Chandler, AZ 
Paseo Vista Recreation Area Share
Uploaded By: Shayneholley Hole #3 (Taken 7/2015)
3 / 175ft.   3 / 245ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Short but sweet

1    10/7/2013   10/7/2013
Review By: stratedge
Played: 30  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/22/2015
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained and in a nice recreation area with many amenities. Bring the whole family.

The terrain is hilly and makes for interesting angles of approach to park your disc at the basket. It's used well. Everything is really well marked and the stones in the ground near the basket pointing to the next tee is a great and welcome touch. The desert terrain is way more fun than I thought it would be, not being from the area.

The 2 holes with the concrete tube mandos are awesome, it's a really great idea that really works well. You have to make a good approach shot up to the tube, and then depending on how well you did that, make a decision to go for it or play it safe as you go through.
Cons: Super easy. I threw under par for the first time in my life here, on my first game, and it's not the par 4s that are easy... it's the par 3s. But still fun trying to deuce as many holes as you can. A lot of ~200 ft holes, that play like the disc golf version of "pitch and putt" (approach and putt?).

Very forgiving because even if you miss a shot, obstacles don't obscure the basket from any side. Generally, disc golf courses with few trees try to incorporate them as best they can, but this course seems to do the opposite and seems to avoid the trees/brush (more often than not). This course could have been a lot more interesting if the baskets were put beside/behind the bushes rather than in front of them. This is the course you bring your family to if you're trying to teach them to play.

The ground is very rocky, lots of rough gravel and sharp rock in many places, and will really beat in the discs fast.
Other Thoughts: I had fun. If/when I return to the area, I'm going to bring the family out to this course and let the kids play in the play ground while I play a round. A great course to swing out to if you're in the area. Goes without saying though, it's really hot and dry, bring cold drinks.

I think I've increased my rating by .5 due exclusively to the tube mandos which are really memorable and interesting. It's such a great idea, I think more holes should utilize this.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Mandos rock

5+    4/25/2013   6/25/2013
Review By: discwolf
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very fun course with great facilities. Water and restrooms close to start, finish, and halfway point. practice putting area near first hole. All holes are clearly maked and labeled with good signage. Love the two mando holes. great course to work on precision and touch. Nice tee pads and even a few extra ones for beginners.
Cons: Smells like manure sometimes but hey your in farm country on top of a landfill.
Other Thoughts: not sure if par fours are regulation par fours and need to be played as par 3's. Layout and rules at start of course is a nice touch but not sure what the min. distance for par 4's should be?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Vista yes, but...

1    4/25/2013   4/26/2013
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 7.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: beautiful vista views. Good tee pads, next hole markers are some of the best I have seen. Nicely laid out with obvious care. great that other uses of the park do not overlap this course. Hole 7 is a great signature hole with the pipe mando. Zero trash on course. Plays fun. Lots of aceable holes here. No big arm stuff... no big deal there. Steel plates as bridges over culverts are well placed and appreciated. Locals are friendly. bench on 12? was nice... but you need a few more on a few more holes. Lots of other things to do in the park... lndfill theme... reclaimed materials for park play lots and art pieces is nice.
Cons: many landfill courses are too windy. today was no exception. really makes for a tough time, cuts down on the enjoyment. adds challenge, but... This would be great without the wind. Not sure if wind is always an issue... I will come back and play again next time I am in town to see how it is. Garbage cans needed... more benches please.
Other Thoughts: No big arm stuff is O.K. since w all this wind big arm = havock. Would be a great course for small tournament play. Love the mandos on 7 and 18.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  My first ACE!

2-4    10/14/2012   11/3/2012
Review By: Whitey602
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained..Great views..wind makes for a challenge..bathrooms and water..easy to navigate..good signage..most holes have 2 tees..one average to long and one fairly short. a few blind shots one very long hole 5..
Cons: No grass can't play in summer or at least I wouldnt..walking paths very close to some fairways..
Other Thoughts: I really like this course..its built on an old landfill on top of a hill over looking farmland..crop planes fly overhead..I got my first ACE here on hole 14. Only one tee option from that hole so I dont feel bad about it being only 210 feet. Have hit metal on hole 6 twice. Big concrete mandos on 2 hole make for interesting shots..A couple holes need some real power but most pretty short. makes for a fun day if you have various skill levels playing with you..if ou stick to all the long tees its a decent chalenge

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/22/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: Psicko
Played: 24  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 12.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: good use of ex landfill. Signage and tee pads are concrete and well done. long/short tee pads on most if not all holes. I think it flowed really well.
Bathrooms and water is available.
Cons: a couple of fairways are pretty close to each other.
Other Thoughts: This course is well done, it is on top of a hill covering an ex landfill. it can be really tricky at times especially when there is wind. Many a times I had some nice looking drives catch a draft, and go way further or way off because of the drafts on the course. Some holes have a good ace opportunity, Ive hit chains twice on the same hole, but no luck going in. I think the course suits a variety of players from beginners to experienced.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/6/2012   10/8/2012
Review By: dickybird
Played: 82  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice park, clean, and well maintained. 2 tees for many holes, tee pads and signage are nice. Easy to navigate. Great course to work on midrange game.
Cons: Seems that they tried to squeeze this into a fairly restricted space. A result is very close and sometimes overlapping fairways. Might have made more sense to make this a 9 hole course with longer holes having multiple tees.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Cool

5+    2/26/2012   3/7/2012
Review By: Collegeguy121
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Practice basket
Tees & signs
bathrooms
Cons: Tight fairways
Sometimes there are blind tee shots and I've had difficulty finding the tee shots
crowded on the weekends
Other Thoughts: I don't really get why hole 17 is a par 4.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant Course on Reclaimed Land

2-4    10/1/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 194  Reviewed: 127  Exp: 24.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This park was built on an old landfill and they did a remarkable job of recreating the natural desert environment. The designers did a nice job of creating a course with limited space and terrain to work with.

Two tee pads on most holes accomodate different skill levels. The wind seems prevalent here and I see this as a benefit that adds challenge to the course. Add in some sloped greens and your par can easily become a bogey or worse! I think that equalizes the easier aspects of the course.
Teepads, signage and baskets are top notch!

A couple of holes were creative using drainage pipes as a Mandatory route, which I though was neat. They also used the slight elevation to the advantage.

This is the perfect place for beginners to learn without too much punishment or for families to enjoy a pretty place.
Cons: The primary downfall is the closeness of fairways to each other- leaving no room for error- or you're in the next fairway.

The other obvious factor is that due to the fact that all the vegetation is quite new, the course is pretty open- not much to go around or avoid (what's there is small). Hopefully, in time they will plant more foliage, or the existing stuff will get taller and wider.
Other Thoughts: Be prepared for your plastic to get abused- lots of clay soil and rocks filling drainage ditches!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  On a reclaimed landfill

5+    3/10/2011   3/11/2011
Review By: ASUPaul
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great location and a creative way to "recycle" an old landfill site. Parking is close to the course and there is a putting green near the first tee. Also posted nearby (and on the Paseo Vista website) is an accurate map of the course with tees, holes, and distances marked. There also is a sign posted by each tee with the information and map for that hole. My wife and I both are older novices, but after she got a set of discs for Christmas we got into it right away and try to play at least once a week. The view is great, there are other things going on around you (like bi-planes and experimental aircraft taking off from nearby Chandler Airport). The tees are concrete and well marked, as are the holes (once you are close enough to read the numbers). The course and entire park area are planted with native vegetation, and watered with reclaimed water. The terrain is gently hilly, which is kind of nice compared with just a flat course. People here (so far anyway) have been friendly, and we have had no issues with anyone. Alcohol is not allowed in the park, but this could be a con for those who would like a cold beer after playing a round or two. Restrooms and fresh water are right on site, which is a great convenience.
Cons: It's difficult to see some of the holes (and this will become more of an issue when some of the vegetation is in full leaf), at least until you get close enough to read the numbers. It seems like some of the signs are posted backwards, but that's not really a bid deal. The "washes" are paved with angular cobbles and these can be kind of tricky to walk over -- it's a sprained ankle (or worse) waiting to happen. Unless you're a pro and put every shot on the fairway, these areas are unavoidable. Otherwise, there are metal plates that serve as bridges across these washes, but they are few and not always close enough to be convenient. There is virtually no shade on the course, which may limit some players to early and late in the day when the weather is warmer. This may seem like a lot of cons, but there is nothing here that should be a deterrent to anyone.
Other Thoughts: Download and print a copy of the course map from the Paseo Vista website and take it along -- it can help resolve some of the confusion that can arise about where is the next tee, or the next hole. There also are other amenities to this park, and other reasons to visit. Overall a lot to offer.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Vista is Nice!

2-4    2/17/2011   2/28/2011
Review By: Magiken
Played: 48  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Best course conditions so far (more on this later)
Course is very easy to find
Nice location with some interesting scenery
Warm-up area with basket
Baskets are in good shape and seem to all have hole number markers
Very beginner friendly
Multiple pad positions (and a couple extra baskets) throughout the course
Very cool mando pipe tunnel shots
Dog Friendly
Nice park amenities (dog park, archery range (yes I said archery), playground, restrooms, water, & free parking!)
Cons:
Tight design with fairways very close to each other
Won't be a challenge for the advanced player
Other Thoughts:
Random Thoughts:
From a course conditions perspective (maps, tee signage, tee pads, baskets), this course is the best one I've seen so far in my travels. I don't think this can be understated. If you're looking for an example for how to build a course, this is the one to look at. The map sign, the rules sign, the tee signs, the tee pads, the tee markers (yes, there are tee markers), and the baskets are in absolutely fantastic condition. All I can say is "Bravo!" to the course designers. You folks took your work seriously. As for the course itself, I found it to be about as much fun as you could fit in the space. Most of the holes aren't terribly long but they each present a slightly different challenge, from where the OB line is, to a strategically placed tree or hill, or the wonderfully fun pipe tunnel shots. I would imagine that getting your throw though one of those tunnels on your first throw must be a great feeling. One I unfortunately didn't get to feel. But it was still fun. Hole 18 is probably the signature hole because it has one of the pipes right around 250' and a tree almost directly in front of it but 40' back, which means you have to make a lay-up decision, and then if you choose to lay-up, make it a good one to set you up for a shot at the basket. A fun one that I looked forward to playing again. Now, getting back to the space itself, that's where the downside comes in. It's just not that big, which means fairways and other players are quite close. You'll need to keep your head on a swivel. It also means that it's not a particularly difficult course. I played it twice and threw -2 and -1 for the rounds with 10 or so birdies, and was actually throwing for a legitimate eagle for the first time (though truthfully I'm not sure that #17 should be a par 4 but thanks for the ego boost). Yes, there were obviously some bogeys in there, most of which were very correctable, except the tunnel shots which was just me missing. So I would imagine the advanced player decimating this course and being unfulfilled. Having said that, I found the terrain interesting with it's rock creeks (no water in them so don't worry) and slight undulations, and I suppose you could spice it up like a prior reviewer suggested by making those OB, but truthfully that might make it too hard, as there are a lot of them and I ended up in them at least 4 times on very good throws. But what the hay, give it a go.

Bottom Line:
This course might be a contender for best conditions of any course. I'm finding it hard to find anything to improve upon. Unfortunately, there just isn't enough space, obstacles, or elevation changes to make it truly elite. Having said that, I found it a fun course, and if I lived nearby, I would play it regularly to hone my game. I would also highly HIGHLY encourage anyone to introduce someone to the game on this course. It's absolutely perfect for that function. I brought some first time family member players out there and they agreed as well.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.