Chandler, AZ 
Paseo Vista Recreation Area Share
Uploaded By: eye-ball-sac Hole #1 (Taken 1/2011)
3 / 230ft.   3 / 320ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 White Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Growing into a hidden gem

5+    4/20/2014   4/22/2014
Review By: bogeybogey
Played: 25  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The trees seen in the media files are much bigger now making many of them come into play, adding to difficulty. Water and bathrooms on site as well as a 30 foot practice ring are nice amenities. Overall a quick and fun course that forces you 150-650 off the tee and through culverts.
Cons: Course shortens to ~150 on some holes making them too easy.
Other Thoughts: Great warm up course if planning a multiple course day.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little pitch and putt

1    11/28/2013   11/28/2013
Review By: Justice1979
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very neat short course. My drive is way too much for this course. Great course to practice approach and putt from.
Cons: Windy, on this day, but not abysmal. I have played at far tougher courses in far worse wind, so this is reasonable. Lots of errant shots from other players. Tees, fairways, and baskets way too close together.
Other Thoughts: All in all a neat use of the grounds. Fun to play on this course. GREAT FOR BEGINNERS. My wife got her first, second, and third par. This was a fun little course. The cons are just minor considerations to keep in mind.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun beginner layout

1    9/22/2013   11/6/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a fairly open desert style park. There are a few small trees, otherwise the obstacles are mainly some small scrubby brush and some manmade obstacles. The brush is used well on a couple holes to punish errant drives, leaving upshots that have to go up and over to get to the green. The two holes that use the drainage culverts as mandos were a fun touch. On a course intended for higher level players they would seem gimmicky, but here they fit in perfectly and definitely add a different challenge.

There are some minor elevation changes that come into play on several holes. Nothing huge, but enough to make you think a little about how your disc is going to fly up or down a small hill. The baskets and tees are in nice shape, and the long tees on about half the holes add a little more challenge for better players. The signage is great, making it pretty easy to know where to throw and where to find the next tee.
Cons: There are some major safety issues here. Many of the fairways are parallel with no space or foliage in between. With less accurate players as the target audience here, those issues are magnified, and the heavy traffic makes it even worse. I saw several shots that ended up one or two fairways over from where they started when I played.

The park is pretty much wide open. The design makes some really fun short holes for what was available, but in the end it's a very short course without real line shaping challenges of any kind. I thought the long tees actually took away from the spirit of the course, the longer shots didn't fit the character of the course or the intended audience well.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will enjoy this course a lot. It's very approachable with little punishment for errant shots and a few fun challenges. More experienced players can have a good time bringing out new players or playing a quick putter round, but shouldn't expect a real test of their disc golf skills. This isn't the course I'd recommend if you're on a road trip through the area, but it's a nice quick stop if you don't have a lot of time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Short but sweet

1    10/7/2013   10/7/2013
Review By: stratedge
Played: 11  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained and in a nice recreation area with many amenities. Bring the whole family.

The terrain is hilly and makes for interesting angles of approach to park your disc at the basket. It's used well. Everything is really well marked and the stones in the ground near the basket pointing to the next tee is a great and welcome touch. The desert terrain is way more fun than I thought it would be, not being from the area.

The 2 holes with the concrete tube mandos are awesome, it's a really great idea that really works well. You have to make a good approach shot up to the tube, and then depending on how well you did that, make a decision to go for it or play it safe as you go through.
Cons: Super easy. I threw under par for the first time in my life here, on my first game, and it's not the par 4s that are easy... it's the par 3s. But still fun trying to deuce as many holes as you can. A lot of ~200 ft holes, that play like the disc golf version of "pitch and putt" (approach and putt?).

Very forgiving because even if you miss a shot, obstacles don't obscure the basket from any side. Generally, disc golf courses with few trees try to incorporate them as best they can, but this course seems to do the opposite and seems to avoid the trees/brush (more often than not). This course could have been a lot more interesting if the baskets were put beside/behind the bushes rather than in front of them. This is the course you bring your family to if you're trying to teach them to play.

The ground is very rocky, lots of rough gravel and sharp rock in many places, and will really beat in the discs fast.
Other Thoughts: I had fun. If/when I return to the area, I'm going to bring the family out to this course and let the kids play in the play ground while I play a round. A great course to swing out to if you're in the area. Goes without saying though, it's really hot and dry, bring cold drinks.

I think I've increased my rating by .5 due exclusively to the tube mandos which are really memorable and interesting. It's such a great idea, I think more holes should utilize this.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mandos rock

5+    4/25/2013   6/25/2013
Review By: discwolf
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Very fun course with great facilities. Water and restrooms close to start, finish, and halfway point. practice putting area near first hole. All holes are clearly maked and labeled with good signage. Love the two mando holes. great course to work on precision and touch. Nice tee pads and even a few extra ones for beginners.
Cons: Smells like manure sometimes but hey your in farm country on top of a landfill.
Other Thoughts: not sure if par fours are regulation par fours and need to be played as par 3's. Layout and rules at start of course is a nice touch but not sure what the min. distance for par 4's should be?

Vista yes, but...

1    4/25/2013   4/26/2013
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: beautiful vista views. Good tee pads, next hole markers are some of the best I have seen. Nicely laid out with obvious care. great that other uses of the park do not overlap this course. Hole 7 is a great signature hole with the pipe mando. Zero trash on course. Plays fun. Lots of aceable holes here. No big arm stuff... no big deal there. Steel plates as bridges over culverts are well placed and appreciated. Locals are friendly. bench on 12? was nice... but you need a few more on a few more holes. Lots of other things to do in the park... lndfill theme... reclaimed materials for park play lots and art pieces is nice.
Cons: many landfill courses are too windy. today was no exception. really makes for a tough time, cuts down on the enjoyment. adds challenge, but... This would be great without the wind. Not sure if wind is always an issue... I will come back and play again next time I am in town to see how it is. Garbage cans needed... more benches please.
Other Thoughts: No big arm stuff is O.K. since w all this wind big arm = havock. Would be a great course for small tournament play. Love the mandos on 7 and 18.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 My first ACE!

2-4    10/14/2012   11/3/2012
Review By: Whitey602
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Very well maintained..Great views..wind makes for a challenge..bathrooms and water..easy to navigate..good signage..most holes have 2 tees..one average to long and one fairly short. a few blind shots one very long hole 5..
Cons: No grass can't play in summer or at least I wouldnt..walking paths very close to some fairways..
Other Thoughts: I really like this course..its built on an old landfill on top of a hill over looking farmland..crop planes fly overhead..I got my first ACE here on hole 14. Only one tee option from that hole so I dont feel bad about it being only 210 feet. Have hit metal on hole 6 twice. Big concrete mandos on 2 hole make for interesting shots..A couple holes need some real power but most pretty short. makes for a fun day if you have various skill levels playing with you..if ou stick to all the long tees its a decent chalenge


5+    9/22/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: Psicko
Played: 24  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 10.6 Years
Pros: good use of ex landfill. Signage and tee pads are concrete and well done. long/short tee pads on most if not all holes. I think it flowed really well.
Bathrooms and water is available.
Cons: a couple of fairways are pretty close to each other.
Other Thoughts: This course is well done, it is on top of a hill covering an ex landfill. it can be really tricky at times especially when there is wind. Many a times I had some nice looking drives catch a draft, and go way further or way off because of the drafts on the course. Some holes have a good ace opportunity, Ive hit chains twice on the same hole, but no luck going in. I think the course suits a variety of players from beginners to experienced.


1    10/6/2012   10/8/2012
Review By: dickybird
Played: 78  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice park, clean, and well maintained. 2 tees for many holes, tee pads and signage are nice. Easy to navigate. Great course to work on midrange game.
Cons: Seems that they tried to squeeze this into a fairly restricted space. A result is very close and sometimes overlapping fairways. Might have made more sense to make this a 9 hole course with longer holes having multiple tees.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Cool

5+    2/26/2012   3/7/2012
Review By: Collegeguy121
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Practice basket
Tees & signs
bathrooms
Cons: Tight fairways
Sometimes there are blind tee shots and I've had difficulty finding the tee shots
crowded on the weekends
Other Thoughts: I don't really get why hole 17 is a par 4.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.