marked. I have only played a few courses in Arizona, but this is by far the nicest in terms of signage and tees. The Mandatory tunnels are very cool additions.
Cons: There are quite a few short holes, as other reviewers have pointed out, and they are VERY close together. If you had several groups playing here things would get very interesting, very quickly. Very rough on the disks with all of the rocks.
Other Thoughts: I am a Mesa resident, and their are a few courses that are closer... this is worth the drive.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Well Done

5+    12/29/2009   12/31/2009
Review By: Sunday Mike
Played: 42  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/4/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is absolutely the best constructed course in Phoenix. The tees and signs are great. Paths lead from each basket to the next tee (except after #9--#10 is just down the main park path from #9). There are even crushed rock fairways!! Most of the holes also have two tees (both being concrete). The park itself is also very well thought out with very clean facilities.
Cons: I am not a long thrower, but even I must say that there are quite a few short holes on this couse. The red tees are incredibly short--they would be very nice for a beginnner, but a veteran player would not find them very challenging. The white tees are much more manageable. I am still of two minds about the two holes which have mandatory concrete tunnels to shoot through. They are interesting and give the course some character, but I'm not sure I like them
Other Thoughts: When the trees start coming in, this is going to be a high caliber course.
Yes there are a few too many short holes, but this is hands down the best planned course in the Phoenix area!! You need to play this one!!!

Alot of people complain about the short length of this course, well there is a way to counteract that. Throughout the course are rockbeds which almost look like streams. If you play those as OB it puts a whole new spin on the course and the difficulty level is increased quite a bit.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Worth Playing

2-4    12/27/2009   12/28/2009
Review By: ChandlerDiscer
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 1/1/2010
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The constrution of signs and tees is nearly perfect, I've played all of the courses in the phoenix area and the tee areas are almost the best I've seen. Good mix of long and short holes. Interesting flight paths (Mandos). Plenty of parking, nice view, decent changes of elevation. Fun blind holes. Pretty easy to navigate, No risk of losing disc to water
Cons: Some holes are a little too short, holes crowded together (may cause problems when more golfers are out there)
Other Thoughts: No path to hole #10. Hole #13's sign is backward ~~whoops!!!!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.